Sabah MPs Demand Govt To Resolve Illegal Immigrant Issue PDF Print
Tuesday, 13 May 2008 23:49

(Bernama) KUALA LUMPUR, May 13 -- Describing the influx of illegal immigrants into Sabah as threatening the peace and security in the state, two of its members of parliament (MP) have called on the federal government to urgently resolve the matter.

They told the Dewan Rakyat Tuesday that the problem, which had been persisting for too long with no solution in sight, had become the main worries among the people.

Sabah Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Seri Joseph Pairin Kitingan (BN-Keningau) likened the problem to a time bomb which could create serious implication if there were no serious steps taken to tackle the menace.

"It is understood that there have been attempts by among these illegal immigrants to apply to become armed forces recruits using fake identity cards," he said when debating the motion of thanks for the speech by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Pairin, who is also Parti Bersatu Sabah President, said the failure to tackle the problem showed that there was a lapse in security surveillance at the borders as well as weaknesses in the enforcement of the law.

He said the issue had now reached a chronic stage and requiring urgent solution.

The influx of illegal immigrants had been going on in Sabah since early 70s, with the Federal Special Task Force estimating their figure to be around 60,000 at the moment.

Non-governmental organisations in Sabah claimed however, that their number could be as high as 1.5 million people, which is almost half of Sabah's population.

Meanwhile, Puteri Umno vice-chief Rosnah Abd Rashid Shirlin (BN-Papar) called on the government to close down or relocate the refugee camp in Kinarut, about 15km from Kota Kinabalu.

She said the camp had the potential to become the biggest "syabu nest" in Sabah.

Rosnah also said residents living near the camp were exposed to social problems as well as health problems because of the camp's poor sanitation and lack of proper waste disposal system.

"I want all entry points into Sabah be shut off to illegal immigrants while those already in Sabah be sent back to their home countries," she said when debating the same motion.

She suggested that the federal government obtain the actual number of illegal immigrants in the state, including those who had been given permanent residency, and take steps to tackle the problem.

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by ilovepakatan, May 13, 2008 23:57:10
Imagine this people can become your "Tuan". Super piss-off! smilies/angry.gif

written by Milo, May 13, 2008 23:58:16
There is only ONE WAY to stop the rot - CHANGE SIDE!

The UMNO-led government is hopeless as they will continue to change the demography of Sabah until the majority consist of Philippinoes and Indonesians - who will be called TUAN while the locals are called HAMBA!
written by ilovepakatan, May 13, 2008 23:58:36

Source: http://bolehjokes.********.com/
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, May 14, 2008 00:07:23
The illegal immigrants and aliens in Sabah seems to be a colonialization strategy of the Government. Otherwise, such problems would have been taken care of a long time ago. This plea will certainly fall onto deaf ears in the Parliament unless this strategy is changed.

When the Nigerians started selling their wares on Jln Chow Kit, they were immediately taken care of. When the Indonesians and Filipinos come into Sabah, they are given IC to vote (so I read somewhere). What happened? We don't need any illegal immigrants to take up the air space of Malaysia or enjoy any of the privileges that should be given to MALAYSIANS.

Enough is enough!!! Is anyone out there listening to the people???? Hmmm silence? smilies/sad.gif
written by chanatak, May 14, 2008 00:12:08
60,000??? You must be joking! How many percent did the Sabah population suddenly shoot up by in the last 20 years? You mean Sabahan are so productive?

Sabah should demand all the faked genuine citizenship and faked genuine ic recipient of the last 20 years be identified and be expelled. Then Sabahans will be better off.

Pairin is sleeping like his BN Master AAB. 60,000 indeed!
written by alienz, May 14, 2008 00:30:57
I suggest the Sabah govn send the illegals to Malaya... don't stop them at the airport... let Malaya take them all in... let them be Nazri's next door neighbours... if Malaya wants to send them back to Sabah, don't accept them...! Why attempt to send them back to the Philippines if the Philippines govn do not recognise them as Filipinos? The Malaya govn recognise them as melayus... so send the new melayus to Malaya so that those BN-UMNO melayus can boost up their already bloated egos about ketuanan melayu...
written by tikuih, May 14, 2008 00:44:26
aab is a moron. he doesn't understand the implications of important issues. he just puts on a brave front with his stupid smile and says "let me read the report and then decide what to do" and we will never hear of the matter from him again. that's how moronic our pm is. and to make matters worse, he named his successor as najis mongolia the c4 expert. please can somebody get rid of these products of nep idiots and murderers before they drag the country further down the hall of shame..
written by Iliyas, May 14, 2008 00:50:24
Has anyone wondered if Musa Aman is still around?He's silence is very suspicious,almost like a person ready to abscond.Clearly indicates his credibility.
written by Sarawak Headhunter, May 14, 2008 00:56:26
I thought immigration was under control of the Sabah state government. Oopss, I forgot the Sabah state government is under control of UMNO alias BN. Who is to blame for this then, Sabahans who voted the government into power or UMNO which conspired to take over power in Sabah using and giving these illegals citizenship and voting rights, phantomly or otherwise? Whatever it is, Sabahans themselves will have to tell UMNO that enough is enough!

http://sarawakheadhunter.********.com
written by andywongkch, May 14, 2008 01:19:59
here we go again folks. This all goes back to the sick old man mahathir regime. He allows the illegal immigrant to be granted permanent residency and the time bomb could explode in any time.

