Response to " MCA Must Regain Its Vision" by CEO of INSAP PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 May 2008 20:58

Dear Editor,

I want to express my views on some of the comments made by Helen Ang over my article " MCA Must Regain Its Vision" in the Sun recently.

If my article seems incoherent to Helen and her readers, I am happy to clarify the position on the fact that certain terms and expressions I used cannot be clear to every reader. And if one finds 'liberal conservatism' an oxymoronic term, I assure you that at the philosophical level, it is no more confusing than the word "social democracy" whereby Anthony Giddens argues that leftist thinking cannot be all about openness but disciplined with conservative values. He also insists that radicalism is cannot be equated with 'being on the left'. Nothing wrong with that but its something that liberals have been advocating all this while.

I did comment about populist thinking not being new because such movements have been repeated in history many times over. Just because it happened in Malaysia it does not mean we have to fear it but to challenge the position taken by the Opposition.

If the people of Malaysia are genuine about moving towards a two-party system, we cannot be playing to the politics of redemption because either side could chalk up just as many 'bad guys' if we want to. What i am envisaging in my article is to create a political spectrum in the Malaysian political landscape to which either side could state their arguments at the ideological level. Thus, allowing space for that sort of debate is something, I would imagine, that is openly championed and encouraged by your readers. The people may have been angry with the BN for its arrogance (among other things) but not for it to be replaced by Opposition hubris, I am sure.

In the article, I was in fact giving due recognition to the Opposition particularly, DAP for their ability to move from a diverse political platform to converge into a debate that surrounds social justice. It was a good tactical move but requires closer examination. Social justice based on whose argument is what I would like to understand. There is a significant class of the entrepreneurs as well as professionals who believe in less government intervention and are against the distribution of wealth without qualification. We are not comfortable in  having a social welfare STATE as a way to achieve social justice. Their manifesto and the policies are even less clear.

MCA should not advocate a dependency culture based on more layerings of blanket subsidies and price ceiling and other forms of market controls. The BN should take this opportunity to strategically remove them but in stages like what Indonesia has done in the last 10 years and quite successfully,too.Under the MCA economic blueprint's Global Entrepreneur Expansion (GEE), we want to encourage more young entrepreneurs to venture into new areas rather than feed them into thinking that the country owes them something,...forever. 

Independence, competitiveness, entrepreneurship and innovation are the kinds of value system we would like to see the next generation of liberals take on. We are proud to be on the right side of the political spectrum. We are pro-growth and pro-market, and we should not be apologetic about it. We do not believe that all young people should jump on the populist bandwagon just because its the flavour of the month. We also need to scrutinize the core values of their beliefs, as they do with ours. What we are offering is another facet of liberalism which is not necessarily radical but based on open, sound thinking and policies.

As to whether we need a better welfare SYSTEM, then the answer is yes. We have not done enough in this area and the lack of transparency in the allocations of funds to genuine NGOs is a problem.

Finally, as for those attacks on basis that INSAP is a pro-establishment outfit are extremely shallow - even for you, Helen Ang and Harris Ibrahim.

Fui K. Soong

CEO

Institute Of Strategic Analysis and Policy Research (INSAP)

(INSAP is a research body and think tank of MCA.)

written by Raja Chulan, May 14, 2008 21:13:16
Another bunch of academics employed by politician to add legitimacy to their policies and philosophies.

This Think Tanks are nothing but a DoDo.

Go live in a bloody real world and not live in a web of Academic Hubris.
written by patycy, May 14, 2008 21:19:40
Now i understand why MCA is heading into sunset.. ROFL smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by semut, May 14, 2008 21:22:59
INSAP is a research body and think tank of MCA...
huh..waste of time la research itu ini..just quit and join PR..yosh!
written by Windchime, May 14, 2008 21:29:40
MCA and all its passengers is sinking fast - with or without its "Think Tank"!
written by rakyat101, May 14, 2008 21:29:54
what a loser....
written by petestop, May 14, 2008 21:33:49
Oh, so they are trying to spin DAP as promoting Welfare State now ?

Funny, I'm out and out capitalist (with a tinge of responsible social-democratism), but I still support DAP.

How can capitalisme work, when business can only move, when well oiled by "grease" money ? Something that businessman-club MCA would like to protect at all cost, no doubt.

