MAS boss: I have no time to debate Tony Fernandes PDF Print
Friday, 16 May 2008 11:05

The likelihood of a public debate between Malaysia Airlines managing director/chief executive officer Datuk Seri Idris Jala and AirAsia chief executive Datuk Tony Fernandes on the aviation industry is now very remote.

"I do not have the time nor the interest to indulge in such futile exercises when there are other priorities that I need to attend to," said Idris in a statement released by MAS.

"I am just a simple guy who just wants to do everything he can under the extremely tough operating environment, and to ensure that Malaysia Airlines continues to deliver the highest quality products and services at affordable prices," he said.

Idris noted that AirAsia has also been giving away free seats for years without any protest by MAS.

Ironically, Fernandes has claimed that his sales have increased by 20 per cent when MAS launched its Everyday Low Fares (ELF) campaign and is still unhappy about it, he said.

The MAS head honcho also categorically denied the accusation by Fernandes that MAS was using international subsidies to fund the ELF.

In a long reply to Fernandes’ recent challenges and statement, Idris said the recent launch of the ELF was to help the national carrier to manage its inventory of seats much more efficiently and, most importantly, ensure that it minimises its costs.

MAS acknowledged that the campaign has more than ruffled a few feathers in the airline industry, with accusations by its competitor that the national carrier is indulging in unfair competition and predatory pricing, but Idris said "nothing could be further than the truth".

"We have an average seat factor of 70 per cent, which means that our planes are taking off with 30 per cent of the seats unsold. With sky-rocketing fuel prices today, this means that every unsold seat adds on to our overall costs," he said.

He said Malaysia Airlines' move was simply to recover part of the sunk costs through the fuel surcharges.

He said unsold airline seats are like supermarket goods, which will go to waste closer to departure date of the flights.

All supermarkets slash prices before the expiry of the shelf life of these goods in order to minimise wastage and recover part of their costs, he said.

Yet, the supermarkets are still thriving and continue to be successful in attracting their own loyal customers to their outlets, he added.

As such, Idris questioned why the airline business should be any different in the manner the airlines dispose of their “perishable” goods, which are the unsold seats, or why there is such a big fuss over its ELF campaign.

Ultimately, it is all about minimisation and recovery of costs which are escalating rapidly.

He said the incremental cost of an ELF seat is approximately RM25-RM35.

Since the average charge is RM90 per seat, the ELF campaign is totally self funded, he added.

Idris also pointed out that AirAsia has been given various forms of subsidies including initially zero and subsequently lower airport charges as well as funding of the budget airline's brand on English Premier League referees, not to mention outstanding amounts owed by AirAsia/FAX to MAS and Penerbangan Malaysia.

"In our Business Turnaround Plan (BTP), we clearly stated that we will take back full accountability for our P&L statement without subsidies but we also said that we must be given the freedom to operate our business as a commercial venture," he said.

He said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has clearly stated publicly that the Government would not bail out the airline financially.

"This is a good thing because it forced accountability and consequently, we must fix our own financial problems without any aid from the Government. In line with this, we now run our business as a commercial entity," he said.

In the last two years, MAS has axed several international routes which were not commercially viable as part of its Business Turnaround Plan, he said.

These routes, which include KL-Vienna, KL-Manchester, KL-Kuching-Perth, KL-Penang-London, KL-Langkawi-London and KL-Cairo, account for some seven per cent of the MAS total network capacity.

On the domestic sector, Idris said: "When we were asked by the Government to take back the rural air services from AirAsia/FAX, we agreed that we would only take them back with subsidies from the Government."

AirAsia/FAX also obtained subsidies for the rural air services when they operated these routes, he said, adding that in the spirit of transparency, MasWings was formed so that there is clear separation of the P&L statement between MAS and MasWings.

Idris also commented on the impending liberalisation of Asean air routes and MAS' reaction to this development.

He said: "All Asean countries have agreed to the Asean liberalisation roadmap which allows for the liberalisation between the capital cities starting January 2009.

"But our competitor lobbied intensely for the premature opening of this route despite the clearly agreed timetable by all the Asean governments. And despite our protest, this route is now partially open.

"While we accept open competition, we also believe that there should not be any change in ‘goalposts’.

