M'sian govt revokes rights activist's passport: Amnesty PDF Print
Friday, 16 May 2008 09:38

THE Malaysian government has revoked the passport of a Malaysian human rights lawyer campaigning for minority rights and the abolition of a tough security law, Amnesty International said on Thursday.

Mr Ponnusamy Waytha Moorthy, the chairman of the Malaysian rights group Hindraf who has been living in London since he fled the country in December, has sought asylum in Britain, Amnesty's Washington-based Asia-Pacific advocacy director T. Kumar said.

The activist had planned to visit Washington for talks with leaders of the US Congress and Amnesty and other rights groups, 'but it has been put off because of his passport's cancelation,' Mr Kumar said.

Mr Waytha Moorthy had sought the talks to highlight alleged discriminatory policies against minority ethnic Indian Malaysians as well as the arrest under the powerful Internal Security Act of five senior Hindraf members at home.

The five, who led a massive anti-discrimination rally in Kuala Lumpur in December, are being held without trial and for an indefinite period.

Mr Kumar said Mr Waytha Moorthy only became aware of his passport's revocation when he returned to London from Geneva after talks recently with the office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights.

'He was shocked to be informed by British immigration officers that Kuala Lumpur has revoked his passport,' Mr Kumar said. 'This makes him de facto stateless.'

'This is the first time I have heard of a political activist's passport being revoked by his own country's government,' he said.

Mr Kumar called on Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to give a 'full explanation on the rationale for the cancellation.'

The British authorities will hold hearings to consider Mr Waytha Moorthy's application for political ayslum, he said.

Mr Waytha Moorthy said in a statement to Amnesty that the Malaysian government revoked his passport in the belief that the British authorities would deport him to Kuala Lumpur where he could be arrested under the Internal Security Act.

'This unwarranted act has given me greater 'inner' strength to continue to struggle for the Malaysian Indians and for the unconditional release of my fellow brothers held unjustly under the Internal Security Act,' he said.

Malaysia's highest court on Wednesday refused to release the five activists, including a newly sworn-in state lawmaker.

Ethnic Indians make up less than eight per cent of the 27 million population of the mainly Muslim-Malay country.

Lawyers for the five said they would appeal on Monday for the Federal Court to review its decision.

Rights groups say 70 people, mainly alleged Islamic militants, are being held under the Internal Security Act. -- AFP

written by Mark C, May 16, 2008 09:46:41
It's true that "History is written by the one with the loudest voice"! Wonder how would the spin be if PR do come into power? smilies/grin.gif
written by little dragon, May 16, 2008 09:47:59
this will only serve to reinforce world opinion dat malaysia does indeed hv an oppressive draconian government. our little "tuans" here don't seem to know how to deal wit this issue n d more they struggle d worse it becomes.
written by varvoom, May 16, 2008 09:49:11
It's expected from this regime Waytha, anytime soon PR will be in government, then you can return, meanwhile fight on from UK, you have alot of supporters in UK, you are not alone.
written by indianputra, May 16, 2008 09:50:37
OH MY GOD!!!! What is happening lah??? Why so much hatred in Malaysia? I simply cannot believe the extent the current Malaysian Government will go to do this... Don't they know that they are creating more hatred and dissention amongst the Rakyat?

Who the hell is advising the Government to do all this? I can foresee more problems in this country.
written by KM Wong, May 16, 2008 09:56:12
This cowardly government can revoke his passport but they cannot shut him up, short of blowing him up with C4. What say you Najis?
In the meantime, the rakyat will even support more, these people fighting against injustice and abuses of the BN government.
written by NSTPravda, May 16, 2008 10:04:21
M'sian govt revokes rights activist's passport: Amnesty
That’s for questioning our government’s divine authority
If we can’t get you one way, we will get you by another
For causing our beloved gomen such inconvenient bother

Hear ye, you rakyats, your citizenship is not birthright
If you cross us, we will snub you like a tiny mite
We have the power to jail and torture you
And really that’ nothing much you can really do.

