Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Perak issue – Why make it into a mountain when it was just a mole hill ?

Perak issue – Why make it into a mountain when it was just a mole hill ? PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 20:21

By Choo Sing Chye - Former DAP State Assemblyman (Perak)

Nineteen reports made against Karpal Singh?  I believe this is the highest number of police reports made so far, but  why Karpal Singh is always in the limelight giving the impression that what he  did in Perak was worst than Terengganu.

What happened in Terengganu constituted a much bigger injury to the Royalties as a whole than Karpal’s comments.   By labeling the Sultan with names that went well beyond the precincts of sedition, the culprits and their leaders had brought the Terengganu Royalties into ill repute.

The media had successfully used numbers as a measure of  seriousness which they had  done in the case of Perak.  It had portrayed Karpal Singh as an insolent and mean MP and the Menteri Besar as a puppet of DAP.   But in Terengganu, they remain mute.  There is no investigative reporting at all. Nobody knows how many reports were made and the number of people involved. Why?  Apparently, the media is inherently pro-UMNO and its their job is to downplay the issue in Terengganu  for it allegedly involved UMNO. 

UMNO had a long history of meddling into the affairs of the Sultans. There was one almost identical case happened in Kelantan in 1988 at the height of the Constitutional Crisis.  According to Far Eastern Economic Review report:

In March 1988, the sultan openly showed his displeasure with (Barisan Nasional) Menteri Besar Tan Sri Mohamed Yaacob, refusing to allow him to lead the traditional pledge of allegiance before him.  In December, palace and government fought a proxy duel over the annual transfer of state government officers – Mohamed wanting one list and the officers’ commission, an independent body set up by the sultan, wanting another.  It ended in a compromise.

In Perak, the case is not as serious as in Kelantan but when the sacking of a State senior officer appeared in the papers, it became a political issue. 

The Sultan is ABOVE politics.  The sacking of the officer without any consultation, reasons or warnings gave a picture of arrogant ‘GAMBARAN’ on the part the MB.  Thus, any sacking must not be done openly in the media, it is not proper.  In any government’s protocol, official matters must go through proper channel i.e., “MELALUI SALURAN YANG TERTENTU.”  

How does the Sultan feel  if he only knew of the sacking through the papers? Thus, RIGHTLY,  the officer was reinstated by the Sultan, as the sacking was done in such an impolite and reckless manner.  This is Sultan’s DISPLEASURE!    

Mohammad Nizar Jamaludin  should and must APOLOGISE  to his Royal Highness to end this issue. It must be done quick or his apologies would be irrelevant through the passage of time.

Being new, Mohammad Nizar Jamaludin is inexperience in running the government and it is not fair to portray him as arrogant.  Just like Tajol Rosli, the former MB is inexperience in his role as an opposition. He displayed it when he offered to resign as State Assemblyman. Why gives up a seat that had already won?

I contested against Tajol Rosli (Parliament – Gerik) in the 1986 General Elections.   During the counting of votes, he came and sat near me and spoke to me.   I found this action of his, friendly and courteous.   Even DAP ordinary members in Gerik didn’t speak ill of him.  I was sad  he was the Menteri Besar when the state fell.  This is fate.

Apparently, the political power wielded by the Executive in the Constitutional Crisis was overwhelming that it prompted the late Tungku to said that he had made a “mistake’,  According to the Far Eastern Economic Review report:

Tunku Abdul Rahman regrets that he did not give the sultans enough political power. The Tunku, Malaysia’s founding prime minister who helped to frame its constitution, told the REVIEW:  “ “I made a mistake. ” ”

(He) believed that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Mahathir Mohamad had set up a dictatorship. “ “Neither the king nor the other sultans had any constitutional power to check an elected political leader’s ambitions if they felt he going against the people’s wishes…” ”

When Tungku said that he made a ‘mistake’ for not ‘giving’ enough political power to the Sultans.  Here Tungku made another mistake by saying ‘giving,’ it should be REINSTATING some political powers. The powers of the Sultan were taken away by the British.  ‘Give’ is not correctly used in this context. Here is my argument:  

Malaysia is a political creation and so was Malaya.  From the ancient context, Malaya and Malaysia  does not exist.  What existed long before Malaysia was created,  were several self-governing Malay kingdoms. 