"Although we are not happy, we have graciously accepted the Government's decision to allow budget airlines to ply the sector."

Based on the Asean liberalisation timetable, AirAsia is free to fly as frequently as it wants to between KL and Singapore, he added. — Bernama

Comments (64)Add Comment
written by ilovepakatan, May 16, 2008 11:25:23
ok. Fight fight fight! I want more free tickets offer.
written by Bluechip, May 16, 2008 11:28:04
No more fair and lovely in competing. MAS like IPTA and Air Asia like IPTS...
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 11:38:50
This unfairness will result in loss in investment from overseas! Malaysia will loose trillions in taxes!
written by 98PercentPrimate, May 16, 2008 12:19:25
At last.
Competition is healthy and most welcome.
Air travellers had been trampled upon and treated like shit by Air Asia.
written by pkler, May 16, 2008 12:20:29
The airport tax, as the name suggests is for services rendered in the airport, and not in the sky, including the use and upkeep of trolleys, toilets and the like. The govt has already reduced it for the budget terminals. Whether the tax charged is fair or not is another issue, but without the airport tax all services on the ground will either disappear or be usable on a 'users-pay' basis. Given that the use of the toilet may be 50c and passengers come from all over the world and may only be there a few hours, it is not feasible to do the latter, and we certainly would rather not have the former.

Nothing is free. But at least Malaysian airport tax is cheap. In many other countries it is ridiculously high as these airports are privatised and the owners are charging monopoly prices. Changi really seems to be the exception to this rule.
written by cillipepper, May 16, 2008 12:23:09
Do you remember Shahrizat.
Go and ask help from her and tell us what she can do.
Next time bet on the right horse lah
Now nobody will champion you.
Offer free flight on demand, maybe you can beat that fella.
written by willwin, May 16, 2008 12:51:49
fernandez, leave MAS alone lah! what's your problem? you are too greedy, everything also must be on airasia advantage.. grow up lah...

besides, you have the forth floor boys as your back up, why so worried? opps, i forgot, their power is diminishing each day... so here you are, barking now becauce once you have no back up, your airline can't survive??
written by goman2k3, May 16, 2008 12:59:33
fernandes if you can't stand the heat get out of the kitchen
written by loosecannon, May 16, 2008 12:59:47
If Air Asia cannot take the heat, they should get out. I'm not impressed at all with AA. Flight delays and cancellation of flights seem to be the management mission statement. From what I heard, the PM family is deeply involved with the airline. Waiting for bailout sooner or later.

I'm much impressed with Idris Jala and his management style and his competency. That he is able to turn around MAS so soon after he came on board speaks volume. He puts past senior managers and directors of MAS to shame. At least MAS is not run by a bunch of incompetent crooks now.
written by Sarjan Hasan, May 16, 2008 13:05:33
air asia- ada tony,richard branson, ada Kalimullah link to SIL...still ada government backing!
air asia don't sponsor Myteam for no reason rite?
written by babakl, May 16, 2008 13:26:44
This is a fair business approach. Why can only airasia monopolised the o price? BTW, it should be for the good of the public to choose which airline he wants to fly. Tony can go to hell if he thinks he has the damed right.Tony, i would like to ask u, if i pay for he fare, why can't i take my ownfood to eat during the flight? Afterall i already pay for the fare and do not like the food you serve or you do not sell the food i want? fOR YOUR IMFO, i will and stil consider MAS is better in every way. Staff are more courteous, be i on air or on the ground. still hope you do your own and let MAS serve their own passengers and offer them their best price and service.It is a business world.
written by harryo, May 16, 2008 13:32:03
To me, Idris Jala has done something good for MAS. He has turned around the agency. Since he is doing his best, we should also support him and request that he establishes ombudsman to clean up MAS management.
written by YSL, May 16, 2008 13:37:13
Correct and true Mr. CEO of MAS;

This stupid fellow Dolly thinks he is smart and in fact he is just a toy of some sicked men of Malaysia.

Anyone wants to join me to vote Dolly as the most "Tidak Pandai Rasa Malu" CEO of Malaysia for 2008 nomination
written by Thesinner, May 16, 2008 13:45:05
To me Datuk Seri Idris Jala is good and that I can't deny, at least he has proven that he could deliver. Let's be fair to him Thank you for the job well done!!!
written by PasarRoad, May 16, 2008 14:08:16
What is there to debate? This is business, not politics.

