Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow ICJ To Decide On May 23 Sovereignty Of Pulau Batu Puteh

ICJ To Decide On May 23 Sovereignty Of Pulau Batu Puteh PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 May 2008 13:44

(Bernama) KUALA LUMPUR, May 14 -- Six months after the end of the hearing of oral submissions over the sovereignty of Pulau Batu Puteh, Middle Rocks and South Ledge, the International Court of Justice (ICJ) is set to decide which country - Malaysia or Singapore -- should have sovereignty over the disputed island and the two marine features.

The ICJ, which is based at The Hague in the Netherlands, will give its verdict on May 23, bringing to a close a 28-year-old territorial dispute over the island and the two features.

The court heard lengthy submissions from both countries from Nov 6 to 23 last year.

Malaysia and Singapore had pledged to abide by the decision of the ICJ, the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, whose decision is final and not subject to appeal.

Both the Malaysian foreign minister, Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, and his Singapore counterpart, George Yeo, had said the outcome of the case would not strain ties between the two neighbours.

The dispute was brought to the ICJ after the two countries signed a special agreement in February 2003 requesting the court to rule over the dispute which had started in February 1980 when Singapore protested against a Malaysian map of its boundaries published in 1979 which showed Pulau Batu Puteh as belonging to Malaysia.

Singapores protest led to an exchange of correspondence and subsequently a series of inter-governmental talks in 1993 and 1994 at which the respective positions of the two countries were developed, but without any conclusion.

Subsequently, it was agreed that the dispute on Pulau Batu Puteh, the size of a football field which lies 7.7 nautical miles (nm) from the Malaysian mainland but 25.5nm over the sea from Singapore, and the two marine features should be decided by the ICJ.

During the proceedings Malaysia and Singapore had argued their cases backed by voluminous documents and eloquent submissions presented by each country which included international lawyers.

Singapore argued before the 16-member panel of judges that Pulau Batu Puteh was terra nullius (No Mans Land) when Britain took possession of it from 1847 to 1851.

The island republic contended that it had conducted various activities there for over 150 years to show that it had exercised sovereignty powers on Pulau Batu Puteh, which it calls Pedra Branca (White Rock in Portuguese) while Malaysia had not done so.

Malaysia brushed aside Singapores claim that the island was terra nullius, saying that the claim was flawed.

It stressed that Johor had the original title to the island and the two marine features since time immemorial and that Britain was merely given permission by the Johor Sultanate to build the Horsburgh lighthouse on the island.

Singapore was merely the administrator of the lighthouse built on Pulau Batu Puteh and activities that have taken place there were just acts required of a lighthouse administrator, Malaysia argued.

Britains activities in relation to the Horsburgh lighthouse and the island after 1851 were purely operational and did not reflect any intention to acquire sovereignty over the island, the Malaysian team said.

It said that Singapores activities in respect of the lighthouse did not amount to a conduct of sovereignty as claimed by the republic.

Malaysias international lawyer Sir Elihu Lauterpacht pointed out to the court that once it was established that Pulau Batu Puteh was not terra nullius in 1847, then it must have been regarded as subject to Johors sovereignty and that would be the end of Singapore's case.

This was because Singapore itself had declared that it rested its case upon the basis that it acquired the title to Pulau Batu Puteh by taking possession of the island as a terra nullius, he had submitted.

The Malaysian team was led by Tan Sri Abdul Kadir Mohamad, the Prime Minister's Adviser on Foreign Affairs, who was also the countrys agent for the case, while Datuk Noor Farida Ariffin, the Malaysian ambassador to the Netherlands, was the co-agent.

Others were Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail and Malaysias team of international lawyers.

They were, Sir Elihu and James Crawford, both professors in International Law at the Cambridge University; Nicolaas Jan Schrijver, professor of Public International Law, Leiden University; Marcelo G. Kohen, professor of International Law, the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva; and Penelope Nevill, college lecturer, Downing College, Cambridge University.

Singapores team was led by Tommy Koh Ambassador-at-Large, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, who was the republics agent for the case.

Also part of the team were its Deputy Prime Minister S. Jayakumar, Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong, Attorney-General Chao Hick Tin and the countrys team of international lawyers.

The ICJs verdict will be delivered by the Vice-President of the Court, Judge Awn Shawkat Al-Khasawneh, who was the Acting President in the case.

The 16 judges included two ad hoc judges appointed by Malaysia and Singapore. Malaysia appointed Christopher S.R. Dugard of South Africa and Singapore, Pemmaraju Sreenivasa Rao of India.

