Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Defending The Defence Counsel

Defending The Defence Counsel PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 May 2008 11:51

Who touched the Privileges of the Rulers in the first place?  Not YB Karpal or any of the Rakyat.  It was UMNO and even the then DPM

By K W Waran

I am writing this letter knowing fully well that I am unduly inviting brickbats from all those quarters who want him, The Cleanest Legal Icon Of This Nation, in jail today or even yesterday.   He can also be best described as the WALKING ENCYLOPAEDIA  as far as the LAW is concerned  in Malaysia.

Well, I am not hiding behind a pseudonym, and hence, if any can cajole YM RPK or Bro Labisman to let you know of my contact details, I am  prepared to face the brickbats face to face.  But please go on reading and you might see what I am trying to part with here, for all to be in the  know, for it is very pertinent.

YB Karpal Singh MP, is someone that a lot of us have always been  admiring, and in yours truly’s case, since my varsity days and this admiration  only grew stronger and stronger purely on the grounds of WHAT he had steadfastly stood for all these decades against all odds.  There were  many of those downtrodden in the lower strata of society for whom he had represented on a pro bono basis right up to the Federal Court and won  the case whilst setting many a legal precedents.  All he has to do is make  a phone call and he has the Chief Justice’s Ears and Time.  

He was  never a materialistic man, otherwise, he would be worth at least 10 times his current worth in terms of Ringgit and Cents.  That Lion King with his Lioness had also brought up his cubs very well and his cubs are doing pretty well too trying to carry on his legacy.

I know that for a fact because I had to seek legal advise and action on  a legal dispute and I had met YB Jagdeep Singh Deo, a lion king in the making, albeit, a versatile CUB. This was way back when he was not even  a YB.  So,  technically, the matter can only be resolved by filling it in the High Court.  A mundane action in the lower courts would not only be  a wastage of time, both ours and the courts  but a wastage of resources  as well.   But the difference of filling it in the High Court is quite  high.

Take note here.  Filling it in the lower court would entail an initial upfront/deposit of at least RM2,000, whereas, in the High Court, you  are talking about RM20,000 to start with.  Of course, for most of us, we don’t go around having that much money to seek a legal redress when other priorities are jarring at  and down our throats. 

Anyway, to cut to  long story short, that Lion’s Cub, told me, and I wish to quote here, “Don’t worry about the amount involved.  We will try to adjust it.  The most important thing is that your case has legal merits and therefore, we  are ready to fight for your justice first in the High Court where it should  be rightfully heard.”  BOY, that felt like listening to the Lion,  Himself. No wonder, whenever you go to any of his offices, its packed with   people from all walks of life waiting patiently to see YB Karpal Singh or his children and they do so knowing that all that waiting will culminate in them ultimately getting justice done and served properly.

In the years of his presence in the legal fraternity, his reputation as lawyer has never been questioned.  He has been through thick and thin  all throughout his life including being a victim of Ops Lallang and had spent time under ISA.

Before, YB Nurul Izzah Anwar and her siblings experienced the wrath of  the BN scorned, YB Jagdeep Singh Deo and his siblings faced it with their Mother who is another plucky lady with nerves of steel as I had  described YM RPK’ s wife, Puan Marina  much earlier in a comment.

YB Karpal Singh MP by virtue of his legal expertise and his principles  has always been admired by the Rulers, more so by DYMM Sultan Azlan Shah,  who as we all know, was the Iconic Lord President that this Nation had had  and probably never would have in the future.   Ampun Tuanku.

I, humbly and personally, never for a moment, even in the remotest possibility, can believe that YB Karpal had any deliberate or even a nefarious  intention of embarrassing of all persons, The DYMM Sultan Of Perak.  I am a Perak born and I would never take things lying down if I know that anybody were to fool around with OUR BELOVED DYMM SULTAN OF PERAK and HIS FAMILY.  They are above board and nobody touches them and can go scot-free as far as Perakans are concerned.

Those fellows,  who wants action to be taken against YB Karpal Singh,  are merely seizing the opportunity to blow things out of proportion because they are  merely seeking issues to delve into and blow it out of proportion so as to distract the Rakyat in their desperate attempt to survive, which will be proven to be totally Futile in due course of  time.

They are not convincing anyone with their antics.

Who touched the Privileges of the Rulers in the first place?  Not YB Karpal or any of the Rakyat.  It was UMNO and even the then DPM,(Bless  his Soul), spoke saying that it is ok to criticise the Royalty and all that followed after that in public knowledge.  Suddenly, these lallangs are crying out loud when only as recent as two months back, they were  singing a different tune altogether that was bordering on HIGH TREASON by any standards. Remember, the Terengganu and Perlis episode.