If Air Asia cannot take the heat, don't cry about it. There is nothing certain where commerce is concerned. Mr Fernandes calculated the financial and management risks when he ventured into the budget airline business, so he has to work this out on his own.

And as a consumer I am pretty pissed with AirAsia's attitude lately. AirAsia's scheme to charge for baggage is just a disguised form of increased airfare. If Air Asia is genuinely budget, then the scheme should include a lowering of airfare. That would encourage more travelling customers and if a customer wishes to take advantage of lower fares to increase his baggage load, that is the customer's decision. That is an equitable manner to treat its loyal passengers.

I have no admiration for Idris Jala. What he has done for MAS is not magic at all. Any accountant worth his salt could have done what he did. Free up cash by disposal of assets, lease back some of the airplanes and cut costs. Thats about it. Now the real test actually begins. Whether Idris Jala can show profits and not extraodinary profits from asset disposal. Idris's management team must have (hopefully) done their maths and now they are fighting to gain back some lost ground from AirAsia.

In conclusion, it'd appear that Air Asia is getting a bit too big for its boots. Its about time, someone gave it a run for its money.

written by Democrats, May 16, 2008 14:12:07
Well done Idris . Proud that you are Sarawakian!

Forget tony....he whines, and whines.....

Beg for KL-Singapore, now got already, asking for more and more.
Asia have lost its bearings.... It used to be a no frills airlines offering cheap seats because of lower cost management system. Now, they spend millions on advertising in MSM, WIlliams AT&T, EPL,marketing and PR activities. All the cost now passing back to the clients like baggage fee, administrative fees, cancellation fees, express boarding, etc....

But remember, Air Asia is not the ultimate competition, MAS should see how to compete better against other international airlines like SIA, Emirates, Thai Airways and Cathay Pacific, etc....

written by alarcarte, May 16, 2008 14:34:16
Fernandez, This is business-lah, firstly you were the one who "GOYANG-KAN" MAS so much so that all Rural Domestic routes were hijack from MAS and gone to Your company and then you find it un-profitable and abandon all direct route between rural towns and hand it back to MAS, do you call this fair practice?

