Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sedition probe on Umno members

Sedition probe on Umno members PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Friday, 16 May 2008 10:18

(The Sun) - Addressing insinuations of selective investigation, police today countered that reports lodged against certain Umno members for making seditious statements on Terengganu and Perlis royalty are being actively probed and have not been ignored.

Answering questions in a press conference today, federal police CID director Commissioner Datuk Mohd Bakri Zinin said: "Who says we are not probing? The investigations on the reports are ongoing. Sometimes we cannot reveal what action we are taking before concluding investigations. We have to gather concrete evidence."

He was asked if police had opened investigation files on the reports alleging sedition and what the outcome of the probe revealed.

This was because several members of opposition parties and a cabinet minister had raised the matter, saying that while the police had been quick to investigate DAP chairman Karpal Singh for alleged sedition when he questioned the jurisdiction of the Sultan of Perak over a staff transfer, similar cases involving Umno members who made such remarks on the Perlis and Terengganu royalty appeared to see inaction by the authorities.

Earlier this week, Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz was quoted as saying action must be initiated against Terengganu Umno secretary Datuk Rosol Wahid and 22 assemblymen if they had in any way committed sedition when protesting against the Sultan of Terengganu who picked a mentri besar of his choice soon after the 2008 general election.

Police reports were lodged against Rosol but to date the progress of the probe has been kept under wraps.

Nazri had said the law must be upheld and action must be taken against wrongdoers regardless which political party they belong to.

Police said the investigation on Karpal Singh is in its final stages and the probe papers are expected to be submitted to the Attorney-General (A-G)'s Chambers soon.

Nineteen police reports have been lodged against Karpal Singh, of which three saw probes initiated in Penang and Kuala Lumpur.

Mohd Bakri urged the media to cooperate with the police when they are called up to help in such investigations.

He said police had summoned reporters to investigate Karpal Singh as they were the main witnesses who had spoken to the lawyer and filed their reports.

"It is not our intention to scare, put fear or take action against reporters. We merely needed to record their statements as witnesses as we must have evidence to pursue a case. How else do we do this? At times, there are words and phrases used in a news report which may have been misunderstood, misintepreted, and distorted from what an individual really said and meant," he said.

He said although the reporters involved turned up to give their statements, a few were reluctant to come forward.

He urged reporters to ensure their news reports were accurate and colloborated with official sources.

Mohd Bakri cited a front-page story datelined Kuala Terengganu which appeared in a Bahasa Malaysia tabloid recently which claimed that a Fifth Former, who was supposedly involved in the flesh trade, had amassed RM80,000.

"Our investigation showed there never was such a case. The reporter admitted to us he wrote the story based merely on hearsay. Our probe also showed that the 17-year-old girl in question did not even exist. How could a non-existent case like this appear in the newspapers?" he said.

Speaking on another matter, Bakri said police have wrapped up their probe on the Black 14 illegal gathering at the Sultan Sulaiman Club in Kampung Baru on April 14 and have submitted the investigation papers to the A-G Chambers.

Asked if Keadilan's de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was also questioned over the case, Mohd Bakri declined to comment.

The gathering was held to mark the day when Anwar became eligible to go back to active politics.

written by techgeek, May 16, 2008 10:25:09
AAB must do the right thing and order the AG to expedite the investigation against Datuk Rasol Wahid and the 22 assemblymen! How can only Karpal kena taruh like that? Or maybe he doesn't have any clue what 'the right thing' means.
Votes: +44
written by technoboy, May 16, 2008 10:25:17
now only they say those reports were being investigated, why so fast on RPK and PM instruct to expedite case against Karpal; going by such mode of efficiency, those cases against UMNO should have been investigated and culprits brought to courts long ago. , remember your gaji came from the rakyat who pay taxes, NOT those idiots in UMNO.
Votes: +52
written by Long Man, May 16, 2008 10:32:49
dear polis yang barua,

aku dengan ini mengharamkan setiap sen duit aku yang kera jaan guna untuk dibayar gaji korang suma...
Votes: +30
written by Mr Smith, May 16, 2008 10:38:18
You can say what you want but public perception is what that matters. The police have always been fast to act when involving opposition politicians but do nothing when UMNO is involved. If investigations were conducted, why were we not told?
Did you question the PM and the DPM over their statements on the Perlis and Trengganu sultans?
UMNO made worse comments on the rulers than any other living being in the country. I would say Mahathir tops the list for insulting the monarchy when he was PM.
Votes: +37
written by axeltung, May 16, 2008 10:39:33
itulah double standard!!!u tak paham ke? u orang bising-bising pun tak guna..u bising dekat luar..i relak and minum kopi dalam opis saya. Siasatan sedang dijalankan dengan rumit..report sedang didraf..u mahu report? boleh..tunggu aja!