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by zul4kulim, May 14, 2008 13:52:33
If we lose pulau putih, more headaches to pak lah during his current trying time to face further challenges from Ku Li. It was reported that our legal team was not convincing enough, and one member was son of somebody.

Well, even both the Malaysian foreign minister, Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim, and his Singapore counterpart, George Yeo, had said the outcome of the case would not strain ties between the two neighbours, the strains will be cracked among UMNO leaders esp from Johor.
What's left?

http://1426.********.com/2008/...tions.html
written by Mathavan, May 14, 2008 13:58:15
Malaysia better win the case....See how many international lawyers assigned to this task. Singapore is represented by their countrymen.
Where are all our lawyers gone? Probably they cant speak good english. Or they are busy with domestic issues like Hindraf 5?
I wonder how much was spent on this case alone? Taxpayers money down to the drain....
God bless Malaysia......
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 13:59:04
I pray we won't lost this little rock. if we do then umno will be in shit again.we can't be losing all the time with our neighbours.I hope we won't lost Johor after this.serious!
written by temenggong, May 14, 2008 14:11:33
If people have been following the submissions by both sides' counsel, it would seem apparent that Singapore indeed has a case, and probably will win.
written by rakyatmalaysia, May 14, 2008 14:26:29
I'm sceptical that we might win. Look at our lawyers who went on defence for our country.. lets dont judge and see the result.
written by Arubin, May 14, 2008 14:27:34
Hate to sound unpatriotic, but we are going to lose this case. Deservedly so too, considering that our side unashamedly tried to create a fake blog to support its case...malunya...
written by Bigjoe99, May 14, 2008 14:44:39
The issue is how the decision will affect the PM's popularity. One way will make him look very bad while the other way will make him look a bit better. I can see a number of people say its his fault...

I pity the man on this one really...
written by varvoom, May 14, 2008 14:45:29
Thanks to Umno we will one day lose Southern Johore too, remember Singapore reservoir deep inside Johore? And now the Iskandar development project. Before we know it Malaysia will be part of Singapore. Well? Better the competent devil then a bunch of racist robbers looking after our country.
written by Knight, May 14, 2008 14:47:54
The Malaysian legal team is supported by the following experts :

Sir Elihu Lauterpacht and James Crawford, professors in International Law at the Cambridge University; Nicolaas Jan Schrijver, professor of Public International Law, Leiden University; Marcelo G. Kohen, professor of International Law, the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva; and Penelope Nevill, college lecturer,Downing College, Cambridge University.

Does anyone know their nationality & race ?
written by varvoom, May 14, 2008 14:54:45
Knight, they are jewish lah lol
written by YSL, May 14, 2008 15:11:57
To me and looking at the Hindraf Detention and C4 method of solving problem, i have a better suggestion to solve this problem, C4 Pulau Batu Puteh and there is no more Pulau to be claimed.

Can somebody tell me who is the best person to get the job done
written by Don Corleone, May 14, 2008 15:27:08
Wonder if Gani Patail and Syed Hamid resign if they lose this case ? According to Japanese customs, these people would have to commit sepuku or harakiri because of the loss of face. Yes, relations will not be affected by the outcome of this case, but there will be a loss of face.
written by varvoom, May 14, 2008 15:36:13
Ah! I think I know lah YSL, is he the son of that PM that kick out Tunku Abdul Rahman? or is he the big brader of this fellow that run CIMB bank eh? And they all send their children to verly2 expensive school in UK.
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2008 15:40:30
written by varvoom, May 14, 2008 | 14:54:45

Knight, they are jewish lah lol
=================================

Finish ....... now they're (Umno) gonna say that it was a Jewish conspiracy with the "little red dot" to defraud Malaysia of Batu Puteh and Ketuanan Melayu!
written by count me in, May 14, 2008 16:02:36
our defence team very weaklah! the reseachers appointed also not committed one! itu lah tak pilih ikut meritokrasi!!
written by glock17, May 14, 2008 16:13:04
I really hope Kerismuddin Panca Sila dagger is sharp enough to slice this racist-corruptive ultra extreme ethno nationalist warlords fat slimy belly...!!!

If not....we can always Look East and borrow their awesome blades for this cleasing rituals.

Glock17
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2008 16:28:27
Glock,
Look to your name lah ..... who needs blades or daggers?
And dont get so emotional .... it is what they want to evoke, so that you get a "seige mentality".

You can tell their desperation in their arguments, when they have to come up with a "photoshopped" image at an International court, buddy!
Singaporeans brains made mincemeat out of the Malaysian case!

