NS death PDF Print
Friday, 16 May 2008 11:21

.. not all the children get sick and once in awhile we get a death or two. What kind of nonsense is that?

By vimhal

Parents cannot be blamed for having developed a lot of negativity in their minds after a total of 16 deaths happening within the National Service programme. Without doubt this is further fortified with the government not taking any visible action or studies on the issues that are plaguing the programme. Even if any type of action was taken, none of it was shared with the public at large. Doesn’t the government know that parents need some sort of action or another to boost their confidence in and support for the programme?  

Let's get to the basic purpose of the programme; has it really benefited the youths and the nation? If yes, what are the significant changes that took place? Has there even been a study done on this? What seems more evident is that the programme has only posed potential danger bringing on multiple deaths and other problems which then poses the most pertinent of question: Why is the programme still zealously implemented? Don't you agree Doctor K that all these years of running NS has only increased the chances of deaths and seemed to have scared off our youths of any programme that requires active and vigorous physical commitment?

Your argument that death can take place anywhere is somewhat true but please don’t use this line of reasoning to support the programme when it is the responsibility of the officers-in-charge to ensure children who are ill receive immediate medical attention - no matter how trivial the condition may seem. Not every headache or tummy ache can be cured with “Panadol”.

The most apparent explanation presented in the past seems to be the lack of funds for pre-entry medical examinations. If much is still lacking, why not discontinue NS. In the Dewan Rakyat, we hear this and that much of taxpayers money has been allocated to run NS but isn’t pre-entry medical exams the most important issue to ensure if the child is fit enough to endure the physical part of NS? Also the NS camps need to be equipped with better personnel for medical emergencies that may occur.

Oh sure, not all the children get sick and once in awhile we get a death or two. What kind of nonsense is that? The lives of our children are precious. Parents nurture their kids for 17 years and are “ordered” to draft them into a programme that thus far has not earned the trust of the citizens of this country. The safety and well being of our kids are compromised! What cruelty! Do we parents have to silently endure this?

Where is this democracy that you BN politicians keep preaching?

The only people we can trust to somewhat protect our “rights” is the opposition because only they seem to adopt the “little voice” of concerned parents. And now you, the Government question the motives of these opposition politicians. This is why we voted in a strong opposition in the first place: someone who will not abandon us and will speak out loud our “little voices”.  They the opposition seem interested in winning justice for us, something that you (the Government) have not even bothered to look into and have only been self serving your own interests rather than the interests of the people you have sworn to defend!

Do not misjudge these “little voices” of the parents? Have you not heard “little voices” banded together in unison can cause a mighty roar to be heard across the nation? Perhaps you would like to see another “illegal” rally seeking NS to be abolished for the safety of our beloved children.

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by president, May 16, 2008 11:23:16
Suddenly sakit perut... suddenly mati..

Real nonsence...
written by DJH, May 16, 2008 11:23:37
So what's the benefit of having NS? Unity? Sex education? money spinning? Save this money and buy more rice and have some for fuel subsidy.
written by budakindia, May 16, 2008 11:25:21
They wanted more not just your money, wealth in Ketuanan Melayu but now your kids also in PLKN! ( Next maybe your skin, blood, organs!
written by mamanur, May 16, 2008 11:25:32
.. keeping the gravy train chugging and to fill in their coffers ..?
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 11:30:55
Hui Min died of constipation! What a joke! If this news get around the world, I'm ashamed being a MALAYSIAN!
written by FFT, May 16, 2008 11:33:20
written by eeyaw, May 16, 2008 11:35:53
OK, OK Bloggers,

That's it up to here, just boycott the NS whether you are parents, brothers, sisters or just spread around calls for a civil disobedience!!!! See what the stupid DPM can do to us????
written by myke, May 16, 2008 11:43:46
Almost every program laid out by the BN is either fared badly or just over it. Look at rakan muda, NS, and numerous of half-cooked policies (eg speed siren for lorries, black box )
written by Dhammapada, May 16, 2008 12:05:43
Every single child born to us, whether blue, black or green, female or male is precious to all of us and extremely crucial to the growth of our country's fragile future

With Compassion
written by Malaysiaputra, May 16, 2008 12:08:57
Why is the govt so eager to continue with NS, is the govt trying to deceive the people that with 3 months of training togather it is going to enhance national unity amongst the races ?. If studying from standard one to form 5 which is some 11 years not able to foster unity (assuming that is what the govt is saying) what is 3 months of NS going to do ? Penuts.

