It Is Wrong To Use Sedition Act To Charge Raja Petra PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 11:38

Exclusive Interview With The Gerakan Adviser:

Gerakan Adviser Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik said he is not interested to become a blogger despite many politicians having done so like former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and other Umno leaders as he doesn't have enough time to do so.

However, he will post his views on his son's blog. He also suggested Gerakan should revamp its website.

“I have retired. My body doesn't allow me to sit in front of the computer for several hours. My physical strength is not as good as before.”

Lim said it is wrong to charge Raja Petra with Sedition Act. If the government thinks that his criticism is unreasonable, it should then charge him with defamation.

He explained that, after all, it is a defamation charge if someone criticise another person without any evidence. The use of Sedition Act gives an impression that the entire government is bullying a person.

Lim said that the BN may lose more votes in the next election if they continue on like this.Their action has caused the dissatisfaction of the people. It also showed that the government's attitude remains unchanged. (Sin Chew Daily)

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by freedom lover, May 17, 2008 11:42:59
RPK does not deserve to be charged under the sedition act. In a truly democratic nation where freedom of expression is guranteed, like many other countries in the world, what RPK expressed is non defamatory!
agree 138
written by cwy, May 17, 2008 11:44:31
This 'SoH Chai' doctor is well versed with law!
You have scored a point here!
agree 151
written by Sagaladoola, May 17, 2008 11:47:06
Hahahaha..I am concentrating on that part where he mentioned on "bullying a person".

written by eeyaw, May 17, 2008 11:48:26
It might be a blessing in disguise. By charging Raja Petra with Sedition then you cannot have a "double jeopady" of charging twice for a single crime. But knowing Malaysian Justice and with the dimwit AG holding fort anything can happen.
written by kamal, May 17, 2008 11:49:36
The TRUTH REALLY HURTS. UMNO and BN are currently using laws to cover their flaws and usually people who they dislike are victims.

THE TRUTH WILL ALWAYS PREVAIL.

If the blog reports are untrue there will be no readers, so why worry. Since the facts seem to be true, innocent and rightful persons are arrested and charged.

I support Raja Petra Kamaruddin in his quest for truth and justice.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by power2u, May 17, 2008 11:51:00
Hmmm sometimes old fool like LKY can say someting wise like this one statement here.Does this mean Gerakan is ready to katak to PKR???Well good so if it does.
Any way the WHOLE RAKYAT knows gov MISUSING Sedition Act against RPK cos they can't find fault with him,so easier to use Sedition ActThey don't dare to charge RPK under Defamation Act as RPK may produce CRUCIAL eveidence n this will bringdown M n Mrs C4.
written by Bosan, May 17, 2008 11:52:38
This old fox finally wakes up.
written by cheemengwong, May 17, 2008 11:53:08
The government should know that once you use the wrong law to simply charge someone like RPK, he will become larger than life.

It is like injection wrong hormones to stimulate growth lah Dr. Lim Keng Yak...Yak Yak...Yak. everyday you are yaking about something.

After you inject wrong hormones, the person becomes a Green Monster, the incredible Hulk.

There are many in Kamunting wrongly charged under ISA.

When they come out, there are called the Incredible Hulk of Kamunting (IHK)

Plse Loctor Lim, you did nothing... Absolutely Nothing when you were presiden of Gerakan.

The only thing I remembered about you was your comment on the Indian workers hiding behind rubber trees and not working when they request for minimun pay.

written by K W Waran, May 17, 2008 11:53:57

YM RPK should NOT have been charged at all, in the first instance.

But, on the instigation of that BIG FAT MAMA (Thanks a lot!, Windchime), the police and the AG took it upon themselves to do a Yes Maam, Yes Maam, Three Bags Full.

written by Amadas, May 17, 2008 12:00:37
This is what a "Flip Flop" government does..totally confused between what is reasonable, what is right and what it mus'nt do.....what it must do!!

They use the sedition law insted of defamation against PKK because Najis want to hide behind the sedition law as he does'nt want to take a defamation suit against RPK. Najis truly lives up to his name as "PENAKUT" as defined by TDM.

Does this "Flip Flop" government derseves to stay in power? The answer is NO NO NO NO ................................NO!!
Does Malaysians want Najis to be the next PM? Answer is a "BIG NO NO NO NO NO......NO"
written by ttsan, May 17, 2008 12:07:23
Now after some tuition by the bloggers, Dr Lim is finally saying some sensible words.RPK ,not only he should not be charge,he should not be touch also. The gov't own him a apology.
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 17, 2008 12:18:50
Only dare to bare his right-self when he's out.
written by Baronshah, May 17, 2008 12:31:59
People,
YM Raja Petra NEED NOT BE CHARGED FOR ANYTHING because whatever he wrote IS NOT, WAS NOT AND WILL NEVER BE SEDITIOUS OR DEFAMATORY. PERIOD.

