Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Masing defends ‘cultural arrogance’ theory

Masing defends ‘cultural arrogance’ theory PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 May 2008 11:33

(Borneo Post) KUCHING: Land Development Minister Dato Sri Dr James Masing yesterday defended his “cultural arrogance” theory, saying that it is a theory urging people not to preach to people from another community on what they already know.

Cultural arrogance breeds racial disharmony and a form of insincerity, he said.

It is therefore wise for people to think that all are born equal in intelligence. But what makes us different from one another is opportunity. Some get more opportunities than the others. Therein is the difference,” he said in his winding-up speech at the DUN yesterday.

Masing said it would be cultural arrogance, if a Chinese tried to help the Ibans but yet preached to them (Ibans) things they already knew.

He pointed out that such incident happened during the land-related disputes or claims.

If you want to help others, just do it. There is no necessity to tell the world why a person needs such assistance. By the same token, if you want to help an Iban with his land, there is no need to tell him or this Dewan what land means to an Iban,” he cited an example of ‘cultural arrogance’.

Masing said he once helped a Chinese shopkeeper to get a streetlight from a local council here after the shopkeeper requested for it, and sought for his assistance.

Although he knew that the shopkeeper needed the streetlight to protect his shop, he (Masing) did not preach to him on why he should need the streetlight or the rationale of having one, Masing said.

He pointed out that such a gesture was not cultural arrogance because he helped the Chinese with sincerity.

It was also a sincere act because he did not tell the media about it nor did he argue the shopkeeper’s case in the DUN, he added.

He said this to rebut some points raised up by Ting Tze Hui (DAP-Meradong) and Voon Lee Shan (DAP-Batu Lintang) when debating the Head of State’s address last week.

Masing first mentioned the cultural arrogance theory during his winding-up speech in a DUN sitting in 2007.

However his points on cultural arrogance yesterday did not go down well with Dominique Ng (PKR-Padunagn), who interrupted him several times telling the DUN Speaker that such talks had racial overtone.

Ng was also unhappy when Masing stressed on the history of ancient China where its people then addressed non-Chinese as “barbarians”.

Why? Because the perception of the ancient Chinese that all non-Chinese were savages; they lacked culture and did not possess any skills and therefore are not capable of doing anything good and worthwhile,” he explained.

He said another form of cultural arrogance manifested itself in some people’s attitude and perception towards others.

There is a general perception by others in Malaysia that Bumiputeras are not capable of doing good and successful business. Hence when a Bumiputera company is successful, the perception is that it cannot be attributed to their skills and capability. Thus, variables like cronyism, nepotism, corruption and political patronage come to the picture.

These are variables the detractors claimed, which account for this Bumiputera company to be successful,” he said.

Yet another form of cultural arrogance is in the manner some people address or refer to others.

During my growing up years, the Ibans in Kapit were referred to or called by the Chinese as ‘Lakkia’ (native or wild savage). I did not take any offence then. Now I do. I will not take this form of address too kindly,” Masing said.

When Ng still insisted that Masing’s speech had some kind of “racial slur”, DUN Speaker Dato Sri Mohamad Asfia Awang Nasar told Masing to proceed to another point but reminded all members to stay clear of racial remarks.

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 11:40:01
Tks for sharing sarawak to the bloggers.This Ikan Masing is a real Lakkia and he is the only one who say he cannot be call a Lakkia. why? because his wife is a chinese so he is now a semi-Lakkia. A zebra will never change it's stripes
written by panca, May 14, 2008 11:51:16
Hey Mr Lakkia, the term lakkia is not derogatory. Can you share with us why the term lakkia is being taken offence by you. Lakkia is not Babi as in Cina Babi.

Grow up lah!
written by James Loh, May 14, 2008 12:06:48
I'm always jealous of Sabah and Sarawak racial harmony. While studying in USA, I was fortunate to meet Malay, Chinese, and Kadazan from East Malaysia. All of them told me that they dislike the Semanjung Malaysia folks and I ask why? They told me that all races works together at East Malaysia. As for us, Semanjung Malaysia always policize racial issues. Is that right my Sabahan and Sarawakian friends?

