Rhina Bhar quits Gerakan after 30 years PDF Print
Friday, 16 May 2008 09:30

(The Star) PENANG: Former Gerakan vice-president and Wanita national chairman Datuk Rhina Bhar has quit the party after 30 years, citing racial bias in the leadership.

It is impossible for me to continue working under the present conditions,” she said.

Gerakan is to be a multiracial party but the leaders have been making many racist remarks. Enough is enough,” she said.

Rhina, 59, who tendered her resignation on Monday, also hit out at Gerakan adviser Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik for “practising double standards”.

Rhina also expressed her disappointment over Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon’s comments for not fielding any Indian candidates in the last general election.

Both Dr Koh and Dr Lim could not be reached for comments.

The Bukit Bendera Gerakan Wanita chief said she was taking a break from politics to “heal her broken heart.”

But I am keeping my options open to consider joining other political parties or non-governmental organisations, which can provide me an opportunity to serve the people,” she added.

written by Mark C, May 16, 2008 09:36:40
“But I am keeping my options open to consider joining other political parties or non-governmental organisations, which can provide me an opportunity to serve the people,” she added.

hinting already....
written by ilovepakatan, May 16, 2008 09:37:41

source: http://bolehjokes.********.com/
written by Anak_Asia, May 16, 2008 09:38:59
It's the right timing to abandon the ship as it's sinking fast, together with MIC and MCA. These 3 ships are hitting a BIG iceberg due to the fact that they are losing their direction in their respective voyages.
written by alan cheong, May 16, 2008 09:41:48
good on you, Rhina!
hope you continue to speak up without fear or favour.
a little less drama would help though ... smilies/grin.gif
written by Cozy, May 16, 2008 09:42:46
YES, THE RAKYAT WANT THE BN TO BE PUNISHED THIS WAY. THE BN WOULD BE CLOSING THIER SHOP DOWN SOON... I AS A RAKYAT HAPPY TO HEAR AND SEE THIS. MORE WAKIL RAKYAT & PARLIMENT MEMBER TO QUIT FROM BN... PLS... WE WANT CLEAN GOVT!
written by Raja Gasper, May 16, 2008 09:49:58
Within the fall of BN empire,the Gerakan Party will soon cease to exsist and it
it better for Former Gerakan vice-president and Wanita national chairman Datuk Rhina Bhar to quit the "Gerakan" and join the Pakatan Rakyat for future dawn.

There is no future for "Gerakan" beacuse of ignorant and selfish leaders of BN.

No point on putting the Gerakan Indian candidate because they are too selfish
and not capable and Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Kon know very well about it and that
the indians already withdrawn support for BN this time because of "Hindraf 5".

written by indianputra, May 16, 2008 09:55:43
Rhina, join PR.. That's where your future is...
written by Kuku Burung, May 16, 2008 10:05:29
Rhina, Are you still sore about not being elected as Gerakan's women chairperson all these years? You knocked out in the party election. So looking for greener pasture, are you?
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 10:30:13
Rhina will join DAP! Religious Preference rights, Racial Special Rights, Super Rice & ETC... will only make the country poor and therefore will fail!
written by Concerned_Citizen, May 16, 2008 11:23:55
Three decades is a bit long but not too late to stand with justice and the truth.
written by ukaymelaka, May 16, 2008 12:08:56
Hello Rhina,
It took you so long to realize what Dr LKY was and is all about.
written by disgruntled, May 16, 2008 13:14:40
It is indeed gratifying that u have decided to say"enough is enough". With the demise of barisan national, u will see the dominoes falling one by one, even though u still see a few of those elected trying to put up a strong face. Those that are left behind are afraid they will be victimised just because they r elected representatives from the last GE. But still u will see the dominoes in no time.
written by uxzee, May 16, 2008 14:52:38
Rhina Bhar - very very pathetic indeed. It took you 30 years to realise and that too because the tsunami came and shook your conscience. If the going had still been good - Rhina Bhar will still be in Gerakan.

Someone like you should quit politics altogether.
written by tipletoe, May 16, 2008 16:43:27
Look Rhina, you left because the party was no longer relevant or useful to you. Don't give us that crap about racial bias. You were with them for 30 years and they used you to get rid of Kee Peck Chin. You are a bloody hypocrite. You kept your mouth shut for years and not a squeak came from you about racial bias. Why now? Maybe you should join the ex-hookers association because almost everyone ih the Gerakan is a political hooker.
written by justice4all, May 16, 2008 16:48:09
Agree with uxzee and tipletoe. What took you so long and why only now?? Anyway, as they say, better late than never. But, make a decision right now - either leave politics all together or join PKR immediately and take as many people with you as possible. There are many ways to continue serving the Rakyat and one of them is to make sure the people around you are part of the change that is happening.

