Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Believe it or not - Malaysia’s improved anti-corruption performance

Believe it or not - Malaysia’s improved anti-corruption performance PDF Print E-mail
Posted by labisman   
Thursday, 15 May 2008 02:28

Malaysia’s Anti-Corruption Performance Has Improved - Abdullah

KUALA LUMPUR, May 14 (Bernama) — Malaysia’s fight against corruption has shown a marked improvement and it is placed among countries which had succeeded in tackling the menace, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

He said the Corruption Perception Index (CPI) by Transparency International last year showed that Malaysia had done better than 76 percent of the 179 countries listed in the report.

There was a 73.1 per cent improvement from 2006 while from 1995 it was 43.9,” he said in reply to a question by Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur).

Lim had urged the government to form a royal commission to find reasons for Malaysia’s drop in the CPI ranking from 23 in 1995 to 44 and 43 respectively in 2006 and 2007.

Abdullah said the government had no plans to form the commission as a study of the CPI showed that Malaysia had performed better.

He added even Transparency International had admitted the rise or drop in the CPI should not be based on the annual ranking.

This is because the number of countries taking part in the index differs annually. In 1995 there were 41 participating countries, rising to 163 and 179 in 2006 and 2007.”

Abdullah said a more accurate way to gauge the performance trend was the score where Malaysia had consistently scored five points since 1995.

It is a good and stable performance. If we calculate from the percentage of countries, Malaysia has in fact done better.

Although public perception on corruption is taken into account, the government believed substantive efforts must be undertaken to stamp out corruption and uphold integrity among the people.”

He added the government would take positive measures in the fight against corruption including improving and restructuring the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) into a commission.

(Blog.limkitsiang.com)

written by Jivathma, May 15, 2008 04:04:22
Offcourse, with a stronger opposition after 12th GE, all the Kaki Rasuahs are forced to 'tighten their belts' a bit laa. Before robbing by the millions now maybe by the hundred of thousands...that is for now.
Votes: +14
written by ralverd, May 15, 2008 04:41:30
More bullshit from our Prime Minister. Ask yourselves. Do you believe that our country has improved in terms of corruption? Do you?

Read more at my site : http://www.ralverd.com
Votes: +33
written by varvoom, May 15, 2008 05:03:48
I don't believe
Votes: +25
written by doggone, May 15, 2008 05:04:58

'Pat, Pat, Pat' (patting PM on the shoulder).

'Well done dude' (praising PM for job well done)

A little extolment goes a long way for someone in dire need of at least a semblance of approval in these trying times.

Who knows. He might actually go all out in an effort to bring us closer to the top ten of the least corrupt nation. Kudos.

Votes: +2
written by Honduras, May 15, 2008 05:25:19
PM said even Transparency International had admitted the rise or drop in the CPI should not be based on the annual ranking.

Finding excuses to cover up main weakness. If Malaysia was to improve its anti-corruption performance, we wouldn't be as low as 163 and 179 in 2006 and 2007. Despite de increasing number of countries participating, Malaysia should have risen up in ranking to at least top 10 or lowest also top 20 globally to show a tremendous improvement.

We should never compare with weaker countries, but should instead compete with countries that perform better than us for example, Singapore. Thats part of the measure to motivate Malaysians to excel better in all aspects.

Being in the rank of below 100 globally is indeed a disgrace. Aren't we Malaysians really ashamed of such a fact?
Votes: +9
written by power2u, May 15, 2008 06:12:18
WHAT BULLSHIT !!!!After siphoning off BILLIONS n BILLIONS,he can still say we hav improved.Now,they hav less 5 states to gasak....that's why they say fight against corruption has improved
Votes: +22
written by ilovepakatan, May 15, 2008 07:06:03
Forgive me Datuk Seri. Somehow I couldn't believe your words anymore. As long as they report to you, fairness will always be in question. As usual, you wont get it. smilies/sad.gif
Votes: +16
written by BillyH, May 15, 2008 07:32:07
These guys should be shamed publicly. What I would like to do is not use the toilet for a few months,and save my shit and urine in a big plastic bag. Then I would like to get ABB, Najis, all these BN people into a room with no windows. Standing at the doorway I'd take the shit and throw it at them, laughing and cursing at them. All of this will be aired on national tv.

then charge them with corruption and strip them of all titles and remove any memory associated with BN ( like what they did to the Nazis after WW2)

Votes: +3
written by partiotic, May 15, 2008 07:42:25
Hi! My dear sleeping beauty, now you woke up. Do you know the rate of corruption has gone down is because of the good example of Pekatan Rakyat Government in the five states. Because they had exposed the wrong doing of the BN wakil rakyat. The Ali Baba and the forty thiefs now has to take a rest.Anti corruption agency in Malaysia has been here for years, why only now the rate of corruption has gone down.You must thanks the PR government for helping you to reduce the rate of corruption.Go and thanks them openly.
Votes: +5
written by qwerty, May 15, 2008 07:50:14
R A S U A H F U N D

Come one, come all!!! Let's donate generously to this firstever Malaysian Rasuah Fund.