Do share your thoughts with us semanjung Malaysia folks?
written by James Loh, May 14, 2008 12:09:41
Lastly, I think all races and religions have their own bad apples.
written by mecharojak, May 14, 2008 12:16:30
I am "surprised" Malay Supremacy wasn't used as an example, fler brought up Chinese examples twice.
written by RumahPanjai, May 14, 2008 12:16:32
Maybe Masing would like to enlighten us on why the Ibans being the largest ethnic group in Sarawak lacks unity? Could this be a lack of cultural arrogance?
written by little dragon, May 14, 2008 12:33:19
mr. masing

do ur comments also apply eaually to "ketuanan melayu"???
written by gctham, May 14, 2008 13:00:56
Chinese are not arrogance but they are impatience. All Chinese fellows want to get thing done yesterday but not today or tomorrow. Because of this culture of impatient they can’t tolerate people who are slow and lazy and just take their won sweet time. They call people no from the china " FUN" OF " Hantu" not because they mean they are barbarian or stupid, just because those people can not keep up with the chinese pace of life. Mising please do not take offence what do need is study a bit more on chiese culture.
The Manchurian who the main land chinese also call them "FUN" BUT THEY RULE CINA over hundreds of years by assimilate and study chinese culture. so Iban also have the capability to rule china, if Iban assimilate chinese culture.

written by liayeo, May 14, 2008 13:39:09
gigidni

CHINESE ARE NOW THE NEW COLONIAL

How did you derive this?

and for others
Chinese Han (most of China) were initially barbarians. But that was many ages ago. Way before many civilization.

As for Lakkia -it literaaly means Green Horn.
written by cruzeiro, May 14, 2008 13:40:37

Such comments on "race & religion" only come from BN lapdogs, who love to champion their "race", in keeping with their evil ghetto politics of racism.
It bears their "trademark".

Such rhetoric will be repeated more often in the parliaments in the near future, so as to create insecurity among the electorate. It is designed to create animosity among races in the long run.

BN & UMNO needs to redefine the politics in Sabah / Sarawak, by dividing the people along ethnic groups - only then can they hold on to power! Oly then can they enforce laws to "keep the peace".

Real unity and peace is the enemy of BN/Umno.
written by cairojackson, May 14, 2008 13:43:16
Yea, yea, yea.. "cultural arrogance"? Taib Mahmud (Melanau) bans ppl from cutting down the trees, but himself smuggle timbers to worldwide. Remember once upon a time, Japanese Government wanted to sue Taib Mahmud, but Taib censored all the news? The state government draw the land into "red-line" as long as they're happy, keep ppl away from using their own land. My father owns a land in Oya, also in "red-line" now, I went to Land and Survey Department once to ask them how could we get the land back from "red-line", they said, you need to write a proposal, and see if the government approve. The city mayor here control both the black and white, you want to open a shop, u need to get permit from him; if you want to smuggle something, go to get his permit as well. What I feel here, as a Sarawakian, is Taib Mahmud let Federal Government sucks all the oil here in Sarawak, and in return, Taib Mahmud can cut and smuggle as much timber as he wants in Sarawak and no one dare to touch this issue from Peninsular! "Cultural Arrogance" what da f@ck he means is the government arrogant culture. My brothers and sisters, Sarawak needs your attention! We're part of Malaysia, we're NOT Anak Tiri!
written by AsamLaksa, May 14, 2008 13:52:07
Cultural arrogance? Chinese cultural arrogance? Sure but so what? It's not institutionalised and don't harm you. Why make a big fuss about it? If you are discriminated against, then fight the discriminator. Why over generalise and go down the rhetorical path?
written by chin, May 14, 2008 14:01:54
I have to agree with the Masing, being called something you don't understand is not pleasant.

Unfortunately a lot of chinese people are uneducated, coming from the schools of hard-knock , coarse in their manners, e.g. every word coming out of their mouth is referring to someone's mother or some private parts. I know, I sit down to these type of language on mornings when I eat at a new village.

These less educated chinese ain't exactly cultured folks, they know it and they draw you down to their level with their language. They live a more dog eat dog life, there are no handouts or support from anybody or any organisation so its work/run/grab for what you can or starve. They don't have much to be proud of, so they compensate with exagerated and loud talk. Most are cowards, a lot of them still vote for MCA. So some of them end up being ADUNs and MPs for MCA.

It would have been nice if the government had given more educational opportunities to these poor chinese folks. At least then these people would be a bit more cultured. As it is, the privileged folks like Masing can afford to talk about culture with their privileged lives from their hand-out, commissions and contracts.

These poor chinese got nothing so they get jealous, who won't be, so more crude language. Marginalised people ain't exactly happy about their situation. Even when they succeed to drag themselves out of this situation, they would not exactly be the type that are full of humility ad kindness.

