Samy Vellu, Nijhar lock horns over Jumbo's expulsion PDF Print
Friday, 16 May 2008 10:11

By : Suganthi Suparmaniam , NST

KUALA LUMPUR: The MIC central working committee meeting yesterday was a stormy affair when party president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and vice-president Tan Sri K.S. Nijhar were involved in a heated row.

As reporters waited outside the meeting room at the MIC headquarters, the doors flung open and a visibly upset Nijhar stormed out, slamming the door behind him.

He was overheard shouting: "I never knew you to be such a cruel man. How can you simply sack a man?"

Nijhar walked away in a huff, refusing to answer questions from reporters.

At a press conference immediately after the row, Samy Vellu was asked about Nijhar's outburst.

The party president simply replied: "That's his problem (dia punya hal, dia punya pasal). This is a party where people have the right to argue and discuss."

It was later learnt that Nijhar was upset with the expulsion of former Kapar division chairman S. Subramaniam, better known as Jumbo Maniam.

Subramaniam later confirmed he had been expelled, but told the New Straits Times he did not know the real reason for his sacking.

He suspected it was because of his statement in the Tamil daily Malaysian Nanban where he had questioned the accounts of the Asian Institute of Medicine, Science and Technology (Aimst) University.

"First, I was asked to explain why I questioned the accounts. Then I received a letter from the MIC headquarters yesterday informing me that I had been sacked from the party," he said.

At the press conference, Samy Vellu also spoke on the rebranding of the party where he said the MIC had come up with a new tagline "A New Generation Party" but would maintain its theme "MIC Cares".

Among the changes that it will bring under the rebranding exercise are a new logo, a new party song and new uniforms for the women, youth and puteri wings.

Samy Vellu said they would also ensure that 50 per cent of MIC members comprised youth.

Other changes include the establishment of a call centre that will be manned by two or three university graduates and launching of the MIC portal which will replace the previous website.

He said the re-branding exercise was necessary as the party needed a new approach to serve the community.

"If we do not keep up with the times, we may become irrelevant," he said, adding that these changes would be presented at the MIC's 62nd general assembly in July.

Asked about the leadership, Samy Vellu said: "We are re-branding the party now and the party will know when to rebrand the leadership."

On a another matter, Samy Vellu was asked if he was approached by Pakatan Rakyat to switch sides.

Initially he did not want to comment but when pressed further, the veteran politician said: "MIC will be with Barisan Nasional through thick and thin and has no intention to go anywhere."

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by Debbie, May 16, 2008 10:22:21
Have you lifted your toupee and searched for the sentence..." you are already irrelevant?"
written by varvoom, May 16, 2008 10:23:06
precisly! MIC and you are not going anywhere!
written by Bigjoe99, May 16, 2008 10:25:47
Its now beyond just about Samy Vellu anymore. The Indian community shame of looking like a cheap bollywood movie with all its cliches or victims, bad guys and heros. Its just demeaning to Indians.
written by mamanur, May 16, 2008 10:26:30
waste of people's money..again. wonder if samy would be gennerous enuf to sponsor the new uniforms and all..

new look, same old shit
written by technoboy, May 16, 2008 10:27:07
First it was UMNO, PM must go with a clear timetable.
Then came MCA and snoop squad.
Now MIC with the idiotic Samy still messing around.

GOOD for Pakatan, fight and never stop.
written by Democrats, May 16, 2008 10:28:49
MIC is soooooo lost.....

You think political party is like fast food restaurant?

Change logo, change song, change uniform can make a difference?

The principles must change, their priority must change, the leadership must change....stupid!

You think voters like go like " I voted for MIC this time around - their uniform is soooooo cool, their song rocks,...." Stupid

written by L7Awesome, May 16, 2008 10:30:52
When do 'rebranding' with new theme make them more appealing?
written by rajven72, May 16, 2008 10:32:08
What MIC ????
Still alive kaaa all this idiots,
i taught they all been buried alive in March '08...