Peguam-peguam dari tempat tertinggi adalah..member saya!!!I mahu dia..dakwa u! mana u mahu lari!! U bising-bising dekat luar..saya minum kopi tongkat ali dalam opis saya!!!paham tak?
Votes: +10
written by Daryl, May 16, 2008 10:42:52
Donkey and pony show by the BN politicians and their doggies. Please don't waste your time because it will mount to nothing, kosong. Don't waste rakyat's money but put it to solve crimes please. Don't play wayang kulit with us because your political skills is so amateur it is just like reading MSM newspaper with all the propaganda....
Votes: +24
written by shamadz72, May 16, 2008 10:50:47
Answering questions in a press conference today, federal police CID director Commissioner Datuk Mohd Bakri Zinin said: "Who says we are not probing?

-----

Dato, any news on RPK police report against you for assaulting him 7 years ago? Sorry, for being kapoh-kapoh asking on behalf of RPK. You know lah... He is too busy with other job

Votes: +26
written by Counterpointer, May 16, 2008 11:13:09
Now why do I have this sickly feeling that the probe on the UMNO members for sedition, will conclude the same way as the probe on the alleged import of indelible ink by certain people to disrupt the elections?
Votes: +11
written by Jan, May 16, 2008 11:17:55
What the UMNO people did is more seditious than Karpal Singh. If you want to prosecute Karpal make sure you also prosecutwe these UMNO people including the PM.
Votes: +8
written by anatomy, May 16, 2008 12:00:31
please also do not forget what PM and DPM had said in the Perlis Trengganu issue.
Walk the talk

Solutions = PR
Votes: +8
written by anatomy, May 16, 2008 12:03:06
Justice and fairness is what we want....
please no double standards.......
Police can do their job, & the court decides the verdict.
so, please be fair to all.

We only need justice
Votes: +7
written by budakindia, May 16, 2008 12:18:16
Who says we are not probing?
============================
We are more interested on topics like "how often you have sex with your wife?",
"how many round of sex you had yesterday?", "have you ever committed adultery?" "if yes, who was it?"

No evidence? no problem, we can always haul the mattress for that!

You expect these people to conduct proper investigations? I think they even couldn't think straight!
Votes: +5
written by gctham, May 16, 2008 13:01:21
Aiyu Hui, buat wayang lagi!
Votes: +3
written by chin, May 16, 2008 13:18:15
Kalau UMNO masters, PODRM nak probe saja. Sampai tak ada evidence, or habis semua evidence, itu suka AG. Itu kewajipan, mesti ada excuse.

Kalau opposition, heret balik balai dulu, baru make up charges. You know, get them off the street and give them the fear of god treatment.

PDRM tak tepat lah, PUU lebih tepat (Polis Undangan UMNO)
Votes: +1
written by NSTPravda, May 16, 2008 13:32:00

Ha!? What does sedition mean?
Do you even have to ask? Where have you been?
The word is as simple as uttering “RPK”
You do what he did, and you surely will pay

Once in a while for a balanced sandiwara's sake
We will offer one or two UMNO volunteers who are on the take
Package these small actors and trumpet away
"Justice is done", now it's semua-nya OK!

However, if you mention “Najib” and “Altantuya” in one breath
A C4 could be jammed up yours to could cause your untimely death
If you even dare to mention the purchase of Sukhois
Your business and freedom could well be destroyed

Now if you were to utter rude things about UMNO luminaries
Or any “richest unemployed *******s” named Khairy
Then a seditions charge could descend on you & ruin your day
So keep your mouth shut, then you’d be “semua-nya OK!”
Votes: +6
written by YSL, May 16, 2008 13:52:30
Stupid Polis,

if you say you are investigating about UMNO idiots, why we cannot hear this on radio, see it on tv, and read it on papers

Where is you Otak? Being programmed to favor UMNO?