Long Live RPK our HERO

GOD bless all
written by ralverd, May 17, 2008 12:43:07
It was wrong to charge him in the first place, we all know it.

Read more at http://www.ralverd.com
written by Old Man Jasin, May 17, 2008 12:58:18
After such a long time after the 12th GE , LKY has finally comes to his right mind .

LKY , your physical strength` clearly telling you that you have to do more noble things now rather than trying to help others covering up their sins.
written by michaelT, May 17, 2008 13:00:30
RPK should not be charged at all under the Seditious act. You are damn right KY.Your Wisdom seed is germinating and soon will open up more. Another plus for you is the bullying tactic. BN are really the samseng culture and KY you must quickly shed away this culture. Wait till PR take over and ISA all of them and fill up Kamunting. Let them feel remorse for one time.
written by teo siew chin, May 17, 2008 13:09:32
If anything, YM RPK should be charged for having big enuf ba**** to fight a system that is bullying the rakyat.
Who else will put his personal safety and freedom on the line for the good of all the citizens?
Who else will sacrifice not only his well-being but that of his beloved family?
"In a place where there is no man, you must do everything in your power to BE a man."
Is YM RPK The Man?
written by gctham, May 17, 2008 13:21:12
This was the majority view but it was unfortunate that those within BN cann't influence the final decision, if any of the opposite view.

Again we majority also believe that this view of our Dr. Lim was possible because he no longer holding any post and he has retired. How many in BN dare to voice the different even that is their view.

So as you see it many politician has not conviction even they know certain thing done by BN are very wrong, they will not voice it as far as they are still in power.

If you keep doing things that are against the wish of people it is only natural that people will reject and they will not get the support of the people.

While we welcome Dr. Lim positive comments but it was of no significant as he was not in any position to influence the decision making. The only thing that Dr. Lim can redeem his failure is to bring up his son not to follow his footstep but be a fighter for justice. If his son can not do within Gerakan then he should advise him to resign from politic or joint another party that can really serve the wish of the people. Any thing say more than that will do no good for him. Dr. Lim you may as well just keep your mouth shut and enjoy your retirement.
written by lawa88, May 17, 2008 13:31:33
oi old man, now you are spitting at your old boss. you are in trouble. that is SEDITION. you better go to sleep or else you may end up spitting non stop. by the way the people in Bruas Perak are also spitting at your name.
written by Lim Lim, May 17, 2008 13:56:44
now,'soh chai' is singing the same tune as what lim kit siang argued in parliment...it is right!sedition?? the umno's lackey, AG who is being fed by the tax payers' hard earned money memang "tak cerdik" which is equivalent to 'stupid'.
written by YSL, May 17, 2008 14:02:57
Stupid idiot Lim,
What the Budak Nakal should do is conduct an investigattion firstor ask my King Raja Petra to produce evidence and if he can't that charge him.

Can you see that idiot. That should have been the way idiot. You are not a lawyer so shutup idiot. Even if you are a lawyer unless invited, you need not give your opinion you idiot.

How many time you say, act behave like an idiot during and before your retirement you idiot.

Why still speak nonsense after retirement you idiot.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by taxi90, May 17, 2008 14:07:56
HOw uncharacteristic of UMNO. Isn't it funny that UMNO keeps silent all this time while LKY and OKT keeps firing salvo after salvo. Why, cat got your tongue? How come LKY is getting away scot free? Arrest him lah!
written by ChanRaj, May 17, 2008 14:08:50
RPK should not be charged for sedition or for defamation. Until now we do not know who made the police report against RPK. For PDRM and the AG to apply this undemoncratic Act agaist RPK is a sheer abuse of power by a party that seem to have personal influence over the police and the AG. That's why the action against RPK was swift hoping that the said party could silence RPK and shut down his blog. Get this straight.....RPK REPRESENTS US, THE RAKYAT. So you think you can get away with this? What goes around will come around! Abusing the Selangor Royalty is SEDITION!

Anyway LKY, thanks for defending RPK with regards to this but you should say more than just that.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 17, 2008 14:54:15
RPK was wrongfully held under "FALSE DETENTION"
written by Badaksumbu, May 17, 2008 15:28:31
Dtuk Lim' I'm a kind of retired too but, but I'm sure one day, when you want to say say something, you feel so tired, why not write a word or two in the blog and go to sleep. If you think you have forgotten, no, its in the blog-our second brain

written by simply_say, May 17, 2008 15:53:18
LKY, i got a blog name for u.
saliva.********.com or airliur.*********.com

