Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The Future of Malaysia Today by Donald Mensing

The Future of Malaysia Today by Donald Mensing PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 May 2008 09:28

RPK, I clearly see the sarcastic undertone in this article "Boleh caya Malaysia Today ke?". I do think that Malaysia Today is the one of the most credible independent news source in Malaysia today (pun intended) your sources are always not too far away from the truth.

But I think there are still rooms for improvement. Firstly, I want to address an absolutely important foresight about Malaysia Today. I noticed that while you were held captive that Malaysia Today is not updated adequately. To be specific the numbers of Article entries are only a tiny fraction than regular days. I suggest you seriously considering hiring a few successors just in case anything happens to you - better if they are volunteers.

I think it is imperative that Malaysia Today goes on even if the government hinders your efforts personally. I realize it is being updated but it is seriously inadequate. Let Malaysia Today function like Wikipedia in a way that it is ongoing and perpetual. Maybe not open to everyone in public for fear that the government would also edit/manipulate it.

I think you should seriously consider the future of Malaysia Today in a more attentive manner. It is absolutely CRUCIAL that Malaysia Today does not stop! We have to prepare Malaysia Today to be BOMBPROOF just in case heaven-forbids anything happens to you or to the administrators as well!

My personal vision is for Malaysia Today to be a large and expanding network of bloggers. I think it is the only way we can make it free for all and at the same time refuse any government intervention in its efforts. We need to source some way such that journalist themselves could publish articles on Malaysia Today. They have all the information but no stage to present it. Malaysia Today can be that stage. The first step can be as simple as getting more people to be administrators for Labisman.

May I suggest Malaysian studying abroad to be administrators. Having administrators all around the world protects Malaysia Today in a way that the government could not gain access to the administrators. There is no way the government could execute a worldwide hunt for them. It also allows the admins to work 24 hours a day 7 days a week because of the time difference and news/blogs/articles can be updated promptly. There are going to be a lot of logistical kinks to be iron out but it is possible to have worldwide administrators network.

Thanks,

Donald Mensing

EDITOR'S NOTE: Malaysia Today would certainly accept more volunteers if there are any. The fact that Malaysia Today is a free websites means it does not have the financial means to pay the workers. 

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by binarytan, May 14, 2008 09:32:24
to RPK & MT team members, take these comments from Donald Mensing positively.

We do not feel we should act like the sleephead people particularly in BN that do not take advise and comment.

Only comments will make us progress and advance to next step.

Cheers MT smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by Mark C, May 14, 2008 09:37:49
I personally feel that Malaysia Today has done a wonderful job. As in any blogs/ news portal/ board there are loopholes and areas that needs improvement.

It would be prudent to screen potential "administrators" carefully lest some unwanted "moles" might destroy the whole portal. Giving close associates certain area of control is a good place to start. I suggest that only RPK and a few close associates have full control of the board. Others merely can be guest writers or have the ability to update.
written by kstee, May 14, 2008 09:37:53
I fully support the idea of having volunteers. Now a day I turn to you first for Malaysian political news. When you were detained and updates were few I felt completely lost.
written by freedom lover, May 14, 2008 09:41:00
1) I think MT will go on if anything happens to RPK. He has mentioned it personally that MT is auto-pilot. Perhaps RPK can explain the tachnical aspects of auto-pilot.

2) The expansion aspects can be tackled in Mid September when the government is changed. Doing it now will make the government more weary and charge RPK under more sedition laws. "Sedition charges for trying to expand the network base of MT!"

3)Frequent updating is necessary as mentioned by the writer. Not just lifting from MSM articles, in my opinion, More articles from independent writers are required. Mainly relating to issues of the day. Try to have in both languages in the same article, rather that releasing them separately.
written by belljar, May 14, 2008 09:47:36
MT has given me a space to melepaskan geram - otherwise, I would have cabut to Spore lol....
written by bikerzon, May 14, 2008 10:12:26
Dear MT Readers,

I believe us Malaysian working/studying overseas would like to contribute some of our energy and time towards MT. Just give us the guidance and we will pull our heads together for BETTER MALAYSIA.

P/S: Some of us are good in internet technology too. That'll be helpful.
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 10:32:51
That what I suggest sometime ago to set up a international blogger's fund. The funds will be use to further the cause of MT.Let' go global.
written by Kuku Burung, May 14, 2008 10:36:03
While I agree that MT should recruit more volunteers (the trusted ones, I mean), I am a bit cautious about publishing articles or "news" from everywhere. For one, MT must be kept to its original concept of trusted infos (from trusted Deep Throats) and pointed commentaries on current issues. RPK is a master in this. It takes a lot of effort for Admins to filter and examine the true sources. Sometimes readers can get confused (immature reader like myself) and start believing the false infos, thinking that if they come from MT it must be right.
written by mei yen, May 14, 2008 10:36:53

There should be an external MT portal overseas, just in case, you'll never know, should some higher authority decide to shut this website down.