Oh, and don't worry about your broken heart - you aren't the only one. Trust me. Ask the families of the ISA detainees and you will find more broken pieces there than all the pieces of your poor little heart put together multiplied by the cost of the 2nd Penang bridge.
written by jeya, May 16, 2008 19:57:11
smilies/cool.gif! RB!
U represented a faceact of society that was unique, when I came into practise!
Brash , Very Feminine, Very Mother Earth!
Dont u dare quit on us! U have challenged the corrupt system & have been the becon 2 many,many of us!
my name is jeyapalan.t.s.mahesan { no not the other - i am the junior smilies/wink.gif
my blog is: jeyapalantsmahesan.********.com
my e is : This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it .
Pls RB do not quit per se!
U promised me this some 5 years ago!
Chiao! Maam!
jeya
written by apa jadi, May 16, 2008 21:09:44
Ooi.... Rhina, you want to become frog you say so lah! Why all these excuses? You Dr. Sochai claimed to have been beggar for 50 years. Yet you ardently followed him for 30 years. After 30 years of begging with Gerakan and when Gerakan lost, now you say enough is enough. Opportunist you are lah!
written by michaelT, May 16, 2008 21:11:16
Rhina, I salute you for making this decision at the tiome when the Gerakan is at the ebb tide. Ye4s your reason is perfect and justified. Unfortunately it took you some 30 years to realised. However this is a consolation that finally you are fully awakened and stay in the world of freedom and reality. remain compose for the time being. After this period I hope you can contribute your noble aspiration by joining PR. Be their team and togetther throw out discrimatory policy that breeds hatred, jealousy, enmity and what nots. You havethe political maturity and wisdom and I am sure you will work beatifully with DSAI and members in totality. This way your political support is immediately strong again. I hope to hear from you in the media that you have signed up. Please be quick because another strong Nagris Cyclone is arriving to sweep away all the dirty swindlers of today.
written by ChanRaj, May 17, 2008 01:29:00
OR are you just jumping off the bow of a sunken ship? For 30 year you were not disilluioned by Gerakan. Now all of a sudden, you have seen the light! Suggest that after 30 years you better resign from politics and tend to your garden. We need more people to grow rice now.
written by hakuna, May 17, 2008 03:37:28
Rhina - isn't it too late for you to realise that Gerakan was never a multiracial party? Suprisingly, you failed to see that the 11th GE did not have any indian on the Gerakan ticket.
Honestly, it surprises me to think that it took you so long to come to term with the truth. I guess you are abandoning the party because it is already sinking .
Anyway, if you intend to serve the rakyat you can always join PR or serve with anonymity without oping for any post or offerings.
written by petestop, May 17, 2008 05:51:34
To be fair, Gerakan "was" a multi-racial party and did some good in Penang (otherwise, why would they vote them all these years).

However, like their slogan this GE, they got "reinvented" when they joined BN, instead of trying to change them from within as they earlier claimed.
Under Dr Sochai followed by Dr Yes-Koon, this is what happened, dumb and dumber leadership with no spine.

Warning!... this is what will happen to you when you join the ranks of
Barua Nasional, you will be divided by your race and turn into racist !!

Just look at the myriads of small parties in Sabah, UMNO is just practising
the divide-n-rule policy, so that there will never be a strong challenger
to them. Wake up, Sabahan !! You are losing your state as you sleep !!

Dr Sochai and Dr Yes-Koon is just too selfish and too weak to do anything, despite lately trying to "rebrand" their image. Why whine now after getting
totally thrashed in last GE ?

Rhina Bar, you did the right thing, indeed it is hard to walk away after
30 years, not easy to give up something you believe in, which is the
original Gerakan's ideology. But look at it this way, Gerakan already
"reinvented" by Barua Nasional, no longer the Gerakan that you and we
the voters care for.
written by SBennit, May 17, 2008 06:16:59
Gerakan is an even more chinese supremist racist party than MCA. 90% of the chinamen there are wolfs in sheeps clothing. They try potraying themselves as gentlemen, but if they come to power, they could be bigger thieves and scoundrels than UMNO. If they came to power, they could even force us to learn Mandarin and eat pork.

Pakatan Rakyat should be vary of anyone from Gerakan who wants to switch over.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it