Well fight among you all is something very noce to hear..

Dei Nijar...why you still with the Botak, can you join PR
and do something good to rakyat so at least a bit of you sin can be clear.

He will never change, can't you all see he is power crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

written by oceanuz, May 16, 2008 10:37:37
Same shit repackaged.

Samy Vellu was asked if he was approached by Pakatan Rakyat to switch sides.

Which reporter asked this stupid question?
Everybody knows Samy is a liability...
written by freedom lover, May 16, 2008 10:44:51
"At the press conference, Samy Vellu also spoke on the rebranding of the party where he said the MIC had come up with a new tagline "A New Generation Party" but would maintain its theme "MIC Cares".

Rebranding? You mean new packaging for the same old products? You still haven’t changed Mr. Samy Vellu! Your old misleading ways! All these ideas are not unexpected from you. They originate from your hair which camouflage your stupid old brain! Perhaps that was the best rebranding of an MIC leader.

written by orangmsia, May 16, 2008 10:50:51
See how Samy Vellu shouted:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_dcV9ZjmTc
written by sactyr, May 16, 2008 10:51:09
OMG this is soooo coool!! Their new uniform is soooo funky!! Their new song is soo cool !!! WOW.. lets vote them back guys!!

Absolutely pathetic Samy. U think everyone stupid like u ah?
written by galadriel, May 16, 2008 10:55:43
I've known Nijhar to be a a hard-working man who would not hesitate to fight tooth and nail for his constituents. A lot of Subang folks will tell you the same.

He is an anomaly in MIC. He should leave that relic that is MIC and join Pakatan Rakyat.

I am so thankful that Samy has said MIC will be with BN thru thick and thin. MIC is flawed. It would be a liability to Pakatan Rakyat. Indians in MIC can join PKR or DAP.

Samy should be stoned. This Jumbo Maniam is sacked just for asking about AIMST. Just like shareholders were threatened by thugs when they questioned Maika Holdings?

Why don't somebody report both to ACA? Oh I forgot...what can ACA do? Even if it does, does the AG have the will to prosecute?
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 11:06:34
Just leave Samy with MIC, he'll be only the only member! All you MIC fella, He's MIC for money! Money will leave MIC!
written by MarchOn, May 16, 2008 11:13:13
Dei Samy... the 1st step to re-brand the party would to sack you Samy Vellu from the Party...then things will fall into place.

Your re-branding exercise seems like changing cloths but the person is the still same.

Or better still... just close shop and everyone join PKR.
written by astina, May 16, 2008 11:19:40
Samy no value still thinkc he is the demi God for the indians when most have abandoned miC and him..
Rebranding starts with anew name at helm in miC ..
when its still old pun_ek samy ..than no brand la ..
written by Beezee_Beezee, May 16, 2008 11:21:07
Serakan Sam tak ada portfolio in the gormen so no more income and have to maintain so many debts. What do we expect him to do????

This time we want all the Toll to be removed and we shall increased the cost of the vehicle Road-Tax for maintaining the Road...
In this rich country why should be charged toll fees to fellow malaysian?
Lets the heavy vehicles owners pay more on the used of the road.....
Gormen has paid the building of the Highway from our Taxpayer money and award the toll management to the Goons and we still have to Pay...This is not acceptable.
written by shamadz72, May 16, 2008 11:37:16
Among the changes that it will bring under the rebranding exercise are a new logo, a new party song and new uniforms for the women, youth and puteri wings.

-----

More money for those lucky fella who get to supply those uniforms. No prize for guessing who they are
written by jimfish, May 16, 2008 12:07:49
This guy thought his party is a MLM company. Changing logo, putting up new uniform may change the people thinking towards them. Trust and confidence of people are gained from that way! They thought the people is so stupid and so easily being influenced! What a lamer!
written by ellyna, May 16, 2008 12:22:21
There can only be one great change in MIC: KICK semi value OUT for good! Enough of his tamil movie nonsense
written by picadilly, May 16, 2008 12:38:57
SAMY VELLU! YOU and MIC not even fit to be dust under the Indians Feet!