Why you can say your investigation against Pakatan Rakyat MPs and why you cannot say investigation about UMNO MPs? sound very stupid lah
Votes: +9
written by tikuih, May 16, 2008 14:25:48
selective investigating: investigate only when ordered by ketuanan umno.

our tax money all wasted on paying buta gaji and bling-blings to these lazy, incompetent and corrupt idiots in uniform.
written by justice4all, May 16, 2008 15:41:42
RPK's case, investigated and he is charged in less than a week. Karpal's case also investigated immdiately. Those reports against Rosol and gang were lodged more than a month ago and until now, absolutely nothing. Our Police force is good for nothing. The "Royal" title should be immdiately withdrawn and the whole top brass sacked. That is the only way to bring some semblance of credibility back to an organisation that was once regarded as competent and fair. Once, a very long time ago.
Votes: +7
written by ultraman, May 16, 2008 18:16:45
Bakri, hang bolehbohong Tok hang la!!!
Look at this:"Police said the investigation on Karpal Singh is in its final stages and the probe papers are expected to be submitted to the Attorney-General (A-G)'s Chambers soon"

Karpal had just made that 'disputed statement and you ****ers have finished investigating.
Wha about those ****ing assembly men. They had done it just a few days after election i.e 8 Mar 2008 and today it is 18 May 2008 and you are still investigating? Then you don't deserve to be promoted.
If this is not selective prosecution , I really don't know what it is!
You think we are fools but you are a greater one!!!
Votes: +6
written by PakPandir, May 16, 2008 19:03:16
We can see what is happening, imagine trying to explain oneself out of double standard ?
written by power2u, May 16, 2008 19:46:31
N what about RPK's polis report lodged against Bakri Zinin when Bakri Zinin punched RPK when RPK was taken for questioning???
Will Bakri Zinin hasten up the probe on himself????How many years already??
Look like we hav to wait when DSAI takes over PMship...
Votes: +2
written by ChanRaj, May 16, 2008 20:37:41
UMNO members making seditious statements on Terengganu and Perlis royalty is mild compared to what C4's wife did to HRH the Sultan of Selangor recently. Read MT article "DISRESPECTFUL TO ISLAM? PORAH!". Some of you guys must have missed it. It is treason, not just seditious. Hey you idiot Nazri, you said "the law must be upheld and action must be taken against wrongdoers regardless which political party they belong to." Let's see what you have to say about this. These people should be charged and canned before throwing them in jail with the exception of the ugly fat Rosmah who should be canned in public. How could they show such disrepect to our royalty and get away with it?
written by sarawakian, May 16, 2008 20:40:30
after investigating UMNO reps, they file the evidence and send to ACA who keeps in a safe. it is only taken out and used when those reps fall out of line with UMNO.

for non-UMNO reps, investigations usually completed in less than 2 weeks (like in Karpal. RPK etc cases) and then they are dragged to Kangaroo court.
written by MyView, May 16, 2008 21:40:48
...kami mahu Idris , Natang.

This binatang who said natang no news until today ke?
written by Watcheyes1, May 16, 2008 22:04:27
PDRM says:

If BN - it's oklah...it's oklah...
If PR - tangkap dia cepat, cepat-cepat dan lagi cepat...

Everytime ask what happened to the cases filed against those UMNO goons, the PDRM always reply still on going and later keep quiet hoping people will forget. Ask again still reply the same and will remain the same forever.

I lost my respect on PDRM. Just look at their cases lately;

Pukul orang awam
Rasuah
Rompak
Bunuh orang
Cakap kurang ajar

Shit!!
written by DannyLoHH, May 17, 2008 01:01:49
"Action speaks louder than words", there is no way people will believe what this fella Datuk Mohd Bakri Zinin is saying for the actions (or in-actions) of the police force clearly saying otherwise.
Votes: +1
written by disgruntled, May 17, 2008 07:12:25
Who is going to believe that the police is taking investigations on the issue of sultan in trengganu and perlis? All we read is " sometimes we cannot reveal what action we are taking. We have to wait for the investigation to be completed."
Why didnt you wait for the investigation to be completed in Karpal's case? You kept on investigating report after report on Karpal Singh?. Why so much urgency in his case? Is Karpal a security threat to the nation? The whole world will laugh at you when you say a member of parliament is a security threat to the nation. You mean the rakyat just elected a MP that is suspected to be a security threat to the nation? What are the election commision people doing when they accepted his application as a candidate in the last GE? This is making a mockery out of our whole democratic process. Accepting a candidate for running the elections when he is suspected to be a security threat.
Votes: +0

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.