MPO's 'sound of music' costs RM3.5m a month PDF Print
Tuesday, 13 May 2008 23:42

Llew-Ann Phang , The Sun

KUALA LUMPUR (May 13, 2008): The "sound of music" can sometimes be too excessive as in the case of Petronas’ Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra (MPO) which costs RM3.5 million a month to sustain.

Lim Guan Eng (DAP-Bagan) pointed this out in his debate on the motion of thanks on the royal address in Parliament today, charging that these funds, spent on the orchestra that is only made up of 5% locals and 95% foreigners, could be utilised better.

"Where the Barisan Nasional (BN) government refuses to allow Petronas to share its profits with the people, this giant fuel company is wiling to pay its foreign musicians a monthly wage of between RM16,000 and RM28,000 a month.

"Each of them have two months paid leave. The conductor is paid RM130,000 a month and his assistant RM50,000. Since its 10 years of establishment, the orchestra has cost Petronas RM500 million," he said.

Lim, who is also Penang Chief Minister, questioned Petronas' willingness "to waste so much money but does not give any benefit to the local musicians", reiterating his call for its profits to be handed out to the people to help them cope with rising prices.

He said since 1997, Petronas had dished out gas subsidies amounting to RM58.2 billion of which RM48.8 billion was given to the energy sector and RM9.4 billion to the non-energy sector.

"Of the subsidies to the energy sector, the Independent Power Producers (IPP) enjoy more than Tenaga Nasional Bhd. As an example, in 2007 subsidies to the energy were RM15.6 billion where TNB only received RM5 billion, RM3.9 billion were given to the private sector and RM6.7 billion was handed to the IPPs," Lim said.

He called for a reduction of subsidies to IPPs, claiming that it was not fair for them to be enjoying high subsidies to be producing their billions in profits.

Lim also called for the establishment of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission and the abolishment of laws against human rights like the Internal Security Act, the Official Secrets Act, the Sedition Act and the Printing Presses and Publications Act.

In his debate, Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim (PKR-Bandar Tun Razak) assured the house that the Selangor administration was educating its people on conservation, especially in its monthly 20 cubic-metre free water implementation.

"We are training the people to be conservative through the price mechanism and to educate them on the proper usage of water.

"Ahmad Maslan (BN-Pontian) claimed this is Pakatan Rakyat’s way of bribing the people of Selangor but if you are interested, write to the administration and if you are interested to get free water, write to us because we have a system to set aside names of users and we can use this money to aid the Tamil and Chinese schools who need it," Khalid said.

written by binarytan, May 13, 2008 23:46:45
Good work PR, pls keep digging out all the unwise spending.

How much does the BN group taken the commission for the orchestra????

May be it is better to let the KJ be the top performer "talk cock sing song"
written by zul4kulim, May 13, 2008 23:49:27
This is outrageous, the orchestra has cost Petronas RM500 million! How much rakyat money wasted for a small group of elites' pleasures and privileges.
RM500 can pay our students scholarships not foreign musicians!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...ilege.html
written by lavendergirl, May 13, 2008 23:58:03
You have my support PR. There is a lot of mismanagement of funds by the present government. Funds that can be used by the Rakyat. I would like to suggest that every Minister including DPM and PM be given the salary of an average Malaysian to be used to run their daily expenses. Take away the cars and use the public transport system and suffer like everyone who has no choice but to use public transportation. Go and buy your provisions and realize how much the average Malaysian spend just to buy essential goods. Come on lah.. the price of butter has gone up to RM8.00. Let's not even get started on rice, especially in a rice producing country.
PR please take over the country and easy the Rakyat's suffering.
We have suffered way too long.
written by leeum, May 14, 2008 00:12:17
Does this RM 50 million a year include the lavish purpose-built hall for the orchestra to pay in and the maintenance thereof? What about the instruments? Grand pianos and pipe organs do not come cheap.

I've also heard rumours that the musicians are not allowed to do any teaching on the side, even though many of them want to. If they do, they risk having their contracts terminated. It seems that Petronas wants to keep them 'exclusive'.

How much more of a waste can this be?
written by PangurBan, May 14, 2008 00:20:17
If the government were really serious about developing a musical culture in this country, the money could have been better spent on establishing a conservatoire to train musicians locally.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, May 14, 2008 00:20:21
Ouch!!! That same money can be used to build a very credible company which can make even more money and thus be listed on the 1st board and generate even more money.

Now, that money has been channeled out as forex and never be trickled down to expand the economy. What idiots!!! The foreigners, good musicians they may be, will ship their money out to their homelands. This is unbelievable!

Keeping money inside our economy works much better than paying out! Simple economics. Or is it the powers to be don't know or don't care???
written by smeagrooo, May 14, 2008 00:23:53
SO much money used to sustain MPO but yet the joe average wont be amongst the distinguished guests. All also for datuks and datins who have no otehr place to splash their ill gotten gains.
written by Gargamel, May 14, 2008 00:36:07
Ah, but Pete, you have not dug deep enough. The multi-million dollar question: Who got contract to supply the musical instruments? And to dust the cobwebs?

