Crossovers a real threat, says Dompok PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 08:56

(The Star) - Another president of a Sabah Barisan Nasional component party has sounded the alarm bell over the “very real” possibility of crossovers.

United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) president Tan Sri Bernard Dompok said the frustrations of Sabahans and their representatives in getting the Federal Government to solve their long list of problems are “extremely real” and talk about MPs crossing over to join the Opposition is symptomatic of this frustration.

He said the longstanding issues affecting Sabahans could no longer be “swept under the carpet” and MPs were under a lot of pressure to resolve the people’s problems.

Any decision for Upko to leave the Barisan fold will be made by the party and not by him, Dompok stressed to the press yesterday.

He said that while Upko’s three other MPs had not raised the subject of leaving the party “at the moment,” he admitted: “Their frustrations are real. I think no one can deny it”.

When asked if any of the Upko MPs, including himself, had been approached by the Opposition leaders, Dompok replied: “Not yet as far as I know.

“But if these people (from Pakatan Rakyat) want to talk to me in Parliament, there is no reason why I should not talk to them.”

He said there were still many issues, among them immigration and basic infrastructure, waiting to be resolved in Sabah.

“The people of Sabah have been taken for granted because we are a laidback, easy-going people. The state is thousands of kilometres away from the nation’s capital. As they say, out of sight, out of mind,” he said.

Dompok said constituents in Sabah have always been vocal but failed to grab the media’s attention until “recent changes in the political environment”.

To a question, he said that the majority of the grassroots wanted action and they would not mind if their MPs crossed over as long as their problems were ironed out.

“There are people who condemn crossovers, saying that it is immoral and such. But who are they and why are they taking the moral high ground, when in their previous lives, they too, have done it.

“But if you ask me, I don’t think the Opposition will make the numbers,” he said.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by clting08, May 17, 2008 09:02:28
Hello Dumb Pork! What you mean by real threat???
don't play play with Pakatan Rakyat lo...
You yourself jump out from PBS ha ha

Sori tell your histort lah

written by EvilWolf, May 17, 2008 09:15:47
Bernard - You have always had my respect as you have 'balls of steel'. Leave BN and join Pakatan.
written by oster, May 17, 2008 09:17:59
The Malaysian way is always be indirect when stating one's intentions by saying its someone else's.

For example,

When someone says "the decision is up to the people", he really means "the decision is up tome".

When someone says "don't threaten the Malays, or people will resort to violence", they really mean "don't threaten me,I will resort to violence.

Therefore, when Dompok says "frustrations of Sabahans and their representatives in getting the Federal Government to solve their long list of problems", he really means "frustrations of mine in getting the Federal Government to solve their long list of my problems".

Also, when he says the chance of crossovers in "some" MPs, he means the chance of "my" crossover.

Someone should write a book on Malaysian etiquette.

written by Raja Chulan, May 17, 2008 09:21:07
Crossovers is about the best thing that may happen to Malaysia following the findings of the Royal Commission.

It is not immoral if something is done for the greater good of Malaysia.
written by ilovepakatan, May 17, 2008 09:27:09
Stop moaning and take action, Mr Bernard. Join Pakatan and get a new start for Sabahans. Do you want to depend on BN who will only look at you when they are under pressure? They will forget you and all the Sabahans soon.
written by pkler, May 17, 2008 09:50:18
Dompok may well be averse to trusting Anwar Ibrahim-after all when Pairin was delayed from swearing himself in as CM after the 1994 state election it was Dompok who darkly (and correctly) said this is 'democracy, Malaysian style.' That BN campaign was orchestrated, led, and executed by one Anwar Ibrahim.

We know we can't trust our Sabah politicians-that much is clear. But people so desperate to get rid of BN should not also blindly follow Anwar Ibrahim. His record too is quite chequered. KL politicians have made us many promises over the years-why should we blindly believe PR as well? If people like Dompok decide to play off BN and PR to maximise their benefit, I for one do not blame them, because what do you expect from those who lack principles?

