Haidar lauds move to make report public PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 08:46

(The Star) - Tan Sri Haidar Mohd Noor, who chaired the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the V.K. Lingam video clip, has lauded the move to make the report public.

“I am glad the Government decided to make it public.

“It is good because the public will know exactly what is going on,” Haidar said when contacted.

He added that it was a logical decision to make the report public since the inquiry had been carried out in open court.

Prof Emeritus Datuk Dr Khoo Kay Kim, also a member of the commission, echoed a similar sentiment, adding that the RM541.60 price of the report was based on printing costs.

“There are four volumes or 2,800-over pages.

“It is a very lengthy report and the evidence in the proceedings took two-thirds of it,” said Prof Khoo.

When contacted, Salehuddin Saidin, counsel for former Chief Justice Tun Ahmad Fairuz Sheikh Abdul Halim, said both he and his client could not comment at the moment because they had yet to receive a copy of the report.

“I have not received any instructions from Tun Ahmad Fairuz at this point of time,” he added.

Datuk Hazman Ahmad, counsel for former Chief Justice Tun Eusoff Chin, also gave a similar response.

Efforts to contact Datuk V.K. Lingam were unsuccessful.

Calls to his mobile phone were diverted to voicemail while attempts to reach him at his residence also proved futile. His daughter said he was not in the country.

Vincent Tan’s personal assistant said the tycoon was abroad and would not make any comment until he saw the report.

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by bexe, May 17, 2008 08:58:16
The test is in the implementation of the findings and recommendations. When it is done then we can say that our dignity will have been restored.
written by CPY, May 17, 2008 10:29:04
BTW, Haidar has a dubious background. Let see will he be impartial!
written by DOITNOW, May 17, 2008 16:37:41
Oh Haidar, tell us.. why was the report delayed for so long.
Were the findings unanimous??
How many revisions were made??
What were the revisions made, if any?
I read that TDM had read a draft of the report. How is this possible?

Despite release of the report... there are still many questions.. but no answers!
written by Toyolbuster, May 17, 2008 22:39:19
Hello Haidar, the mamak still owe you some payment ha. To us, you are still as evil until you apologies to Tun Salleh. No matter what, you will still end up in the same hell hole as the gang of 6