Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Blot on nation's democratic values- Shafie

Blot on nation's democratic values- Shafie PDF Print
Saturday, 17 May 2008 08:07

(Daily Express) - Federal Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Mohd Shafie Apdal described the move by the Opposition to encourage party-hopping among Barisan Nasional MPs with varied promises as tarnishing the democratic values of the country.

Party-hopping is tantamount to a betrayal of the people's trust and mandate accorded to the BN in the last general election, he said.

Shafie, who is an Umno Supreme Council member and Sabah Deputy Umno Liaison chief, pointed out that the people had full confidence in the BN towards realising their aspirations.

"This was why BN scored a landslide victory in Sabah," he said, after chairing a Pesta Kaamatan Malaysia Open House meeting, here, Thursday.

He was nevertheless optimistic that the BN MPs would stay put despite the invitations by the Opposition to cross over.

They are not commodities for sale, he said, adding that the Opposition were playing politics to discredit the BN Government.

"Let them (Opposition) dream on," he added.

On the vocal crescendo of Sabah MPs to the Federal Government for attention to their requests, Shafie hoped that this would not be misconstrued, saying that this was never their intention to dump the BN.

He pointed out that the Government should be given enough time to consider such requests.

Meanwhile, he said the Kaamatan festival this year will involve all communities that come from a common stock to strengthen unity at all levels.

"The activities will also be held at all districts and not just in the urban areas," he said. This year's Kaamatan open house would be held at Hongkod Koisaan in Penampang on May 31 and at the Padang Merdeka at night.

written by bexe, May 17, 2008 08:16:50
Tell you what Shafie, the most democratic and noble way to resolve this is for the PM to dissolve parliament and call for a re-election.
Wouldn't that be democratic enough for you?
written by EvilWolf, May 17, 2008 08:23:49
Mohd Shafie Apdal -> Please get on with your job of cleaning the cob-webs off the ceilings and ensuring that the floor of the muzeums are spick and span.

You are after all an East-Malaysian, so your views are not considered important by the West-Malaysian cabinet. Or haven't you realised that already?

You're really slow on the uptake (lembap, in your language!)
written by malsia1206, May 17, 2008 08:35:52
Shafie, you talk about 'democatic values' ? In Malaysia? This I have to learn from you. Never know we do have such democratic values existing in Malaysia. Not since TDM started to appear on local politics.
written by lawa88, May 17, 2008 08:36:15
hello Shafie, go ahead and sweep up the floor of the musuem. you are just a sabahan guy who the orang malaya do not consider important..impotent maybe... ha ha ha lompat katak si katak lompat... smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif
written by Mangan, May 17, 2008 08:44:34
HEY PIEE!!!!! Ko nih cakap sija pandai! Harga barang tetap juga naik masa ko pigang tu jawatan menteri niaga!!!

KO NIH MIMANG TIA BULI DIPECAYAI!!!
written by SeriousLy, May 17, 2008 09:24:43
When PAS MP jump to UMNO, it's not betraying the people trust! It's just betraying Nik Aziz? yeah! smilies/grin.gif
written by SeriousLy, May 17, 2008 09:26:24
BN is just using this "dissolve the Parliament" trick to scare the RAKYAT and MPs!
written by SeriousLy, May 17, 2008 09:29:13
If UMNO dissolve the parliament, that means they are power crazy and undemocratic! Dissolve the parliament will destroy our economy! It'll show that this country is politically unstable! smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by SeriousLy, May 17, 2008 09:31:34
If BN dissolve the parliament also means that they couldn't care less about the country, all they want is money! smilies/grin.gif
written by Arubin, May 17, 2008 09:36:22
Right...and BN wasting the country's resources on grandiose white elephant projects just to enrich their own cronies is not a betrayal of our trust?

Cakap tak serupa bikin...
written by Debbie, May 17, 2008 09:36:47
I like this joker of a guy.......".tarnishing the democratic values of our country"......WTF.. I dindt know, that the government even understands the words...DEMOCRATIC VALUES.
PORAH LAH.
written by SeriousLy, May 17, 2008 09:44:18
BN is just using this "dissolve the Parliament" trick to scare the RAKYAT and MPs!
If BN dissolve the parliament also means that they couldn't care less about the country, all they want is money!
If UMNO dissolve the parliament, that means they are power crazy and
undemocratic! Dissolve the parliament will destroy our economy! It'll show that this country is politically unstable! smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by RitchieLow, May 17, 2008 09:45:42
BN "resounding" victory in East Malaysia due more to dirty tactics than popular support really. Singing your own praise huh.
written by SeriousLy, May 17, 2008 09:46:43
Now BN spin master is going full power! They are really desperate! smilies/grin.gif
written by antares, May 17, 2008 13:18:26
Denial Syndrome lagi! Si Shafie ni bercakap dari mulut yang dibawah tu, pakai otak di lutut. Kalau mulut diatas bercakap tentu dia guna otak yg waras. Demokrasi apa ke dia di malaysia ni? Tak usah pergi jauh, PR12 dan SPR si Rashit tu buat kerja apa?
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 17, 2008 15:33:16
This museum care-taker from Sabah has no shame. He is only a VIP toilet-cleaner.