The objective of this fund is to legalise & centralise corruption.
With this fund, Malaysia's CPI index will rank among the best in the world!
What we will than have is only one case of rasuah!

What's more it shall be run professionally by a CEO, with annual financial report & earning forcast.

I'll start the ball rolling by donating my two sen!

Setuju?
Votes: +4
written by Msian 2, May 15, 2008 07:59:53
Question Mr.PM -- how many big fish have you caught ?? I don't know how our Minister of Defence need to use the private sector to broker such a huge financial deal in the procurement of warplanes & submarines. Mr.PM you certainly gives me the impression that you are irresponsible or at worst probably part & parcel of corrupters in the country. You don't take responsibilities for the state of mismanagement by your ministers & behaviour of your UMNO boys & girls. You try to give statistics but whats the point when the statistics points to small fries to give the impression that you are doing well. C'mon, catch the big boys/girls and then your credibility is believable. We need an earthquake of 8 on the richter scale to see something positive & that is going after the big corrupters.
written by gctham, May 15, 2008 08:06:51
Believe it or NOT? Please read the Sun paper on all articles written by R. Nades and Terence. The answer is there.
written by Catharsis, May 15, 2008 08:07:15
................Malaysia’s Anti-Corruption Performance Has Improved - Abdullah..................... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHH...................................................

thanks for the LAUGHS, YB......you are such a clown
Votes: +10
written by Hope4all, May 15, 2008 08:16:48
What happened to Eric Chia and Kasitah Gadam...?

Is ACA truly independent and even taking pro-active steps to investigate BN leaders as well? Start with the former leadership of the now Pakatan states.

Kalau tidak... talk is cheap.. rakyat tidak bodoh "lagi"!
Votes: +7
written by rayfire, May 15, 2008 08:24:46
Yeah ,statistics can be twisted to suit your needs!
No matter how hard you try to convince us, for obvious reasons and your proven track record of telling LIES!
WE DON"T BELIEVE YOU!

When are you people going to realise it! Still as arrogant as ever, all the goons are back in full motion : KJ , Nazri, M2T, Hamid Albar all still arrogant and still going against the rakyat!

I hope and pray the change will come!
I hope and pray, the MPs will decide for a better future!
I hope and pray, they are sincere in their aspiration for this nation!
I hope and pray, we will see a change soon!
GOD, please answer my prayers!

Please read "It is now or never, DSAI" at http://rayfire-viewpoint.blogspot.com
and take the poll "What Should DSAI do next?"
written by grant, May 15, 2008 08:25:51
not only he failed english but he failed maths and i wonder how he is the pm.... wat a stupid analogy...

if we use the score of 5 pts, being consistent since 1995, and on the other hand the CPI ranking degrades year after year only shows Msia is performing worse than other countries year after year as other countries are improving while Msia is not... STUPID!
written by Ken Liew, May 15, 2008 08:39:50
Maybe, last time the Whole family and relatives are doing those dirty job, now it is down to only family.

Cutting out the relatives, nice job......
written by kc respect, May 15, 2008 09:56:12
NO !!! It is not that Malaysia has improved!!! CORRUPTION IS STILL BIG MONEY HERE. IT is just that many other countries has learned from Malaysia on how to be even more corrupted. So, overall, the world's corruption has doubled.
Votes: +1
written by Democrats, May 15, 2008 11:55:24
OMG My PM's statement is so idiotic!!!!!!!!! You think rakyat sooooo bodoh?

How lah you analyse stats?

In 1995, rank 23 of out 41.
In 2006 rank 43 of out 163.

Explain how 20 country overtook us in 10 years in that CPI? It means we are slacking.... the increase of number of participating countries includes many 3rd world countries and we are suppose to be "developing" or developed country already! In short, without these new inclusion, and taking view of only the 41 participating countries of 1995 we would be last by now in 2006....

Classic example of complacency, seeing the cup half full.....
written by Al Ambia, May 15, 2008 12:26:23
There was a 73.1 per cent improvement from 2006 while from 1995 it was 43.9,” he said in reply to a question by Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur).Shit!Newspaper report only those small flies being detained.What happen to the *****,najis,hairy etc.....case???and also not forgeting you sleeping beauty.It will improve the index drastically,dont you agree?
written by steviewonger, May 15, 2008 13:15:29
catch a few ikan bilis we have an improvement but if we are to catch big fishes( which i doubt), then our country should not be in the list. aab is just trying to let out some tension. if he is really sincere, cut the crap and start fishing for big fishes. also kill off those sharks that have killed peoples. don't use a small fishing rod to fish for big fish. use C4 to kill off these big fishes.
written by Angela Ooi, May 15, 2008 14:29:24
I believe this report. I also believe pigs fly and Malaysia has zero tolerence for corruption too.
Votes: +0
written by Dinadz, May 15, 2008 16:02:40
Improve or getting worst???? Improve amongst the worst, maybe. Off course anyone would deny it, if he himself is in the same shoes smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +0

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.