Easily insert quotes and jokes into your writings at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by Francis, May 17, 2008 16:17:13
Dear Mr. Prime Minister and UMNO Putras - You got a lower mandate than previously. The rakyat are not happy with you. Instead of remorse you continue to be arrogant. Many matters remain unresolved. Hindraf 5 will surely kick you on your back. And mind you we will make sure that BN is non existant in the next GE. Do not fight the people who also have the mandate to form a government in the 5 states.
written by ultraman, May 17, 2008 16:32:11
Our AG is 'soh Chai' because he could not understand the meaning of sedition. Let them charge RPK and make fools of themselves.
Similarly Karpal Singh too should not be investigated at all let alone charge him. If they do so they are committing another silly act. They should charge Pak Lah instead first
written by mgeo, May 17, 2008 16:52:41
eeyaw,
There have been many cases where the defendant, just aquitted, was re-arrested outside the court. I think YB Karpal was also treated this way.
written by malaysia devil, May 17, 2008 16:53:04
Judiciary Scandal - most wanted men in Malaysia
who are they? http://malaysianindian1.******...en-in.html
written by malaysia devil, May 17, 2008 16:54:24
KGB & I.S.A, it's the same - we are in a POLICE STATE
read more at: http://malaysianindian1.******...re-in.html
written by johanssm, May 17, 2008 17:01:22
If the old bag of scrotum by the name of lim keng yaik finally awoken he should take the lead and Gerakan to abandon bn .
but does lim keng yaik and the rest of his gerakan leaders really have the guts? Or will Sabahans take the lead to abandon bn .
the way i see it , mca / gerakan / mic dont have to be running dogs or in better word "pariah dogs" for umno forever.
The news are already out , lingam reports and the election chairman broke the news that he was just taking the rap over the indelible ink.
Meanings the ec chief , the igp and the ag was used by the " menteri menteri kabinet dapur ".
By now , people must realise why we are so critical for the Altantuya case.
Babiputra is the correct term when referring to umno.
written by Beng How, May 17, 2008 17:09:05
Wah, retired Doctor Lim's statement sound sedition also. He said this:-

The use of Sedition Act gives an impression that the entire government is bullying a person.

Malaysia, go arrest him for sedition. Can ah ?

If cannot, what the hell you simply arrest RPK ? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 17, 2008 17:15:37
This person doesn't have a right to sound so pious. Just looking at him on tv in the past was enough to make me vomit, with his stupid face and even more stupid comments. Go th hell LKY, RPK doesn't need your help.
written by miracle, May 17, 2008 17:25:47
not only this case that the "G" bullying actions out on the rakyat ... in almost everyday events and situation very clear the bullying acts are out ..
written by mike1m, May 17, 2008 17:41:55
Kabinet tidak mahu dakwat kekal- malaysiakini,

Raayat kena tipu dengan AG dan IGP
written by Kritz, May 17, 2008 17:45:23
written by disgruntled, May 17, 2008 18:30:08
Dr. lim keng yik is right. If Petra is charged under the Sedition act, then the entire nation is draining blows on Petra's head. Or put it the other way, Petra is posing a danger to the peace of the nation.
written by disgruntled, May 17, 2008 18:39:50
sorry havent finish yet. So in essence the sedition act is more applicable to the concerns of the well being of the nation. Petra's messages never hinge on the well being of the nation at all. Najis is trying to get the mighty weight of the govt. on Petra. It is like using the might of c4 on a vulnerable being.
written by sarawakian, May 17, 2008 20:01:47
guilty people can't sue RPK for defamation since he might be holding on to proof. so they have to scare him to Sedition Act.

only clean people would win against RPK in defamation suit. by using Sedition Act instead of a defamation suit, they are pleading guilty to the alleged charges. how simpler is that to understand?
written by rakyat101, May 17, 2008 20:49:09
our AG mana boleh pakai ... he is long overdue, some sack him quickly.
written by Negarakuku, May 17, 2008 23:11:33

MALAYSIA GOVT DARE ONLY ON WEAK PEOPLE !!!!!!!!

CORRUPT AND COWARD GOVT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by budakindia, May 17, 2008 23:29:07
Please tell that to that AG of yours! Not mine! smilies/wink.gif
written by daliman, May 18, 2008 02:33:20
One pros is better then nothing.

"The use of Sedition Act gives an impression that the entire government is bullying a person...."

- and thats a FACT.

- Its already a norm to us that even when one is discharged, you'll be re-arrested the minute you left the court and re-charge for another that they find it fit to charge you.

- Sir, we are living with it everyday, in case you have not notice or too busy after all these years.

The good thing is, we see things clearly when we are on the outside. Thats a FACT too.
written by myvoice, May 18, 2008 09:44:02
Dr, now only you start talking already when you are out from your BN gang, feeling much happier and better now right, you see its better not to tie with BN cause mereka ni tutup mulut gang. Pls join the PR so that your voice can be heard more clearer, pls tell your son and the Sabah friends to lompatlah, don't waste thier time with the BN tutup mulut gang no more., for the sake of yours and our next younger generation.
written by slash n burn, May 18, 2008 13:37:54
Dear RPK, you stand earn my utmost respect. You have been persecuted unjustly many times by man made laws but you never give up. God willing you have a special place in His Kingdom.