Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Desperate Dr M plays the race card

Desperate Dr M plays the race card PDF Print
Sunday, 18 May 2008 08:57

THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

JOHOR BARU, May 17 ─ Desperate times call for desperate measures. So Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad today played the race card ─ something the former prime minister has not done since he was a young, upstart Umno politician in the 1960s.

He warned the Malays that they stood to lose much in the new political environment where the non-Malays were unafraid to make demands.

If we don’t speak up, if we choose to keep quiet, we will lose our rights and the other races will take over,” he told some 1,000 people at a gathering in Johor Baru.

The words carried extra sting, escaping from the lips of the man who coined the phrase Bangsa Malaysia and promoted the idea of a Malaysian race, where race and religion would play second fiddle to love of country.

During his time as prime minister, Dr Mahathir went to great lengths to blunt his early image as a Malay ultra, often talking about how everyone who called Malaysia home had a stake in it and encouraging the development of vernacular schools.

But today was different. Keen to mine some anxiety in the community and Umno over the rise of Pakatan Rakyat and aware that his last option of forcing Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi out of office now rests largely with mobilising the Malay ground, he played on the fears of the Malays.

Dr Mahathir asked the audience whether anyone of them had read the memorandum forwarded by the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) to the government. “What does it say? Malaysia for Malaysians! This is the reality of the present situation. If we do not speak up, if we choose to keep quiet, we will lose our rights and the other races will take over. When that happens, it will be like Singapore. Do you think we will still have control?” he pondered.

He also offered his take on how the Malays ended up being marginalised in Singapore, noting that when the island was sold to the British it was only inhabited by a few Malay fishermen. But the British brought in foreigners and now only 15 per cent of the population is Malay.

The country is dominated by other races,” he said.

There is no love lost between Singaporeans and Malaysians, especially those from Johor. Johor folk say that Singaporeans are condescending and blame their purchasing power for the rising cost of living in the state. Dr Mahathir understands this sentiment better.

His main point at the gathering today was that Umno can only regain its rightful position when Abdullah is removed. Otherwise, the Malays will stay away from the party because they are tired of the PM, his family members and advisers.

In his blog, Dr Mahathir also talked about the diminishing political power of the Malays and its consequences.

Today, the Malays have lost their political power and the non-Malays no longer respect the Malays and the Malay institutions. All the special rights of the Malays are being challenged and questioned. And the Malays cannot do anything to strengthen their position,” he wrote.

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS) leaders challenge the notion that Malays have lost their political power, arguing that there are more Malays MPs in Parliament today than there were in 2004. They say that this campaign to raise the political consciousness among the Malays is orchestrated by some Umno politicians.

That may be so but Anwar’s promise of a new dawn for Malaysia seems some way off. Race still appears to be the defining factor in this country, going by the discourse in Johor today.

Comments (115)Add Comment
written by Bigjoe99, May 18, 2008 09:10:53
The problem with this theory is that under Najib, things will be much worst. Handicapped by a history of scandals, Najib is beholden to foreigners and many others and he is no more talented than Badawi. Badawi has a history of some ideals but Najib does not.

So Dr. M is NOT offering an alternative he is merely pointing to a problem which he has no answer...
agree 144
written by binarytan, May 18, 2008 09:12:38
TDM is the expiry leader, he does not know the situation has changed since he stepped down. Still speaking high on Ketuanan issue and trying to stir the whole society up.

Similarly to AAB.

Better for PR takes over soon only there is hope for Malaysia.
written by MsiaCTzen, May 18, 2008 09:15:10
Charge Mamak with ISA

National Security -- inciting racial dis-harmony
agree 216
written by humanist, May 18, 2008 09:15:14
Mahathir used to call George Soros "Moron"

By the way, George Soros donated billions of his money back to society.

http://www.soros.org/initiatives/

Now who is the real "Moron" and racial one too.
agree 146
written by BennyG, May 18, 2008 09:18:08
TDM had become desperate. He knows that there is only one thing left that he had not used i.e. the race card in order to stop Anwar from taking over. He knows that his ace card (unknown successor, if there is any truth in it) will not have sufficient time to replace BODOWI since Anwar may take over in Sept.

So the fear is real. UMNOPUTRAS & BNputras, time to have sleepless nights if you have not yet feel the heat.
written by artfulone, May 18, 2008 09:18:15
AAB has TDM in his gunsights. TDM wants someone - anyone to take him out. My feeling is that he will die trying.
written by Littlebird, May 18, 2008 09:18:47
Sick man's attitude. Sacrificing the nation just to protect his arse.
agree 126
written by tom73my, May 18, 2008 09:21:16
Dear TDM, you are still sick. After so many years, you still suffer from inferiority complex. Whatever your intention is, why do you still play up the anti-Chinese, anti-Singapore sentiments among the Malays? We Malaysians just want to live happily with all people of all races. We Chinese Malaysians also pay tax, we also contribute to nation-building. Frankly, this country would have been more united without you. You are still sick, go seek treatment.
agree 180
written by juanglagi, May 18, 2008 09:24:28
Dr M,

Malaysia udh suffer 22 tahun bawah JAJAHAN km.

Klo sapa yg hina km dulu, jgn blame semua kaum lain.

Tak habis2 main race card dan provoke Malaysian to hate each other.

Tolong jgn buat dosa sebgtu.

written by gctham, May 18, 2008 09:30:51
It was very very sad indeed, Dr. M has come to this stage to play with racial issue. The Malays are not loosing their grip on power. It rather the way the political changes did not come in the way that Dr. M like it.

We have to be rationale, they will be no way the Malay will losing its grip as the main political force.

Dr. M should have more responsible to what he said, as a leader for many years, he has to take stock what has he done. While we never denied on his great contribution in Malaysia building, we also never denied he has done some great damages to the system in Malaysia. He has to share the corrupted practices that was so rampant. This could not just happen during the past five years during the Abdullah as PM. It could not just happen like that. While majority has come to conclusion that Abdullah has failed his promises to fight corruption, we also has to admit that bulk of the problem has been long outstanding during Dr. M time. He has to be more responsible.

agree 117
written by Jefus, May 18, 2008 09:33:02
Malaysia has moved on, scare tactics do not impress anymore. The Old man trying to whip up some attention to his cause,..... the country is no longer listening.

Be A Malay Gentleman yourself, retire quietly.
written by Chaptokam, May 18, 2008 09:34:24
You Racist Mamak , You think you you are a pure Malay ?? Pure Malays don't think like you they are very nice people , very humble people and very straight forward people, only Mamaks like you always stir shit , creating problems for other races ,don't know when to keep his mouth shut , don't know when to go when he's no longer required , over stating his welcome , thinks that Malaysia belongs to him , You f..king Mamak time for you to go to HELL to join your good friends there . They are waiting for you , they need a politician like you in Hell to campaign for the vacant position of Hell Administrator .

For a Start you Hypocrite , you start dismissing your lap dog Matthias Chang , he's a Chinese , might betray you . As for you , Matthias working for a Mamak who twist and turn his words to suit his purpose , who is the most corrupted person in Malaysia , who abuses his power when in power , I say to you leave this senile old man , he's no more a human being , he is Satan , leave him for your own good . You are not working for a great man , you are working for a Rotten , Shit Mamak Tongkang who has forgotten where he has come from .

To all the Non Malay Croonies of Tun Mamak , ie Vincent Tan , Francis Yeoh , Ananda Krishnan , etc etc etc high time to dissociate with this rotten to the core Mamak , he will bring you bad luck , disasters , ill fortune very soon . If you don't believe , just wait and see .
agree 150
written by gctham, May 18, 2008 09:34:55
Dr. M is a hard headed and very stubborn leader. At time he look to be very arrogance in deed, as we can see the way he answer during the RC on the Lingam Tape probe. This kind of arrogance has also in the way pass down to the part he coming from until today.
written by loosecannon, May 18, 2008 09:37:57
I guess a leopard never changes it's spots. This racist former PM is losing whatever little respect that's left that people have for him. He thinks the Malays are stupid.
written by RitchieLow, May 18, 2008 09:44:09
Does it not apply for the other races too when they champion their own minority rights like how Hindraf did ? He can do, others cannot do like he did. If only he follows the golden rule. BTW, his remarks not seditious ?
written by James Loh, May 18, 2008 09:44:45
Adakah orang Malaysia berketurunan Cina sama dengan orang Singapura berketurunan Cina? Sebagai seorang Malaysia berketurunan Cina, saya ingin memberitahu kaum Melayu bahawa kami semua adalah anak Malaysia. Saya cintai negara ini kerana ini adalah tempat lahir saya. Kaum Cina ingin tinggal secara aman dan damai dengan semua kaum. Bolehkah kita bekerjasama dan memajukkan negara kita?