The real culprit that is dividing the people is the unfair govt policies. Period.

On the one hand the govt is trying to reduce road deaths , on the other hand it is running a useless program that is taking the lives of healthy youths.

Stop NS now. It is a useless program.
written by cicakman, May 16, 2008 12:12:12
This another way to spend money by BN. How many more our children going to die in programme.Please think about it.
This programme should benefit to our children and country. So what is the benefit of having NS??????????
What is BN going to do about this???? Buying more submarine, jets for our children to use.
written by Concerned_Citizen, May 16, 2008 12:30:43
"Mampus, mampuslah. Apa kena-mengena dengan kita, kita nie hanya nak habiskan duit yang telah diperuntukan," ujarnya.
written by Cheryl, May 16, 2008 12:33:39
a lot of worried and concerned parents. are we willing to do something about it? can we, the parents of our precious children work out something in order to put a stop to this before more disaster happen? Can we turn small voices into big voices or movement?
can PR help us?
written by Ann Meng Sim, May 16, 2008 12:33:57
Haven't you gotten enough evil money?
Hasn't your ugly fat witch gotten enough evil money?
Do you want to wait for more deaths before you are willing to do something?
You are gambling with innocent lives just so you and your ugly fat witch can get even more evil money.
NS has no meaning.
It is just a pitiful excuse for you to get more evil money.
Why do you care how many deaths there have been?
Those who died are not related to you nor your ugly fat witch.
So why should you care?

Remember : What goes around comes around.
written by JulieT, May 16, 2008 12:37:17
The do not want to stop the NS because it is their gravy train. Obviously someone is benefitting enormously financially from it. Nevermind the deaths of innocent children. To Najis 16 deaths is only 1 or 2 but to those 16 parents it is much more than that. The parents heartache would be indescribable. To raise a child for 17 years and then to send them to NS to die! Please reveal whether any of these UMNOputras children are in the NS programme. It is always a diferent set of standards and values for their children and the common raayat. Let them send their own children to die there.
written by ttwangsa, May 16, 2008 12:40:37
Inilah masalahnya jika melantik manusia bodoh sebagai pemimpin.
Apa mereka peduli anak kita selamat ke tidak. Anak mereka cepat-cepat dihantar belajar keluar negara . Tidak ada seekor pun anak pemimpin BN ini menyertai program PLKN ini kenapa ?
written by NSTPravda, May 16, 2008 12:44:52
Hail to our glorious and patriotic National Service system
'tis an easy way for UMNO cronies to augment their meager income
So what if a few kids have to suffer in NS and a few may die
The rakyats has to show their subservience to the best system money can buy.

Lee Lum Thye has to mouth his master’s, Najib voice
Having been paid well, he really has no choice
But to continue to help to screw our young ones more
Drafting them into situations that they truly abhor

Unfortunately we will have to continue to sacrifice our kids
To foster “patriotism” and for UMNO's and Najib's benefits
Having a few young ones die is acceptable because it pays
As long as these are not UMNO princelings, it's “semua-nya OK!”
written by activepro, May 16, 2008 12:50:06
As a father to a 16 year old son,I dread to allow him to attend this NS(nonsense n stupid)program if he was chosen.How not to have all these unnecessary loss of young lives when most if not all the camps are run by bigots,racists,perverts,uneducated,uncaring,useless,fuc k-up,sadists,arrogant "trainers" or "leaders".