Look at how we treat the threats to UMNO’s security
We will jail or exile you at our whims with impunity
We have customized charges to jail Anwar and RPK
If you don’t support us, you will not be semua-nya OK!
written by chanatak, May 16, 2008 10:05:51
The BN government reveals its guilt over an indefensible position and actions against human rights. Why else should it try to obstruct the activist?
written by smpadayachi, May 16, 2008 10:31:29
This calculated and orchestrated plan were hatched out none other than Dollah Badawi, Syed Hamid Albar, and racist venomous botak Nazri Aziz. As we're growing up going on the Perak to see our distant relatives who're confined to a rubber plantation ghetto closer to a one strip town called Padang Rengas little that I know botak Nazri will represent this place one day. The place was so placid and full of splendour brings fond memories that I had with both Tamil and Malaylam plain simple folks that use to share everything side by side. Never in my wildest nightmarish dream that I know.. this racist person by the name Nazri Aziz will be responsible to wipes us out from Malaysia and attestment to that is this incident. There's saying goes.. what goes around will come around, and watch out Dollah, Syed Hamid and you bitter human being Nazri you all will pay the price as well the prize.
written by budakindia, May 16, 2008 10:39:03
I think Abdullah is so stupid he needs help to wear his trousers properly. smilies/angry.gif It's purely stupid to revoke someone's passport but again this is Malaysia and the leader is Abdullah. smilies/angry.gif
written by Bigjoe99, May 16, 2008 10:42:16
Right. Give him asylum in Britain or anywhere else. Thatis smart in today's internet/cellphone age. He can do sit on a beach in California AND still get a march going here in Malaysia...
written by MarchOn, May 16, 2008 10:54:36
UMNO = ARROGANT.... never listen to people, they always think whatever they do is right. Pure ARROGANTS
written by InEffective, May 16, 2008 11:20:41
Politicians using the apparatus of state for its whims and fancies - to pressure and coerce legitimate challenge to their self-serving policies.
written by chin, May 16, 2008 12:40:43
Way to go UMNO!

Now you can lay claim to a another official title "Oppressive State" or if you prefer "Pariah State".

And for our fellow Malaysian, congratulations you now entitles to seek political asylum in the west.
written by anniyan, May 16, 2008 12:51:05
Putting pressure on Waytha to return back to Malaysia... then at the door step of KLIA ready with a ISA arrest document. What a smart move...

Even if Waytha got cought, he and his 5 fellow comrads (Hindraf ISA Detainees) have awaken the Malaysian Indians eyes deep and wide..

Long Live Hindraf !!
Long Live Makkal Sakthi !!!
written by maniwannan_subramaniam, May 16, 2008 13:11:34
this is what our GOVT is about..... smilies/grin.gif..don't they realise how stupid they are or are they just shitting in pants n shooting their own foot with a gun? they clearly show hwo low an IQ they have lah.....are they leaders or cowards? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif its just like takutkan nyamuk bakar kelambu la.... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif... well .........hari kiamat for u is near for u u UMNO goons n BN
written by chaiksyn, May 16, 2008 13:39:18
Mr. Moorthy,

Don't worrylah! It won't be long, their days are counted and justice is on our side!
written by cubi76, May 16, 2008 14:53:58
WTF... They have gone too far... WTF... Ripping off Human Rights in daylight... what kind of government is that? Detain fighters of Human Rights and threw them into jail... This BN government really deserves a lesson.

I DONT CARE IF IT COMPLIES WITH DEMOCRACY OR NOT,

FOR THE SAKE OF THIS COUNTRY AND FUTURE GENERATIONS, I URGE SABAH AND SARAWAK POLITICIANS TO PLEASE ABONDON BN..!!!

JUSTICE! TRUTH! EQUALITY!

FREE HINDRAF 5...!!!

written by picadilly, May 16, 2008 16:03:13
HINDRAF
135-3 JALAN TOMAN 7
KEMAYAN SQUARE
SEREMBAN
16TH MAY 2008

PRESS STATEMENT

RE : MALAYSIAN GOVERNMENT REVOKES MY PASSPORT
THE STRUGGLE CONTINUES

I was travelling back to London from Geneva after the HINDRAF briefing with
the United Nations High Commissioner's office on Human Rights on April 21,
2008 and was totally shocked to be informed by the UK immigration officer at
Gatwick Airport that the Malaysian government had revoked my passport thus
making me de facto stateless.