This is my Malaysia too. We, Malay, Chinese, Iban, Kadazan, Dusun, Indian, etc must work together and must not allowed racist remarks to break our unity. We must cherish this place. This is our country and I'll not allowed hatred to destroy this country!!
written by freedom lover, May 18, 2008 09:46:09
The Malays in Singapore have never been marginalised! I am proud to say that the Malays in Singapore are more hardworking, progressive and do not depend on hand-outs and favours or special privileges from the government. If you see a successful Malay in Singapore then you are truly seeing a self-made Malay. Is the case the same in Malaysia!

Leaders who trump the race cards are traitors to the progress of their own country. He is doing what he is doing now because he knows where he will be going soon!
written by James Loh, May 18, 2008 09:49:37
When I was a student at USA, I have so much fun being with friends from different races. Without Malaysia politics in USA, we truly live as fellow Malaysian! We work together to organize Malaysian night and canoing. That's my most enjoyable time. Look into your heart and you'll realize we're all Malaysian. We all grew up watching Jangan Ketawa, P Ramlee movie, Indians Movie, and cantonese drama series. A cina apek wears sarong, A Malay gun sell pau and fried tofu, Alley Cats sing Malay song ..... uniquely Malaysia.
written by Arubin, May 18, 2008 09:50:46
disagree 20
agree 204
written by pelukis, May 18, 2008 09:52:36
“..aware that his last option of forcing Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi out of office now rests largely with mobilising the Malay ground, he played on the fears of the Malays”.
-------------------------------------

FORGET IT MAHATHIR. .it’s already too late. Malays with brain will never ever believed in you …not even a bit. Where else, Malays without brain are usually the one that are without ‘ball’…coward. So Mahathir you don’t have any brainy ‘heroes’ or ‘warriors’ going to the war zone with you.....except those without ‘ball’....
written by densemy, May 18, 2008 09:55:24
"today played the race card ─ something the former prime minister has not done since he was a young, upstart Umno politician in the 1960s."

What a load of bollocks... every move that Mahathir made during his 22yrs of dictatorship was aimed at dividing and ruling.

He has ripped this country apart using hate and racism as his philosophy just so he could continue to rule
written by krising1, May 18, 2008 10:05:26
This man is simply too dangerous to ignore! If he was in power today, he would have imposed emergency rule and thrown a lot of people, especially those from Sabah into jail. The army will be partolling our streets. Luckily he is not in power. But he is still dnagerous. He can esaily work up the Malay ground against Abdullah, the Chinese, Indians and Sabahans. Look at all the seditious statements he is making here. Who will dare to make reports against him? If reports are made, our HP6 government will be too scared to take against him. Tun MM knows that and he is already challenging the government to take him to court. HE IS SIMPLY DANGEROUS!
written by back2future, May 18, 2008 10:10:11
until yesterday u still my idol tun , but no more from today , its stop when u u mention racial issue , is not malay losing power here but ONLY UMNO , forever malay will be the pm in this country ,we other races only wanted to work together and help the MALAY PM to make malaysia more prosper, nothing other then that, im very sad for your comment ,but still i wish tun best of health coz u being my idol for so long
written by smpadayachi, May 18, 2008 10:14:13
Like the title say one last ditch and the picture above clearly describes this person as the filthiest scumbag, (no longer wish to call him to taint the proud Kutty surnamme) is doing everything he can to get him off the hook. His racist policies had shattered every Malaysian that I know, and had broken us into pieces, and now as the last trump card he's fanning to make sure there's surmountable amount of crowd will follow his madness. The latest clip where's gasping for air to say has catching phrase words that bring him to court for the hearing, so he can reveal everyone, and I like to know from this "person" what's is there to reveal? and who is going to believe him this time? Nobody, I mean no one, with a half a teaspoon of brain will ever vouche for a racist imbecile. This "person" thinks that he'd pay people and somebody out there will bail him out, and infact he might think the world famous Jewish attorneys who known to bail people out might come for his rescue, and considering what what he had done I hope they'd rather defend a scabies infested dogs then this "person".

This "person" think he's got everyone involved which is nothing but a senile on his very last attempt gasping for some breathing air. The suffering he had done to all Malaysians, and the horrible things he had taken Malaysia to the world, and I truly and sincerely hope to see that every Malaysian regardless of race, religion and ethnicity get in line, and take their own worn out pair of shoes, terompah, kasut tumit, anything that is so worn out and beat the freakin' day light out of him, and some must also take the liberty and as a courtesy to spit on their way out to his face.
written by little dragon, May 18, 2008 10:31:57
“If we don’t speak up, if we choose to keep quiet, we will lose our rights and the other races will take over,”

d great mamak is talking thru his arse again. malays shud ask him, wat rights hv they actually lost? if at all, d only malays who hv suffered any losses r his beloved UMNO MALAYS, d BIG leeches n BIGGEST bane of our country.

go ask d kelantanese malays, hv they lost? go ask d poor malays, hv they lost? go ask d ordinary malays wit no access to fat government contracts, hv they lost? d fact is, umno's loss is going to b their BIGGEST GAIN!!!

d great mamak has a hidden agenda in whipping up malay sentiment. he wants to save himself from prosecution n is getting very desperate. d country can go to d dogs for all he cares just as long as he is safe. n he is trying to use d malays to do dat!!!
written by Milo, May 18, 2008 10:37:00
Before the 8 march election, when UMNO was in its zenith of power, who are the beneficiaries of malay power? UMNOputra leaders! The ordinary malays suffer like everyone else, and were made use of by UMNO leaders (and the leaders who work with them in the BN) to continue marginalising and robbing everyone else for their own benefit. Look at the level of corruption and scandals, one after another, over the years and the blantant cover-ups with no end in sight. Even the judiciary is a gone case as shown by the Lingamate exposure. Wake-up! For EVERYONE, especially for the malays who make up the majority, there is little hope for the country for another 50 years if DSAI cannot take over the leadership reign.
written by Msian 2, May 18, 2008 10:37:37
AG, clear case of sedition or case for ISA to be used on our most dislike ex-PM.
Malays of Malaysia are smarter than what our ex-PM thinks. Stop underestimating the Malays Dr.M. The malays as a race could have performed alot more if not for Dr.M policies of discrediting/stifling malays meritocracy in favour of quantity of half baked candidates so that he can simply steal more. Dr.M's kind of attitude is atkined to setting a time bomb for the malays & the country.
written by uncleleow, May 18, 2008 10:42:22
Eh! Mamak, What make you say when UMNO win, Malays got Rights and when UMNO loses, the Malays dont have Rights? Why bring Singapore into your fight? Why not bring Indonesia for your fight. Infact you have sold the country to the indo by giving then indon the citizenship of malaysia. FYI, the indon and the II (Illegal Immigrant) control more than 50% of small business in malaysia. What do you say about that.
written by cwy, May 18, 2008 10:43:51
He is all the while a Racist in our country!

written by mei yen, May 18, 2008 10:44:57

Seems like as a country, we still have a long, long way to go! This is being made very clear by the language of a male chauvinistic baboi, with a very poor track record, directed at a group of people on the basis of their creed and race.

PKR and PAS! You have a problem! His master’s voice is calling! Grassroots Malays! Return to UMNO!

Mahathir is inciting them to:-
1.Speak up or they will lose our rights.
2.Their special rights (Ketuanan Melayu) are being challenged
3.Keep quiet and the other races will take over
4.They will lose control

I suppose I should not feel guilty calling myself a Chinese now. A Chinese who happens to live in Malaysia! Wow! Should I be proud? My heart is palpitating!

written by cancan, May 18, 2008 10:54:16
This man, together with his son must be stopped by Badawi from further inciting racial disharmony among the people.
Both are playing the racial card to dislodge Badawi.