At just rm500 a month of living allowance to bring up a child since birth to a ripe age of 17 would have cost you about rm6,000 a year or rm102,000 after 17 years,not including those sweat, tears n time invested to groom,transport,wash(clothes),cook,tutor,guide...etc,etc.How the hell would you accept any mishap or accident in this program if the victim happened to be yours?After 16 unnecesary deaths and it is still happening.They must be blind or stupid to figure out how to fix it.How do you comprehend the loss any of those victims' parents seeing those few hundred thousands RM and their investment in time,sweat n tears to bring up their kids just flush away without knowing it...most must have died agonizingly and those bastards knew about it but delay in sending them to hospitals.If their balls( keTUALAN)were heavy therefore LAZY,then it is better they use their god damn keris and CUT it OFF themselves!Where is their compensations? It better be in a few hundred thousands RM each or your stupid dickheads(all Promoters of NS) forever be responsible for the 16 deaths so far.
written by Kritz, May 16, 2008 12:51:11
written by thumb, May 16, 2008 12:57:28
Please read this:http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/82925
written by johanssm, May 16, 2008 13:03:29
The only way to get their attention is when some sons or daughters of some bn vips "mati" like a "katak" during NS.
If not , government people will not take any action.
written by Chandran, May 16, 2008 13:14:07
Lets do a poll to find out since the inception, how many of our ministers/deputies, heads of ministries, ksu's have had their kids enrolled, if it is not good enough for their kids then it should be the same for us as well. Lets call out,name and shame these same people.
written by hakuna, May 16, 2008 13:23:07
Lee Lam Thye, where are you? You normally have fantastic things to say about the program whilst our young come home in body bags. Najib wants you to come blazing with all the reasons for the support of the NS program .
I say it again, get the MPs to crossover to PR for the sake of stopping the slaughter of our kids.
Abolish NS,ISA,abuse of power and CORRUPTION.
A beautiful country is turned to shit , thanks to BN
written by harryo, May 16, 2008 13:23:57
Lee Lam Thye should resign. Why he is still there warming up the chair.
written by hakuna, May 16, 2008 13:25:31
FFT your caricature says it all and that is exactly how I feel it is.
written by Darkstar, May 16, 2008 13:32:35
The gomen should change the name of the program from NS to FS = FUNERAL SERVICE
written by ttsan, May 16, 2008 13:36:15
Hui Ming dies because they teach him the wrong exercise,a skipping rope that got entangle round his neck.Sorry Hui Ming, that all, case CLOSE.
written by donplay, May 16, 2008 13:43:51
the death of 1 child is 1 too many! don't you realise this you heartless monsters!!

stop this half-baked under-researched and under-planned NS party money-making gimmick and fraud.

introduce cubs, scouts, red cross, cadet corp, band aetc nd group activities from primary school right through to Form 6. you will then see how well all the children of various races learn to integrate and respect one another's race, religion and creed.

start young, start them in schools, as they used to from 1957-1981.
written by clarity, May 16, 2008 13:45:58
The NS programme does not promote national unity. There is no evidence that it does. On the other hand, the NS programme promotes death, rape,sickness and corruption. There is ample evidence of that. Najib says 16 deaths is only 0.004%. He does not want to end the programme until there are more deaths. How many more? Another 16? 60?. He is the one to decide how many more must die. The rakyat must declare a NO Confidence in him. Is this how he looks after the rakyat? Do you want this type of person to become the next PM?
written by wuv, May 16, 2008 14:04:09
allow me to contribute my 2 sen opinion。 is Occupier's Liability Act applicable here?what about negligence? can we argue ‘remoteness’ and 'probability' in the court in case somebody says it is 'act of God'? 0.004%
written by ChanRaj, May 16, 2008 14:21:12
Its our taxpayers money that is financing the NS and in turn caused the deaths of 16 youths. That makes us all responsible! To all parents, stop sending your kids to NS and certain possible death. You have to be unanimous about this. Do it in protest and let's see what the stupid BN/UMNO government is going to do about it.
written by Thiru, May 16, 2008 15:39:39
The reasons behind the NS.

Well for one, its big money.The transport company , the food caterers, the uniform, the equipment, and the premises, and etc etc etc. Here the billing would be a 5 star rating.

Now organisors promotors happy.Why would they want to cancell this milking cow.

If a death occurs among the participants, sue the officers personnaly and the rest for big money. GOT IT.
written by ToeJam, May 16, 2008 15:39:59
Not that Singapore's NS experience is the best in world (that honour may belong to Israel) but it being the nearest neighbour and the racial mix is quite similiar to ours, we need to look at them closely to understand how they implemented it so successfully and insists that our govt follow their best practices.

One of which I have heard of is that the commander of the unit must attend the wake/ funeral service to pay last respect to people who died while in their charge. No one likes to go to such events but perhaps only then can they see the pain of the parents of losing their loved one (especially if it's the only child). If the fatal accident is not due to soldier's own carelessness but rather the commander's poor control of his instructors, then it is possible that he gets cursed or spit at by the family of the deceased. Very unpleasant experience but of course.

If our govt continue to harp on the benefits of NS, then let's all demand that our military commanders must follow the above practice. If the death percentage is as small as the defence minister claimed, then this practice should not be much of a problem. With such practice in place, perhaps our military commanders will discard their lazy, sloppy and can't-be-bothered attitude.