You scoundrels have raped and ravaged the society!!
what have you done for the Indians.. not even a shed of sweat, you still want people to lick your balls???

look at our heroes, the Hindraf 5.
They are legends now and forever.

You will be remembered as the Satan who was whacked to Kindom come!
The evil which was vanquised on March 8th,
The bloody Narakasura who was destroyed!!!

look at our Heroes wife , we stand by her and we pray for her and her family:
Return an innocent father to his children
Buvaneswary Balasubramaniam | May 15, 08 4:32pm
I refer to the letter Pak Lah, I beg, you, please release my son.

I am Buvaneswary wife of V Ganabatirau who is among five individuals is being detained under ISA since Dec 13, 2007. It is already five months my husband has been detained under this draconian law. Yesterday’s Federal Court decision was so disappointing not only to me but to the entire Indian community.

I am 32 years old with two young children. Prior to his detention, my children were also affected. My elder one who is three years old often dreams about her father and cries in her sleep. She keeps calling for her father to take her to the playground. She is confused over her father’s arrest. I have to lie to my daughter that he is ‘in school’ and will be back with us soon.

My younger one is about only eight months old now. If the prime minister goes on his way, my children are going to lose their father’s attention for an even longer period of time. My worry for now is will my children still remember their father once he is out some day?

For the past one month, my husband has been suffering from pain due to his spinal cord Swelling. I, as an unfortunate wife, can’t even be close to my husband since we are so far from each another. I really thought some positive things would have happened yesterday to end all our grief, yet this black chapter in our lives still continues.

My husband is among one of the young lawyers who was fortunate to be able to further his studies at the right age with appropriate aid. He was helped by all his family members and he himself worked and studied on part-time basis to become an officer of the court.

My husband started his legal firm Taman Sri Muda, Shah Alam two years ago. He was the only lawyer in the firm. After he was detained, there is no lawyer now to look after the firm. The firm which he started with his own sweat is in a very difficult situation now.

I do not know when my husband will be released. I strongly believe my husband has selflessly sacrificed a lot in his quest for a better Malaysia not only for Indians but for all Malaysians.

My plea to the government is to please return this innocent father to my children. Please release all the five Hindraf leaders; they are not a threat to the nation, they are only concerned Malaysians.

written by anniyan, May 16, 2008 12:47:25
just disband MIC ! Use for nothing ! President, Vice-president.. all are same.. When did they fight for minority indians ?? The only people did it was HINDRAF !! Hindraf's Makkal Sakthi wave have slammed their S so painfully and now they are slamming each other S..
written by harryo, May 16, 2008 13:38:53
Sami, sack everybody and I appeal to you, only you stay as the President, chairman, CEC, clerk, office boy and everythinglah.
written by hakuna, May 16, 2008 13:39:10
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ai Yo Samy! You think this is an Indian movie where people get mesmerised by songs?
Listen carefully - none of the above is going to get any Indians to join you. It will be good just disband MIC and you take a long holiday which is overdue and wait for the day HE calls you.
Now you go fighting with NIJAR - we all know you are samseng but did the movie American Gangster give you renewed energy?
written by joeyhuang, May 16, 2008 15:08:23
There results will be astounding ;
1. Logo designs will be delivered & printed On Time,
2. The Launching of new party song by a Bollywood Star,
3. New uniforms will be delivered from China on schedule.
4. 50% of MIC members comprised of youth, names obtained from the records of registered unemployed Indian graduates
5. Allocate 3 telephones in MIC HQ and get 3 staff to answer calls.
6. Register a new website and post Samy Vellu's photos, the MIC portal.