Now the people who wants to travel from one rural town to another has to use the bigger town such as Kota Kinabalu and Kuching as a hub, by the way the people can actually complain against Air Asia from advertising their price as RM 0.00 or RM 9.99, I made at least 50 trips by Air Asia and never get this RM 9.99 lah.
written by uncleleow, May 16, 2008 14:56:33
Fernandez, why complain to jala? Complain to the PM. His son and SIL is majorshare holder. They might do something for you. Today MAS become Airasia and Airasia is complaining like MAS
written by MNor, May 16, 2008 15:11:15
Halo tuan tuan semua, while we are busy reading and critisizing all these 'wayangs' played by all the BN goons, our big 'taukes' are getting richer by the day. All assential food prices are all up up up and away beyond control. Tak kan nak biarkan macam tu aje. Tak kesian ke orang kat kampung? Fernandez ke Jala ke, perut meka semua tetap kenyang.
written by louisL, May 16, 2008 15:13:12
Well, that's free market competition for you, Mr Tony Fernandes!
Having had it so good for a while, AirAsia must learn that protection through its shareholders with political clout cannot sustain its monopoly of being a budget carrier forever.
Anyway, its latest imposition on certain charges have become sore thumbs.For example, by doing away with free priority boarding for senior citizens and instead charging a RM10 fee for this social obligation to the aged only exposes the avarice and greed of Fernandes and his well-heeled shareholders.
Shame on you, Mr Tony Fernandes!
Your staff are like a bunch of dangdut girls. They are rude and more self-conscious of their looks and hair styles.I dread to think how they can assist passengers during an emergency! Their uniforms are liked over-riped jackfruit wrappers. How on earth are they to move freely during an evacuation? Are part of the budget 'entertainment' strategy.
Honestly, I am now returning to MAS and paying a few dollars more where I will be treated as a fare paying passenger rather than being subjected to the lousy service offered by this brazen money-faced budget carrier.
written by almier, May 16, 2008 15:40:22
That's right Idris, let the AirAsia feel what you have felt before. Give the once so-called CEO of the year a lesson that everybody can be like him if you get helping handssss for the power-that-be. But once those handsss are amputated, what can you do? nothing. Why Tony wanted to have debate? Is it to prove that he is better than you?...porah!!!! aviation industry doesnot only belong to AirAsia..Go on ignore Tony's childesh call and just concentrate in upgrading your services to Malaysian..Your time is running out Tony..
written by kenyalan08, May 16, 2008 16:22:11
Same old story , asking for help from "someone " who have interested in Air Asia . Notice the Transport Minister "jump " so fast, so efficient to mediate the " problem ". Also note Air Asia comes into being by taking over the "illing company " of previous PM son .
Air Asia was given the subsidies to operate rural service resulting in millions of revenue lost to tourist industries of Sarawak and Sabah .You have surrender and push to MAS to solve the problems .
MAB ,purposely built the LCCT terminal with rakyat money and charge special low rate fee for used of facilities . What more you want .
To date I still can't understand why the government allow Air Asia to forfeit fuel charge for service not render .
Come on , globalization means free competition . Upkeep your status as CEO OF THE YEAR . Don't run to your "master" and impose conditions on MAS .
written by alarcarte, May 16, 2008 16:41:17
written by louisL, May 16, 2008 | 15:13:12
Your staff are like a bunch of dangdut girls. They are rude and more self-conscious of their looks and hair styles.....Their uniforms are liked over-riped jackfruit wrappers.
---------------------------------------------------
On the lighter side, I like above comment. In addition to the above, I have observed that some are a little plum, some a little thin, some are also a little short, some even have stain front teeth! A sign of smoker. Tak bolih lawan MAS-lah!
written by droyanperak, May 16, 2008 16:42:42
Guys,
Take it from me, I am in the know. TF has evolved from an enthusiastic Malaysian entrepreneur to an ugly megalopreneur - basically a bad loser, a greedy opportunist with no qualms about ethics and decorum or scruples, and a monopolist with political bonding with the most powerful men in the land. Check this site out! http://airasiaannus.********.com
written by orangmsia, May 16, 2008 17:11:01
I just hope MAS and Airasia wont stop the airfare discount. After all the consumers are the winners.
written by Awaken64, May 16, 2008 17:26:08
Hear it straight this Tony fellow is such an apple polisher that he was everywhere during the 12th General Elections in Pulau Pinang, Bangsar and even during the voting process.

Now here is the fact all these lobbying with CKC went to nought when he resigned When word was rife that CYC was a goner little Tony was linked wz 4th Flow & SIL, this Indian Jew notice the lost plot in the scheming of the buayas and began spreading his exposure to the likes of Brenson, a Bahrain and Japan. Make your check on Air Asia X on wikipedia.

Now did MAS finally get it right? I beg to differ Idris Jala is not so great to turn around MAS most of the profit are from the fuel surcharge and cut in the excessive spending and route realization[ those national service routes like Zagreb, Balik Papan, Ujung Pandang ect...] The best MAS MD without a doubt was from Kelantan and he is Tan Sri Aziz - thanks to Mamak Mahatir he was kicked out, most of the rest was actually more interested in their own agenda and some MOT cronies interest like the Ding a Ling.

Air Asia has a freeze on all employment at this juncture and one staff holds 3 portfolios yes they are having a very high staff turnover and the only good thing is the system works but try calling them the phone line is always busy.

Calc is right Air Asia will surrender because they are at a bigger loss due to their lower fare band, MAS will not be comfortable because the staff mentality is not tuned to take zero fare as a passenger. this makes it very hurting for the inventory guys to part with the seat, the guys that use to get 50 per seat to Madras n Jeddah routes only a few years ago.

So before any government intervention comes around all the BN crooks can take a Zero fare one way ticket u guessed to PERTH......[ now everybody can stay for free]

Bravo Bolehland!!!
written by cinabuta, May 16, 2008 17:53:12
To ensure AA make more money, install more seat on the wing lah,

AA flight always delay, if delay they did not call it delay, "RETIME".