One way our leaders can prove that NS is such a good thing is that their children must also attend it. And what better way than to make the newspapers report whenever a minister's son/daughter enter NS. Are our leaders ready to put their money where their mouths are??? If not, dear Defence Minister, pls shut up and scrap NS!
written by Thiru, May 16, 2008 15:44:55
To add on.
The child lives with the parent for umteen years nothing happens and sent(forced) to NS for three months they die.

They are young people. How could they just die. Even they have the worst illness can they die within three months.

At least investigate stupid government.
written by ralverd, May 16, 2008 15:58:43
Stupid people think of stupid programmes. Nuff said.

Read more at : http://www.ralverd.com
written by power2u, May 16, 2008 16:02:01
Mr C4 will say :'What is 16 NS death???'
'What is one Monggolian girl's death??'
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 16:22:03
Buy your children worth million of accident insurance (insurance will not cover NS camp) then make Mr C4 personal insurance sign for it that is covered in the NS Camp!
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 16:25:20
Accident Insurance is very cheap!
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 16:27:08
NS death
Posted by labisman
Friday, 16 May 2008

.. not all the children get sick and once in awhile we get a death or two. What kind of nonsense is that?

By vimhal

He's right! It's not his children, Is yours!
written by Jeffrey, May 16, 2008 16:32:31
folks, enough shouting, enough complaining, enough mumbling. Just do it!!!! Just STOP your children from joining this NS. My son is 14, if he got the draft when he is older, i WON'T let him go, period!!! Let the government sue me. Why use our money to finance something that might kill our children and at the same time make rich some crooks? What a shame of our government!!!!! Are all our MO blind and deaf??? What happened to you, Lee Lam Thye? You used to be a person that i admired, but now, just simply sad.....
written by Taufique, May 16, 2008 17:25:00
Pakatan Rakyat, come into power, then send the BN goons' kids to NS, let a couple die and then see how they feel. (Of course, I wouldnt want anyone's kids to die)

I know alot of these politically inclined rich farts' kids, and almost all of them have done their studies overseas, and obviously no need to mention, that kids of them BN goons easily bypass the random selection into NS.
written by shiokguy, May 16, 2008 17:48:56
Can we start a referendum to scarp the NS?
Has anyone setup a poll?

Just started a poll at my blog. Given a choice will you send your kid to NS?
YES or NO

Take the poll at http://www.shiokguy.********.com/

written by sukinong, May 16, 2008 17:49:48
These people would never let their kids to join the cattle farm.
written by lavendergirl, May 16, 2008 17:55:17
AS a mother, my plea to the govt, stop the NS programme. there are other ways to promote national unity. The best way is to teach our young ones to respect religion and race of others. Not the sikap tolenransi that is being practiced but to respect, not tolerate.
NS is not a good idea and now more so since sex education will be thought. Who is going to teach them. If you don't have enough funds to do a pre-medical check, do you have enough funds to pay sex education counselor to educate our youths. Or do you intend to get half baked people to teach our youths about sex. the NS counselor have been found to have raped/molested our girls in camp. Are you saying these people are qualified to teach our youth about sex.
Please scrap the programme. Use the $ to promote unity amoung the youths in school.
written by Limang, May 16, 2008 18:00:19
Let's be frank about the NS.

I think it is all the brainless idea of one bumbling idiot -C4 approver who may be our next PM (God help us - Anwar, hurry up and take over)! The whole idea was to create patriotism and harmony in our kids. Bull!

This will never happen as long as UMNO racial policy exists and a constitution that favours one race over all others, with the shout of Ketuanan Melayu and the soaking of Chinese blood with the keris.

Ask the other non-Malay kids who attended the NS if the objective is attended, and the answer is zero! It is a waste of time, money and resources, only making C4 looks good and taking us all for suckers and fools.

Lee Lam Thye, frankly you are wasting your time. You are a good man, but your effort could be better spent on more realistic and beneficial causes. I respect you a lot but I also pity you for not seeing the true picture. How come you convinced yourself that NS is good for the country - what happen? You know at the rate UMNO is ruling the country, there can be no equality, fairness and harmony and all other races will only be second class citizens, forever suppressed and opporessed. Why are you part of such a hypocritical gomen.