Perak was one them.  The Rulers had his own administrative structure and  most important of all was that he had his own army to defend its state.  But when the British intervened in Perak, they started the Residential System.  On the surface, the role of the Residents was to advice, which seemed subservient in the eyes of the Malays but in actuality it was the other way round. The Resident was all powerful.

Then came the fight for independence, the late Tunku Abdul Rahman had  a huge task to convince all the Sultans to join and support the new Malayan Federation, which they did.  At that time, any of the Sultan would have seek independence separately as an independent kingdom but didn’t.  But it was not impossible.   

Now on to a different subject. 

Karpal Singh, had I not known him during the days when I worked for the late P. Patto, as his political secretary, I would have said. “he shoots from the mouth rather than from the hip and without aiming”.   But this is UMNO’s media ‘GAMBARAN.’  It is powerful, even top and middle ranking DAP  leaders get influenced by this ‘GAMBARAN’. 

I made frequent visits to Kamunting with Patto’s family during Patto’s detention, I often heard prison guards at Kamunting Detention Center talking about Karpal.  They said they were surprised at Karpal Singh’s politeness, cordiality and friendliness.  At first they thought he was a fierce and insolent man (BN media gambaran) but found out that he is just a gentle, courteous and upright.    

He never lack wisdom for he has plenty of it.  His mannerism is always the same, whether he speaks in court, parliament or to friends, it is straight-jacket like, which seemed insensitive but it is not, just his nature.  He is kindhearted and generous for he had taken up a lot of cases of the poor, free of charge. (I can attest to it).

Another example is Lim Kit Siang.  He is not spared by the powerful UMNO media GAMBARAN, he is seen as a bigot by majority of the Malays and he could not do anything about it.    During the 1990 General Elections, posters of Kit Siang holding a M16 were put up in many Malay kampungs. 

If I were a Malay seeing all these and reading slanted news about Kit Siang in the Malay dailies, I would have hated him too. 

Finally I wish to end this article with a warning to all opposition politicians -  practice SAFE POLITICS*  because news on oppositions are elastic and when  it gets to the table of the UMNO media editor,   it  gets  s c r e t c h e d !   So be forewarned.

written by semut, May 17, 2008 20:25:09
1 question..
why raja2 or sultan2 semua senyap je dlm hal ni?
why??????

damn!
written by andywongkch, May 17, 2008 20:28:38
folks. It is time for the perak sultanate to speak out. Please let us know if he thinks there is anything wrong for what Karpal had said. If he thinks there is, then Karpal shall be charged. If NOT, the sultan needs to take a stand on this. Being quiet on this matter doesnt look good from the commoners perspective.
agree 126
written by freedom lover, May 17, 2008 20:28:44
Mr. Choo Sing Chye, With due respect to you, please note that if UMNO/MCA/MIC has the MSM under their control, the opposition has the more powerful cybermedia in their hands! I would suggest that you stop reading those unreliable news from the MSM, and get updated with reliable news from the cybermedia! There isn't a need to practice SAFE POLITICS with DANGEROUS POLITICIANS! Then all politics become UNSAFE!
written by kamal, May 17, 2008 20:35:25
UMNO can do anything and NOTHING HAPPENS.

These double standards need to STOP.

CHANGE THIS BN GOVERNMENT IMMEDIATELY.

There must be a good reason for transfering the Islamic Director and the parties involves need to evaluate them. Maybe, MB Perak just did it too fast.

Anyway, everyone of us learn from mistakes. We will NEVER repeat it.

UMNO is wants to prove to the Sultan and malay rakyat they care. Do you think they CARE?