This is UMNO for you!
written by archie, May 14, 2008 01:52:09
The BN has been looking into the illegal immigrant problem for more than 20 years and will continue looking into the problem forever.
written by johanssm, May 14, 2008 02:38:56
The illegal immigrant are actually seen as cash cows in the eyes of RELA and polis. bn is also indebted to illegal immigrants who actually hold s a mycard .
Even if PR takes over Sabah , it will take years to get rid of them.
Indeed its a major headache .
Sabahan better say thank you to bn lah for increasing the population in Sabah . bn legalised them and gave them mycard .
Maybe tdm and his Lingam gang can answer , who knows lah , tdm and his lingam gang might squeals out more hidden scandals in exchange for prison terms .
written by gaman, May 14, 2008 07:27:59
Bukan kah UMNO gilakan "Ketuanan Melayu"....Bagus UMNO tutup kedai projek ic kat Sabah dan pindahkan ke KL...Bukalah pintu besar-besaran projek ic kau puas-puas hati kat KL....Tambahkan sepuas-puas hati hang punya "Ketuanan Melayu" supaya kemudian hari Presiden UMNO kau di panggil PAK DONG nanti.
written by Hope4all, May 14, 2008 07:33:06
It is no secret that the children of these illegal Malays from Philippines and Indonesia have received scholarships to study in universities all around Malaysia, including the Peninsula. Malay Christians from Indonesia and Philippines are not allowed. This is UMNO politics for you.

This is happening under the nose of the other native Sabahans whose parents until today are still struggling to get their children MyKads. They are deprived of proper health-care, education and even clean water.

And now Nazri wants to give these illegal Malays from Malaysia and Indonesia blanket citizenship. Why don't we give all the illegals from China and India now in Peninsular Malaysia blanket citizenship as well rather than locking them up at Immigration?

And our government is supposed to swear and protect its citizens of all races through adherence to the constitution with their lives! Our govt is supposed to protect the sovereignty of Malaysia.
written by Malaysiaku, May 14, 2008 08:35:22
Looks like Sabah and later Sarawak will be finished and owned by illegals (oops! forgot the BN Govt has made them legal now). Thanks to Mahathir, soon Sabah will ask for independence and join Indonesia or the Philippines. The natives of Sabah and Sarawak can then become 2nd class citizens like some of us here in West Malaysia. This will happen in a couple of generations from now when the illegals turn legals breeds like pigs.
written by chaiksyn, May 14, 2008 09:14:24
CORRECT! CORRECT! CORRECT! Sent all the illegal immigrant to Malaya and let them be Beruk, Najis, Nazzzzri and most of AAB's neighbour! Then they will understand how we feel surrounded by this monsters!

By the way, I heard the young lady, aged 22, a Universiti Malaysia Sabah student, who was kidnap and brutally rape by her kidnappers has commited suicide shortly after she arrived Sibu Sarawak. I am not completely sure but everybody has been circulating emails that she has died. If this was true, I hope the monsters will kidnap and rape the government highty and mighty and see how they feel as compared to this poor innocent young lady!

I hate this Be End Government!!!Period.
written by ttsan, May 14, 2008 10:54:22
This problems are purposely create to inbalance the racial composition of the sabahan.Pairin should take the bull by it's horns.I know he was sidelined when he try to tackle this problem during his time as cm. But now ,when you hold the cards, play it wisely.This need to be solve once and for all, so you all sabahan can have a good nite sleep.
written by kawaputra, May 14, 2008 11:07:02
Hey pkler, I quite agree that racist behaviour should not be tolerated in this day and age. But u must understand the anger faced by Sabahans. These foreigners are given 'bumi' status as well as 'Malay' status. So in the socio-economic hierarchy, they are entitled to privileges more than most Sabahan. How does that make u feel? Nothing??

