Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Is the political situation for real?

Is the political situation for real? PDF Print
Tuesday, 13 May 2008 14:10

It’s getting harder to interpret political developments in the country with just about everyone trying to stake a claim to the future. The disorder we’re experiencing is just that: random and inexplicable.

CERITA LAH BY KARIM RASLAN, THE STAR

IT'S a naked power grab out there,” my friend said as he dragged on his cigarette. “No one’s in charge and there’s no over-arching strategy – everyone’s just trying to figure out an angle and stake a claim for the future.”

With Umno diminishing day-by-day – witness its recent lacklustre 62nd anniversary and the Barisan Nasional languishing in its shadows – once-peripheral players are beginning to assert themselves.

Unsurprisingly, it’s getting harder to “interpret” political developments, and my cigarette-smoking friend’s world-weary cynicism may well appear to be the best reading of what’s going on.

There are lurches to right and left – moves to restore the credibility of the judiciary that are then undermined by a spate of incomprehensible sedition charges that only serve to compromise a security apparatus that we had thought was supposed to be in the process of being cleaned up.

Back in the 80s and 90s we “knew” that events were being driven from above – that Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad mainly (and then occasionally Tun Daim Zainuddin or Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim) were the “game-players”.

They were the latter-day dalang or puppet-masters – directing policy-making, creating billionaires out of lowly managers and accountants, dispensing favours and issuing instructions.

They also destroyed and – with equal verve – removed political opponents and overturned state governments.

Well, that was the past.

Nowadays we can no longer look to the Umno elite and expect to understand what’s going on. The disorder we’re experiencing – the Indonesians would call it zaman edan – is just that: random and inexplicable.

There is no logic to any of it save that individuals are seeking to stake a claim to the future; just hear MCA vice-president Datuk Ong Tee Keat’s recent public statements on multi-racial politics.

So how do we interpret all these random events? How do we make sense of them and place them in their proper context?

Let me tell you about the factors I’m watching at the moment and why:

Firstly, I’m keeping an eye on Sabah leaders. If we accept the idea of Sabah and Sarawak as the “fixed deposit” for the Barisan Nasional administration then it pays to understand how one key community perceives the current political situation.

The Kadazans – most of whom are Christian – have been among the most poorly treated of all Malaysia’s minority communities. By dint of long-term Federal connivance the Kadazans have been turned into second-class citizens in their own state.

And now with the rise of Islamic conservatism, Malaysia’s largest Bahasa Melayu-speaking Christian congregation, the Sidang Injil Borneo (with well over half a million followers in Sabah and Sarawak alone) is now experiencing an unpleasant push on their religious freedoms albeit ameliorated by a recent court decision to allow judicial review of the use of the word “Allah”.

If Anwar’s ambitions of becoming Prime Minister are to materialise, he will need to win over this embittered community and their frustrated leadership.

Upko chief Tan Sri Bernard Dompok and PBS head Datuk Seri Pairin Kitingan remain deeply sceptical of Anwar. Still it would be unwise to underestimate Anwar’s powers of persuasion. If men like Pairin change their views, power in Putrajaya may also shift.

Secondly, the Malay rights debate. Contrary to what the participants in the recent Kongres Permuafatkan Melayu think, this is a non-issue. With well over 60% of the national population the Malay-Muslim community dominates Malaysia’s public life whether through Umno, PKR or PAS.

At this stage we cannot be certain which of the three parties will prevail, but whatever happens I’m sure Malaysia will remain a fairly conservative, majority Muslim nation-state with a strong Malay cultural milieu.

It’s foolhardy to think that the Malay community has suddenly changed; if anything it is just fragmented.

Still, this fact seems to have escaped DAP chairman Karpal Singh in particular and a number of his party leaders who continue to harp on about a “Malaysian Malaysia” whilst being unable to win over any prominent Malay figures into their party.

Certainly the position of party adviser Lim Kit Siang would be greatly enhanced if he had some heavyweight Malay party members alongside him.

PAS’ studied silence on this issue meanwhile, is an indication of the inherent complexity. Frankly they’d rather not be drawn into the debate.

However, it has to be said the politician who can take charge of this issue, energise the community and show a capacity to lead will in turn be able to claim the mantle of Malay leadership.

In this respect Umno’s top brass have been totally unimpressive. Their regressive appeal to the royal houses accompanied by primordial cries of “ketuanan” (supremacy) are only serving to divide the Barisan.

Still, both Umno veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and Anwar have attempted to articulate progressive alternative visions and it will be interesting to see the extent to which these ideas take root.

Thirdly, is the deteriorating economic environment. With prices of household goods rising almost daily, the Government is finding it ever more difficult to shield the population from the impact of global inflation.

If this continues the Prime Minister’s prospects are not good.

The unhappiness that’s currently being felt in the socio-political sphere will inevitably seep into the broader population, creating a receptive ground for small-scale, localised demonstrations such as the recent anger over the toll roads.

As these gather in intensity and frequency, the Government will be hard-pressed to manage the situation.

So, take your ringside seat at the new spectator sport that is Malaysian politics. Suspend your incredulity and shock if only for moment. Yes, these men and women are our leaders – we elected them.

Maybe you’ll need some stronger than a cigarette now?

written by ttsan, May 13, 2008 14:15:15
The smartest will survive, don't worry! let them fight it out.
written by krising1, May 13, 2008 14:24:41
The UMNOputras are all disorientated. As they did not have enough troubles, the MPs from Sabah are flexing their muscles. And they rightly should. How the natives of Sabah have been marginalised by the UMNOputras. It is now or never for Sabah MPs to get their pound of flesh and bring the UMNOputras to their knees. We have expose their pretext that they are the only ones who can protect Malay rights.