I'm also curious to know how much money they make in ticket sales per month. Who is benefitting from this lavish spending?
written by Arubin, May 14, 2008 00:58:21
As usual, the typical BN government's response would be this:

Sigh...
written by RitchieLow, May 14, 2008 01:41:19
This is BN's culture all along and continuing still. Notice how an empty can sounds louder when struck than when it is full. Ya like that la, empty can. Gaya and Rupa ada, Isi tak apa, as the adage goes.
written by datukbendahara69, May 14, 2008 02:34:11
Petronas did not just pay those sums of money to MPO expats. Even expats working in other of its subsidiaries too. Nowadays many people are leaving the company for overseas empoyment and they have proven to be as competent as those expats hired by Petronas. Yet.... Petronas especially Hassan Marican accused them as traitor when he himself a traitor to anak Bangsa Malaysia.
written by Fire_walk_with_me, May 14, 2008 02:46:52
Good Molly... Now that Lim Guan Eng has got the figures out in the open! I am glad I have never gone to that celebrated hall to listen to 'em playing. I don't even care to find out where exactly the hall is at the Twin Towers!
I have always felt that if the BN government were sincere and serious about educating the Malaysian public on the fine life of listening to good pieces of music, they could have started by bench-marking the prices of the tickets a few notches cheaper to the general public. Now I know why those tickets don't come cheap. They have to pay out fat salaries to those 95% foreigners? Is it an exercise to delude ourselves and make belief we are actually as 'cultured' as those cultured pearls those datin-datin hang around their necks. Frankly I have a sneaky suspicion that those 95% aren't really the best there is.
Now... where is I-Pod??!!
written by crazygweilo, May 14, 2008 03:10:09
I have been to the Dewan Filharmonik, and while I was impressed, I could not help thinking.

"How much does this cost to operate"

The best tickets were RM95 each. This, is a bargain by anyones standards. They would cost at least three times as much elsewhere. Also, getting talent like this sure is not cheap, you need to match what they command in the International arena. To get to the level of talent in the Dewan Filharmonik takes years of training, years of actual love for the art and craft itself.

Lim Guan Eng was quite correct to point this out. Its symptomatic of the ultimate expression of the Mahathir philosophy, which is "all style, no substance". While it helps put Malaysia on the map, surely there are other, far cheaper ways of achieving the same goal.

I looked at the Orchestra, and looked at the names. Mainly Foreign talent, and very few Malaysians. Guess what, no Malays/Bumis. Strange that, you'd imagine Mahathir would spend a few million training a few, but hey, can only send Minyet ke Oxford. Minyak balik dari Oxford, ke Rembau. But you should be aware that UMNO plays a very nice musical instrument. Its called....the fiddle.

One particular Minyak is a bit more expensive to operate than the Dewan Filharmonik. Perhaps we can talk to Semy Velu and see if we can get some from Batu Caves to replace the expensive one. They only need Pisang, not piss our money away.

I think the Dewan Filharmonik could be profitable, if it broadened its appeal, and the event venue itself hosted more events. My impression is, although it is good, and it is a tourist attraction, it is far too elitist for most Malaysians. You are supposed to wear a lounge suit or batik shirt to a performance. In this climate....most Malaysians will feel uncomfortable wearing that. Convent Garden in London has no such qualms, people attend wearing jeans and t-shirt. As such it is not elitist, it appeals to young people, and is more "democratic". Many people love classical music, and many people are not aware of the existence of the Dewan Filharmonik.

Its one of those trappings of Mahathirism which was/is inconsistent with the level of development of Malaysia. You have this glittering jewel of a city, Kuala Lumpur. Tourists admire it, and it does have a major "wow" factor. Spend a year or two working here, and meet some Malaysian friends and work colleagues. Then I can tell heart rending stories of poverty, of suffering, of need. From the widowed mother, whose son sells drugs because he has not got an education, and she wonders how come he has RM4,000 a month and her medical fees are covered. The Indian truck driver, who had to pay RM18,000 for an amputation after a crash. Taxi drivers working 14 hours a day to put food on their families tables. ALL of these living in the shadow of the Twin Towers. Surely the money spent on all these fancy, Herodic trappings of wealth and power should go to the Rakyat first. When you have a standard of living for all around the Singapore level, THEN you can have your toys. But until then, no fancy toys.

The whole attitude of elitism, of getting people to wear batik shirts and suits is a sign of immaturity. Its up there with other signs of a malaise, of decline, of fiddling while Rome burns, of taking the eye off the 8 ball and the things that really matter. Books such as "The Malaysian Book of Records", which is plain irritating. Posters about an "Angkasawan" on the LDP, which is a load of bollox. Its what is rudely termed as "small penis" syndrome, speaking of which, someone get along and measure the Doctors, because it must be tiny. These things do not matter to an average Malaysian anymore. What matters is a decent, honest, safe country, with fairness, justice and equality for all citizens under the Sun.

Solve that, and whoever solves it will have votes and respect.
written by Proarte, May 14, 2008 03:54:12
I had a quick look at the MPO end of season bash in Jul7 08 ending with Beethoven´s Nine Symphony. This piece requires a choir and guess where Petronas has sourced the choir? Not from Malaysia but from the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus!!! Petronas is flying down a 60-80 member choir from Australia to take part in this concert.

