Bloggers launch “Penangites for Trams” campaign PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 May 2008 17:40

Today, several Penang-based bloggers and websites are due to simultaneously launch a “Penangites for Trams” campaign.

bloggers

We hope more and more bloggers and webmasters - especially all those who care for Penang - will join in the campaign by placing the graphics here on their blogs or websites. You can link the graphic to the URL for this post.

This will help to raise awareness of the viability and economic benefits of trams.

Fittingly, the latest issue of the business weekly The Edge carries a full-page article in support of the re-introduction of trams in Penang.

Join in the campaign and pass the word around.

penang trams

Come on, together we can bring the trams back to Penang!

In case you are wondering what advantages trams bring, here’s a list from the City of Edinburgh Council website.

written by freedom lover, May 14, 2008 17:46:17
Dont you think it will add to further congestion to your city state? Isnt subway system a better alternative? Well you decide whats good for Penang! We are not Penangites but will lend our total support so long as you are supporters of The Reliable Malaysia Today! Remember our motto in Malaysia Today,
NEWS AHEAD OF TIME!
written by eeyaw, May 14, 2008 17:48:39
Perhaps this is the best option on the table given that the Federal Gomen has abandoned Penang!
written by tbsbidayuh, May 14, 2008 17:49:58
Will this proposal going to be rejected by Public Work Minister? See if he can do that.
written by GaryK, May 14, 2008 17:53:27
Would like to know what kind of study they claimed they have conducted? It is so easy to see others success story but can we actually compared Penang to Edinburgh?
written by borneopeteliew, May 14, 2008 18:05:47
Good move! I'm in support and I will love to see the trams back in Penang.
written by red door, May 14, 2008 18:15:07
If this is the case, just make the bus service in Penang more efficient. Why spend big bucks on something that we can foresee gonna jam up the traffic? We cannot compare Penang today with Penang decades ago. The streets and shophouses were built before WWII. How are they gonna widen up the streets if we put a tram rail in the middle of the road? Also, compare the ratio of road vehicles then and now. It is bad enough without trams now; are we gonna make it worse?

Solution: More efficient bus service OR underground
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2008 18:16:44
I'd support this as it sounds pretty cool.
However, has anybody done a basic "feasibility study" on this idea thus far?
But I think it should work anyway ...

Go for it guys!
written by Edmond R, May 14, 2008 18:26:48
It's interesting. But like some of the commentators here, I too have some reservations about reintroducing trams in George Town. First of all, we need to ask ourselves who are the people that we are targeting? Who will be using these trams? Obviously, trams are only used for short distance travel as they do not move very fast. Which part of George Town will the trams be serving?
Trams might look pretty and attractive to the tourists, but we must think of our own need first. The easier and cheaper way would be to improve the bus service. Yes, we have been saying that time and again, but the bus services in Penang has not really improved much. But if we look at properly, it is still the best option at the moment, considering the lack of monetary funding.
Anyway, I shall have a good look at your website and review the pros and cons again. Thanks for sharing.
Edmond R Betel Nut Chronicles (http://betelnutchronicles.********.com)
written by freespeecher, May 14, 2008 19:07:41
I am a Penangite and lived in S'pore before and now in KL. I don't think trams are suitable for Penang at the moment maybe in the future for tourist attraction or short distance travelling.

While subways are the long term solution for various reasons and usage (such as flood mitigation) other than transportation, now as the quickest solution of what can be done in the most cost efficient way is to consolidate/coordinate all the bus and taxi companies and implement systems that is similar to S'pore if not better.

As the BN govt is so childish that likes to play shutting off "water taps" now what the ppl in pg can do is to IMPROVISE the existing infrastructure so as to minimize cost and more importantly increase efficiency and reduce wastage.

Forget about implementing systems that can cost tens of millions....the state needs to conserve whats left of the savings after those BN morons squandered them in the past,conservation is utmost important especially during these slow economic time.

Also I think those bloggers should instead focus their attention on more important issues at hand especially towards those "Land-magicians" that can turn RM488mil worth of land into RM24 Billion. Think of what all the penangites are losing in this kind of deal as lands are more precious than gold in Penang.
written by mikewang, May 14, 2008 19:29:55
Stupid idea unless the purpose is for a short stretch as part of tourist attraction.

It's far better to provide an efficient bus service, one that runs like those in Singapore in addition to an workable taxi service, one that runs with meter on all the time.
written by sarawakian, May 14, 2008 20:20:07
good idea. cheaper than underground.
written by Arum, May 14, 2008 20:57:21
Tram is cool.By the way ,it does not cost billions.If well planned ,like the one in Germany,it's efficient ,prompt,easier to get in and out.Continously running.No underground tunnels.

Common.In Germany trams cover bigger area than the Penang Island.It not Trishaw by the way,It can be interconnected to coverwider area.
written by DontPlayGod, May 14, 2008 21:30:24
As a penangite myself, it is sad to see that another penangite, who is now the PM, has done nothing for Penang since he took office in 2004. The Tun has at least developed Sg. Petani, Kulim, and Pulau Langkawi. But what has AAB done? I would say, absolutely nothing. So what's the point of voting UMNO in, eh, Penang UMNO supporters?
written by Shane, May 14, 2008 21:33:14
testing
written by Shane, May 14, 2008 21:53:36
Every time I write a comment by the time I have finished typing I am somehow atomatically logged out and I get a message telling me I must be logged in to post a comment and then I loose everything I had to say .
written by kuccat88, May 14, 2008 22:50:09
Hi Shane
I sometimes face this problem caused by our lousy TM streamyx bandwidth problem. If you see this happen highlight and save all that you have written ***** logout and log in again and ***** paste on the box
written by fearless, May 15, 2008 03:18:16
Tram with new technology is like super cheap MRT on the road. The track area can be used by other vehicles as Hong Kong's tram system.
written by fearless, May 15, 2008 03:20:43
written by mikewang, May 14, 2008 | 19:29:55

Stupid idea unless the purpose is for a short stretch as part of tourist attraction.

It's far better to provide an efficient bus service, one that runs like those in Singapore in addition to an workable taxi service, one that runs with meter on all the time.

====

Your tram is ancient version used by your grandpa.

New tram built with the state of the art technology is as good as bullet train.
written by TheArtiste, May 15, 2008 03:55:07
Ever since i was a kid and my dad used to tell me that there were such things called Trams in Penang in the early 1920s, i always used to wonder how Penang looked like when Trams wandered the streets. Now this dream is about to become a reality.

Now do not get me wrong. It is not only because i want to see how a Tram would look like in PG but ever since i realised what a Tram was, I did my research and found out how cost efficient, and nature friendly they were.

Every time i traveled and saw a Tram it would make me feel so exited and i would take loads of pictures, here are some of my personal "stash" on Trams. There are more pictures but i think this will do to give you a gist on what Trams are.

Here is a Tram line in Manchester, England

Here is a Tram in Manchester, England

Here is a Tram and Tram line in Bydgoszcz, Poland

Here is a Tram in Bydgoszcz, Poland
written by cubi76, May 15, 2008 07:09:53
Count me in. I'm all for the trams.

Cost saving, environmental friendly, user friendly, safe, etc.

Bus service must be improved. But another mode of public transport is needed too.

Go for it.