Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zaid: Information leaks can lead to public unease

Zaid: Information leaks can lead to public unease PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 19:10

(The Star) KOTA BARU: The Federal Government has to control leakages of sensitive information because it can lead to unnecessary unease among the public if the information is released prematurely or if it becomes misinterpreted.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim said nowadays there are a considerable level of leakages and the Government is concerned and there is need for tighter control.

It is the practice of any responsible Government. There is some information that is not ready to be digested by the public ,” he said after opening the National Banks Employees Union (NUBE) sports carnival at Hospital Universiti Sains Malaysia here Saturday.

On the lodging of police reports against newspapers for publishing the Royal Commission of Inquiry Report on the V.K. Lingam video clip before it was made public, he said: “I am not the person who asked for a police report to be lodged. The media should refer to the rightful parties.”

Zaid said the parties who lodged the report had perhaps felt an offence was committed.

It was not my idea. Before anyone can lodge a report, he must have a valid reason. Anyhow, the police must study the matter before they can determine if there is basis for an investigation to be conducted.”

The media should not worry if they feel no offence was committed.

On the price of the report, Zaid said the Inquiry’s recommendation only costs RM160 while the full report, which include the evidence, is priced at RM541.60, which is based on printing costs.

The question of reaping a profit does not arise, Zaid said.

To a question that Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat had called for the Malay Rulers to step forward and explain the basis of Malay supremacy in the Federal Consititution, Zaid said there now exist various interpretations of race supremacy.

Whatever it is, people must respect the Constitution.”

Zaid said he would advise anybody engaged in such debates or polemics to refer to the Federal Constitution.

We must respect the laws of the land. If we reject it then the country would be unsafe. The laws are there for reference.”

Anybody can demand their rights but use the constitution as a guide, Zaid said, adding that the rights of everyone including Malays, Chinese and Indians are enshrined in the constitution.

written by Chuan, May 17, 2008 19:13:04
Information unleaked can lead to public uprising!
written by oster, May 17, 2008 19:19:03
“It is the practice of any responsible Government. There is some information that is not ready to be digested by the public ,” he said

More patronising, Father-Knows-Best attitude from the ruling elite.

How long will it be before they realise that it is this kind of attitude that's destroying things like our education system?

You do not judge for the public what it is "ready" for.

written by sarawakian, May 17, 2008 19:19:26
of course there is a possibility of public uprising when the public finds out their money has been swindled by corrupted politicians under the guise of development.

another example is when there is an imminent food product shortage and the gov't keeps quiet about it. for items like sugar or salt, it may be possible to forego those items but what happens if we run out of rice? there will be BIG problems if that happens.

written by Malaysia Digest, May 17, 2008 19:19:37
Boleh caya ke information yang leaking tu ?

Malaysia Digest
written by Jetman, May 17, 2008 19:30:32
do you know what does bollocks mean? this is it...
written by sickofitall, May 17, 2008 19:39:39
You do not have enough fingers to plug the leaks because people like the Pahang MB needs his fingers for swearing in sign language
written by PasarRoad, May 17, 2008 19:40:33
Alamak! Zaid, you are UMNO and BN's last hope, yet you can come up with such a statement dripping with warped logic? smilies/shocked.gif
written by omarkhayyam, May 17, 2008 19:53:07
Zaid says

Petronas petrol dollars also come into this category ah?

“It is the practice of any responsible Government. There is some information that is not ready to be digested by the public ,” he said after opening the National Banks Employees Union (NUBE) sports carnival at Hospital Universiti Sains Malaysia here Saturday.

written by alarcarte, May 17, 2008 20:48:53
I don't think the Public will feel unease with this particular information leaked. The opposite might be true. The Public are getting excited and wait eagerly for show time, hopefully it is not anti climax.
written by dinsmann, May 17, 2008 21:05:41
Zahid, We the rakyats are not that stupid. We are more informed and civilised than most of AMNOs ketua bahagian and cawangan. Stop patronising! Hidup PR! Hidup DSAI!
written by ChanRaj, May 17, 2008 21:22:16
Why worry about the leaks, you only have 10 fingers, 10 toes and your little brother, it wont help because the whole dam is going to burst soon.
written by Motherchell, May 17, 2008 21:50:01
Is this what we call Law and order in this Police State????? Umno is so much involved with shackling its own innocent Rajyat?????????? You mean UMNO or MUSA have no ballze to go after rapists , murderers , and thiefs?????????????why are you upstarts waisting public funds and precious time .