Having said that, if I had to choose any member of Sabah BN who had some modicum of principle (tough choice....), I'll plump for either him or Pairin, but that's not saying too much.
written by cwy, May 17, 2008 09:50:45
Malaysia is near bankrupt under UMNO government!
Just take the lead to cross over and save the country!
written by DannyLoHH, May 17, 2008 09:55:54
Tan Seri Bernard Dompok is one of the political "katak" who had jumped ship in the 1994 Sabah state election. So, the threat of him jumping ship is real.

Though he has broke rank with his UMNO counterpart on the issue of Islamic State, in my opinion he has yet to proved himself as a politician with conscious. His image has been severely tainted and he is still considered a katak in the eyes of many Sabahan.
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 17, 2008 10:03:47
The whole "Ho-ha" of Sabah MPs crossing over was thought up by some "kapala otak" MPs in Sabah lah.
The whole plot is to have a high profile of the rumors and talks of 30 Sabah MPs crossing over and RM20 – 30 million offers to frog. This is an attempt TO ENTICE OR EVEN TO FORCED UMNO Semanjung to offer higher or at least to equal the offer of money with most of the other goodies thrown in, like full cabinet minister and even DPM portfolios, and most importantly, the increase to 20% oil royalties (so that they can quietly siphon off at their own leisure).
Some Sabahans might asked:”Hey, what about our issues concerning economic migrants given MyKads, continued influx of illegal refugees, Sabah 20 points, development, poverty, etc2?”. Haiiyah, that’s all trivial issues lah. No need to trouble our PM in his busy schedule lah. The next Sabah government can handle bah!
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 17, 2008 10:30:40
Dear ALL,
EvilWolf: Oh really, that dompok-dompok tai unta has “balls of steel”? I belive so cos he has no REAL balls, so has to have artificial steel balls.
Oster: Foremost on dompok-dompok problem is how to get the Federal to increase that oil royalty for Sabah to 20%? 5% where got enough for cari-makan O?
Raja Chulan: Cross-over of any Sabah MPs has NEVER been for the rakyat. It has ALWAYS been for their own selfish interest and for money.
Ilovepakatan: Dompok-dompok there is nether stupid nor has any real balls lah! If he and the other Sabah MPs wants to improve the welfare of Sabahans, they would have done that A LONG LONG TIME AGO when they FIRST ENTERED politics. If PKR really is for the people type of party, it should REJECT MPs like dompok-dompok.
Pkler: Big Fat Chance of dompok-dompok joining PKR lah. He & the other Sabah MPs are using scare tactics on poor old Pak Kalah to EXTRACT what they want from the Federal gov. Talking about chequered political past, ALL present & past PBS MPs have such records.
Owy: You want Sabah MPs to help save Malaysia from bankruptcy??? Haiyoh, you are asking the devil to help save souls lah. Sabah has been near bankrupt by succession of politicians and it is still being made near bankrupt by politicians.
DannyLoHH: Dompok-dompok and his gang of political buddies cannot even agree to be united under a COMMON Political Party in Sabah. They are what they are and will always be..i.e. a bunch of greedy, selfish, and unscrupulous group of very jaded politicians.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 17, 2008 10:31:12
To a question, he said that the majority of the grassroots wanted action and they would not mind if their MPs crossed over as long as their problems were ironed out.

Yes Tan Sri, WE DO NOT MIND if you cross-over. Our people have been taken for a ride for far too long already. I have this to say, if for years and years these Fed leaders failed to address the problems of Sabahans, what makes you think that something "fantastic" will happen in an instance? Datuk Yong gave them until August, but i say it is now or never! We have given them so muct time already and no single positive signs. These pilaks are still roaming the streets of our towns freely as if Sabah belongs to them. These fed leaders (and i think most Semenanjungs) will not be able to differentiate between these pilaks and genuine Sabahans that's why they are ignorant og the seriousness of this problem facing Sabahans. I SAY THE TIME IS NOW. ENOUGH WAITING ALREADY!