I see only one purpose. The Malaysian Government had intended that I be
deported back to Malaysia by the British authorities so that I too could be
arrested under the draconian Internal Security Act and be detained for
unspecified period of time without trial and be subject to torture and
inhumane treatment for my political beliefs. I have not committed any
offence or crime other than to champion the cause of the systematically
marginalized, discriminated and alienated ethic Indian community in Malaysia
who remained a permanently colonized community despite achieving
independence 51 years ago.

It is most distressing to learn that, the land that my forefathers toiled
as indentured labourers and one that I had been made citizen by the will of
the unavoidable circumstances has decided to banish and exile me for
speaking and advocating the truth that was never spoken off before.

The government has once again acted according to its whims and fancy
without a second thought of the public or for the good of the public.

The Malaysian government repetitively had oppressed , suppressed and
persecuted all causes of HINDRAF by their act of totalitarianism from the
very beginning but nevertheless the will and spirit of the HINDRAF
supporters have been the beacon of hope for the new strength founded upon
our new found MAKKAL SAKTHI (people power).

The callous and cowardly acts of the government against me not only
undermine their credibility domestically but also internationally. The
government needs to realize that the Malaysian public can no longer be cowed
as the public are no longer the sheeps that begets the government wolves.

The government may use its best weapon in attempting to stall and break me
but they fail to realize that I derive my strength from my MAKKAL SAKTHI and
that is all that I need to carry on the torch and fight for the unjust cause
of the ethnic Indians in Malaysia even if it means championing my cause from
exile.

As much as I have been coerced, castigated by the Malaysian government, so
have the HINDRAF supporters. HINDRAF supporters have shown unprecedented
courage and character for the truth. It only motivates me further to pursue
our goals.

The revocation of my passport is probably the last ditch desperate effort by
the Malaysian government in crippling my international lobby for the cause
of the Malaysian Indians. This unwarranted act has given me a greater
"inner" strength to continue to fight for the struggle of the Malaysian
Indians and for the unconditional release of my fellow brothers held
unjustly in Kamunting. The government can unleash all the man made
mechanism to stifle and silence me, but I have the backing of MAKKAL SAKTHI
and that alone is sufficient for me to continue my fight for the people.

In MAKKAL SAKTHI, I have found the truthness of my cause for the people. In
today's world, utterance of truth is seen as a revolutionary action, and my
quest for the truthness has resulted as a hindrance for the government. My
judge is the people not the government.

I will continue this struggle until my last breath. They may break me but
they will never be able to break my will and spirit that is derived from the
people for the truthness is in it.

I shall continue the struggle for the "freedom" of the ethnic Malaysian
Indians from London and urge all HINDRAF supporters to remain calm as they
have always been. I shall forever remain a loyal Malaysian and will return
to Malaysia soon to continue and accomplish what I had started.

P.Waytha Moorthy

Chairman

HINDRAF

PLS VISIT www.hindraf.org and www.hindraf.co.uk

written by ralverd, May 16, 2008 16:19:50
This is so f*cking low for a government. How can you revoke one's passport due to political means? BN's making the government look even more stupid now.

Read more at : http://www.ralverd.com
written by justice4all, May 16, 2008 16:26:55
Hang on in there, Brother and victory will one day be yours. Support the Pakatan and get rid of the racist, arrogant SOBs of UMNO and MIC. You will see the beautiful shores of your country again in the not too distant future, Inshallah.
written by debids, May 16, 2008 17:40:01
With each passing day I see my reasons for not voting BN becoming clearer..never have, never will!
written by mara koman, May 16, 2008 20:47:16

Pasport revoke by your own country...How can..

Anything can ma in the Boleh Land,,,
written by Motherchell, May 16, 2008 23:28:09
Nazi nazri , pak lah , nais , Alba , Musa ----- will face the truth soon ------- time will tell !!!!! they are the most hated in the history of MALAYSIA , INCLUDING RUSTUM!!!! they can all go to Hell !!!!

Justice for the Rakyat is held at ransom, it has been put on hold permanantly by them in this Nation !!!! This is treason , from a so called Islamic Religious Graduate. what a shame --- does he look like the men of cloth????? with his Zegna 's
written by Taufique, May 17, 2008 03:24:05
even goons and thugs dont stoop so low...

come on la, play on even field. These monkeys can throw sucker punches to silence truth and justice, but one day it'll bite them on the ass.

I hope thats when PR will insyaAllah take over and sort out these natang's under their own ISA.