My Response to Ms. Trica Yeoh PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 11:13

I am reluctant to frame my response to Tricia Yeoh’s article in Malay versus Non-Malay terms. This is because we must now make a serious attempt to take a more inclusive Malaysian perspective of our national development in terms of sharing the rewards of economic growth and restructuring of our polity.

The Malaysian Economic Agenda (MEA) of Parti KeADILan Rakyat is framed to deal with the issue of distributive justice in the context of the failure of the New Economic Policy (NEP) while we attempt to make Malaysia competitive in a globalised world.

Reading Tricia Yeoh I am led to wonder which is the more testing challenge: Getting Malaysians in general to believe that the elitist, corruption-plagued NEP is an hindrance to the achievement of Malay economic parity with non-Malays, or getting Malays to accept that the egalitarian MEA is the better prescription for the progress of the entire Malaysian nation? There is already too much politiking over this issue, and that has to stop since we have to get our economy back on track.

One of the more nefarious effects of the deviationist NEP is that it has led Malaysians to believe it is a permanent feature of the socio-political landscape. Never mind that its authors never intended it as such. I am certain that they would be appalled at the damage done to the national psyche by a policy prescription, originally intended for a limited duration, that has become, what many like Tricia think, a psychological crutch for the Malays and other Bumiputras, with the other Malaysians resigned to permanent second class status.

This is the cause of the plague of ills that can be seen, except obviously to ostrich-like UMNO, to beset the Malaysian nation. It is a scenario, not only emphatically rejected by PKR, but viewed by them as plainly avoidable.

The NEP was a temporary expedient to help Malays and other Bumiputras help themselves to get on to a level playing field where they can compete so that economic parity with other Malaysians is attained and, more importantly, the dignity of the race is assured. The way the NEP has been abused, particularly in the last two decades or so, to enrich a coterie of the politically well-connected has turned both the race’s quest for economic parity and ethnic dignity into mocking chimeras.

written by cheemengwong, May 17, 2008 11:28:37
To start with, there should never have been an idenfication of poverty along racial lines when all that live in this land are the assets and liabilities of the nation, Malaysia.

This is no different from the children in a family. When parents starts to differentiate and give partial treatment and shows favours to one a the expense of the other, the family will not be a family anymore.

Why can Malaysian think like that?

Every race has a minority group that are not given the level playing field due to their background, education, origin, intellect and so on. There can never be a level playing field. What every government should do is to institute policies that are fair and easy to implement.

Until today, we have scholars being denied scholarship and places in instituition of higher learning. They are marginalized by the enforcers of the policies and under their thumb. They use every excuse not to benefit these scholars.

Who do we blame?

On the other hand once these policies of differentiation is instituited it is very difficult to tear it down. People are use to benefits and not hardship.

They behaved like a cat... who thinks like this..."you pet me, you feed me you shelter me, you love me, I must be GOD"

In fact the ketuanan Melayu came from this line of thinking and they will behave accordingly.

How about " You pet me, you feed me, you shelter me, you love me , then You must be God" When we have this perspective the obvious question we asked would be...Ask not what Malaysia can do for me but what I can do for Malaysia....

I think there is nothing wrong with policies. There is everthing wrong with our thinking and perception of things. There are right and wrongs. There are no grey areas.

If we live our lives in the grey, obviously something is very wrong.

Come On Malaysia, after 50 years we are very backwards. In fact most of the politicians or so called leaders neeeds a quantum leap in their thinking to catch up with the rest of the world.

Unless they are contented and wants to compare Malaysia to say Zimbabwee.
written by Ken Liew, May 17, 2008 11:35:06
The NEP was a temporary expedient to help Malays and other Bumiputras help themselves to get on to a level playing field where they can compete so that economic parity with other Malaysians is attained and, more importantly, the dignity of the race is assured.
================================================
?????????????? A temporary that last so long??? what temporary is that???

So what's the actual meaning, can be recycle by Malaysia leaders... Sure named Boleh land for nothing!
written by nowinnofee, May 17, 2008 12:01:18
It is interesting to note on the justification of waste of public funds, that a cross over is the answer. Well and good, but my query is if we can get those fellas to cross over, what is the guarantee that they would not do the same the next time out?
Of course the line of arguement would be that the justification of this cross over is because they are disatisfied with BNs policy. All right let us agree on this, but my concern would be which part of the policy are they unhappy about? The fact that they are not given the opportunity to share the pot of gold that UMNO is enjoying?
If PKR is serious about all this, I believe, which I will give Anwar the benefit of doubt here, he should make these fellas enter into a contract of integrity and ethics, somewhat like a CODE of ETHICS, but make it contractual.
written by SeriousLy, May 17, 2008 12:01:48
BN has failed for 50 years to bring Malaysia to level playing field! We want to try Anwar! Thats it! Period! Proper EDUCATION SYSTEM is the only way! Not give contracts and free money! That's only temporary solution and will make the country poor! Better stop it now or Malaysia will be too late to be rescued! Give contracts to only the cheap and ability to get the job done! Save our income tax money! We must see Chinese, Taiwanese, American, French, German and British education system and take the best of each! We need a better education system! Our EDUCATION SYSTEM IS CHEATING OURSELVES! Lowering the grade to accommodate more passing rate? More Bumi Graduates? smilies/cry.gif
written by harmanamri, May 17, 2008 12:02:53
cheemengwong says:
They behaved like a cat... who thinks like this..."you pet me, you feed me you shelter me, you love me, I must be GOD"

In fact the ketuanan Melayu came from this line of thinking and they will behave accordingly.

