Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr Mahathir dares government to charge him

Dr Mahathir dares government to charge him PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 18:50

(The Malaysian Insider) JOHOR BARU, May 17 ─ Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is not worried that he has been named as one of the six under probe for a conspiracy to manipulate the appointment of judges.

Dr Mahathir cynically said he welcomed the investigation by the police and hoped the case would not be dropped eventually.

"I hope I will be charged in a court of law so that I would have the opportunity to defend myself and expose whatever things I need to say.

"But if the investigation eventually shows that there is no case against me, then ‘susah la’ (it is difficult). I ask that there will be a case against me. I do not want to be released later as others will talk behind my back that I was lobbying for my own release," he said during a Q&A session at a post-election Umno forum organised by Badan-badan Bertindak Gabungan Ahli-ahli Umno Akar Umbi Johor in Johor Baru today.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Lim Lim, May 17, 2008 18:55:22
this toon is setting the 'poker game' in commencement mode!!lets see his card..
written by malsia1206, May 17, 2008 18:57:34
TDM, despite you having been castigated by the court of public opinion, rest assured you would not be charged. Even if there is overwhelming evidence of your complicity in these evil acts. Because the AG was tained under your pupillage to sit when asked to, bark when ordered to and bite only when the master gives the command. And this AG knows fully well who was his master. The other dog was Augustine Paul Irrelevant. You see, sometimes it's good to keep trained dogs in your circle of family clowns. They are loyal and cultured to be no better than robots. This Ag is a classic example surely. Your divedends are paying off even after you had been out for 5 years. Good dog. SIT.
written by lynn, May 17, 2008 19:03:07
Before the gov't proceed against TDM, there is an urgent need to replace the AG immediately. "Retire" patail "gracefully" & find a true professional to take over, not only qualified, but will act without fear or favor. If the same AG, we all can predict the outcome.

But I think the old man is saying, "charge me in court and I will bring the rest down with me." It's a dare and a challenge.

Guys, the show is only to start soon. Get a carton of popcorns, sit back and enjoy the greatest showdown in Asia!
written by kamal, May 17, 2008 19:04:04
TDM should face up to his mistakes. The rakyat is fully knows what he has done during his 22 years in office.

Is TDM saying he never made any mistake?

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by little dragon, May 17, 2008 19:04:21
aiseh man. mahathir is taunting our authorities la. i wonder if they will b too afraid to touch him? if so, let us remind dat NOBODY is above d law including him.

SO, CHARGE D BUGGER!!!
written by Selva, May 17, 2008 19:04:55
What are the police and the ACA waiting for-arrest those implicated, get a remand order for two weeks to facilitate investigations and put the three Tuns in the lockup with a Tan Sri and a Datuk. Do not drag you feet on this-I am sure Musa Hassan and Gani empat tail must be regretting this arduos task of arresting their mentors... smilies/smiley.gif
written by Uncorruptible, May 17, 2008 19:05:08
We also need to call in the International Court of Justice (the Court which tried Saddam Husein)to investigate the May 13 incident. It was clearly a genocide. And one of the pepetrators is still alive.
written by cancan, May 17, 2008 19:11:22
Is Abdullah Badawi playing a political mind-game?

Link: http://www.kingsamry.********.com/
written by Toyolbuster, May 17, 2008 19:13:30
This mamak has become so arrogant that he can challenge the law inspite of being guilty for having prostituted the judiciary for 20 years. He knows damn well that no one in the present government would dare to pin him down cos they all carry heavy baggages that was given to them by him and he knows where to find them baggages. But he will not get away when in hell and that will be soon.
written by sarawakian, May 17, 2008 19:23:34
smart mahathir has already got too much evidence of wrongdoing by the current politicians to worry about being charged in court.

any clever schemer will first corrupt his men before enriching himself. this is to prevent anyone below him squealing at a later time as all will sink together. the PM does it, the IGP does it.. almost everyone in power does it.
written by power2u, May 17, 2008 19:30:46
Pak Lah,this is the time you should ask AG to hasten prosecution against your mortal enemy,Mahazalim...He is challenging you and pleading with you to giv him a chance to defend himself in court,Pls do soon.
If you need a prosecution team ,forget about that Petai,you can ask ANYONE of us,we would be too glad to assist in docementing alll the corrupt practices of this Mamak,
written by freedom lover, May 17, 2008 19:43:59
Dr.Mahathir, challenging to be charged are actions of the guilty!
written by Chaptokam, May 17, 2008 20:32:10
Appointed Karpal Singh as the next AG replacing Gany Patail .
written by ilovepakatan, May 17, 2008 20:56:26
The people's verdict: Guilty! For destroying Malaysia for the past 22 freaking years.