What Masing said is true for some chinese, but to say it at a DUN and generalising, makes him the worse kind of racist, the elected kind.
written by technoboy, May 14, 2008 14:10:46
Talk cock, UMNO hijacked the opportunities provided under NEP for the benefit of a few elites and their cronies, being Malay was just a cosmetic ploy to fool the ordinary Malays folks who are now struggling to make ends meet with their small gaji whilst corrupted UMNO morons go buy Porsche, built Istana with gold plated taps and boast/show off their ill-gotten wealth by holding kenduri in 5 o 6 stars hotel.
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 14:12:45
Now we must blame the top guns for all the troubles,illegal immigrants,racial disunity,hardcore poor,unemployment,etc. people like DR Ghost Chan,Ikan masin, Mawan Puteh,Afraid Jabu,White Hair are all out of touch with society.They are doing nothing for the people of sarawak.it's JUST LIPS SERVICE>
written by Bigjoe99, May 14, 2008 14:25:42
"..born equal in intelligence. But what makes us different from one another is opportunity.."

HUH?? The victim-mentality...

More than anything else, we are born unequal. Otherwise the human species would have vanished long time ago. We have equal fundamental rights because we have commonalities.

If opportunity is what makes us different, the rich and powerful stays the same and monarchy would have survived..
written by mypanida, May 14, 2008 14:52:44
why are we always having STUPID MINISTER ????
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 15:04:26
We must all redefine politics and never gives up the fight for issues we truly believes in.Politician must reach across party lines to get things done.Not only you all YBs must be bold and courageous leaders,you must be able to rights the wrongs that we societies had been neglected for centuries.Sarawak MPs and YBs must be daring,passionate and committed fighter for our state's children and wouldn't it be nice for our state's children to finally have a real voice in the parliament.
written by Fernz, May 14, 2008 15:31:22
Derogatory statements are critical in a hurtful way and scornful. Such self-serving and holier-than-thou statements, obviously politically motivated, simply invite tit for tat responses (as Masing is doing) which eventually pit people against each other, divide them and compromise the peace, security, stability and territorial integrity of the country.

Derogatory statements are not only politically incorrect but they are politically unacceptable, especially in this day and age. Those who make such statements are not only being politically insensitive but storing up problems for themselves in the near future.

The younger generation, in particular, are in no mood to take this lying down. Therein lies the potential for endless conflict. The older generation, in particular, should not transfer their prejudices to the younger generation. This will compromise the future of their children.

For better or worse, the people of the land, unlike others, are here to stay. That’s the lesson we can draw from Masing’s statement.

Even so, politically it’s better to make abstract statements and keep repeating them at every opportunity until one achieves one’s objectives. Abstract statements are statements which are not only true but one which people will not quarrel with. Abstract statements cannot be twisted around to mean something else because they are not crude. Many people will not understand abstract statements initially. Eventually, everyone will understand.

Cultural arrogance is a term which puts the Dayaks down for no apparent reason and gives the Chinese too much credit. Also, it’s ineffective to harp on cultural arrogance, whatever it means. For example, referring to a Dayak as Lakia is plainly derogatory. There are laws against such open and public displays of prejudice.

Footnote: Lakia is a derogatory term equivalent to Murut (in Sarawak but not in Sabah); Thamby; Keling; Kalinga; Kaling Gwai; KDK (Keturunan Darak Keling); DKK (Darah Keturunan Keling); ChiBhai (of Chinese and Sikh/other North Indian origin); ChapChong (mixed); China Gwai; Gwai Loh; Banana (English-educated Chinese); Mata Sepit etc etc

The Keling word originates from the Kalinga Empire which covered present Andhra Pradesh in India.

http://fernzjoefernandez.********.com
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 15:34:27
If Ikan Masing dare to stand up and says he's the leader of all the IBANS in sarawak, I bet they will fall down to their knees and cry APAI loud enough to make him the next CM of sarawak. Would that be ok? Nak numu aku!
written by Mark C, May 14, 2008 15:38:53
when we have "elected representative" like this, the target of a truly united bangsa malaysia is but a distant dream
written by ralverd, May 14, 2008 15:39:27
Gosh, finally a person from BN that makes some sense.

Read more at my site : http://www.ralverd.com
written by Fernz, May 14, 2008 15:45:52
Left out . . . belacan; valiangkati (one who stands with his hands folded, open mouthed, watching others work).
written by mgeo, May 14, 2008 15:58:21
I see the pathetic schoolyard bullies and spin doctors circling but not quite sure how to distract us from Masing's point.
written by oknyua, May 14, 2008 16:01:17
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 | 11:40:01

Tks for sharing sarawak to the bloggers.This Ikan Masing is a real Lakkia and he is the only one who say he cannot be call a Lakkia. why? because his wife is a chinese so he is now a semi-Lakkia. A zebra will never change it's stripes