MALAYSIA MIC BOLEH!
written by Arubin, May 16, 2008 15:37:43
I'm actually surprised that no one thought of the obvious headlines:

Dumbo expels Jumbo from MIC circus!
written by Al Ambia, May 16, 2008 15:47:37
"MIC Cares".Care my foot.Dei,where were you when the tangechi with 10A needs you
written by CM Lam, May 16, 2008 16:01:37
Aiyoyo Samy... you think you are still taiko? Actually look at yourself in the mirror..wake up and face reality.. you are not wanted anymore. You have failed towards your own people. Better retire.
written by 1351, May 16, 2008 17:15:18
It is time MIC committee do a Brutus on Samy. The longer Samy is around, MIC will sink even lower.

Uncle Samy,
It is obvious you don't have real friends. Real friends will at least tell you your hair piece makes you look like a clown. 20 years ago, you look better with your bald patch(the pigeons outside my window are cooing their approval just as I write).

Over 20 years with you on the helm, the majority of the community still make up the lowest strata of society with very severe cases of urban poverty right smack in busstling KL of today.

There is little time Uncle to right the wrong. The sooner the better cos history won't judge you too kindly.

Regards
written by sabade, May 16, 2008 19:28:31
Dato Seri,

After the rebranding exercise, round up all your merrymen, sing your new song all the way to Hospital Bahagia. This rebranding proposal is the worst of a kind in this world. Mad fellas!
written by michaelT, May 16, 2008 19:44:48
This is a great idea from MIC sceintist to rebrand the party so that a new life is injected. Smart outwardly but not good enough. It does'nt take and averaage estate work to know that it is just a cosmetic change. This is another Act of God!!! What is there to change when you dont have the strength to get the 5 ISA Hindraf Heroes out from prison. The Indians mandate is for you to prove your ability to get them out. Then what is your new objectives after all. Can you tell the Indians your plans to uplift their poverty level and tertiary education opportunities. For God sake do somethiong positive with results. Start giving scholarship to deserving Indians to enter University from a portion of your money. Set that example first. You must leader by example to have a paradigm shift of your Mind and get down to business. Look around you to gauge the support you have now. If I were you just let go the presidency then only MIC can be transform completely.
written by pwcheng, May 16, 2008 20:01:03
A new shirt but worn by the same stinking bald headed body. What difference, only a devil in disguise.
written by Paramjothy, May 16, 2008 21:13:42
You are no more required by the indian community as you sold our indian souls to the UMNO led Government. MIC do not represent all the indian interest in this country. Anyway there is no more place for race politics in this country. Goodbye UMNO,MCA & MIC. May your parties rest in hell forever.
written by SL Chan, May 16, 2008 21:16:26
Same shit but rebranding only...same old shit inside wont change anything at all..
written by shissun, May 16, 2008 23:56:01
Samy, dey, lu mau pikin apa? Kita punya Indian bro talak suka sama lu liao. No need to rebrand, repack , rebonding whatsoever lah. You want to fight for our bro rights? Quit MIC and retired and spend your life doing whatever you like to do, tanam rambut kah, BM refresher course kah, . Let the young and talented one take over. If they decided to quit BN and dissolve MIC and then join PR and contribute to make PR as a true party, that is their vision and our Indian bro/sister aspiration for future. Don't be the wall lah, nanti kena bull-dozer baru tau. OK?
written by Sutha, May 18, 2008 00:39:49
Dei Pundek Sami

First rebrand your head. And start off with your hair. Yes the one on your head and not between your legs.

In fact Rani has more elsewhere than you on your head!

KSN, Spit on that evil faced donkey, ang join the Pakatan if you have people's interest in your heart. Take the elephant Jumbo along.
written by Sutha, May 18, 2008 00:42:28
New Tagline but same old practice: MIC CARIES UMNO's balls
written by Sutha, May 18, 2008 01:24:22
And when they locked their horns,.........

Their wigs fell down!