MCA as a club for businessman, is one of the reason why it totally does not strike a chord with Malaysian Chinese. You might as well change your name to MBA, Malaysian Businessman Association or rather Money Buys Anything..

written by Mr Smith, May 14, 2008 21:58:14
Just because it happened in Malaysia it does not mean we have to fear it but to challenge the position taken by the Opposition.
======================================================= ========
I think the entire MCA fraternity is in fear. There is no way a party wholly rejected by the community can ever hope to redeem its former glory. How is your limping party (Lim Kheng Yaik says "beggars") going to challenge an oncoming opposition tide. MCA days are numbered. So is Gerakan, MIC, and even UMNO.
written by citizenken, May 14, 2008 22:08:00
MCA has its chances as coalition partner of UMNO, inabilty to voice out and lack of assertiveness over implementation of ideas for rakyat's betterment.only now they are BOLDER after a shock defeat.
it too late to have GUTS now. if its attitude like sweeping issues under the carpet or behave like political slaves of UMNO , better change to be a multi racial party and join pakatan rakyat.
MCA is gonna vote out of existent next election if they dont change their MP longkang attitude or keeping mum over UMNO arrogrance.
EVEN that old man of gerakan is voicing out his BOLD sentiments never heard before in the pre election and in the era of BN 2/3 majority rule.
IT TOO LATE TO APPOLOGIZE, says that song
also too late to CRY and REFORM.just step aside and let DAP and Keadilan take over on the part of championing Rakyat's interest
also this THINK TANK CEO of MCA, u should relabled RETHINK TANK AND THINK RIGHT FIRST TIME TANK or use pls get another job in another line cos nobody would wanna hire u to mumble about the shortcomming of fast dissapearing political dinosaur MCA.
written by Phoenix_142, May 14, 2008 22:19:24
CEO of Insap - Wah! Like damn bloody big deal lah.... CEO is a term to be used for a leader of a real & respected organization.....not a MCA lap dog corporation.
Insap is a bloody pro-establishment outfit - it ain't a shallow statement, byt the way - it's a fact.
written by bexe, May 14, 2008 22:22:16
The author must be in a delusion. I don't see in its remotest form his type of political philosophy being practiced in this country.
written by EvilWolf, May 14, 2008 22:50:52
Academic and philosophical jargon that does not apply in practice. This 'think-tank' has only contributed to MCA's very embarrasing loss in the recent elections.

Laymen are only interested in 'bread and butter' issues that impact them directly, not all this nonsence.

Fui K. Soong - besides writing a couple of articles, what else do you do to carry a 'CEO' title?

Like MCA, has INSAP any relevance at all?
written by cheekhiaw, May 14, 2008 22:52:45
MCA's THINKING IN A TANK

This think tank fella must have been thinking in a closed tank like the proverbial katak dalam tempurung...

written by oster, May 14, 2008 23:05:16
And if one finds 'liberal conservatism' an oxymoronic term, I assure you that at the philosophical level, it is no more confusing than the word "social democracy" whereby Anthony Giddens argues that leftist thinking cannot be all about openness but disciplined with conservative values. He also insists that radicalism is cannot be equated with 'being on the left'. Nothing wrong with that but its something that liberals have been advocating all this while.

Giddens is being completely arbitrary in saying that.

The term "liberal democracy" is not necessarily oxymoronic, but definitely prolix, where "liberal" acts as an adjective to the noun "conservatism", this merely denotes a right-wing position close to the centre. Some may just call this right-of-centre.

It by "liberal conservatism" you mean a very nuanced position (economically conservative and socially liberal, for example), then you shouldn't have tried to shown nuance with all-encompassing terms.

If the people of Malaysia are genuine about moving towards a two-party system, we cannot be playing to the politics of redemption because either side could chalk up just as many 'bad guys' if we want to.

Even if there are more than two major parties, we STILL cannot play the politics of redemption. But how else do you sway the masses with such cost-effectiveness?

You're a proponent of a freer market right? That politicians choose the easier way of gaining support is completely in agreement with the market forces behind those decisions.

Social justice based on whose argument is what I would like to understand. There is a significant class of the entrepreneurs as well as professionals who believe in less government intervention and are against the distribution of wealth without qualification.

For one, DAP's brand of social justice is based more on equal opportunities than equal distribution.

Yes there is a significant chunk of Small Government advocates, but your contention about the subjectivity of "social justice" is moot, since voters will vote based on their definition. There is no way to validate any definition of "social justice" for the state apart from the ballot box.

We are proud to be on the right side of the political spectrum. We are pro-growth and pro-market, and we should not be apologetic about it.

Everyone is pro-growth. No one campaigns on a regressive economy. You phrase your sentence as if the opposition thinks you can't be pro-growth.

Your contention about being pro-market, however, is laughable. That you can claim as such and allow BN's system of statist economies and patronage to continue is precisely why people think you're nothing but UMNO's running dog.

We do not believe that all young people should jump on the populist bandwagon just because its the flavour of the month.

Indeed. I'm a leftie because I believe the state is in the best position to regulate market distortions (not an oxymoronic statement).

Finally, as for those attacks on basis that INSAP is a pro-establishment outfit are extremely shallow - even for you, Helen Ang and Harris Ibrahim.

Being focused completely on policy initiatives specifically for the party so entrenched in the establishment IS pro-establishment.

