Politician Cross Over PDF Print
Thursday, 15 May 2008 22:52

They ought to bear in mind that the Rakyat is giving them the opportunity to prove themselves. Therefore the ambitious plan to take over the federal government is indeed secondary.

By S. Ali Mahmud

Crossing  over or not crossing over? That seems to be the current dilemma of many politicians in our country. Should they join Pakatan Rakyat or should they remain with their old political party. I am rather perplexed with this cross over thingy. From my personal point of view, everyone is trying to have a bite of the pie and the chef who is making that pie is dying for everyone to have a taste of his pie so that he can be certified as the best chef in the world. That seems to be the scenario now.

Quite frankly, I am fine if the pie is really good, the chef should therefore be entitled to whatever title he would be awarded. However, I am very much concern if those who taste the pie are qualified ‘taster’ and are fully aware of what exactly how the taste of this pie should rightly be? You do not want someone who is oblivious of how a pie should really taste like be the person certifying whether or not that is the right pie. This is the analogy. You do not want to decide that if the bungalow is too crowded, they rather remain in the terrace house but when the bungalow has space again, they would relocate again.

A politician, must first realise that the era of being a politician with the intention to benefit from the government contracts or being conferred certain positions is indeed a by gone era. The Rakyat today want their leader to be someone who is capable to delivering what they desire and is able to carry out the mandates they have given to this individual. So whether or not the cross over is prudent, the individual politicians and Pakatan Rakyat’s leader, namely Anwar Ibrahim ought to contemplate.

To my mind, the primary objective that the Pakatan Rakyat’s governments should do is to implement what they had promised to the Rakyat. They ought to bear in mind that the Rakyat is giving them the opportunity to prove themselves. Therefore the ambitious plan to take over the federal government is indeed secondary. Rakyat are smart enough not to depose the National Coalition in entirety because Rakyat is fully aware of the potential consequences of doing so. By electing alternative government in certain states in the country and denying the National Coalition a two third majority, it serves two purposes: (1) a wake up call to the National Coalition leaders that who they put in power can also be ousted when they fail the Rakyat; and (2) to give the alternative government the opportunity prove themselves whether or not they are better or worst than the national Coalition.

My daily readings with regard to politicians cross over from National Coalition to Pakatan Rakyat somehow perturb me. The cross over of politicians from national Coalition to Pakatan Rakyat is nothing more than to have the Federal government replaced. Whether or not this is what the Rakyat want, perhaps it is best Pakatan Rakyat gauge the views of the general public. In the haste of pursuing power, it is prudent for Pakatan Rakyat, particularly Anwar Ibrahim to learn from his  previous mistake that brought him to the 1998’s accusation. If he is meant to be the next Prime Minister for our country, he will be. Leave the fate in the hand of the Almighty.

I recollect an episode in ‘Everybody Loves Raymond’ when he was nominated as Sport writer of the year. His wife was excited and wanted him so desperately to be positive about winning the prize. Raymond reckoned a fact of life where he said when you are at a lower point and fall, you merely sprained your leg but if you are at the higher point, when you fall you splat and died. That was exactly what happened to Anwar in 1998.

It is crucial at this juncture for Anwar to realise that the Rakyat is giving him and his Pakatan Rakyat an opportunity to prove themselves. As much as Rakyat is desperate of getting rid the scumbags who are holding positions and wasting public funds, Rakyat is mindful in strategising how and who they wish as their next leader. Rakyat of this country was previously ruled by a dictator for more than 2 decades. During his reign, people lived in fear as they witnessed how those who attempted to thwart him ended up incarcerated. In the state of fear, majority even endorsed his choice of a feeble successor. However, the Almighty works in a mysterious way, it is through these weak attributes of this leader that the Rakyat was awaken to realise that this country does not belong to those who are in power, rather it is a country that belong to each and every citizen born here. Hence, the result of 12th General Election.

As much as wanting to get rid of the present government, Rakyat is prudent and cautious of whom they wish to be mandated to administer the country. They too do not entirely trust whether the alternative to National Coalition is any better. If the culture in National Coalition is repeated in Pakatan Rakyat’s ruling states, I will not be surprised if a new political group emerge.

I do not want to speak for anyone but I am sure many will agree with me. Rakyat is keen for changes. They want the leaders they mandated to be accountable to them. They want every penny they paid in the form of taxes is accounted for every project undertaken. They want these projects to be beneficial to them one way or the other rather than to merely certain individuals. They wish the prosperity of the country is shared by everyone. They want their children to have a brighter future with equal educational opportunities. They wish for a just and fair legal system and the list goes on and on.