I sincerely hope our Malay brethren ( except the Umnoputras ) are not taken in by these racists.
Their evil intentions must be exposed for all to see.
written by Eskay Lim, May 18, 2008 10:54:21
This stupid old man, in Toon Dr.Madhatter is up to his nonsense again. This time he is trying to get into mainstream politics the secong rond by playing the racial cards, exactly what he did as an "ultra" in his frst attempt into politics.
For what he had uttered, he deserves the ISA & the Sedition Act, or both.
Playing the race-card is serious but people may consider this as his feeble attempt to get into politics.... as talking thru his arse.
written by InEffective, May 18, 2008 10:54:34
The Peddling of Fear - outstanding achievements in social intelligence.

Looks like under this racist politician's social structure, tiered rights (tuans and servants) will prevail. (we are back to the feudal structures that all societies have ejected).

On the other hand (as all progressive countries stive to ensure by law), all peoples are equal rights, equal freedoms and liberties, and no slavery.

Which culture and lifestyle do you want to handover to your children ? - Racist or Equal ? (look at your kid long and hard before you choose their futures)
written by mei yen, May 18, 2008 10:58:12
Correction:

Speak up or they will lose their rights.
written by glock17, May 18, 2008 11:11:48
Dr. Maha Zsalim Dilemma,

1) Its no secret he control this country for the past 22 yrs with authoritatrian, racist-corruptive methods, cronies/nepotism to create new class of Malays billionaires via questionable shortcuts (which involved his kids).

2) With so many sinful and innapropriate decision take against his opponents during his tenants, today he is living with fear that one day when Onmmo is no longer in power, his political oppenents (especially Anwar) will made his life, his kids, his relatives and cronies a living hell before he can meet his maker.

Now, this is why he is so piss off with Pak Lah and Najob for not protecting his own selfish interest, this 'ol man has no luv or loyalty to Onmmo. He just used Omno as an instrument to build his family (and few coming new generation) the world best retirement plan, via is mega corruptive methods.

Glock17
written by ISA MANTEQI, May 18, 2008 11:21:08
Never thought I would live to see the day when Dr.M(of all people)would say such things. So easy isn't it... when you cannot get your way, play the race card... When will such people realise that Malaysians are not stupid.
written by Spear Bing, May 18, 2008 11:21:48
It is an action of desperation on his part. He has to stoop so low to utter such racial semantics.

He is truly the Malay Dilemma in the making.

Based on his recent speeches there are reasonable legal grounds to charge him for inciting racial tension. But will the AG dare to carry out his duty?
written by myke, May 18, 2008 11:22:13
I have no problem wishing this mamak an early departure.!!! And please, ur way is down under, HELL.!!
written by lokenpal, May 18, 2008 11:24:27
Unafraid in making demands is good, its democracy. Majority Malaysians or the Malays will benefit with the rise of Pakatan Rakyat.

More Malays and other races will do better economically, with a strong two party system emerging.

Its the handfull of warlords as rpk calls them, who will not do as well economically, who are afraid.
written by micon02, May 18, 2008 11:34:17
Mahathir really desparate now
He’s afraid of PR, but he’s not afraid of Allah
Ketuanan Melayu is his creation & supported by Umno

Society's Disease

Racism, the great crime of humanity.
Why does one's race always claim superiority?
We are all the same; there is no inferiority.
When we look at each other we see a resembling face.
We all have a body and a soul of grace.
As individuals, we do have differences.
Some of us may take risks and chances.
Others of us may be shy and give few glances.
We should find common ground and make peace.
The hatred and killing should desist and cease.
We are all the children of Adam and in life have a lease.
We should lend a helping hand to each other.
We should remember that Eve is our common mother.
We should love our human sisters and brothers.
written by padhma, May 18, 2008 11:44:09
Dr.M, please let the Malays grow. I am not a Malay, but as a Malaysian I think you should put politics aside and think broadly. All you have done in your years of rule is to systematically make the Malays lose thier confidence and self believe. You made it look like the Malays are not capable of facing the challenges in the real world. So much so, the Malays were only able to be the so called "Jaguh Kampung", while the non-malays have grown to be better despite all adversities. You have fed the Malays fish not teaching them to fish for your own political gains.
Enough is enough Dr.M, Let the Malays grow and be better. By having the poeple in the country united as Malaysians, all Malaysians will have a better chance to progress. All Dr.M has done is to introduce physical development to the country but he has systematically taken away the mental development. Dr.M plays the racial card so that people will remain divided and when people are divided only those politicians gain.
My dear Malaysians, do not fall into the racial trap again. Those politicians are taking you for a ride. They want you to be divided so that they could use you effectively for their own selfish purpose. Think hard. Sart wearing your thinking cap and see the big picture. Try looking at the areas where the politicians don't want you to look. For how long are we Malaysians going to allow the politicians to dictate us? Its about time we Malaysians give life to the true spirit of Democracy.
For the people, by the people, of the people. In the spirit of Ketuanan Rakyat. In the Spirit of Malaysia. In the name of the King and the Country, lets all unite and take Malaysia and Malaysians to a better future.
Daulat Tuanku
written by justinlian, May 18, 2008 12:01:23
Actually, Mahatir is the one who is playing race politics all the while. He who is the one that threaten the chinese all the while with his famous May 13th. He is the most ungrateful malaysian and most currupted. I just wish he could be sent to prison with his own produce law. He hasnt change at all since his heart bypass and i wonder how he felt when he is alone.
written by gctham, May 18, 2008 12:05:01
we used to defense this "great guy" when some one call him "RECALCITRANT", but only now we understand what this "RECALCITRANT" mean.

written by Malaysiaputra, May 18, 2008 12:21:52
He also offered his take on how the Malays ended up being marginalised in Singapore, noting that when the island was sold to the British it was only inhabited by a few Malay fishermen. But the British brought in foreigners and now only 15 per cent of the population is Malay. unquote
========
The situation got worse when the non Malays started jumping on the Malay bandwagon and started calling themselves Malays. So now an Indian becomes a Malay when he becomes a Muslim and marries a Malay wife. Even a Mat Salleh can become a Malay this way !. Who know , in future the Caucasian Malays will increase in numbers if those from Afghanistan, Chechen, Abergaizan etc, decided to migrate to Malayisa enmass and take up the bangsa Melayu offer. Javanese etc all become Malays.

So the genuine Malays are further marginalised when these "new" Malays took over. These new Malays come with their own cultural norms and being more hardworking, they naturally out shine the genuine Malays who are then relegated to the backwaters of Malay society.

This is how I perceive it , what about the others ?
written by asianguy, May 18, 2008 12:26:36
Since when is "Malaysia for Malaysians!" wrong, Mahathir? At least Mahathir is now showing his true racist face, and it's an ugly face.
written by Malaysiaputra, May 18, 2008 12:27:29
TDM is a frustrated man these days, try as he did, he could not unseat AAB .

So I am woundering will this frustrated man orchastrate an event similar to May 13 ?.

In the animal world, a wounded and frustrated animal is very vicious and so is very dangerous .
written by Just Gan, May 18, 2008 12:31:05
Tun Dr Mahathir is the condensation and encapsulation of all that is wrong and evil for Malaysia. But, just like Satan, he is just too strong and no one, not Anwar, not Khairy, etc., can defeat him. Patail, the AG, is not going to charge Mahathir, his mahaguru and mentor, for the sodomy by Mahathir (yes, he should be charged for Sodomy) of the judiciary as revealed in the Lingam case. Only the people can do something. Let us all treat him as a pariah - don't attend any events where he or his son will be present, don't visit his website, start a signature camapign to appeal to the the King to withdraw the "Tun", etc. When he dies, no one should should attend his funeral
written by axeltung, May 18, 2008 12:35:55
Orang Tua barulah "extreme racist", dia tak ada card main jadi memainkan race card!! Siapa cakap, negara sudah jatuh ke orang bangsa lain??? Selangor MB,Khalid=orang melayu, perak mb=orang melayu, kedah mb=orang melayu, kelantan mb= melayu, penang cm, dulu cina sekarang pun cina. PM dulu orang tua=melayu, sekarang pun orang melayu! Orang Tua..u diam lah!! U tak mau Pak Lai jadi PM, soalnya u punya interest sudah habis! u punya anak-anak sudah jadi orang kaya-kaya semasa u 23 tahun jadi PM! Sekarang u punya wang, sudah banyak sampai u punya anak-anak, cucu-cuci, great cucu, great-great cucu pun tak habis makan!