Be a man and admit you are wrong, Chedet! smilies/angry.gif
written by CM Lam, May 17, 2008 20:58:35
Yes I agree....Karpal is the right candidate.
written by Mangan, May 17, 2008 21:22:18
... "I hope I will be charged in a court of law so that I would have the opportunity to defend myself and expose whatever things I need to say."...

Atuk yang sorang ni kadang-kadang, pa nama?! cepat lupa (daratan)...
written by Taikohtai, May 17, 2008 21:32:37
Stupid Malaysian cabinet, what are you waiting for?
I dare you to ISA TDM right now. Charge him with sedition too.
He is telling you guys that you have no balls.
Perhaps he is right!
The Malaysian cabinet is always hiding behind the police and the judiciary. Spineless! Bodoh!
written by Hope4all, May 17, 2008 21:51:58
Is Pak Lah able to rise up to TDM's challenge? Ataupun sudah gentar?
written by Milo, May 17, 2008 22:13:34
Hope4all: Is Pak Lah able to rise up to TDM's challenge?
----------------------------------

With just as much dirt behind his government, how can Pak Lah go after TDM? Yes, change the AG immediately, and we may have some hope.
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 17, 2008 22:17:06
Truly, if the government would like to proceed with the investigations against the six, first of all get rid off AG.
written by InEffective, May 17, 2008 22:44:18
Suffice to say that Malaysian ruling politicians have truly attained 'Ketuanan' status - congratulations from the admiring Malaysian Rakyat.

Totally awe-inspiring leadership, capability, and achievements.

Spore - eat your heart out - you sure can't top this.
written by yellow7, May 17, 2008 22:49:47
Mmmmmmm amboi, chelaka, BITCHY......, nanti I pegi rumah hang and chubit hang punya popok... Bitchy betul..........
written by maniwannan_subramaniam, May 17, 2008 22:56:59
these BN(UMNO) goons will only show their bravery to the poor, destute people..n the AG to si one....only can be "righteous" to the weak oppressed ones..when it comes to their UMNO fools..they will fan their balls..no need a trial..we know this old senile racist mahathir will be free n AG will say TAK CUKUP BUKTI...don't waste rakyat's money to have a sandiwara to blind malaysian la..so disgusting
written by Negarakuku, May 17, 2008 23:08:18

HOW TO CHARGE HIM ???????????????

MALAYSIA GOVT IS COWARD COWARD COWARD !!!!!!!!

MALAYSIA GOVT ONLY DARES TO CHARGE WEAK PEOPLE LIKE KARPAL AND YM RPK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif

written by hakuna, May 17, 2008 23:25:55
TDM is just pulling a fast one - he says this hoping that nothing takes place.

It is a false stance that he is portraying , whereas he is shitting in his pants - he has no other choice - he is good at acting so it is not surprising.

But lets not forget about Altantuya, improper deals and ALL the ISA detainees in this cloud - the BN government is good in this.
written by budakindia, May 17, 2008 23:27:19
guys don't get too upset. This is a clear cut case of Abdullah's stupidity. Just like the saying goes "Marahkan nyamuk, kelambu dibakar"! smilies/grin.gif Now everything will be revealed for the public and brings the whole judiciary into the dumps! Way to go Abdullah! smilies/grin.gif
written by trublumalaysian, May 17, 2008 23:46:04
written by Chaptokam, May 17, 2008 | 20:32:10

Appointed Karpal Singh as the next AG replacing Gany Patail..

DITTO! AND WHY NOT ....
written by sonofmalaysia, May 17, 2008 23:48:10
Yes, appoint Karpal Singh to be the AG to pursue the case, see if he is still so garang.
written by JaguhKampung, May 17, 2008 23:57:23
Ah! You said this after the commission mentioned you as one of those to be investigated. Why don't you throw your challenge earlier? The whole nation is watching how this case unfolds and will see the hidden hands behinds many things during the 22 years of your reign.

God is fair. The truth will unfold itself. If you are guilty, people will know even though the kangaroo court says otherwise.
written by trublumalaysian, May 18, 2008 00:15:39
Recommendation for Authors: THE DUMMIES GUIDEBOOK TO BE A MALAYSIAN POLITICIAN.

Lie, Cheat, Plunder, look surreal occasionally like you care; Lie, cheat, go to the holy lands to wash your sins; Sai Baba, Mecca, Jerusalem, India's Ganges',etc; and repeated slant's on "HOW THE BOGEY-MAN OF MAY 13TH IS GONNA COME AND GET YA .."