Someone abroad could also manage a separate foreign website, working with MT to produce articles perceived to be damning, seditious or articles with proof of wrong doings! These articles can easily be posted on this foreign website without fear of being shut down.

written by libau, May 14, 2008 10:42:11
Personally, i only read MT about 1 and half year, but honestly this is one of the best source i got. It help me a lot during the 12th GE as a PR supporter. Even we not win but its win the younger support..
BRAVO MT...
written by RCChia, May 14, 2008 10:51:06
I certainly agree with Donald Mensing's suggestion, but I guess the real crunch is CONTENTS. What makes MT what it is today is its access to accurate, straight-from-the-horses-mouth information from reliable parties. That, only RPK has. Of course if there are more volunteers in that department, that will be great.
written by bexe, May 14, 2008 10:51:37
Yes we have to ensure M2day survives. Yes to do so means having a stronger administrative capability. Having administrators overseas is an excellent strategy.
I am overseas, I am Malaysian and I am ready! I volunteer!
Contact me.
written by Beezee_Beezee, May 14, 2008 10:56:10
Yes Totally agree with this concept. One point to add perhaps selected administrator would have system controlled profiles and RPK would ensure the system security type put in place and use feeder client or server to update the publised MT web. Instead of direct access. Off course the the Network Highway are manager both "auto Pilot" remotely or manually.

This is the begining of New Era of MT to be sustainable, Neutral Media and acceptable by all Malaysian. INSYALLAH.....
written by cwy, May 14, 2008 11:17:38
Prediction by human beings can never be perfect as
human beings are not perfect.
But prediction can bring us to a situation beyond the present
state whether it is comfortable or not.
We need to have far-sight as well as in-sight ( by analysing
the evidence and data available ) so as to progress in ever sennse.
written by clarity, May 14, 2008 11:20:21
I'm sorry I don't agree. More people involve means greater risks of sabotage,possible defections as informers to BN for monetary gains and also let's face it, readers are taken in by his style of writing. Therefore I don't think it's worth the risk. To bad RPK. You have made us too dependent on you.
written by Tornado, May 14, 2008 11:20:44
Good idea.

RPK, lets me be the first volunteers.
written by panca, May 14, 2008 11:21:44
Pete, it 's not bad an idea.

MT can function as it is now, remains with comments (write comments) whereas another sub blog link that can work like wikipedia which provides bloggers to add on information without affecting your written article. This sub blog can be used to link information that may be updated from time to time. This sub blog can probably be named MTGise (Gise, v. t. [See Agist.] To feed or pasture).

MT can serve the wide internet users with these added feature(MTGise) besides what MT already doing...providing news. This is better than lots of MSM.

Pete, consider this!

written by Milo, May 14, 2008 11:26:24
Aiya people, you think RPK don't know mae? Get him the volunteers!

EDITOR'S NOTE: Malaysia Today would certainly accept more volunteers if there are any. The fact that Malaysia Today is a free websites means it does not have the financial means to pay the workers.

written by eeyaw, May 14, 2008 11:26:59
Dear Donald,

I think it's rather premature to make such request to Raja Petra although it's a good idea. The decision to internationalise Malaysia Today has to come from him since he is the sole owner and initiator. It's just not right to take away the toil and sweat he has put into what has become the most popular alternative medium in Malaysian, but if he willing agrees why not by all means.
written by teo siew chin, May 14, 2008 11:27:34
To YM RPK & the whole of the MT Team

you guys/gals are doing a fantastic job, though thankless and moneyless
and I do not want anybody else to do it thank you very much.
written by mrgoh, May 14, 2008 11:27:58
I am in the States. I think I can put aside 30minutes everyday to post articles on Malaysia Today and if we have more 30minutes from everywhere in the world this network is going to be as good as any News Media with instant updates.

HOwever, I want to hear it from RPK himself on this idea and what he personally thinks. Give us an article on this idea RPK.
written by mrgoh, May 14, 2008 11:31:37
eeyaw, I disagree with you.

Now is the right time to plan this all. We know that the government is fully capable of locking RPK up - have you considered what will happen to Malaysia Today then?

MT was in a deadlocked slow when he was jailed. People are AFRAID to post articles on MT.net.

I think Donald Mensing's Idea is great and it should be seriously considered. The only way to fight the government is to decentralize Malaysia Today NOW!
written by grant, May 14, 2008 11:37:12
rpk sir, i dont mind taking up the job for free...
written by mrgoh, May 14, 2008 11:37:35
Donald,

I also like to add that when we decentralize Malaysia Today it also make makes RPK less vulnerable because the responsibility of the entire blog is shared. The government cannot just point a finger at any one of the administrators.