Sekarang, u paling takut adalah Anwar jadi PM. Kalau dia jadi PM, hahaaaa..u takut dia balas "BUDI"..sudahlah..orang tua..dia sudah cakap dia sudah forgiven u..u takut apa!! u punya party sama kroni-kroni akan menghadapi masalah yang amat besar!!! good luck!
written by wishuponastar, May 18, 2008 12:37:33
If only Tun Husein Onn had picked a gentleman Malay as his successor Malaysians
would not have to live with this tormenting migraine.This Mr Irony so often accuses others of corruption little does he realizes he is the father of all corruptions in Malaysia.One day he says a Non Malay can become the PM and another day instigates the Malays to be the Tuans or feudal lords.Would he talk this way if his father were to be alive.

He championed the apartheid cause in South Africa.The Pretoria govt has long transformed but he has not.What is he preaching now is very disgusting.Only the Malays can do something to correct his fickleness.

TDM keep your words soft and sweet because it would assist in digestion as you are always eating up your own words.
written by Juliejustinng, May 18, 2008 12:51:51
Dear TDM , it is not really that the Malays lost their political power. It is only that young Malaysian (regardless of races) dares speak out unlike the days of TDM, when one had to watch out cos he/she may be put in jail under the ISA. Examplesmilies/tongue.gifarty Bersatu of Sabah and of course Anwar.
written by freedom lover, May 18, 2008 13:02:45
Dr Mahathir is now talking about the right of lobbying! Doesnt he know that the judiciary is the pinnacle and symbol of the nation's value system! Doesnt he know that judiciary cannot be tempered with and is not subjected to any lobbying by any individuals! If you can allow lobbyists to negotiate the directions of your judiciary then there is no difference between you and a father who brokers and determine the value of his own daughter's body!
written by yy88, May 18, 2008 13:30:43
A dying man in his last breath. He will need to continue to bring his lies, and more lies to the nether world. What can you do to redeem yourself even with all the ill gotten monies you stole from the Rakyat.
You just can't make our Malay brethen believe you anymore when they know you are lying through your teeth to protect your self interests. Your desperation give you away. Do you remember you have lamented "Melayu senang lupa". Melayu hari ini tidak akan lupa yang penipuan TUN Mamak dulu adalah benar.
written by Wudan, May 18, 2008 13:33:59
Dear Tun Dr Mahathir,

Melayu tak hilang kuasa politik. Hanya UMNO Baru yang hilang pengaruh.Sedarlah Tun, Melayu bukan UMNO dan UMNO bukan Melayu.
written by Windchime, May 18, 2008 13:42:08
Dear Tun,

On behalf of my children and my family (and a lot of Malaysians), I would like to 'thank you' for treating us as second class citizen of Malaysia, our beloved country. I finally realised that you have been wanting to keep us that way not for a long time but forever.

Might I add that, I am so sick about this comment that you are still stuck this rhetoric about Malays losing their rights. May I know what you are talking about about people like me who will 'take' over the country?

Initially, I did have a problem understanding this when I was growing up but have come to terms that this has to be done for a short period of time to correct the imbalance in Malaysia but now I have a problem of explaning to my kids why they are not equal to other Malaysians who were born and bred here.

We did not chose to come to this country. We did not chose to be born here. And, hell, we did not chose to be born a non-Malay. So, now you are saying that we will dominate the Malays. But aren't they Malaysians like me? Aren't they breathing the same air as me? Aren't they living in the same space as me? So, why the discrimination?

As a statesman, I am disappointed you have not spoken for ALL Malaysians. Instead you have chosen to carry on with this racial rhetoric. I am truly saddened, as a well respected Malaysian like you, had openly say things with such racial tones without blinking an eye and have no second thoughts about how your other fellow Malaysians who are non-Malays, like me will feel and go through. You are nothing but a selfish and thoughtless man and have only done things for your own interest.

I have now come to the conclusion that you Tun, are no better than the rest of the people who are narrow minded that have created this hatred between the different races instead of creating National unity amonst Malaysians. I believe you have done a lot of damage in your time of power that it will probably take a few generations for fellow Malaysians to come to terms with each other and accept everyone as they are and achieve unity among ALL Malaysians.

I think that you should now just keep your comments to yourself, as the Malaysians in general are waking up to reality that this 'virtual' fight that has been going on with the Malays and the non-Malays that have been going on for so long, and it is not going to be beneficial for our country. Our challenge should be with other nations, not between Malaysians!

In this resepct, you have definitely lost whatever respect I have for you. Of course, in your usual brashness you really do not care as I am just a small fry but I believe I am not alone in this. I am sure I am speaking out for most Malaysians.

Tun, sadly, you will now be going down in history as a man with devious goals and agenda and is bent on dividing the country instead being known as a statesman who had united the country and have done all the positive things in your years of administration.

From an original Made-In-Malaysia Malaysian.
written by mikewang, May 18, 2008 13:47:44
TDM,

You racist idiot!
How are the Malays going to lose political power when there are more Malay MPs than all others combined in the Malaysian Parliament ????

What is required is to remove the UMNO racist umbrella and this country could be a Korea instead of an Indonesia.
written by mykantree, May 18, 2008 13:48:58
A Desperado resorting to desperate ways to cling on to life!What more can one think when he said what he said.
written by mikewang, May 18, 2008 13:48:59
Even though I hate the ISA, I hope he could get a taste of that medicine when PR takes over the realm of federal government in this country.
written by yy88, May 18, 2008 13:53:38
Our beloved father of Independence Tunku was very right in his judgenment of this evil TunMamak until his last breath. He would kick the ass out of you for
bringing disunity and harbouring disharmony among the races for so long.

TUN Mamak, you can deny whatver you want, you will be remembered and die a racist and evil "BatuAPi".
written by gctham, May 18, 2008 13:58:01
This kind of comment has again proof one thing common to Mahathir. ie if he want to get thing done his way, he will do all things regardless what is consequences are. That Mahathir.
written by slash n burn, May 18, 2008 14:04:46
This world is better place to live minus this Racist Mamak Kerala. Damn you hell dweller!!
written by JulieT, May 18, 2008 14:07:46
He is really pathetic. Is he a Malay? or an ethnic Indian so called mamak, trying to be more Malay than the Malay themselves. Again he is trying to split the country into a racial war. The truly real and great Malays are gentle, kind, humble and talented (I still want to believe that). Its only the half-baked Malays that is always screaming about 'ketuanan Melayu' while Malaysia lags further and further behind other Asian countries. Malaysia is only a tiny nondescript speck in the eyes of the rest of the world and sad to say that speck is getting fainter by the day, as here, forever, they are fighting about Malay rights.
written by PakPandir, May 18, 2008 14:15:08
What do we do when we have old and stray dogs barking non-stop on the road ?
We get the someone to catch the animal and send to ... we do not want to know.
written by The dragonheart, May 18, 2008 14:17:42
I wrote less now since the lat 12th GE results...

The reason being is because I think people in here who are shouting racist are racist themselves... all are self centered... no different with the umno nationalist.. the more i read the more upset I get...

Yes! Malaysia will still have a long time to go...Until all the racist are wiped out and buried 6 feet under...

The Malays are still Malay, the Chinese are still Chinese, Indian are still Indians... they are all water, oil and pebbles respectively in terms of Religion, culture, language, community,socio-economic, love, emotional status, ego, and belief...

Tanah Melayu, Raja-Raja Melayu, Islam, Orang Melayu, Askar Melayu, "Tentera-Tentera" bertauliah "Di-Raja", Polis Di Raja, Pertubuhan Melayu Bersatu, Parti Islam , etc etc.... All these are the roots and the core of the KETUANAN MELAYU... they are just like series huge bee hives on a huge Tualang tree which have been producing Honey to the masses of the land since parameswara founded malacca or maybe earlier... until 1511 when the Europeans aggressively conquer this land...

Come the chinese traders, Come the Portuguese, come the Dutch, come the British, Come The Indians, Come The Japanese, Come The Communist, ... Tanah Melayu Remains and The Raja-Raja Melayu Remains...UMNO then ruled.. almost making the land into a Republic and secular... which moved a large portion of the Malays to stand still and many to step to the opposition...

I a no BN supporter but deep in my heart I think many people do not understand and realize that they are poking this huge bee hive...