For constant belief and to achieve your life-long dreams to be the perfect BN politician; it is recommended that you chant the above only once every morning as only, the devil will hear this to open the gateways of all that one desires in life. And yes folks, this is the dream that BN offers to one and all .. the land we once called MALAYSIA.
written by Sword of Justice, May 18, 2008 00:29:49
i guess the this old man will not be charged. We know that the IGP and the AG has too many skeletons in the closet and mahathir hold the key to this closet.
written by Ben, May 18, 2008 01:21:15
The author seems to already know the next chapter even before the desperate pm knows what to do next. "Dr Mahathir cynically said he welcomed the investigation by the police and hoped the case would not be dropped eventually."

Suddenly, it is all coming back to him. The threat of a probe has suddenly rejuvenated failing memory cells. "I want them to charge me in court. Only then will I have the opportunity to expose more conflicts faced by the judges, including those who have implicated me," he told reporters.

It so sad that it has all come to this. We appeal to the author to consider rewriting the script which is damning this nation and pulling it into a whirlpool of deceit and evil schemes. Instead, let's have an ending where good triumphs over evil.
written by wishuponastar, May 18, 2008 03:49:54
He has to sound though because in case he decides to rest longer at IJN (after his routine check-ups)some people may say he chickened out.
written by wishuponastar, May 18, 2008 04:02:36
If Mahathir were to be vindictive and implicate others arrange for his case to be presided by some "irrelevant" judge.DSAI may be able to recommend one.
written by Daryl, May 18, 2008 04:18:48
I tink he is brave now because he know that there are a lot of judges on the bench own him a favor. But, just like before they can be bought as well so this might be the part that will bite him even if he is innocent. What goes around comes around and when that time come we can only say his SERVE YOU RIGHT.
written by sttb08, May 18, 2008 05:38:34
I did not waste time reading the above article about the irrelevant old man. His thoughts/actions are of no interest.
Unless the headline says, Mahathir charged for corruption, abuse of power and sedition, Why waste time?

written by harmanamri, May 18, 2008 12:40:52
Doesn't Mahathir realize that he has just disclosed for the world to note his commission of another crime? That of not reporting the attempts to lobby him or influence his decision on the appointment of judges. Why wait for himself to be charged before revealing all this? why didn't he reveal their wrongdoings when he was in power or get the AG to act then? why can't he do it right now, right away? Why wait? Why threaten, why "blackmail"? In any case, there is no defence in law that others were equally guilty of the crime. By saying this, he has in effect admitted his guilt, so that regradless whether he is formally charged or not, he is in my mind already GUILTY and deservedly CONDEMNED to an ignominous place in the nation's history.
written by watchdogg, May 18, 2008 13:17:14
HEI MAMAK, WE KNOW WHAT YOUR DID IN 13 MAY 1969!!!
This ghost is still haunting for you!!! Muakakakaka!!!
written by onmu martin, May 18, 2008 14:33:18
The cunning Old FOX is at his game again. By challenging the government to charge him in court and saying that it will give him an opportunity to expose what he claims to be others wrong doing, TDM is using reverse psychology to tell us that he has done nothing wrong. But in actual fact, he is shivering in his pants and by challenging the government, he thinks that the government will change their mind to charge him. Why don't the government just take up his challenge. As now he has his lost memories back and can remember everything suddenly. We must not let the old Fox get away with all the crimes committed by him and his 5 other conspirators. LET US TAKE ON TDM CHALLENGE!
written by zviivz, May 18, 2008 14:48:33
Hahahaha .. I think he meant taking the challenge from the present gomen. Of course he knows that the current gomen won't be able to do a anything to him. He probably has some trump card hidden somewhere. I double dare you to challenge the new government in waiting! Truth will prevail.
written by yellow7, May 18, 2008 14:52:18
Mahathir, all the kings horses (BN's mah chai) and all the kings men (UMNO patriots), couldn't put humpy dumpty (Mahathir - YOU) together, AGIAN.
Fall and taste your own medicine. GOD IS GREAT. Now, you'll see the light.
written by RFernandez, May 18, 2008 16:29:21
Fully agree TDM should be charged and locked up in Sungei Buloh prison, fed arsenic like he did for DSAI, oh make sure he is locked up in the same cell with that Indonesian Transvestite. Maybe then he will really understand what is sodomy too. Maybe if you are lucky your case will be heard by Oct 2014 looking at how slow our judiciary works anyway.