Your second point is so inconsistent with the idea of democracy, and state sovereignty (which might also be "westphalian". how la if everything also westphalian?) So in our country we should strive for basic human rights such as right to speech, freedom of this and freedom of that, et al, but when it comes to immigration controls, yeah, let 'em in, coz they have been travelling cross borders since time immemorial. Screw That! Immigration controls is an essential element of democracy. If not how do we even define who the 'demos' are i the first place? With respect to Sabah, cross border travel is very minimal before, compared to the number of immigrants naturalized in Sabah. Your idea is flawed (or too idealist, or ahead of its time, but definitely not suitable 2day). Name me one country which dont have any border controls.
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 14, 2008 11:27:23
Sabah Deputy Chief Minister …Joseph Pairin Kitingan (BN-Keningau) likened the problem to a time bomb which could create serious implication if there were no serious steps taken to tackle the menace.”
Yeoohoo Oooh Pairin,. why didn’t YOU tackle that problem when YOU WERE the CHIEF MINISTER of Sabah???? Now you are ONLY the DEPUTY CHIEF MINISTER (in case you do not know what that means: BELOW the CHIEF MINISTER you moron!) you are growling like a wimp and whispering out in parliament all sorts of problems faced by Sabah which YOU SHOULD had tackled in the first place when you had the POWER.
"It is understood that there have been attempts by among these illegal immigrants to apply to become armed forces recruits using fake identity cards,"…What the f@#k are you talking about?? Attempts????...Don’t YOU KNOW they ARE ALREADY in the armed Forces, and the Police, and RELA, government servants, and drug dealers/addicts, pimps, rapist, murderers, thieves, robbers, your maid, your painter, street sweepers. In fact, they are in every facets of Sabah society and deeply entrenched in the Sabah government…and you are talking “Attempts” indeed!
MP Rosnah, ok lah! You are young and is already trying to rectify some of Sabah’s problems…plus you had nothing to do with those PBS morons past actions…plus I knew you when you were a little girl. So keep on trucking Girl!
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 14, 2008 11:39:25
pkler I only just read your second posting. I think you MISSED the whole point of this "imported Bumiputra" issue. The reference is to those economic migrants who newly obtained their citizenship through dubious ways and who, under their bumiputraship, have become class 1 Bumiputra over our LOCAL bumiputras. I know one of our ex-TYT has Philippine ancestry as does a who lot of Datuks, but we cannot denied them that right as they were the ORIGINAL settlers in Eastern Sabah. As for your "..and us who seek a better life in Indonesia and the Philippines..". No I do not think that will happen as they do not have any more room for us in their society, nor do they want us. For crying outloud, they are EXPORTING their people to work overseas, so what would they do with us?
written by Sean E, May 14, 2008 11:48:40
The problem are so entrenched that if the government start cracking down the illegals or former illegals, you will discover that the grass cutters, the maids, the drivers, the office boys, dish washers are all gone.

Today, these late comers are willing to sweat it out for a pittance. In years to come (hope I will not be around to witness it) they will clamour for the manager post, the civil service, the Ketua Menteri etc. Plus these people marry young and tend to have a large family (6 to 8 is common), their population will grow and who is to say they want to stay on as part of Malaysia!

If nothing is done about the issue, give it another 20 years Sabah is doomed.
written by fairnessforall, May 14, 2008 12:31:35
All those illegal immigrants who got their citizenship and IC via Mahathirs project IC should have their citizenship revoked and deported back to their country of origin. Since they got the citizenship through devious means, they do not deserve it. Sabahans should insist on this as these illegals are taking away all their rights.
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 14, 2008 14:45:22
Pengkhianat ? I think this word can be applied to those who have compromised the security of this country by issuing Identity Cards to these foreigners, thereby creating a Trojan Horse in our midst. What is the penalty for treason ? DEATH. Guess the hangman better practise his skills for when the day of reckoning hits these so-called loyal sons and daughters of Malaysia !
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 14, 2008 15:02:52
And who will be the ones to judge and to hang those who have committed treason?? Haiyah, at the end of the day real Sabahans might have to use Philippine or Indonesian passports to visit Peninsular Malaysia.
written by joeawk, May 14, 2008 16:04:06
The illegals granted mykad are considered malays and help form the 60% malay population. There is no way UMNO would get them out. 60% of 25m is 15m. Less 3m licensed malays would leave only 12m and 12m of 22m is less than 55%.

UMNO says no, no, no. Only 60,000 illegals .
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 14, 2008 16:37:10
pkler you are still missing the point & issue here. It is the stupidity of OUR LAWS which transform these migrants into instant 1st CLASS BUMIPUTRAS (over OUR SABAHAN BUMIPUTRAS and two/three generations non-Bumiputras) simply because of their religion and their facial looks. That's what all real issue here! If they want to work here and be ORDINARY CITIZENS, that's fine with me and most every Sabahans.BUT classifying them as in the ranks of BUMIPUTRA Malays??? Please lah!!
written by aryn, May 14, 2008 16:37:19
You think the'd listen?

Sabahans have been telling this Umno-led BN federal govt again and again that one day these illegal immigrants will rule the country because of the Project IC but no action.

Why? The Umno goons need the illegals to vote for them to remain in power and Sabah Umno leaders are a party to this!
written by Pai, May 14, 2008 19:17:03
Hi pkler,
You could be poetic about these illegal immigrants when you live in somewhere posh & urbane like KL or Putrajaya. Why don't you relocate and stay in places like Semporna, Kunak, Sandakan or even Pulau Gaya? Where you could be mugged, beaten up or even raped in broad daylight!

Could you recall that even a female deputy minister of Sabah was killed by an illegal Indonesian a few years ago? A PDRM polis officer was injured in a shootout with illegal immigrants in Pulau Gaya two years ago? These were just tip of the iceberg. Talking about these people coming in and out of Sabah for hundreds of years belies your understanding of the issue of illegal immigrants in Sabah. Try talk to some older native sabah folks, they would tell you that there was a time not too distant in the past - fruits and veggie could be sold by the roadside without sentry but just by placing a small can to collect the money!