I might be wrong... people might say that the present generation's paradigm have change... but if the non-Malays are still poking and provocating the bee hive... I am worried that we are fighting to lose.. and it is going to be a lose-lose situation..

maybe too many in here are young blood... born after 1969... never seen battles and hardship... no food no shelter...

BR must come up with a master plan soonest ... if not this cancer is going to kill the nation..

Too many people talk as if they live long enough to see what had happen since 1930 to this date...

Malaysia has a long-long way to go... maybe 100 years more... Let all the racist people die in peace!!!
written by zviivz, May 18, 2008 14:36:57
This is a despicable message! Period. All we ask for is simply fairness and justice. It's the Government's responsibility to help the poor and downtrodden irrespective of races. The way he talks is no different than some of the worst scumbags of the century. Smearing fear is the worst kind of politics. This simply makes George Bush actually looks 'good'.

Malays in Singapore are not marginalized. I have Singaporean Malay friends and I can testify that they doing much better that what this silly fella thinks. They have equal opportunities to succeed. Take this from someone who had lived in SG for many years.
written by ingolstadt, May 18, 2008 15:27:06
Well the problem with a drop in quality of viewers or readers or commenters here is because of the popularity this site has gained. The more people here, the wider the target audience spectrum is spread, the more un-niche it becamed, the more lower the average intellectual level of visitors here.

Not a surprising sign.

Well as to Mahathir, of course he wanted Badahwi to leave desperately, because they sudah tak ngam. And why he wanted Najib? Same as why he wanted all the useless fellas to follow him last time, he have their dirty evidence, he can control them, they wouldn't threat him.

To be honest, thou I don't agree with ISA, and many here would argue to use ISA to lock Mahathir up... hey, don't dirty the other ISA detainees with Mahathir, those current detainees 99% of them are clean, challenging the dirty. Mahathir can be charged with a local court for his widespread of dirty stuffs prolonging for 22 years, i believe evidence are plenty and there's no need for ISA.

ISA is only for those who are clean, righteous and who only longed for a peaceful, prosperous and harmony Malaysia.

As to the rights of Malay, go on Barisan, go on protecting the Malays, give em special rights to have all the ketuanan Melayu you wanted, and when majority of Malays are educated, well earned with comfortable income levels, they will move up to the middle class segment, and you know how history goes, the rise and fall of empires are ALL challenged by the middle class, and those at the upper society levels are also traditionally the warlords, eunuchs, and clan leaders who clinged on to power for their interests, only to be hanged in public by the middle class uprise.

Economy brings independent thinking. Not an easy task for current crops of incapable BN leaders to pacify.
written by Lim Lim, May 18, 2008 15:31:06
his racist mentality is finally proven!!fortunately, he had lost the authority to carry out his facist stunts,n now he is barking every where...for whom his bell toll,then u may ask.....for the malay?for the country?for all malaysian?for BN?for umno?the answer is none of the above except for saving his own end,for his own siblings would be more exact!!
written by Hope4all, May 18, 2008 15:33:03
TDM could not have been in worst shape. It all started during the Asian economic crisis of 1998. He went against all the principles of economics by bailing out his sons and cronies, leading to Anwar's arrest.

Now he is not able to retire peacefully, not that he doesn't want, unlike other political leaders of the world.

His political tactics strikes a strong similarity with Mugabe and his dictatorial legacy will eventually affect his own sons politically.

He is no icon but he still refuses to accept the fact that the whole country is now moving beyond him.
written by tzarina, May 18, 2008 15:36:04
You think this was the only time this racist feller made racist remarks? If you look back at his interviews in the past, his true colors shine through. If there is an award for the Most Racist Leader After Hitler, Dr M will be a finalist!

One example
http://orangewaves.********.co...s-not.html
written by ksmaniam, May 18, 2008 15:42:31
This is my maiden comment. Hope it is not my last. as per the article what Dr. M has mentioned tantamounts to sedition. He is provoking the malays to go against the government. Whether he is malay or otherwise. He has the right to say the project will not benefit the malays but why provoke them to go against the governemnt. He is a ex PM, he of all person should Know how it can be done. He should not hasut the malays. I think it is high time that we lodge a report on him for sedition.
written by penangboi, May 18, 2008 15:43:29
I think we have a problem. MT (including readers like me) are anti-racial. There can be no confusion about that (except for certain 'spy' contributors who make their piece to the contrary).

Now the problem is that in reputing racist issues brought up in the forum, one needs to counter them in a form which is also very often cloaked in racist form. Hence, counter 'attacks' like those by 'Hiley' occurs. It's hard not to be caught up with being emotional and crossed the other extreme line and stand the risk of being branded 'racist'.

We need to be more responsible in our comments and be objective in addressing the issue at hand without being emotional. Now back to the issue at hand:

TDM is indeed desperate by playing the racial hand. RPK has stated in his earlier postings saying that in no way the Malays' rights will ever be usurped in Malaysia, even in today's political climate. Facts say for themselves. The number of Malay MP's in parliament has actually increased now compared to the last election. Malay representation has not decreased but improved. How can one say the opposite??

But to take this issue further. This in itself is racist. This is what we MT readers and RPK's supporters do not condone. Why can't we treat everyone as Malaysians? Why should there be definitions of Malay, Chinese, Indians etc? Why should one race be dominant over another?

Why don't people realise and understand that race has got nothing to do with poverty, equal rights, meritocracy and other empirical basic principles? Ever since I was a teenager back in the seventies, I had already harboured the ideal of every Malaysian being equal and treated as such. I strongly believe that we are heading towards it as evidenced in the outcome of the 12 GE. My wish now is that that day arrives sooner - for I'd like to see it during my lifetime. It would be indeed the highest point in my life if that happens.

Off another tangent: TDM's comments and behaviour of late appear to have only one objectives, and that is to bring down the government. His viscious and relentless attacks on both UMNO and Pak Lah in particular surely cannot escape the scrutiny and attention of the goverment. Now, if the likes of RPK and Karpal Singh, in their comments qualify themselves to be charged undert the Sedition Act

More Double Standard and Hiprocrisy

People, think about this carefully. Whether Sabahan BN MP's crossover is not so important in the context of what TDM is doing. He is threatening to plunge us all deeper into the racist ravine which he single-handedly forged during his tenure as PM.
written by Lim Lim, May 18, 2008 15:44:25
it is rather a sad case for himself,he started as an ultra politically..too bad,for the time n tide in his life never made him to be wiser with more wisdom..from the way he is going now,it is quite certain he is going to end it as an ultra racist too;for what??isn't it jus for self-gain, if u go one step deeper to look at it!!
written by Highway Man, May 18, 2008 15:50:51
How much lands the Singaporeans could buy and control? This TDM is only trying to make noise because he and his cronies do not have benefits. He is not talking for Malays; he is talking for himself and a few cronies only lah. The best manometer to judge out standing in Malaysia is the KLSE. If DSAI is not fit to be the next PM, the KLSE would have tumbled by now; all funds would have been pulled out. See the difference?
written by allmenarebrothers, May 18, 2008 15:51:09
Don't talk so much you silly senile fool. You are hopelessly beyond redemption. Your only place now is with the Good Lord who will bring you home with Him. So you & Robert Mugabe will soon join Ferdinand Marcos & Suharto. There you can all talk & talk till Kingdom comes.
Malaysia will soon have its greatest ever celebrations. You won't be able to see how happy we rejoice!
written by EvilWolf, May 18, 2008 16:36:07
Mahathir - You have always been a racist despite the fact that you have indian blood in you. Have you forgotten your roots? As far as the Malays are concerned, you are a Mamak and will always be one.

You seem to change your mind when an opportunity presents itself, like calling the DPM a 'coward' not too long ago, and a man of 'great leadership qualities' after your meeting with him - you are a senile old man.

Anyway, Malaysians know you for what you really are so there is no point in you disguising anything. Just come out and show your true racist self - nothing to hide.

Immature politics of Malaysia where everything said and done is race-based. Take a cue from developed countries.
written by EYFF, May 18, 2008 17:14:19
====TDM said"and the non-Malays no longer respect the Malays and the Malay institutions"
--------------------------------------------------------------------
The reality is due to the free riding, corrupting and exploitative behaviour of those Malays that are in power ie UMNO and squeezing the system.
For a supposedly intelligent person TDM has the most stupid aberration!
written by budakindia, May 18, 2008 17:38:52
still the same old umno man! is umno a disease or what? why they like to play the racial card so much? what they get to see malaysians kill each other? What a sick and pervert way of gaining pleasure. Are UMNO people perverts?
written by FuLinYu, May 18, 2008 17:45:37
Race still appears to be the defining factor in this country, going by the discourse in Johor today.