More power to the states and Sabah is the only one that can get the ball rolling.
written by slash n burn, May 13, 2008 14:32:07
The only real thing for sure is UMNO is going to dig its own grave for being racist, arrogance, stupid and supreme.
written by Birdbrain, May 13, 2008 14:33:21
Many would asked, "Show me the money!"

But there is no more money, we need ppl to build the nation! Then we catch those who plundered the nation. That's where we will get our money.

Beware past Malaysians who plundered the nation!!!
written by wag the dog, May 13, 2008 15:33:07
Einstein's letter makes view of religion relatively clear.

Visit www.wagthedog-malaysia.********.com for details.
written by densemy, May 13, 2008 15:43:32
UMNO is desperately grasping at straws that worked for them in the past. But every straw they grasp is waterlogged and useless.

They havent the youth, the intelligence nor the outlook to swim to the nearby shore of a democratic honest country, so inevitably they will sink without trace
written by YSL, May 13, 2008 16:07:34
If we all wants to live a good life and bright future for our children now and the future generations, it is simple; cut down on unnecessary spendings especially the stupid military spendings, review all projects; arrest those who eat Rakyats' duits; investigate Petronas missing monies in trillionnnnnnnnnnnnnnns and strengthen the investment opportunities effectively.

All those listed compnaies that failed miserably be investigated and the Chairman and Directors be sent to jail for at least 50 years imprisonment.

This will be the only solution or else everybody will say that we can not just **** the country, we can rape the country anytime any place and any where and any how we can so long as we know how to bride some silly old bastards administering the country.

Stop funding Malaysians' overseas business activity by domestic funding as this will be the most tragic decision. Malaysians, if they have monies to invest, why can they invest in their own country????????????????????????????

Because of NEP or something else?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Just think about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !

If you are competing with foreign companies which can easily be 1,000 to 1,000,000 times bigger than yours and especially you have to talk in USD$, why Malaysians still wants to take the risks!??????????

For all those Malaysians owned companies investing overseas, how much have them earned and transferred back to Malaysia to develop Malaysia be it owned by UMNO. MIC MCA or BN or ****ERS
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by disgruntled, May 13, 2008 16:39:01
It would be interesting to recollect what MM said in his blog last week in chedet, " Pairin stil has strong support...". This will be the killer blow if the winds of change continues on its momentous path. Just watch out u spectators in the peninsula.
written by sactyr, May 13, 2008 16:45:06
Let me tell you all a story, which will reflect on the above article later. In my university in Australia, currently where I am studying, there is an "unofficial" UMNO Youth Club. The club is not registered with the university's societies registrar, so more or less you can imagine the club's activities as social gatherings. Anyway, the club holds various jamuans for my Malay friends throughout the year, and almost everyday during the Ramadan period.

Now, because the club is not registered, it does not receive fundings from the university and it can't request membership monies from the members under the club's name. They can, however, ask the members to pool money for their activities.

Since I know for a fact, that the club does not ask money from its members, and I also know for a fact that all fundings are being sent from UMNO Malaysia.

Let me be explicit here, in case I am charged with seditious. I am not against Malays. I am not against the UMNO Youth Club in my university. I am not against my Malay friends having jamuans. But I am certainly against the fact that taxpayers money are being spent foolishly overseas for things like jamuans. Register the club and receive fundings from university, or pool money from the members. Why waste taxpayers money?

God knows how many UMNO Youth clubs are in Australia, let alone other parts of the world. And only god knows how much money are being spent by those clubs.

So now, you tell me if I am wrong here, while we are paying rising prices back in Malaysia, others are having lavish jamuans overseas, using our money.

http://sactyr.********.com
written by panca, May 13, 2008 16:59:38
Maybe you’ll need some stronger than a cigarette now?

Yes absolutely correct than just puffing away cigarettes in the comfort of air-conditioned offices awaiting political order instead of what has been the order of duty that entails responsibility for justice!
written by Jivathma, May 13, 2008 17:00:08
To Sabah & Sarawak fellows, please give priority to the rakyat over all the shit BN/UMNO have been throwing to you&us for all these while. Please defect and give a chance to PR.
written by The dragonheart, May 13, 2008 23:16:08
The more I read... I see many Malaysian are actually racist...self centered
written by ChanRaj, May 13, 2008 23:32:22
KARIM RASLAN, no wonder you are clueless about the future, you are with THE STAR (MSM). You guys are disorientated coz BN/UMNOputras are still in a state of shock and denial. Better you resign from the Star and start working for MT, then you might have a tiny idea about what's going on with the Rakyat. What you are witnessing is the after effects of the Tsunami. And its not over yet.

written by Rainbowseahorse, May 14, 2008 14:36:02
To Dompok, Pairin, Yong, and other ex and present PBS members..Good that you have spoken up ONLY NOW!..and you are all DEAD DUCKS if your attempt to blackmail UMNO backfire.. I am HAPPY that you are NOW willing to sacrifice yourselves for the people of Sabah.. Did somebody asked where is that MUSA??...Probably digging into and around the copse of Sabah to see what else he can salvage before Sabah really gets rotten
written by noyawns, May 14, 2008 15:33:25
Karin Raslan - good article. The country is now like a ship where the captain & officers are not certain if the ship is going anywhere,; and they are mostly embroiled in trying to keep the sailors dumb about their lack of direction. The officers are clinging on to power so that the sailors will not make them walk the plank for the way they've abused their positions.

Unless there is a leader(s) who can step up and take control, the ship Malaysia is lost indeed, and the food/water supply on board is running perilously low.

Can MIC, MCA, Gerakan,East M'sian parties step out of BN NOW and work with PR in a new Govt?! IMMEDIATELY!