If you really want to do something beneficial for the rest of your life, and redeem your mistakes in joining this opporessive and corrupt gomen, join PR NOW or start your own NGO.
written by cancan, May 16, 2008 19:06:49
What constitute as urgent matter in Parliament?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by TheArtiste, May 16, 2008 19:15:18
the programme was supposed to instill unity right.....just go to the public universities...kaum melayu, cina dan india semua berkelompok sesama sendiri...it's so difficult to see a mixed crowd! But it is different in colleges, at least you can see a mixed bunch

Why? because there is no quota system in colleges...janji ada duit boleh masuk...so there is no feeling or inferiority amongst one another. There are no letters posted on the campus preaching hatred...that's the difference

So please, try to address the problem at the fundamental level before introducing new "solutions" when the root cause had not been analysed! AND PLEASE stop killing these kids!
written by sarawakian, May 16, 2008 19:32:30
while the idea of NS is good, implementation is faulty. just trying to "be like Singapore" is getting nowhere. another silly plan by Najib to enrich his cronies.

my children are not up to the age for NS yet. but if by that time, the NS is still the shoddy programme that it is now, i will not allow them to participate.
written by SamYap, May 16, 2008 22:50:17
The people who dreamed up this NS thing has blood on their hands.

UNITY? What unity are we talking about?

First of all, BN's politics are politics of racial division - UMNO/MCA/MIC dan lain lain.

Even after the rakyat had sent the message loudly and clearly in the recent elections, BN is still hanging onto racial politics - making inflamatory statements abuot the loss of Melayu power, the loss of Ketuanan Melayu, the threat to Islam and so on.

And UMNO and its anjings want us to believe that the National Service is for unity??? What the heck! (actually I wanted to use a stronger expletive).

If you truly care for Unity - take the first step and investigate Hishamuddin for his keris waving act, and the individuals who cried for blood. Sack the buggers too as an example to everyone that UMNO has indeed ended the divisive politics of race. Oh, also sack the Najib fella who had asked for a bloodbath when he was Youth leader.
written by bbmars, May 16, 2008 23:34:26
The sentiment in SG NS is when someone died in your unit... Not sure its official, but generally, the commander officer, along with the immediate superior and boss's boss, etc... will attend the funeral and all personnel in the unit will donate a token sum to help contribute to ease the family burden... It used to be $2/person for recruits... as their pay is very low... but now, not sure what's the default amount. However, SAF will also contribute some amount to the family... something like that...
I also understand, if he/she died in line of duty, he/she will be promoted to the higher rank (not sure one or 2 jump upward).
written by shissun, May 17, 2008 00:18:34
Dudes,
NS death is just add another abhorrence to you Najib. Another curse for you and your family. Think about your family.
written by tuanlokong, May 17, 2008 00:57:00
It certainly did not help cos' cannot make ruling party win three third majority
written by akjj, May 17, 2008 01:00:36
i almost fell of my seat when i read the paper stating that the NS will implement sex education!! So this is what National service is all about!!

i so agree with lavendergirl. Believe me when i say rape/molest cases will blatantly increase if this so call sex education is implemented. Sex education runned by NS instead of implemented this in colleges or high school perhaps? Najis seriously swaying away from the primary objective of what NS is all about (not that i totally support NS and i totally agree is a bloody waste of taxpayer's money and jeopardizing the safety of our children. I wonder what other type of education he be coming up next
written by axeltung, May 17, 2008 01:58:12
panggil anak-anak mereka masuk NS lah, join the common group, mandi, makan, tidur all the same..no privilage!! see what they say? kadang-kadang ada orang mati..itu hal kecil! orang memang akan mati sehari..betul tak? itulah takdir dari tuhan!! Would they say the same thing, if their children, sibling's children etc..die in NS camp?
written by Roy Sirimanne, May 17, 2008 12:12:07
Every citizen of our beloved country should stand up and be counted in the issue. The planning, implementation and many other factors have been lackadiasical , to say the least. It is good that the participants are having fun in the midst of training but the number of deaths in this program are but a poor showing and speaks of really poor management.

The press should pick at least 100 ex-trainees at random and interview them for their honest comments.

Among Ministers, parlimentarians, royalty and the higher echleon , how many have sent their children to an NS camp. I really would like to know and I am sure everyone would.
written by Angela Ooi, May 17, 2008 16:04:20
Please don't forget.. how many vital, young lives were taken before talk of the old Russian aircrafts being retired even came about!
Evil leeches and their descendants who made money on the deaths of the many innocent lives deserve the worst karma that awaits them.
written by roadbarra, May 17, 2008 16:25:22
Mr LLT if it happens to your children during NS what would you do?
written by myvoice, May 17, 2008 17:33:09
Come on LLT, please tell us what should you do if the death happen to be your children..., nothing to say right! But Najis will tel you .."it's allright, only very few death, somehow it is just LLT children".