Is your blood red as Bob Teo (Sin Chew) mentioned? Then don't call people names if you are also flesh and blood. You are no better than your own critcism of people.
written by tuanlokong, May 14, 2008 16:21:45
My friends all races have pride and think of others otherwise. For me if other race would champion or bring my peoples issue alight I would thanks them instead of striking them off. JM had not done anything to his peoples except fighting amongst other fellow YBs. Cheer up will you... smilies/wink.gifMore native lands being confiscated...
written by taishan, May 14, 2008 16:25:46
Running dog Masing single handlely destroyed PBDS, so he could be boss of PRS. UMNO Jr..PBB Sarawak... pisses on him. To show the Dayak he's a real general he wants to beat up the Chinese. And show he's an intellectual (Dr Masing !). A dog will always be a dog...masin or not, masing masing bising.
written by Lim Lim, May 14, 2008 17:15:03
"lakkia" is equivalent to "hongkongkia","taiwankia","hainankia"(hainanese),"jepunkia","shanghakia"(shanghanese),"singaporekia"...........so don't take offence!!
written by gorshan, May 14, 2008 20:21:03
i tend to agree more with chin and his sentiment on the mr masing . yes, mandarin(meaning educated and well mannered) chinese in sarawak are a minority and majority of chinese in sarawak comes from golongon 'cina bukit'. i live in a housing area surrounded by these loud mouth chinese where husband ,wives, kids screams at each other with graphic expletives every morning and evening. these 'cina bukit' claims 5000 years of culture but i tell them i salute them if they can show me 5 minutes of culture while driving on the road.i am mangkali kia/kui to them.

and yes i am surrounded in my housing area by 'iban bukit' too where dead in the night loud drinking session and loud karaoke is the norm and to talk culture and 'civilised hours' to these people is to invite a parang to the face. i am thambi to them.

so no point these two group try to point finger at each other and say 'cultural arrogance'. dua dua sama sama serupa punya arrogant. they are made for each other and they should intermarriage more. donkeys marrying asses makes no horses.

lest someone jumps the guns and accuse me of racism,please knows that i have intellectual friends from both community and it is a joy to share with them a cuppa and talks intelligent discourse.

on the subject of cultural arrogance i propose MPs in the DUN from these two races to bring up the issue of cultural arrogance towards the small group of indian in sarawak and to stop referring to them as thambi,keling,hitam. if this is not cultural arrogance then i dont knows it myself.

for the knowledge of the unlearned,the uncultured and the uncouth among us , 'thambi' means a small child. so when you refer to a grown up indian as 'thambi' you are showing what, the level of your stupidity?, your lack of education? or both? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by LACOBRA, May 14, 2008 20:38:44
Eurasian Derogatory terms for the other races are as follows : Communist - Generalized for any Chinese due to their ancestor's subversive involvement in this land, Chinaman - meaning backward of the then China, Estate - Indians involved in the labor work in the estate. Except the Eurasians have forgotten they too have derogatory name - Pirates

Man, I have heard all this derogatory terms used by individuals with personal prejudice which is universal for any race and country.

Individual racist Australians call Chinese Chings, Italians blah blah! However that is only restricted to that particular individual and not supported by the laws of their government.

Here our government allows & applies this derogatory segregation to be legally practiced which cannot be tolerated.
written by sarawakian, May 14, 2008 21:02:59
hey Masing, you stupid lak-kia.. you hate that name? in longhouses, they call chinese cina-babi.. if the womenfolk are caught by surprise, the words "puk*k cina" are blurted out. so you tell me who's racist?

don't try to to suck up to UMNO and PBB. you're the laughing stock of PBB folks. your little wealth is yours solely because the PBB allows it. your job with that money is to keep the Dayaks in the dark and make sure they never unite to overthrow PBB. you are a shame to your own race.

written by prof, May 15, 2008 13:20:01
Poor poor YB Masing. Your so-called "arrogance theory" is indeed a clever political invention. But it is nothing new to people who are trained in the same social science discipline called social anthropology like you. Who are you trying to to fool old chap? Your fellow BN YBS or your political boss Tok Uban? Your "arrogance theory" is already known to so many sociologists and social anthropologists as "ethnocentrism". When your ethnic group fails to achieve socio-political success you cannot blame it on ethnocentrism. You should look at yourself and own up. Who broke your party to pieces? Others or your own "cultural arrogrance" or "ethnocentrism"? Look at your own "glass mirror" Masing. Don't forget your training as a social anthropologist!!
written by Fernz, May 15, 2008 17:58:21
The derogatory term for Eurasians from Malacca is grago, a term which is derived from shrimps.

Malayalees used to refer to Anglo-Indians as chatakaran (for males) and chatakari (for females). I don't know what it means, whether it is derogatory or otherwise. I seldom hear the term being used now in Malaysia.