When UMNO and BN losses POWER, then you can see the fun.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by rakyat101, May 17, 2008 20:56:52
Our AG can not pakai anymore, he is simply too corrupt, AG should be investigated, he is not the only one who understand the law in this country, what a manipulator.
written by semut, May 17, 2008 21:05:02
khir toyo bagi PENYAPU..semua marah
sultan dilabel NATANG aka BINATANG aka HAIWAN aka ANIMAL..sultan senyap je?

c'mon..
written by cancan, May 17, 2008 21:12:41
Everybody knows that the Umnoputras are stirring trouble and they must be exposed at all costs!

Like in marketing of a product,we must keep on exposing them as the evils of politics.
The more evils they do,the greater will be the branding.
written by omarkhayyam, May 17, 2008 21:13:56
remember Semarak campaign guys .... its not us but Them who started the insult on our sultans ....

written by miracle, May 17, 2008 21:23:29
daulat tuanku ... please say something ...

"practice SAFE POLITICS" i guess PR should learn a thing or two .. when dealing with those crooks... using The Art of War (Chinese: 孫子兵法; pinyin: Sūn Zǐ Bīng Fǎ) smilies/wink.gif
written by CM Lam, May 17, 2008 21:24:08
Whatever Karpal said is no longer important. Important issue is that M Nizar has apolosised and reinstated that guy. Case considered settled. What is next? RPK, Karpal next Bodohwi,Hisapmorphine, Kari, Idris and gang..... Better drop everythinglah INCLUDING RELEASING our 5 Hindraf brothers..and concentrate on building our torn nation.
written by Milo, May 17, 2008 21:30:04
Finally I wish to end this article with a warning to all opposition politicians - practice SAFE POLITICS* because news on oppositions are elastic and when it gets to the table of the UMNO media editor, it gets s c r e t c h e d ! So be forewarned.
---------------------------

This is fair warning and it is what happened to the Karpal's case. It is not about the truth, it is about your words being s c r e t c h e d !
written by Rhan, May 17, 2008 21:40:43
Wise advice on practice safe politics, if you don't know the trick, learn from MCA, Gerakan, and MIC.

And btw, why the hell all this former this and former that never learn to keep their mouth shut huh?
written by jammary88, May 17, 2008 21:42:25
Why speculate, Choo...u have given the answer at the last paragraph. UMNO will definately pick and make a big issue of any PR words...tak ada kerja cari kerja le!
written by sarawakian, May 17, 2008 22:03:43
why raja2 or sultan2 semua senyap je dlm hal ni?

The Sultan is ABOVE politics.

silence is golden. they didn't start the fire, so they're no obligated to put it out lest their effort and good intention goes awry. the current political situation in the country is among politicians and for the politicians to sort out. the Royalty did not start it nor will they comment on it. GOOD MOVE! Royalty is WISE!

DAULAT TUANKU!
written by box, May 17, 2008 22:30:39
Yes, practise safe politics. You (PR) might have won the battle (12th GE) but please don't lose the war.
written by johanssm, May 17, 2008 22:39:26
umno thinks that they are the sole proprietor and owns Malaysia and can do whatever they likes.While championing malay supremacy and brain washing the malays , umno transformed royalties into puppets.
Royalties are to be blame too as they were not vocal until now at 2008.
Suddenly royalties are so vocal this year.Why now?...why not years ago ?
while royalties are from different hierarchy , they are ordinary humans too and have feelings just like anybody else.They just happens to be born into royal family and continues their family linage.
Correct me if i am wrong , if royalties are suppose to take care of islam good image, have any royalties instructed or demanded the release of any ISA detainees ?
Karpal was right and correct to the point regarding the dismissal of that chief mullah or whatever government servants.As long as the salary is from the state , state CM have the rights to hires and fires whoever.
Forget about umno , they are just a parasite political party who only defends itself.umno is just a political party and is nothing more than that.Is time for royalties to make a stand on issues if they wants to be heard as well. There are 9 of them and another 9 regents.
We do not want the royalties to bickers and involves in politics and joins in the fray.Unless royalties wants to be politicians too.
umno is confusion the people and so are the royalties.
Better to make a clear stand and draws the line.
written by mon497, May 17, 2008 22:57:12