Not true-lah. Words in the wilderness by UMNO-ultras sah'ja.
written by Loh, May 18, 2008 17:48:13
///Dr Mahathir asked the audience whether anyone of them had read the memorandum forwarded by the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) to the government. “What does it say? Malaysia for Malaysians! This is the reality of the present situation. If we do not speak up, if we choose to keep quiet, we will lose our rights and the other races will take over. When that happens, it will be like Singapore. Do you think we will still have control?” he pondered.///

///He also offered his take on how the Malays ended up being marginalized in Singapore, noting that when the island was sold to the British it was only inhabited by a few Malay fishermen. But the British brought in foreigners and now only 15 per cent of the population is Malay.///He also offered his take on how the Malays ended up being marginalized in Singapore, noting that when the island was sold to the British it was only inhabited by a few Malay fishermen. But the British brought in foreigners and now only 15 per cent of the population is Malay.///http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/7587/84/

TDM assumes that Malays do not want the country to be like Singapore. He should have conducted a referendum while he could to ask whether Malaysians prefer to have the income level of Singapore, the efficiency of Singaporean police in crime prevention, the perfectionism of Singaporean government services, and their other institutions. Would Malays in the country prefer to have the low standard of living, the lawlessness of government institutions and the lack of public security where private residents in houses now have to engage on their own security guards to ensure they could feel safer to get in and out of the houses? All these are to be at the expense of retaining the proportion of the difference races in the country when British allowed independence to Malaysia, and Singapore.

There is no love loss between Singapore and Malaysia because of the separation in 1965. TDM has to brainwash Malaysians into hating Singapore because without Singapore giving the stark example of how a non-corrupted government could make economic development and improve the way of lives of its people, TDM could have claimed and fooled a lot more people that his administration was exemplary. For personal reason TDM has tried his best to beggar Malaysia's neighbor. The ban on the sale of sand to prevent Singapore to grow, the limit to non-security risk use of airspace, and the crooked bridge intended not only to spite Singapore, but to lay the foundation for confrontation between the two countries.

The purpose of TDM doing what he did has become clearer when he said that Malaysia did not want to be Singapore with Malays in the minority. It implies not only that he was not willing to accept the racial mix in the country when British granted independence to Malaya. it was his intention to influence the composition of racial mix in the country, to increase the percentage of Malays. It was this racist intention that he utilized the results of May 1969 election to discredit Tunku, just like he is doing to PM AAB after 2008 Election.

So, TDM’s hatred for other races began even before he took power in 1981. It was his long term objective of ethnic cleansing which saw the perverted implementation of racist policies in the name of NEP. Under the aegis of NEP, Bolehland has become rule by law, where immoral business dealings have been made legal, government tenders usually based on competitive basis became negotiated and not subject to review, and government services became UMNO bureaucracy to serve party interest. The end results were some two million Malaysians mainly non-Malays emigrated, and they are replaced by instant new bumiputras wannables from Project M through Sabah. The increase in the percentage of Malays is confirmed by population census. But it is the statement by TDM that proves conclusively that he had the intention of ethnic cleansing. Hindraf should have explained their statement so that PM AAB would understand better the meaning in Hindraf’s letter.
written by Taiping60, May 18, 2008 18:32:21
Tun it is about time you should take your retirement seriously.
The more you speak the more embarrassment you bring to yourself and pain to the majority of the people in this country.
You have lost touch of reality. Malaysian today do not see things the way you see.

No Tun, Malaysians do not hate good Malay leaders
No Tun, Malaysians do not hate good Non-Malay leaders
Malaysians hate bad leaders regardless of race, who are corrupted.
These leaders only think about themselves. They selfishly divide the people in this country for their own benefit,

It is time for Malaysia to be lead by responsible leaders who genuinely want to bring progress to the country and people regardless of race.
It is time for all Malaysians to stop talking about race and that include you, Tun.
We want to unite Malaysians and together we bring the country to greater height.
written by kooiseng, May 18, 2008 18:38:03
Singapore was sold off becauses the local pirate chiefs were fighting each other and the British came and took sides. That side won, and the rest is history. Johor was just as backward. The local sultan never stayed in Johor. All the time he was in Singapore. Just couldn't be bothered with the locals. That was the type of leader we had. So why are we comlaining! Let the others develop the land and we just take our share. No need to sweat it out and stress ourselves. Our 30% is easy. The other 70% is hard work. Let the others do it. That's is the way to develop ourselves and the country.
written by joeawk, May 18, 2008 18:38:43
How many Singapore malays ask for malaysian PR or citizenship which malaysia will readily dispense.

If the truth be told, there will be more malaysian malays wanting to become singaporeans than singaporean malays wanting to be malaysian.

Need I say more, old demon fart.
written by Ravee, May 18, 2008 18:40:15
Very interesting stand considering that Mahathir's two best friends are VK Lingam and Vincent Tan. Mahathiruden u going to jail la.
written by Shimshon, May 18, 2008 18:53:30
"Neo-kolonialisma -- Penjajahan Cara Baru"

This is what Maha Pencuri - Maha Penipu - Maha Zalim said many many times during is "reign/dictatorship" --
warning the Malays and Malaysians over and over and over again -
that the Evil White Man race is recolonizing the world(3rd world nations) the new way .... via economy, science & technology, media control, etc etc.

But at home - you'd see this damn Maha Pencuri, Maha Firaun - making ULTRA-RACISTS policies that favours the Malay-Muslims --
taking over various & numerous fields, and areas which were once dominated by the Chinese and Indians --
fields that the Chinese and Indians shed sweat, tears and blood to start from scratch (and which took decades/centuries to build/achieve) -
and using the high-productivity of the Chinese and Indians to develop the "Malaysia Melayu Punya" nation.

You'd note that the Malays could come take over almost very town and cities that were once Chinese --
and at the same time create more and more Bumiputra Townships & Cities (the major ones of course are Shah Alam and Putrajaya). .....
and so in both areas are dominated by this (stupid-lazy) race!

Then you'd note, that when they realised that the Malays & Muslim "by Allah their own God's will" -
aren't good at making money & creating prosperity -
but good at stealing what's others', good at making others do the job, create prosperity -
and the Malays & Muslims simply claim the credit --
these morons then encourages esp. the Chinese and White Man over to Putrajaya, Shah Alam, etc Bumiputra cities.

It's just like the NEP, Ketuanan Melayu, Malay Rights & Special Priviledges --
all other races must provide and help the Melayu Bod** have/achieve -- OR ELSE! --
or else!! "Remember May 13!! We'll kill you!! Don't question Malay 'rights'!!"

On their own, in an all-Melayu Malaysia --
there even won't be such a thing as "the Malay race" ---
as we all can see even now, when with their own kind, they keep identifying themselves as Jawa, Bugis, Minang, Achehnese, Arab etc etc --
ANYTHING & EVERYTHING except such a thing as Melayu Jati(asli) race.

This Keling Islam (noted in 'Sejarah Melayu', for Indian Muslims), Mahathir -
has forgotten how during the economic-political crisis of the late 1990s, during the Reformasi days -
how we non-Malays chose Mahathir & UMNO racist buggers over Anwar Ibrahim --
and how due to the Chinese' resilience, the economic impact didn't strike the nations badly as it did other East Asian nations at that time.

So esp. the Chinese, save the damned UMNO & Malay race & Malaysia - economically & politically - (during the 1998-2000 crisis).

Right from the fight for Independence, the Chinese, Indians, etc nonMalay-Muslims, were the once who contributed so much toward this nation - despite our minority status. -
Kick us out, or we nonMalay-Muslim leave this damn country - there'd not be such a thing as Malaysia, or even a "Malay race."

This Ketuanan Melayu's "Master-Slave" & apartheid policy must be crush now -- and kept on being crushed by us nonMalay-Muslims and East Malaysian races.

When these racist pigs talk about Melayu this, Melayu that, we nonMalay-Muslims MUST KEEP ON talking about nonMelayu-Islam this, nonMelayu-Islam that.