Yes, the Islam Hadhari Malays actually believe that "Malay supremacy" means to "be spoonfed" rather than "to be the feeder". Have they no shame??

written by RitchieLow, May 17, 2008 12:04:46
Why is the general wisdom about economic progress for a nation or its people as a zero sum game based on race when it clearly is a joint effort of the whole populace ?

What is called economic progress is the joint effect of the activities of the three progressive groups—or classes—of the savers, the scientist-inventors, and the entrepreneurs, operating in a market economy as far as it is not sabotaged by the endeavors of the nonprogressive majority of the routinists and the public policies supported by them.
--Ludwig von Mises
written by shiokguy, May 17, 2008 12:35:29
The following speech is on the occasion of Tun been awarded the honorary doctorate by USM on 9 June 1973.

"The application of the New Economic Policy [...] will change from time to time to suit the situation and the circumstances and the geographical setting. But its aims and its fundamentals are the same that is to close the gap between the rural and the urban, to destroy poverty without regard to background or race" [Page 266, Letters 9 June 1973]

The above is an extract from a book call The Reluctant Politician Tun Dr Ismail and his time.

Link : http://shiokguy.********.com/2...l-nep.html
written by c53k, May 17, 2008 12:58:02
To really entice the Malay Malaysians off this NEP drug, a big MIND shift among the Malays MUST be in place!

U dont remove 30 yrs of addiction with one swift cold turkey treatment. Especially when many of these addicts are been pushed into positions of power were sabotages can be done intentionally!

The BIG question is HOW to go about the removal of this NEP, quickly & emotionlessly?

Quick - so that justice to the Malaysians can be restored!

Emotion;ess;y - bcaus Malay politicians r still calling the shots, purely bcaus of numbers.

Anyone with true sense of Justice & Fairness as dictated by Islam?

This is truly a hardball where only the righteous shall tramped upon. Do Malay Malaysians has this call? Is Anwar THE man?
written by ttsan, May 17, 2008 13:31:16
It's a shame that after 50 years of independence,these group whom the gov't called the handicapped and under privilege,are still being spoonfed.Shame on you,Thick skin.
written by EYFF, May 17, 2008 16:05:20
Why should the Malays give up their 60yards handicap in a 100 yards race?
written by pokokmangga, May 17, 2008 16:24:25
I agreed with Cheemengwong.
If we do not wake up and get rid of the ultra right wing neo-Umnoputras Malaysia will be called ZIMLAYSIA.
written by Eskay Lim, May 17, 2008 17:07:01
The NEP was a temporary expedient to help Malays and other Bumiputras help themselves to get on to a level playing field where they can compete so that economic parity with other Malaysians is atained.......
This NEP is supposed to be a temporary measure but it is already 40 years, forty long years... almost equivalent to 2 generations of people. The unlevel playing field had been levelled a long time ago and it's becoming unlevel again... with the Nons struggling at the downward level.
But what has the ordinary Malay gained? Most are still fighting to get out of poverty. Of course, the political cronies are the biggest gainers of the NEP.
written by Taikohtai, May 17, 2008 17:20:36
Actually, the NEP is worse than communism.
To side with one race against the others is discrimination of the worst kind. And to be conducted by so called muslims speaks thoroughly of the rough shod being ridden over the rakyat.
Why bother with any debate. Just scrap the monstrosity and Malaysia will start healing immediately.
written by myvoice, May 17, 2008 19:15:04
NEP? Yes its favour to Malay...oops wrong, we should say that it is favour to kuncu kuncu U-NO, which all the $$$ easily being taken away but not to help the poor Malay. Just look at Kelantan, why the BN allocated so little $$$ to them compared to other BN state? Islam, which I very much believe is a fair religion and why the big brother U_NO being unfair to them, just because they are opposition state? How many millions that you spend for yatch, mansion, jet and this $$$, do you know how many poor Malays which you can help? They are still many having telur masin, ikan masin, nasi campur gula as their daily main dish.
written by educationist, May 18, 2008 05:28:06
Maybe I miss that point somewhere in Merican's reply:will the MEA help the disadvantaged of all ethnic background?
This , to me, is the bone of contention against the NEP.
I have no quarrels with bridging the economic divide between the haves and haves-not, extending a helping hand to the economically disadvantaged. But let it be for all Malysians.
written by joeawk, May 18, 2008 18:03:37
"until such time their economic parity and ethnic dignity induces a situation that makes affirmative action in their favour superfluous"

Until their share of the nation's wealth reaches 99%. It will never happen and you need not have responded to Tracia.