Forever everything is either , Seditious , OSA or ISA. This 50 year old overweight diseased dragon has to be put to sleep fast !!
written by InEffective, May 17, 2008 22:53:25
whats the point of the constitution and its so-called rights, when its implementation cannot be assured in entirety?

You effectively have a dysfunctional constitution - just like your judges, your law & enforcements.

If you still have not figured that out, ignorance sure is bliss - all power to you.
written by lynn, May 17, 2008 23:02:53
The gov't treats us citizens like half-morons, emotional, lacking in self-control, only giving us information deemed "not sensitive". You know I hate that word, sensitive or seditious, because whenever the gov't has anything to hide, they will keep us from getting informed by waving that OSA or ISA threats.

I am really sick and tired of this bn gov't. Whatever it takes, Anwar, by fair or foul means, go ahead, make my day, be our next PM in 2008.
written by budakindia, May 17, 2008 23:53:52
Is it because the gomen now couldn't charge RM541.60? Couldn't sell even a copy? That amounts to National Emergency? smilies/grin.gif The gomen is not getting enough ripping us ? smilies/grin.gif Oh wow how revealing? Trying to make a quick buck over the Lingam case? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by RCChia, May 18, 2008 00:08:01
“Whatever it is, people must respect the Constitution.”

Respect for constitution? Ha ! The Rakyat will do so if BN does so first. As it is we have not seen any signs or attempt do so so, except where it benefits BN.
written by Arubin, May 18, 2008 00:53:31
The Federal Government has to control leakages of sensitive information because it can lead to unnecessary unease among the public if the information is released prematurely or if it becomes misinterpreted.

Translation: We need time to cover up so that we can claim the information was falsified or exaggerated.
written by MsiaCTzen, May 18, 2008 06:56:39
“Whatever it is, people must respect the Constitution.” said Zaid

Mr Zaid. Do BN ever respect the constitution? They have been changing and editing the constitution to their party advantage. eg. the latest EC chairman retirement age.

There is total no respect from the ruling party.you go tell them.

How many times have the constitution have been change?

Don't talk about constitution. If BN treats it as sheet of paper which they can change it to their party or personal advantage.

Malaysia Constitution !! does it really constitute any meaning toward the Ra'ayat well being?

Power To The People

Let see Gani have to Balls to charge Mamak-thir? After he made the challenge in Johor. Or he just going to let that "COW DUNG" go scots free.

Eat this before you advise Ra'ayat to respect the constitution.
written by mykantree, May 18, 2008 13:25:59
It's a big disappointment for this Zaid to say that the publication of the VK Lingam tapes commission would cause public unease.I am sure all right thinking Malaysian feels exactly the opposite of what Zaid said.I for one would be absolutely devastated if it were kept secret, like so many other information which should be public knowledge.This Zaid is beginning to think and act exactly like the UMNO/BN that has largely been rejected by the Rakyat.I guess the influence of the UMNO majority is beginning to overtake his previous thinking and of what is wrong or right.
written by CPY, May 18, 2008 13:27:27
Info leak will lead to BN downfall, oops instability(Freaudian slip).
written by harryo, May 18, 2008 18:58:33
What information leak, is it like the flip-flop, messy awy of handling indelible ink for PRU 12?
written by hibiscus22, May 18, 2008 22:30:27
“It is the practice of any responsible Government. There is some information that is not ready to be digested by the public ,”
Pak Zaid, with due respect we rakyat are ready for this kind of scandal...uncle kopi kow satu lagi.....excuse me..hmmm(continue). Pak Zaid we have been cheated in the day broad light by your colleague in the past so don't worry, if we can take it from Kerismudin, Beruk Oxford, Najis Tarantula aka yellow submarine, this is just kacang putih daa...