AA makes more money from cancellation than, actual pax flying.....
Itu sudah tipu....
Hayyaaa....Lu pun pandai tipu kahhhhh. mau kaya tipu olang kaaa....
written by mbhalim, May 16, 2008 18:37:24
Lucky for them [but rather a shame]YTL's proposed KL - Sing HST [High Speed Train] came to nowt. The HST would have put them both of them out of business on the KL-Sing route. And since the shortest distance between two points is a straight line, as any schoolboy will tell you, the HST line would bypass both the KLIA and Tony's little shed and they would become white elephants [France's domestic airline Air Inter gave up its Paris - Lyon route when it couldn't compete with the TGV (Train a Grand Vitesse = HST)]. Ah, that's why the govt. put YTL's proposal in the bin!
written by Watcheyes1, May 16, 2008 18:41:01
AirAsia, tak perlu jaga tepi kain orang. Kalau tak suka competition then just leave the field. Ini tak, macam budak kecil asyik complain pulak.
written by pwcheng, May 16, 2008 19:17:37
Dear Datuk Tony Fernandes, I thought you were the one who stood up and talk how good the government is just before election. ( well we know how asked you to do this)but now you are telling how bad MAS is because of government subsidy. Indirectly you are implicating that the government is unfair. You must be having double tongue.
written by willwin, May 16, 2008 19:27:40
tony fernandez is right to feel being treated unfairly
MAS has KLIA, AirAsia has measly LCCT.
AirAsia's request to use subang airport was turned down, for what reason if not to protect MAS
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dear nick,
why can't air asia uses KLIA? it's underuse anyway, why must air asia have their own terminal?? you think air asia built LCCT? who paid for LCCT? rakyat's money ok....
written by willwin, May 16, 2008 19:29:09
plus we are already burden to bail out MAS, as if not enough, now we have to bail out air asia as well... what a joke!
written by Food Thought, May 16, 2008 20:21:19
Tony, just go and tell your partner, he's PM SIL no need debate lar. This guy is expert, he draft out his question and answered by himself..Clever eh? Oxford graduate..
written by LJN, May 16, 2008 21:01:02
You're the best thing that has ever happened to MAS. That Tony, he just wants to fill up his pockets. Idris, may our Lord Jesus Son of our most high, Allah, continue to guide you and bless you in your work.
written by shissun, May 16, 2008 21:08:58
Both AirAsia & MAS are our country's brands. Malaysia market are still very big for both and this not including ASEAN & AP. Work hard, cut cost, increase efficiency and build up the brand.
Hope both can work together (directly or indirectly) to beat the shit out of SIA. Malaysia Boleh. For time being, I still fly AirAsia in my routine and may change to MAS if the fare is really cheaper. Not really happy with Air Asia, fly 3 hours, not a single drop of water as courtesy. Have to drink from toilet pipe. Still can do, still can do....
written by samdol, May 16, 2008 21:27:06
Why this fernandes talk so much, is it because KJ and PM Flip flop is behind him.If he felt jittery...get grounded la...
written by glock17, May 16, 2008 21:35:23
discrimination is not only towards poor monorities, it also eat into thr rich an dfamous. tis is onmoputras religion.
written by MyView, May 16, 2008 21:36:13

That day I saw Tony helping Sharizat campaigning at Lembah pantai.
Dato Nazir was also there.
Probably Pakatan Rakyat gather strenght boikot CIMB and Air Asia.
Fly MAS using other than CIMB creditcard. No to CIMB Bank.
written by Daryl, May 16, 2008 21:48:16
I am interested in debate between different political parties. At least I will find out who is better. But, from the business head... hmm let me think fight each other anyway you like and just give us best price for our money. Don't waste time we are stil trying to get a better government for Malaysia. We will come back and deal with you later.
written by Chialat, May 16, 2008 22:33:29
i would propose to tony as there is another source of revunue for airasia by collecting fee for using the toilet in the plane. since they are collecting fee for express boarding, check-in baggage and prefered seat, so why not toilet?
written by mohdarif, May 16, 2008 23:14:35
Oi TF, when are you going to pay Malaysia Airports the millions that you owe. You dispute one bill and refuse to pay the rest. You refuse to pay MAS for the lease of planes so that you can run rural air service, instead your 4th floor goons convinced Ministry of Finance to pay MAS on your behalf. But still you sapu the subsidy.
You order hundreds of planes, claim you're making huge profits so that your analysts friends write nice things about your stock in the papers.
Now that your buddy Minister in Charge of Air Asia is gone you goyang lah sikit.
What's the point debating with Idris. He's not in the same league as you.
written by fireduck, May 17, 2008 00:20:13
What is there is debate? I have been wondering when MAS is going to fight back? Air Asia grew at the expense of MAS. Fair, since MAS was not run efficiently, and more of providing National Service. But I am not at all impressed with Air Asia. Free tickets, etc., but with all the surcharges, charges, fees, thrown in, it is not exactly free air travel. And if you need a drink, you have to pay unnecessarily more.