Royalty cannot comment but i am sure they can speak to the PM and stop him from stirring up the public.
written by justice6, May 17, 2008 22:59:12
talk to the PM??? hello mon497, where were you all these years?... umno ppl will never listen...they think they are always on top...
written by budakindia, May 17, 2008 23:16:02
guys, don't get caught on this. UMNO is pretty desperate nowadays. It's a trap! They can make as many police reports as they wanted. We need to remain calm and figure out our actions! Their plan only works when we are in panic, emotional and not properly organized. smilies/wink.gif
written by Daryl, May 17, 2008 23:26:44
I believe royalties are more vocal because they can and hope they can count on PR to throw their support behind them when needed. Another word they see the shift in power from political parties to rakyat's hands. So, all we need now is a government that will provide an environment that is safe, peaceful, fair education system and wealth to the poor and middle class.
written by apasalahku, May 17, 2008 23:34:09
you made it sound as if the sultans graciously conceded power to Tunku. But in fact, that was their only survival. Republican winds were blowing strongly at that time and UMNO was their only hold onto the Malay's feudal mind.
So no, TUnku was RIGHT in using the word GIVE
written by Careformalaysia, May 17, 2008 23:59:37
DRAI, please take over the Federal Government soonest possible if you have the numbers of MPs crossing over as claimed. Then abolish the Sedition Act, the ISA, the Printing and Press Act, the University and Colleges Act, and any other laws that hinders democracy, transparency, competency and accountability.
written by Proarte, May 18, 2008 01:23:17
The fundamental issue is whether we want unelected Royals dictating who should be in the government administration. This clearly is passe and not conducive to the development of a mature democracy.

The Sultan of Perak should have known better than to interfere in the administration of the State. He is a constitutional monarch and is bound by the dictates of the state constitution. The spirit of the constitution is clear that there should be a separation of powers and jurisdiction. In the same way the King´s Speech outlined ´His´ government´s plan in parliament recently, it is clear that the King can in no way alter the content of the speech because it is written by the government of the day.

Royalty in Malaysia must realise that they are a colonial invention and relic. The exploitation of the land by the colonials was done with ´permission´ given by the royals. These ´royals´ were relatively impoverished, one just has to see their abodes taken in the late 19th century and early 20th century to get an idea.

The British confered on them untold wealth and a whole elaborate lifestyle and constitutional ´powers`. They served merely as puppets of the British. The purpose was an elaborate exercise in feigned ´non-interference´ but the Royals could not object to the wishes of the colonials. So much for their powers! Just imagine the Sultan of Selangor was refused entry into the Lake Club because he was a native and this was done by a low ranking British officer in the establishment!

Now we have the Sultan of Perak trying to show off his powers ( which he does not have) by reinstating an officer in the Islamic department against the wishes of the MB. Why can´t the Sultan of Perak give the same respect to the MB as his forefathers did to the British administrators?

The sad fact is the Sultan of Perak has demeaned himself by going against the wishes of the MB. He was not fighting for some high principle. In fact the Islamic officer Jumry is of the same calibre as Hasrainy who is as unintellectual and divisive as they come.
written by wood, May 18, 2008 01:50:56
DEAR KS, YOU WILL ALWAYS HAVE THE RESPECT FROM THE RAKYAT AND THOSE YOU HAVE DEFENDED WHEN NO ONE ELSE DARE !
written by roadbarra, May 18, 2008 03:32:08
Mr C4 and Mr Zzzz after Karpal's skin?
written by Malaysiaputra, May 18, 2008 17:09:23
Perak issue – Why make it into a mountain when it was just a mole hill ?

=======

Diversionary tactic to take the heat off UMNO lah.
written by sunshine, May 18, 2008 21:36:55
AAB wrong MOVE!!!
we will denial you in next term..