To clting08, you don't know shit about Sabah. People like you blurts out comments that is so telling about your ignorance about Sabah politics and its people. You don't know what was situation back then, you don't know what kind of dilemma faced by the Sabahans. So lay off Tan Sri Bernard. For your info, i voted for the opposition in the last GE but i do understand the situation that led to the major "cross-overs" that ensured the downfall of the previous PBS govt. The real people that was behind that "cross-overs" back then was non other than the leader of your Pakatan Rakyat. So, let bygone be bygones. Please ask DSAI about the role he played in that shameful betrayal of the Sabahans' mandate. So, don't be quick to condemn. Your name calling attitude signifies you are a pea-brain as far as Sabah politics is concern. This comment is also for people like DannyLoHH, Rainbowseahorse etc.

Name calling is of no use. What Sabahans need right now is concrete actions be it from the present Federal gov. or the next yet to be formed Pakatan Rakyat Fed govt. Our MPs should decide NOW whom they think can solve these serious problems faced by us.
written by temenggong, May 17, 2008 12:04:09
We cannot be choosy at this point so we have to accommodate traitors like Dompok, Pairin and others too.

Dompok and others will leave BN under the excuse that the 'party decided'!
written by little dragon, May 17, 2008 13:56:24
d ppl of sabah deserve a much better deal n an opportunity such as d present one does not present itself very often. miss it n d ppl of sabah will suffer for generations to come.

sabah will once again be a neglected backwaters if ever umno regains it strength. so, do wat u know is d right thing to do n dat is to KICK umno out of sabah NOW!!!
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 17, 2008 14:31:06
Kalau mau lompat, lompat saja bah. Kalau nda... kasi salasailah semua problem nie. Why do i feel the insincerity of these KL leaders as far as Sabah is concern? Is it because of decades of neglect? Why do a majority of Sabahans feel like they are treated as "anak tiri" or second class citizens?

I think the worst decision Sabah leaders ever made was to agree to form Malaysia together with Malaya, Sarawak and Singapore. We should have backtracked when the Sultan of Brunei backtracked about the idea of Malaysia. We should have listened to the late Datuk G.S. Sundang.

Skarang, nasi sudah jadi bubur, we should state our DEMAND strongly. We should insist on immediate actions. If no immediate solutions are forthcoming, then it is only right for our MPs to ditch BN by forming a united Sabah front to cooperate with Pakatan Rakyat to form the Federal Govt. They don't even have to "lompat" to do this. And another thing, DSAI should apologize openly to the people of Sabah for his infamous role in the 1994 "lompat" incident.

Sabah and Sarawak unite please. It's time to assert the fact that WE ARE AN EQUAL PARTNER in the "Company" called "Malaysia"!
written by zandi, May 17, 2008 17:01:02
Guys/gals, calm down. Let DSAI's brilliant manoeuvring strategy play itself out and become our political reality come September 16th. Read between the lines, UPKO is already in PR's bag; dompok et al are just a means to the grand finale. There are already 43 sleepers in Parliament waiting for DSAI's order to act. So calm down, nanti kalau kena heart attack, we won't be able to see the happy ending in Sept. Cheers!
written by omarkhayyam, May 17, 2008 17:56:00
so bernard .... when r u crossing over for "real" ?

written by feleaz, May 18, 2008 00:15:45
Bernard, if you want to jump, you may do so anytime, even now. there is no need to wait PR to offer you. Are you waiting for PR to offer you money or position before deciding to jump ship ? If yes, then forget it, PR will not do that and PR does not need you if money and position are the cause of your defection.
written by carlitos, May 18, 2008 02:02:09
So far UMNO Sabah, SAPP and UPKO MPs have started talking about jumping openly.

Only PBS, LDP have not said anything about jumping out of BN in Sabah.

From what I heard from my uncle who is close to PBS leaders, they will not jump, they however expect the parliament be dissolved when everyone starts to jump in August/September. LDP seemed to be the coward ones. A friend who is a youth leader say they will most probably stick with BN.

PBS will wait till the parliament dissoved and they will align themselves to Pakatan Rakyat. That way they let the voters to decide whether they support the move out from BN. So in a way not seen as a katak.

Well knowing politicians they all cannot really be trusted. We can only speculate and then see what happens in September.