For example, when the Melayu Bod** day-in and day-out, in the daily talks or in their media, say:
Untuk Agama(ie Islam), Bangsa(ie Melayu) & Negara(ie M'sia Melayu Punya) --
we nonMalay-Muslims should (OPENLY/PUBLICLY) do the same chant to mean our own nonMalay-Muslim kind.

They put their Allah & Islam (God & Religion) first and foremost, and are very public/open about it - while we nonMuslim generally consider faith and religion a private/personal matter. (I think we nonMuslims should emulate the Muslims)
written by Highway Man, May 18, 2008 19:08:22
Mahathir is not a real Malay, otherwise he would not have done this. He knows very well by doing this is to ruin Malaysia and thus ruin all the Malays and all the rakyat. He had been talking about abandoning the tongkat and urged the Malays to stand alone and be strong and competitive. Now that we are approaching this standard, he is all out to sabotage. What's a waste of all our effort. It is fated and destined Malaysia will not succeed.
written by Kalam Kabut, May 18, 2008 19:25:07
Hei Tun, in ur 22 yrs era as a PM u have done many things to the country. But when u die, i will remember u as the most racist prime minister in the malaysian history and i will tell his to all my future generations......
written by KARMANNGHIA, May 18, 2008 19:33:39
WHY IS HE NOT CHARGED UNDER THE ISA?
written by ktchye, May 18, 2008 19:38:32
Mahathir should be charged with sedition.

Why should the wrong people get the wrong end of the stick when those who obviously should be brought to book get away scot-free?

No wonder Mahathir coined "Malaysia Boleh"!

And he supposedly coined "Bangsa Malaysia" too. Would you believe that? It must have been just another of his political gimmicks.

Bring that man to book la, please.
written by LACOBRA, May 18, 2008 20:06:59
The Cynical old man has a huge ego! He is compromising our unity for his ego. Dare to criticize Singapore any yet pissed off Badawi for the cancellation of the construction of the Crooked bridge. Only crooked mind like his could resort to devious means and ideas.

May he have a long life rotting in jail!
written by gx27, May 18, 2008 20:34:13
one single comment is good enough to destroy whatever he has done for this country.

Good bye you old mamak.
written by Catharsis, May 18, 2008 21:13:49
TDM...EVEN AN OLD FOOL SHOULD BE THOUGHT WISE....YOU WERE GIVEN A SECOND CHANCE IN LIFE BUT YOU ARE NOT REDEEMING YOURSELF.....................................

yOU ARE JUST TOO OLD FOR US TO ADVISE YOU- MAY GOD BLESS YOU ..................
written by peaceguy08, May 18, 2008 21:46:29
Dr M,

You are degenerating your Malay race. You are not helping them. Instead of encouraging them to have more confidence and to stand on their feet, you speak of the opposite.

I have a lot of Malay friends who are well-to-do not because as a result of NEP but because of their own hard effort. They are people of full confidence and high intelligence. They are the ones you should be encouraging to have a better Malaysia. Please do not underestimate the Malays in Malaysia.

For a long time, I have a high respect and esteem of you as a great leader. But today, I am not so sure. You were a leader of all Malaysians and not just the Malays. All we want as Non-Malays is to see our fellow Malay citizens doing well on their own. That should be the way forward in this gobalised world.

Dr M, I just cannot imagine how you can utter these words. The impact is not so much on the Non-Malays but in actual fact your words degenerate the Malays. Can you actually sleep at night?! I suggest you take a look at the definition of a "NAZI or KU KLUX KHAN"!
written by Daryl, May 18, 2008 22:10:44
Use to be proud of you even after all the stupid things you said. This is the straw that broke the camels back. You freaking racist and hope you burn in HELL. Yes I am a MALAY-SIAN.... arse hole.
written by ukmywl, May 18, 2008 22:27:50
Dear Dr M, 22 years you ruled M'sia and now you make such statements. I must say you have failed the entire nation. You are a total failure. I hope you will be brought to justice if you really involve in Lingam case.
22 years for you to create a harmony nation but in turns things are getting worse. Are you really sure that you love the country? Your book 'Dilemma Melayu' were banned once.. I was actually thinking that you may have changed when you became PM and start to realise that there's such concept of a harmony Malaysia. But i guess whatever being said during your time was just a bunch of lies...
You are the best in playing the racial card... Crying in UMNO assembly was totally an act... I don't think you care about the situation in Malaysia.
It's very sad to look at Malaysia as a Malaysian working in Singapore. I see other people's country propering and peaceful but in turn, my country that has much more potential keep fighting each other, crazy for power, corruption, playing with racial cards... It's very sad...
Dr M, if you are a true Malaysian and you love your nation... or perhaps for the sake of leaving a legacy... why not write a book "MALAYSIAN DILEMMA" and bring awareness to the whole nation that we should work together for the sake of competing and survive in this competitive world?
RPK.. thank you for all your effort into bringing so much awareness regarding Malaysia Today...
written by freedom lover, May 18, 2008 23:04:13
Fellow Malaysians!

Let me sum up in utmost honesty and true sentiments of all Singaporeans!

All Singaporeans are in strong favour to maintain a close and strong bond and relationship with Malaysia. I am telling you the whole truth. You can take it from me as an ex Malaysian. The main obstacle to this has always been Dr. Mahathir! He has either directly made several personal unwanted attacks on Singapore or use his cronies and yesmen to attack Singapore. His main intention is to ensure that these 2 nations always remain at verbal war to each other. He has even chided in attacking Singapore with aircrafts.

His hatred towards the concept of Malaysian Malaysia is seen by all of you yesterday! This was the same call Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore was echoing before the separation! So long as Dr. Mahathir is alive this sometimes patchy relationship will exist. I have deep respect for Mr.Anwar because he espouses the same views as Mr Lee, hence the term "ketuanan rakyat" Let me assure you one thing, my Singaporean brothers and sisters comprising the 3 major races and other minority communities live happily with no fear of intimidation or biasness! There are severe laws in this country for racist elements tempering with racial harmony!. No religion is superior than the other in this land! Equal opportunities for Education and scholarships are based upon merits! All handouts from surplus budget are given back to the people based upon individual income, etc. Dr. Mahathir has always been talking about the marginalisation of Malays in this country. Let me assure you, even a poor taxi driver in Singapore is worths RM500,000.00 on an average should he wish to migrate to Malaysia! The government is trying very hard to narrow down the income gap between the rich and the poor! This is their biggest challenge currently!

To all my Malay friends in Malaysia..The best performance by any student in Primary School Leaving Examination in Singapore's history (equivalent to your standard 6 exam)is a Malay girl. Our National Anthem is in Malay! Our commands in MINDEF (Army, Navy and Air Force) are carried out in Malay! And many others. The Malays have never been marginalised, and they have not loss their dignity in Singapore! They never will! All law abiding Singaporeans be it Malays or others are respected and treated equally in Singapore.

My sincere advice to all of you..Dont listen to Dr.Mahathir anymore. He has misled you enough. The people of Malaysia should dictate the path for New Malaysia! Let the New Malaysia prosper working alongside Singapore! Let poverty be erased completely from this land of many resources!
written by SUV, May 18, 2008 23:09:49
tun kok o tua is in a shitole..saya harap intelligence division dah kumpul bukti..haha,mana tau,dsi pundek mamak ni terlibat dgn ltte,ji dan sebagainya...
written by roadbarra, May 18, 2008 23:53:46
After 22 lousy years, now you come out with this cheap,outdated and lousy racist remarks? Don't try scare the rakyat, we are not stupid.
written by Chaptokam, May 19, 2008 00:17:47
written by peaceguy08, May 18, 2008 | 21:46:29
Dr M,

You are degenerating your Malay race. You are not helping them. Instead of encouraging them to have more confidence and to stand on their feet, you speak of the opposite.

Dear peaceguy08
He's No Malay , he is a Mamak . got it ! these Mamak's speaks with fork tongue . You know why I say that ? ask any body here in Malaysia what they think of Mamaks ! The demonstration in Penang after the general election is also organised by the mamaks , NOT the true Malays who are by nature quite peace loving .