By far, the five Pakatan Rakyat states are progressing rather well though there are still glitches here and there. I think the implementation of the road map by Pakatan Rakyat perhaps can start with a smaller scale by implementing them at state level. If Rakyat is happy and satisfies that Pakatan Rakyat is capable of delivering their aspirations, I am sure it will be able to win by the next general election. So be patient and let nature take its own course.

written by freedom lover, May 15, 2008 23:02:43
Let me explain about cross-overs!
First, they will issue dictates to current party
Second, they will not be satified with whats given
Third, They will resign from their party
Fourth, They will join the opponents
written by MrHot, May 15, 2008 23:03:46
"I had dream" That The Change Will Be Tomorrow !!!! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by bexe, May 15, 2008 23:16:30
Aiyo Ali, why so cynical?
If you want the world to change, you need to go do something about it. This thing about leaving it up to fate or the Almighty gets you nowhere.
Small steps never works. Conficius say, "Don't lower the bar, take longer steps"
You spelled out what your expectations are. Fair. It is everything what most civil people want. It was robbed from us and we want it back NOW! Not tomorrow, not 1 year from now, but NOW. If you leave it too long in the oven, your pie will be burnt!And that is not because of the Almighty. It is because of yourself.
written by bn haramjadah, May 15, 2008 23:57:21
so it is very clear, the rakyat don't want the former umno members of keadilan, to think that once the get power the can enrich themselves and their cronies like umno, we will not layan this, we don't want and will not accept this if any pakatan people are caught in dirty dealings please beware, even the prison walls won't be safe for you from the rakyat's anger. and the same rule applies to kataks, we will forgive the past only once. after which if you start your nonsense in corruption, you will not live to enjoy it, pure and simple, we rather have a bi-election.
written by harrbm, May 16, 2008 00:05:15
<
>

BY GOD ! where have u people been to?
There's no "crosssover" per se.
those MPs are PAKATAN "warriors" that have been "planted" in the "enemies" yard.
are you all still naive?

hmmmmmmmm

<
>

written by mrbean, May 16, 2008 00:07:00
time to change.. get rid of the corrupted people..
written by hiro, May 16, 2008 01:22:59
Are we back to the morals of cross overs?

I seriously don't care about PR proving they are able to govern. The bottom line is BN cannot govern effectively even with 4/5 majority as long as they sit on their gravy train called NEP. BN must be removed in its entirety otherwise we will never see the light to a long list of reforms that must come NOW if the country is to march forward with our heads held high. It may be a choice between two evils, but I think the choice is clear that PR for all the real or concocted controversies it is in now, is the much lesser of the two evils.
written by Watcheyes1, May 16, 2008 01:32:33
No worries....PR is run by the rakyat whilst BN is run by the UMNO f***@$%E%$## goons. So once Pakatan Rakyat form the next government, the rakyat will run their own country with fair, love and peace.

BN = Make the pie and eat by themselves
PR = Make the pie and share it with all
written by alanec, May 16, 2008 03:48:03
to be neutral....i am not saying that pr definitely will be better than bn.....but why not we dun give a change to a corrupted gomen......
written by mei yen, May 16, 2008 06:58:18
S. Ali Mahmud,

It is always interesting to read exceptionally well-crafted content whether I totally agree or disagree with it, but I do think that everything you have written here, is a valid opinion.

Unless Pakatan Rakyat is a prodigy that ‘the silent majority’ do not know about, it should just stay happy and stick to what they have. They should for the next five years, work their hearts out, to show and prove to the ‘majority’, all that they are capable of and then, for sure, the ‘silent majority’ will definitely make all their wildest dreams come true.

To impose someone else’s dream on the ‘majority’, without the ability to govern an entire nation, could prove to be so disastrous, that the entire rakyat may never ever, will be able to put their trust in the party again, will truly be a tragedy!

written by shamadz72, May 16, 2008 08:20:52
I believed the PR should seize the chances to take over the government if they had the chances now or else there is a possibility for them to be totally obliterated in the next election, since BN will be hell bent to use whatever machinery they have like SPR or police to ensure their control of the country. It is not something difficult for them to increase the number of parliamentary seat in their stronghold per capita and reducing it in the opposition stronghold.
written by Mr Smith, May 16, 2008 09:15:43
Pork can be consumed if one is dying of starvation. To refuse to eat is to die.
It's all about priority. In this case, the over riding objective is to cut off a cancerous rot (BN) in the body (the nation).
To allow the cancer to continue to exist is to kill the body.
Therefore, to take over the Federal Government to save the country is indeed noble and ought to be encouraged by all right thinking citizens.
After the March 8 GE, it is evident that UMNO is as arrogant as ever. It is fanning, as always, racial flames (namely Karpal and Pig farming issues). It is antagonistic towards the 5 Pakatan states. It is incorrigible.
Now, you see the morality in the crossing over?
written by SeriousLy, May 16, 2008 17:00:18
If they don't need to cross over, they just continue voting for PR in Parliament! That will sure kill BN! smilies/grin.gif
written by SuperShyteStirrer, May 16, 2008 18:43:02
Actually, there is a precedent for all this. After the disasterous election in 1969, Tun Razak managed to pursuade the then opposition parties Gerakan, PPP and PAS to join the then Alliance government to form Barisan Nasional government. Nobody then was screaming that it was morally wrong or that anti-hopping legislation would be required. Is this the usual double standard that applies in Malaysia? It is alright for opposition parties (who were elected as opposition parties) to join the BN government but it is not alright for BN component parties to join PR to form the government. So BN politicians and your apologists especially those in the MSM, get your facts and history correct before shooting off your collective mouths.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 16, 2008 22:45:55
No need to be in a hurry to cross over. Challenge the BN to be fair to the opposition, and give the BN a hard time, until they dismiss all of you. Then form a new party to topple BN.