Enough, no point trying to reason or rationalise matters with these Lallangs.  Pakatan Rakyat, get ready and moving to take over for the Rakyat are pretty cheesed off and acutely sick  and tired with their self serving childish antics.

However, what puzzles and boggles me is the unusual DEAFENING SILENCE  from many, such as the Bar Council, the PR, etc, etc. to lend support in his time of need when he is always there for whosoever need his services at any time.

Sad really.

written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 11:58:00
Or if this the case, let's start a SAVE KARPAL campaign.We bloggers should take the lead. A pen is mightier than the sword.
agree 119
written by krising1, May 14, 2008 11:58:32
Loud mouthed Nazri has said that no one is above the law. If that is true, the 22 assemblymen in Trengganu who have been investigated for the past 2 months should be in court even before they touch Karpal Singh.

The keris kissing counsins who are a disgrace to their ancestry should have been in jail long ago. Why are they above the law?

When they can show that action will be taken against these few named here, we will talk about the dozen others who should be told that they are not above the law.

If our courts are truly independent, it will show that Karpal's statement is within the law and he did not vilify the royalty. Long Live the Lion of Jelutong, Gelugor and Malaysia!
agree 133
written by cble, May 14, 2008 11:58:32
Seperti dikatakan oleh YB Mahfus Omsr. Orang UMNOputra seperti gajah sarkas. Apa disuruh mestilah mereka buat. Salah satunya daripadanya seperti laporan polis terhadap Kapral
written by freedom lover, May 14, 2008 12:02:34
The problems with all men of law is they are too pre-occupied with the man-made law itself! They forget the law of the conscience, which determines the actual principles of the law itself! Speaking up in what one believes in strongly, for the benefit of the majority, and in turn getting punished, is another kind of law entirely.
written by Spear Bing, May 14, 2008 12:03:50
HEAR! HEAR! Saudara K W Waran. Finally someone has spoken candidly and succinctly.

AG is compiling all the Police Reports. Let's see how is legal brain functions. But either way he will be 'crucified' to the hilt.

Oh... whither thou AG?
written by zarin, May 14, 2008 12:05:40
Its the federal government tactics... merely to discredit everyone but themselves. I am sure yb karpal has the support of those with the right mindset and for all you know, the rulers too support him.
written by malsia1206, May 14, 2008 12:09:59
Expecting support from the Bar Council? Next to the Judiciary you can say the Bar Council is going in the same direction. If PKR takes up a stand on the matter, it's political. But the Bar Council is definitely and sadly lacking for their due response because the laws unto themselves are the issues. I would not be surprised many in the legal profession would like to have Karpal dragged into the pits for commercial and business reasons. So much for the so-called legal professionals of the day.
written by grant, May 14, 2008 12:26:57
as i said, those who committed treason and we all know who, shud be put to the guillotine..
written by Woman in Malaysia, May 14, 2008 14:03:58
I don't think Karpal has done anything wrong, and I believe BN is twisting his comments and going after him as a form of distraction. I also do not agree that Karpal should leave Pakatan Rakyat. Why should he? Pakatan Rakyat is a democratic alliance - its members should have the right to speak up. Why should every member in PR sing the same tune? If it does, it means everyone has to toe the party line - how then is it different from BN?
written by rakyatmalaysia, May 14, 2008 14:22:56
Rohani hitam,

Please stop talking (CENSORED). Be fair and square. Why should Karpal leave pakatan rakyat ? you have no right. Atleast he stood up and walk the talk. how about you ?
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 14, 2008 14:25:37
I'm not a fan of Karpal's, but this much I'll say - leave him alone you racist bastards. Resolve the issues for which the rakyat kicked you out, instead of fanning the flames of racial hatred in our country. You already did it once, don't try it again.
written by Tornado, May 14, 2008 14:29:34
How about "Idris Jusoh Natang" cases?
How about Shadihan Kassim cases?

BN try to trigger something here but failed. Remember PR & MT reader, BN will try to trigger something to ensure they in power again.
written by AngryTaxpayer, May 14, 2008 14:45:03
Waran....let's throw brickbats at those morons who's trying their futile best to bring doen the Lion together.......

What happened to the reports made by Pakatan on the idiots who were rude to the Sultan of Terengganu during the CM fiasco? Lost in transit again?
written by Bigjoe99, May 14, 2008 15:18:04
The most curious thing about this is that there were so many people who said Karpal was wrong without even knowing for sure about the law, not the intepretation mind you.