But for this Mamak he is a devil , or worse than a devil , he deserves no respect from anyone of us . Remember he made a statement recently saying that the Non Malays refering to the Chinese as paying most of the taxes here in Malaysia , meaning Chinese individuals pay most of the taxes collected by the Government and Chinese companies and corporations contribute the majority of taxes . In other words according to this Mamak the Chinese are paying for the running of the country .
In view of that statement , today the Shit Mamak is singing a different tune to play to a different gallery . People of this kind is worst than the pigs , at least the pigs got brains , they are supposed to be the cleverest animals around . Until today I still don't understand why an ******* who have gone thru two heart operations and nearly died in the process would still be so shitty or filled with shit and hatred for someone , when he should be enjoying his last days together with the wife and grandchildren .
written by schizonoid, May 19, 2008 00:46:07
TDM fav. food is rojak and dont like sambal
belacan.King of BATU API.
written by mamakstail, May 19, 2008 08:53:40
Haha! The Mamak's tail finally comes out for the whole damn world to see...A True Racist Leader..his Tun title should be revoked and he be arrested and charge under ISA for playing with racial sentiment.
written by lokenpal, May 19, 2008 09:38:42
The Malays will never lose their political power, as they have the numbers. DrM and UMNO has failed to help the average Malay economically. Malay customs of ethics and sopan were thrown out of the window for a system of crony capitaism. Even then, DrM failed to establish good governance; essential in GOVERNMENT.

The race card is not going to work, as they have spoken during the last election.

AAB and BN allies have no reasonable plans in taking Malaysia into a globalized, educated and competitive nation of fair and just governance.

It appears DSAI has the political will, economics smarts and moral courage in undertaking those challenges.
written by daniel, May 19, 2008 10:44:49
If he has honor, he'd join Mat Deros!
written by mithrandir, May 19, 2008 13:58:08
There is no love lost between Singaporeans and Malaysians, especially those from Johor. Johor folk say that Singaporeans are condescending and blame their purchasing power for the rising cost of living in the state. Dr Mahathir understands this sentiment better.

Shouldn't you be blaming yourself for that matter? It's the governing powers that should ensure their people HAVE the spending power. geez ........
written by FuLinYu, May 19, 2008 14:16:44
It's the governing powers that should ensure their people HAVE the spending power. geez ........

In years gone by, I remember very well, my family, friends and I travel to Singapore to buy cheaper items, etc. Now, it's the reverse. Malaysians' buying power had slowly deteriorated over the ex-PM 22 years.
written by onmu martin, May 19, 2008 14:31:11
Dr. M should be charged under the ISA for raising sensitive issue to stir up the Malay hatred and suspicion for the other races. When he was PM he would not hesitate to lock anyone up for raising sensitive issue using the ISA. So, why is he doing it now. Is he so desperate for power and recognition that he has to play this racial card? Where is is integrity?
written by mob1900, May 19, 2008 20:15:37
written by KM Wong, May 19, 2008 23:23:32
Mahathir
Just drop dead! Or suffer a stroke and suffer the rest of your miserable years. You are way past your "Use By" date.
written by DontPlayGod, May 19, 2008 23:25:45
So, this Tun is again showing his racist streak. Not only this, he is also showing his ketuanan, and race discriminatory steak. This is done, as the article hints, to get the Malays to his side.

But will the Malays be so easily swayed this time round? After all cronyism, discrimination, A.P.'s, making billionaires out of nobodies occurred during his time. The Malay ultras will surely support him. So too, will the cronies. But the non-Malays will continue to loathe him, after all he was the one man who brought discrimination and ketuanan to its height of indecency.
written by ChiangKT, May 20, 2008 05:21:30
Charge this old man with treason, sedition. Bring him to court, or detain using ISA! This old man has lost his mind.
written by Tom n Jerry, May 20, 2008 08:15:33
I was in full moral support of TDM for the past two decades when he was PM!I appreciate his iron grasp when the world economy turn sour in late1990*s.But all this goes down the drain when he suddenly make a roundabout turn for the worse!Playing racial politics and backstabbing is his current pastime!No wonder our country is in turmoil now!Dumping UMNO and challenging his successor is the gravest sin that cant be forgiven no matter how you try!Don tforget the power of karma!Drama is only entertainment for the theatre audience,not for politics! smilies/tongue.gif
written by alan cheong, May 20, 2008 11:03:50
Come come, ye so-called enforcers of the law and keepers of the peace, come forth and do your sworn duty ... as ye so often doth love to profess how ye nobly (puke) discharge thine sworn duties in keeping harmony ...

sally forth and detain, nay, arrest this knave by name of mahathir ... for blatant sedition of the highest order ... for inciting racial hatred and bringing about disharmonious racial chaos and ...

in the ensuing, do charge this knave with multiple counts of premeditated murder ... do include the oppression of innocents, of widows and orphans, too ... for their tears and blood cry out every morn and even, from the waxing of the moon to its waning ...

yea, carry out thine sworn duty ye so-called enforcers of the law, keepers of the peace ... or keep your peace forever and do not blabber or oppress the innocent or spill innocent blood or rifle coffers that ye do not own ... for the wrath of the Living God comes nigh ... even as thy end draws nigh.
written by kedahan63, May 20, 2008 14:01:50
How come the "budak-budak tingkat empat" haven't made a police report against Dr. M for inciting racial hatred? Is it becoz they are afraid it might back fire and cause FIL to be charged for Sedition like Karpal? At least he'll have a familiar face as cell-mate if both goes to jail.

Let all of us form a true Bangsa Malaysia; replace "Kaum/Bangsa" with "Keturunan" (in all forms & docs) to remind ourselves of our rich ancestral heritage; we can fill in "Malaysia" as 'Bangsa'; just think of all the knowledge & skill sharing each community will benefit from. We don't have to join the Army just to have someone (of a different community) look after our backs. Let us do it away from the armed forces, as civilians, like we did during Bersih and 8th March.
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 20, 2008 14:45:45
I liken our government support for our Bumiputras, especially our Malaya race, to a child learning to walk. Each time the child(Malay) stands up to take that crucial vital first step, the parent (UMNO) quickly rushed to hold it up for fear that the child might fall and hurt itself. If the parent persists in doing that, the child WILL NEVER learn to walk and to stand on its two feet. How else will it learn how to run?
I think it’s time UMNO let our Malay race learn how to walk, to run, and to stand on their two feet.
written by antiilluminati, May 21, 2008 17:44:25
I think below story somehow summed up TDM actions lately. He has became so attached his UMNO BARU's legacy he left upon. Just like moral of the story below, Somehow, the vase became greater, or more important, to the general than his life – at least for a while. What made it that way?

There was a general in ancient China who retired after many years of military service. Not wishing to sit around doing nothing, he took up the hobby of collecting antiques.

One day, he sat in his study to admire his latest acquisition – a small antique vase. It was expensive but worth it. He turned it this way and that, examining the exquisite patterns that ancient craftsmen had worked into it.

Suddenly, a careless movement of his fingers caused the vase to slip from his hands. The general tried to catch it, but its slick surface was difficult to grasp. He dove forward to try again. It was a close call, but he finally managed to hold on to it, mere inches from the floor.

The general's heart was pounding rapidly. His breathing was frantic. He gripped the vase tightly and stood up slowly. After a while, he was able to regain some composure.

He was relieved to have avoided damage, but something was not right. Instead of elation, he felt only puzzlement. "In all my campaigns," he thought to himself, "charging against the enemy, leading men into battle, even facing much bigger armies than mine… I never felt as much fear as I did just now. Why?"

Throughout his military career, the general always recognized the possibility of losing his life, but it didn't frighten him at all. Somehow, on this particular day, the possibility of losing the vase frightened him a lot.
written by Tok Din, May 22, 2008 19:29:34
It is sad to see this old man harboring so much bitterness and hatred as he approaches the end of his life. Why has he so much hatred for other races? Why does he have such a small heart?

Tun, why don't leave a good name for your self in the record of history? How much more power and money do you need? Has the 22 years of power abuse and enrichment not adequate for you and your family?

Please leave us alone as we clean up the mess left behind by your 22 years of dictatorial rule. All the major institutions were destroyed by your tyrannical rule: Police, Immigration, Customs, Judiciary, Malay rulers.

We pray that you go peacefully into your retirement. At 83, there are not much time left to live. What you failed to do in 22 years, cannot be done fewer years. There is no need to manufacture another May 13 just to be remember for your notoriety. You have already done enough damages in your 22 years of absolute rule.