Anyway, get yourself ready for the "good news" .....

written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2008 16:37:32
For more, go to http://blog.simplyjean.com/200...-included/
written by glock17, May 14, 2008 16:41:39
Dear Cruize..

Thanks for the advice..I do admit I'm being carried away emotionally whenever this racist-corruptive monkees (without tail species) screw up again and again.

My brand will put them out of misery too fast and easy...shouldn't the 'ol fashion blade create more fun fountain effect gush. The Romans love it so much in the Collisium...perhaps the local audience will want a piece of this entertaiment too.

Glock Perfection.

written by sickofitall, May 14, 2008 16:48:50
As a patriot, may I say how I wish Lingam was heading our legal team? Can Can Can semua boleh korek korek korek... Harharhar!
written by RFernandez, May 14, 2008 17:06:15
I am sure ICJ will award Pedra Blanca (Horsburgh Lighthouse) to Singapore, wanna bet? One simple reason why, because there is a Singapore entity on that island for so many years.

Why do you think Celcom started phone services on Pulau Layang Layang recently? You want to lay claim to something you have to put your mark on it bro.

written by Motherchell, May 14, 2008 19:00:24
Oh My !, Knight, what was Ghani Patel doing in the group ---- this guy doesnt know what is the Law of the Land ---- im quiet worried , cos if anything untoward --- the whole group may be charged for sedition. smilies/smiley.gif
written by mikewang, May 14, 2008 19:47:59
The odds of Malaysia winning is 1000 to 1.
If Malaysia can cite historical reason to lay claim to this island, they can also lay claim to Singapore.

So moral of the story is, if you allow squatters to squat on a piece of land long enough, the land become theirs.
Same with all immigrants.
(Aren't our ancestors, regardless of their origins, were once immigrants ?)
written by 1351, May 14, 2008 23:03:50
This is a crying shame.

As a citizen, I'm utterly embarassed our govt can't come up with a team of local talent to present this case to the ICJ. Just look at the make up of legal minds from S'pore, and if not mistaken, some of them have very close roots to M'sia.

Since Parliament is in session, it wouldn't hurt if some representative can pose a question to find out how much this is going to cost tax payers ?

Again, crying shame.
written by 1351, May 14, 2008 23:08:10
Oh My !, Knight, what was Ghani Patel doing in the group - Motherchel

Three in one package - office boy, tea lady and most importantly, help carry all those boxes of evidence fabricated.
written by bbmars, May 14, 2008 23:18:55
I don't want to sound too judgemental about this case, but history is repeating itself. Malaysia had in the past used the reason cited by SG to win the court ruling on those islands they won against Indonesia.. So what makes them think they will win the case... Its a waste of tax $$$$... I being a Singaporean also find our Gov wasting money going top court... as this don't come CHEAP. Just look at the list of lawyers, you can tell how muh $$$ they will spend on it... Just a waste of time and resources.....
written by supplier, May 14, 2008 23:24:14
Wonder if AG resign if he lose this case ? According to Japanese customs, these people would have to commit sepuku or harakiri because of the loss of face.

He is one of the most thickskined people in Malaysia. Even with concrete evidences of corruptions produced and laymen know that wrongdoings had been committed, the AG pretending and siding the corrupters with his usual words, NO CASE or NO WITNESSES . Isn't he thickskinned and without face?.
He must be charged for his wrongdoings and corruptions when the new Federal government takes over
written by temanmu, May 15, 2008 00:33:22
Ya lah... Malaysia always "kutuk" orang Yahudi ... So why hire a Jew, and a very pro-Jew at that, to help Malaysia?

Just do a search for "sir elihu lauterpacht" !

Hypocrites!

written by temanmu, May 15, 2008 00:36:37
Haha !!! Notice Bernama stated the surnames of all others except Sir Elihu Lauterpacht ...

sounds too Jewish issit?
written by ToeJam, May 15, 2008 08:59:44
written by supplier, May 14, 2008 | 23:24:14

Wonder if AG resign if he lose this case ? According to Japanese customs, these people would have to commit sepuku or harakiri because of the loss of face.

u]He is one of the most thickskined people in Malaysia.[ Even with concrete evidences of corruptions produced and laymen know that wrongdoings had been committed, the AG pretending and siding the corrupters with his usual words, NO CASE or NO WITNESSES . Isn't he thickskinned and without face?.

if he is that thick-skinned, perhaps the sword can't penetrate when he tried sepuku or harakiri. Yes?