Malaysian seem to have little respect and faith in the law anymore. It does not seem to matter even if one is well-within the bounds of the law. Our respect for brute feudalism over letter of the law says much about our society - brutish and faithless in some many things its not funny anymore...
written by noyawns, May 14, 2008 15:43:19
gtcham - u off-topic an sound like a chauvinistic nut. Stop trying to be hero - don't need u and don't appreciate your divisive comment!
written by Eskay Lim, May 14, 2008 15:48:52
only in this enchanted land that many abnormal matters are allowed to happen.
1) The police, ACA & the AG's officals can be jolted into taking action against an opposition member in a civil matter at the behest of a member of the ruling government. (Mr.Karpal case)
2)A crony company being paid a very high commission in a deal where our Defence Ministry buys weaponary ( submarines & war-planes etc) from a foreign 3) Corruption be freely accepted & encouraged through "direct negotiaton" contracts signed by the Govt. with their crony company. (UEM in 2nd.Bridge case)
Of course this list can go on & on.
written by padma suryawan, May 14, 2008 15:50:17
Once lies are exposed,the truth stands naked and revealed........all in good time my friends!
written by power2u, May 14, 2008 16:09:07
I fully agree that Karpal has done no wrong.Being a lawyer he is only talking from a legal point on the powers of the sultan.And I am sure our Highly esteemed HRH Sultan Azlan is not offended at all since he has not said anything.What is happening is UMNO is turning it to a racial issue(they r experts in it)so that they can boot Karpal out.
And I am totally disgusted that Pak Lah has interferred in this case n incited UMNO members n even judiciary n AG.How can he do that???
Lets hav a "Justice for Karpal" campaign...get signatures n hand it to the Agong.
written by ez24get, May 14, 2008 16:18:06
However, what puzzles and boggles me is the unusual DEAFENING SILENCE from many, such as the Bar Council, the PR, etc, etc. to lend support in his time of need when he is always there for whosoever need his services at any time.

It's not that people do not appreciate the sacrifice and contribution that Karpal had unselfishly made. These people just don't want to fall into Badawi and UMNO trap to make a mountain out of a mole hill to rally fledging malay support.

It is very obvious why Badawi and UMNO are turning this issue into a political and racial one. It sees this as a perfect opportunity to split the Pakatan Rakyat government; it is a perfect brew to drive a wedge between PAS and DAP which are component parties in PR!

PAS would be seen to betray the malays and the royalties if it were to support Karpal and DAP. And DAP would be seen to betray the Chinese as Karpal is actually fighting a cause for Islam as the case surrounds on the transfer of an Islamic government servant in Perak.

The added bonus in all this to Badawi is that he would be able to divert the attention of UMNO ground support and garner support for himself. That way he would stay afloat a bit longer!

Badaw and UMNO are playing their usual "divide and rule" game - pitting malays against non-malays and pitting the subjects against the Sultans.

Bu putting more oil into the fire, we will be helping Badawi and UMNO to stay afloat longer!
written by ingolstadt, May 14, 2008 17:45:46
Our ****ed up Badahwi told Sultan of Terrengganu to "Stay out of the business" of the MP issue where the Sultan has every right to do so, and now they're ****ing charging Karpal Singh for questioning the legitimacy of it?

Is BN that stupid to think the rakyat would ever believe what they're saying?
written by borneopeteliew, May 14, 2008 17:47:52
I and my wife met Karpal and Jagdep in their Green Hall Penang office many years ago for some legal opinion. I would say, I was truely impress and till todate, I thank Karpal for the sound advice he gave for free at that time.
written by borneopeteliew, May 14, 2008 18:01:20
BREAKING NEWS

Hear that by this Friday 16th May, our Karpal will be charge and arrested for Sedition for saying “Sultan Azlan Shah did not have any say, as the Ruler of Perak, in the decision made by the state government and, by law, the palace cannot order the state government to reinstate Jamry."

written by Tlau, May 14, 2008 23:11:11
OMG, Isn't it high time for the sultan to say a word or two?
written by temanmu, May 15, 2008 00:24:35
I hope they will bring Karpal to court !!!

We all know that many such statements were made by UMNO since TDM's era ... these will be brought out during a trial!

The Sultan of Perak is shrewd to bring this up... it will just correct the injustice UMNO has cast on them.

Karpal is just a vehicle ... the implications are far wider for UMNO !!!

It will ensure that in the future UMNO will not dare again incite the rakyat against the Sultsans!
written by sukinong, May 16, 2008 15:56:58
Dear AG,

I guess it is tough to make the case against Karpal. I give you one coin to flip. One side stay, the other resign. Should you resign it maintain your neutrality and integrity. Afterall, BN can appoint one who can make this case in their favour. Don't do it if you don't want to. Why stress it out?