Beethoven´s Choral Symphony is a landmark in musical history and is a plea for the ´brotherhood of humanity´. What a marvellous opportunity for the Malaysian Philharmonic which consists of 95% foreigners to include a Choir consisting of Malaysians to give resonance to the ideals of this mighty symphony.

Unfortunately the greed of the foreign music agency which runs this orchestra and the ignorance of the local management helmed by Juniwati Hussin ( a chemical engineer by training) which are their puppets allows for such abuse and wastage of Malaysian talent to go on unabated.
written by ralverd, May 14, 2008 06:40:55
And our dear PM calls ur Malaysians 'wasters'. What a hypocrite. Good to know that someone is with us afterall Well done, Guan Eng!

Read more at my site : http://www.ralverd.com
written by gx27, May 14, 2008 07:31:37
Holy kow, 500 million for MPO?
This is BN goverment!!!!! Useless and wasteful
got money for this stupid thing but no money for development
East Malaysia has some schools which have no basic amenities...
We have brilliant students who were denied scholarships...

Cant petronas do something about it? stop sending some nuts to the outer space in the 1st place.
written by Mr Bean, May 14, 2008 09:07:05
Cabinets Ministers comprise a good line up of morons. Don’t expect these morons to be able to make any wise decisions, if it is not a corrupted decision.

You ask for it because you voted them in!!
written by belljar, May 14, 2008 09:43:27
Wow, never knew that it takes so much to run that place! Sad, cos I personally enjoy some of the shows smilies/cry.gif
written by hemlock, May 14, 2008 10:07:47
When my father was ill in a public hospital about 15 years ago, he happened upon an Indian man who was also seekng treatment there. It's an extremely heart-rending story that still disturbs me whenever I think of it. This poor soul had to transport himself, ON HIS MOTORCYCLE, from Teluk Intan (or thereabouts) to Ipoh 2-3 times a week for kidney dialysis. Just because he couldn't afford private treatment and that was the nearest public hospital that could fit him in. Imagine that! Here's our so-called government, frittering away millions a month on some elitist 'entertainment', when the money could well be spent on easing the suffering of our less privileged countrymen. Shame on you, BN!! Where is fair play and justice?
written by Al Ambia, May 14, 2008 11:26:30
Diversifying ka???All the while they are orchestra ing Malaysian politics,now MPO pula.You think 500 million easy to earn ka??How many percent of Malaysia knows how to enjoy classical music??
written by temenggong, May 14, 2008 13:28:09
Enough of wasting money!

They should get an all-malaysian orchestra or close shut down the MPO! We will just do with whatever talent we got!!
written by Msian 2, May 14, 2008 13:36:33
I don't care what bloody music they play. With that kind of money, we can help so many kids to be better trained or educated or even equipped our hospitals or helped the less fortunate/handicapped. These are more important issues than how well the music are played. Petronas idiots & abuses.
written by Leon, May 14, 2008 14:33:15
As a professional musician myself, I feel strongly about what's going on with "Malaysian" Philharmonic Orchestra. I recall when MPO staged concerts in Japan, they were on the headlines of newspapers the next day, for a wrong reason. Among the captions were, "(Malaysian) Philharmonic Orchestra?" with a big photo of the so-called "Malaysian" musicians of European descent. I've always lamented the policy taken by the MPO owners in which they practiced meritocracy at the wrong place for the wrong reasons. I'd like to cite an example by looking south to the Singapore Symphony Orchestra (SSO). When it was set in the early 90s, the composition of members was also overwhelmingly foreign. But they implemented a system in which every section/component has to groom locals by letting them join in, albeit sitting at the last desk. As these locals progress towards the front desks, the foreigners will have to go to make way for them. 15 years down the road, the SSO has achieved its objective and is now made up of majority Singaporeans. So here is an lucrative job opportunity waiting for aspiring Malaysians in the form of MPO, but sadly the owners did not see it this way. Properly run, MPO could turn out to be a money spinner, just like London Symphony Orchestra who regularly embarks on Hollywood projects.
written by datukbendahara69, May 14, 2008 14:53:44
Unfortunately the greed of the foreign music agency which runs this orchestra and the ignorance of the local management helmed by Juniwati Hussin ( a chemical engineer by training) which are their puppets allows for such abuse and wastage of Malaysian talent to go on unabated.

U sounds like an ex-Petronas personnel. Leave her alone. She's just earning her living. At least that is the place for her than facing abusive language by that Mat Soh Ninggal in MITCO. By the way, she was my senior okay.
written by mgeo, May 14, 2008 17:20:03
Where does 85% of Petronas money go? Is it in accordance with its authorised activities? Do the authorised activities include buying (a) shipping companies (b) planes (c) skyscrapers (d) shares of banks that fail (e) orchestras?
written by RFernandez, May 14, 2008 17:27:00
And here we have straight A student who happen to be non-Bumi not given scholarship to study overseas, yet Petronas/Government can afford to pay RM130K per month for an Orchestra conductor. Go figure?? Mana ada Logik?