Bar: Probe without fear or favour PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 08:49

(The Star) - The ball is now in the Attorney-General's court and the case should be investigated without fear or favour, said Bar Council president Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan.

Responding to the Cabinet's decision to make public the Royal Commission's report on the V.K. Lingam video clip, she said that the public was entitled to the findings in full.

“The A-G's investigations must be carried out fairly, thoroughly and quickly in such a manner to assure the public that there would be no cover-up.

“This is important for the credibility of our investigating institutions,” she said yesterday.

Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye described the decision as a step in the right direction to restore the people's faith in the judiciary.

He added that the move was appropriate as it was a matter of public interest.

“The decision should be lauded as it is in line with the Government's objective to promote transparency and accountability,” said Lee, who was a member of the three-man independent panel tasked to probe the authenticity of the video clip when it surfaced on Sept 19.

He added that back then he had also lobbied for the report to be made public.

Wangsa Maju MP Wee Choo Keong said that making public the findings of any Royal Commission should be an automatic process, adding that it was the right of the public to know.

Wee, however, said that more should be done.

“It must not just stop here. There must also be an inquiry into any figure who has been implicated in the case.

“Furthermore, any recommendation by the commission towards the case must be implemented,” he said.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by loosecannon, May 17, 2008 09:15:07
Initially there were doubts on whether the commission appointed would do their job without fear or favour. To their credit, I think they did an excellent job under the circumstances. Let's hope the A-G can measure up to the commission's recommendation and do likewise though many will have reservation from past record.

As to the commission's investigation and recommendations, let's all hope that this will set a new benchmark on future commissions. No doubt there will be many to follow given the mess the country is in.
written by malsia1206, May 17, 2008 10:51:10
I would accept the credibility of your stand if the Bar does not have any other dinner invitation in the pipeline. Is your Council so cash-strapped that it needs the Government to fund your dinner? Ah yes, there must have been too much under-cutting among members of your profession that the Council needs some charity for a dinner.
written by kingelvis, May 17, 2008 11:58:46
This Gunny Patel was appointed by mamak Dr. so how to be without 'without fear or favour'. Payback time-lah
written by KKchan, May 17, 2008 13:25:12
My belief is that the Commission came to its conclusions because of GE12. Remember the findings were twice delayed. I think its conclusions have now become a convenient tool for AAB to target TDM. What is there now for the AG not to investigate with fear or favour? The ex CJs are ex. Tengku Adnan is now expandable. Is that why he was not reappointed to the Cabinet? Saves AAB the embarrassment of having a member of his cabinet investigated and the rest of his team from damning one of their numbers. That leaves TDM. Should AG fear him? Can AAB protect him? If you have read RPK's posting this morning "As They Played The Final Curtain" you will sense that TDM is still a force to be reckoned with in UMNO. So the call from the Bar Council should have been "investigate TDM without fear".
written by temenggong, May 17, 2008 14:49:35
Some of the bar council board are also Lingam's hatchet men. Thats why they got rid of the previous chinese president of the bar council.
written by DOITNOW, May 17, 2008 16:32:09
I am utterly disappointed by this response from the Bar Council. Do I expect them to be the custodians and guardians of Justice in this country!! What sort of memory do they have.. Didnt the AG say the tapes were not genuine, that Lingam was speaking to himself, ect.. even before the decision on the Commission was made?

How then can the Bar Council just casually wish for the AG to investigate without fear or favour?? Surely this is not the sign of a man who can be impartial, fair or just.. I expect the Council to insist on the investigations to be done by OTHER THAN THE AG OR THE AG'S OFFICE!! Didnt the AG office investigate the CJ's NZ trip and found nothing wrong!! for reason the AG is bias, has conflict of interest, and had prejudged the case.. With so many tainted parties, so many interested parties, so many incompetent parties, the only right thing to do is to ask for investigations to be conducted by foreign, independent and eminent professionals. Definitely not our current set of officials...
written by POPEYE, May 17, 2008 23:44:10
Lee Lam Thye has the gall to talk so much since every resident of Bukit Bintang knows his chequered past so well. He has added the veneer of respectibility to many questionable government programs of which the NS training has been the most prominent fiasco. Many Chinese know he is just a "running dog". He is not fit to clean my slippers let alone call for justice to be meted out in the Lingam case.