If it's shallow, refute it logically.

written by huanchoomooi, May 14, 2008 23:09:39
CEO INSAP, saya tak mahu dengar lebih lebih apa apa alasan kerana MCA mampui kali ini. Saya hanya mahu kerajaan yang bersih dan pemimpin nya orang yang boleh timbang rasa.
written by apa jadi, May 14, 2008 23:16:32
OOI, this Fui K Soong,

MCA got vision all these 50 years ah? I thought Dr. sochai says that you all are beggars? I don't know if lasik works anymore with 50 years of impaired vision. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by shissun, May 14, 2008 23:43:12
INSAP INSAP INSAP HISAP...
Dude, we don't care whether you say us shallow or not. MCA is totally out of the people interest. By the time they support (or keep silent) when UMNO was mauling our beloved country, they already betrayed us (I am not talking about Chinese community's trust only) as the defender of our people (all communities). INSAP , you may talk about all the philosophies all you want, but we people only care about REALPOLITIK. Politics by practice. BTW, we people do not care what kind political system (whether it is dual party or what shit) we want a clean, compassionate, effective government. I believe whoever involved in politics in Malaysia must raise up to the current demand. Malaysians are no longer care about communal interest, but they demand everyone of them to be treated with respect as the citizen of this country. We need aspiration, we need respect from each other in such a challenging world. We don't want everyone of us become beggar in our country and all the while UMNO-BN is playing racial politics in order to keep in power. By all mean, MCA was part of this scam to rob our country wealth and it was rightly punished.
Fu,
The behavior of certain MCA leaders post-election was the indicator that they are adamant to the wind of change. It was not DAP or any other factors that contribute to the downfall of MCA or Gerakan beside the internal forces that ripe them apart. Selfishness and unfaithful are the bad attitudes that cultured among them. Malaysia citizens are not stupid. We have eye, we have our sense and we love our country so much that we need to fight for her survival.
written by LACOBRA, May 15, 2008 00:03:50
Is he talking about the natural phase of Evolution of wildlife and environment versus unnatural cycle of human intervention and is associated to politics? When a certain dominant creature over populates and with human intervention eradicates against nature's cycle thereby other forms of creatures become dominant. The new dominant creature thereby creates a different set of problems. BTW, apart from using fangs similar to wielding a Keris, do creatures have the same mentality as humans?

Social Politics belong to the same thinking human race, creed and color. Therefore, the natural and healthy cycle of politics of mankind is to decide who comes to power and does not exclusively belong to the current ruling party who has ensued only its elites continue to prosper. The unnatural cycle has seen countries fall due to extreme dominance whereas natural cycle countries grow from total non dominance.
written by mikewang, May 15, 2008 00:26:17
We all understand that subsidies will bring economic ruin to this country in the long run.
There is no need for subsidy if most Malaysians earn a lot more than what the farmer in Thailand makes.

Unfortunately, the culture of subsidies is the culture of UMNO.
How is MCA going to remove that if your taiko doesn't agree with you ????
Are you willing to wake out of them ?
written by mikewang, May 15, 2008 00:27:11
walk - wake
written by kenny, May 15, 2008 03:56:41
oster, clap clap clap!

A great delivery bro', with pointed rebuttals against her many hollow assertions.

It's pathetic if her write-up is the best we could have from the chief of INSAP.
written by hemlock, May 15, 2008 09:38:28
Maybe it's just me, but I still find the entire piece too taxing on my poor layperson's brain. 'Academic' people - when trying to convince the masses - should really make an attempt to reach us through simple language. Not technical jargon and verbose diarrhoea.
written by blacknight220, May 15, 2008 11:10:08
What Tank? Fish tank? MCA think tank? What MCA? Why are we talking about a party that is not relevant anymore on this earth? Waste of time. Bikin malu only. Only now wanna champion about this & that? Carry on be a begger. Shoooo........
written by kksam, May 15, 2008 11:26:38
Dear MR CEO, your view or analysis is nothing new. why didn't it came before 8March? Acting like a great researcher now? It just piss me off whenever there's these losers pretending that they know this and that but never do anything until after they lost. Just keep your mouth shut and do your ****ing job, now you should be analyze what have MCA do after 8March to win back the people's support. Did they do anything other than sabotage and blame game? MCA had no future with the two Ong dogs and a host of other useless bunch, so MR CEO will you come out with a list of MCA men to be sack or plead to resign and leave the party for good?
written by searchforjustice, May 15, 2008 17:58:20
This INSAP CEO's comments are so convoluted, vague and without substance that I could not really understand what he is trying to say. I think he has purposely written in this manner to cloud the whole issue. As an example, the last sentence of his letter states that

"Finally, as for those attacks on basis that INSAP is a pro-establishment outfit are extremely shallow - even for you, Helen Ang and Harris Ibrahim."

What the hell does it mean? The sentence is so disjointed that I am left confused. Can anybody explain?