Imagine having 100 admins over 80 countries!
written by eeyaw, May 14, 2008 11:41:03
Mr Goh,

I think Raja Petra will be offended what you've just said. Are you saying he has not thought about plan B in case he is incarcerated? I bet you USD100 that he is way ahead of the stupid Government.
written by mrgoh, May 14, 2008 11:53:49
eeyaw,

Why are you taking the emotional and pride stance in this argument? We are talking about WHAT HAS TO BE DONE and not WHAT RPK WOULD FEEL.

Donald Mensing is strictly talking about the WORST CASE scenario and what actionable contingencies could be done now.

Let's not side-swipe this conversation into 'I think we should have faith in RPK', 'He is smart!', 'You actually think RPK is that dumb?' etc etc type of conversation. This is stage is NOT THE MALAYSIAN PARLIAMENT - we are discussing on a higher more professional stage than our parliament is!
written by campuras, May 14, 2008 12:10:09

I can scout for a few names if MT is interested. There are well know academics and leader of research groups
written by teo siew chin, May 14, 2008 12:17:36
and that is why not everyone is allowed into YM RPK's Petramobile cos the boys will fight over who's gonna sit at the window-seat, who is elbowing who, are we there yet .... geeeez.
written by mystique, May 14, 2008 13:17:37
guys check out
http://www.malaysia-today.net/...w/7218/1/

i am still waiting labisman's reply!
certainly we have thought of doing something globally!
written by grandmarquis, May 14, 2008 13:55:58
While many of us calling MT as independent news portal, I would say that MT is actually an opposition news portal. Almost 99% of the comments are anti government (BN) and many of the anti-government comments are simple based on blind hatred.

What I can still respect (and keeps me on MT) is that I can still sense the "independent" in RPK, and sometimes from few other moderators in MT.

So before we open up MT to new moderators, please make sure these people have the credibility of remaining "independent", lest they would turn MT as a place for psychologically depressed individuals to express their anti-government sentiment.

written by artfulone, May 14, 2008 14:50:48
A million hits a day .... MT is already at the point where it is the leader by far in the online environment the rich get richer (hits and eyeballs. Just the appeal for funds proof how much the fans will support. It is already a multi million dollar website. Just go into merchandising to capitalise. How many would buy RPK or MT tee shirts from this site or anything else. Revenue a plenty and this site can always be free. Become subscription and the growth will stop.
written by YSL, May 14, 2008 15:23:20
I don't really give a shit or give a damn or give a **** smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
Malaysia Today is the best, Raja Petra Kamarudin is the best and Malaysia Today is truly the best and Raja Petra Kamarudin is Malaysia new HOPE smilies/wink.gif
written by chaiksyn, May 14, 2008 17:09:25
I don't read any other malaysian news except MALAYSIA TODAY!!
written by malaysian, May 14, 2008 17:28:39
Do you guys know that UMNOputras frequently surf MT just to verify news on the local papers/TV?

You see, they know that the papers and TV could be lying!
written by Dreamlander, May 14, 2008 18:07:56
We have all become ADDICTED to READING MT EVERYDAY
During the few days when RPK was away as GUEST of the BN government, we felt LOST as we missed reading RPK’s daily postings.
When someone is addicted to drinking (alcohol), gambling and smoking, that person has to pay the manufacturer or service provider in order to enjoy that particular kecanduan.
Should we not pay MT to satisfy our daily craving to read RPK’s blogs?
NOTHING in this world is FREE. We have to pay for it sooner or later.
In order to realize Donald Mensing’s proposal, we have to fund MT via voluntary donations. If every reader donates a minimum of RM10 (equivalent to 2 cups of teh tarik) per year to MT, the total should exceed a 6-digit figure.
There is nothing wrong with maintaining RPK’s bank account with CIMB. It is better that this bank knows the number of people donating to MT in order that its management becomes aware of MT’s support amongst the Malaysian blog reading public.
written by Baronshah, May 14, 2008 20:29:47
Because of it's stature as one of the best independent news portal MALAYSIA TODAY is my home page since i became a reg reader.

A million thanx Pete.

GOD bless you always.

best regards to all.
written by carlitos, May 14, 2008 22:15:44
Personally I believe MT more than ANY of the current newspapers / TV in Malaysia.

Some stories might not be 100% accurate but they are roughly there unlike the propaganda news from the current newspapers and TV in Malaysia.

I have boycotted all the local papers for over 5 years now. Why should we pay the propaganda machine that help destroy our country.
written by Thamil79, May 17, 2008 15:07:41
Hi beloved malaysian,Good point to share and view plus bond it as strong to create some good antibody,my days start with malaysiakini back 2006 during abroad.last year in remote sarawak(still here) where out of world feeling change to MT daily(unless satellite failure).As a motivator i register my vote here but fail to vote.Even i vote in UK back then.How respect to my nation.
Now i believe i can do little or more to help if given.Thanks smilies/smiley.gif
smilies/smiley.gif
Just like VLC Player that started by It started as a student project at the French but is now a worldwide project with developers from 20 countries.This player play all.Hope i play my part in your TEAM