Let them fight. That is good for us consumers. That is all I care about. And if MAS can give us the same fare as Air Asia, heck I will sure prefer to fly MAS. Seating, refreshments, comforts, etc. would definitely be a consideration in MAS' favour.
written by ChanRaj, May 17, 2008 00:40:11
Ever since the Malaysia-Singapore Airlines split into MAS and SIA, our national carrier never quite matched the achievements of SIA. MAS is a great airline for Malaysians to be proud off. It has all the potential to compete with SIA and perhaps be even better but due to poor management, lots of deadwood, inefficiency, poor marketing, non-strategic and corrupt management the airline has been struggling to make profits and relies heavily on government support and assistance without which it would end up like Philippine or Garuda Airlines. Idris is trying to do something and it is not easy but whatever he is doing, it’s not something spectacular.

Tony on the other hand has achieved a lot and made Malaysia proud as the fastest growing budget carrier in Asia. He also made flying affordable, though he really took off the "class" in air travel and made it nothing more that an express coach. Tony must understand fame can never be forever. Associating with shady characters is I am afraid the beginning of his doom, i.e. if he does not re-strategise himself.
written by pedagogical, May 17, 2008 00:56:33
Competitions like this,at the end benefits the consumers.Consumers are surely spoilt for choice.Y should I complain?Pay low fares,plane departs/takes off on time (no frequent delays) & no need to pay for food,y is it a problem for anyone?

To stay ahead of the game,one has to be very competitive.Y the debate Fernadez?Idris Jala has better things to do than debate with u which I must say is just a waste of your time & his time.Surely u can utilise that time to strategize on your next plan to conquer the skies?

written by power2u, May 17, 2008 01:16:50
I've boycotted AirAsia since I heard that it also belongs to SIL.And now that I know ,Tony campaigning for BN,all the more ,I'll never fly Air Asia.

written by raven1958, May 17, 2008 01:41:00
Problem in Malaysia.....not enough competition.....all crony deals.....the government should sell off MAS now....no subsidies at all.....and approve more airlines.....and let them fight it out.....if not how the hell is the service going to improve....we are just going to be another Soviet Union with Tony and Idris running aeroflot sought of airlines with the passengers beng suckered into lousy deals.....
written by ralverd, May 17, 2008 08:27:23
Of course MAS does not want to debate with AirAsia. Just lift off the protection and they're as good as dead.

Read more at http://www.ralverd.com
written by EvilWolf, May 17, 2008 08:41:18
Both Air Asia and MAS are useless airlines. At least Air Asia has some pretty air stewardesses while the ones with MAS are just plain ugly!

Tony Fernandes is a crook and should be jailed for taking us all for a ride. Idris Jala spends money foolishly.
written by pkler, May 17, 2008 10:08:37
What MAS is doing has been done by any number of major airlines in the past to drive out competition (after which prices go back up, so be worried, be very worried...). Qantas with Ansett were past masters of this in the past but Ansett's demise allowed space for Virgin Blue with its deep pockets (Richard Branson's $$), so much so that Qantas had to start up jetstar to compete.

The issue of predatory pricing should worry us. In many countries (don't know about Malaysia) a company cannoot sell a product below cost idf it is felt that it is being used to drive competitor's out of business. Tony Fernandez is right that MAS can do so because it will be bailed out by the govt, and this should concern us because in the long-run it is us, the consumers who lose out. But as seen in the past, proving this is practically impossible.

This has nothing to do with Fernandez's arse-kissing approach to BN during the election campaign (I think anyway). It is a smart move by MAS-yes maybe this will improve Air Asia. But maybe it'll drive them to extinction...then what for us?
written by Sutha, May 18, 2008 00:22:10
No time or no brains?