Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Cops accused of killing Altantuya lodge police reports against blogger Raja Petra

Cops accused of killing Altantuya lodge police reports against blogger Raja Petra PDF Print
Monday, 12 May 2008 23:59

Maria J. Dass, The Sun

SHAH ALAM (May 12, 2008): The first and second accused in the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder trial - Chief Insp Azilah Hadri, 32, and Cpl Sirul Azhar Umar, 37 - lodged a police report today against Malaysia Today blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin for alleging that they had threatened him.

In the beginning of today's hearing, Azilah’s counsel, Datuk Hazman Ahmad, stood up and raised the issue quoting news website Malaysiakini’'s report on Raja Petra saying that he had posted bail to be released from the Sungai Buloh prison where he claimed he was threatened by Sirul and Azilah.

Raja Petra, upon posting bail and being released last Friday (May 9), told the media that Azilah and Sirul had shouted at him and said that something would happen to him.

He also claimed that the prison authorities said they would not be able to guarantee his safety.

"We have taken down statements from both the accused saying that the incident never happened," said Hazman.

Both of them never met Raja Petra while he was in remand and did not know where he was placed during this time, he said.

The accusations are prejudicial and contentious to both Sirul and Azilah and should not be uttered without any facts, he added.

"Sirul totally denies the accusations and we have told him to lodge a police report on the incident which never happened," said Sirul’s counsel Kamarul Hisham Kamaruddin.

Reading out a paragraph of a posting by Raja Petra on Malaysia Today titled "Thank you so much and sorry for letting you down", Kamarul said there was absolutely no basis for the writer to make speculations as mentioned in the paragraph.

The paragraph reads: "When I arrived in Sungai Buloh Prison, something happened that put the entire prison on full alert. Sirul and Azilah, who were in the same block as me, Blok Damai, shouted for me to watch my back and that they will get me. I was quickly whisked out of the block. It seems they were angry that the Altantuya murder trial, which had disappeared from the radar screens, has now, again, been given the spotlight. Why should that upset them? Why the need for the Altantuya murder trial to disappear from the radar screens?"

"There is absolutely no basis for him to speculate that the duo were angry based on the fact that the trial was in the spotlight again," Kamarul said.

"To suggest or imply that the two accused are fearful of publicity on the case which has been there since day one is highly prejudicial and attempts to paint a bad picture of our clients' character and conduct," he said.

Hazman added that journalists have been calling him for a response on the matter which in fact never happened.

Judge Datuk Mohd Zaki Md Yasin then asked where the allegations had been published.

"On internet news sites, blogs and news reports," Hazman responded.

Mohd Zaki then said: "Rest assured to you and the prosecution that I will not be influenced by these reports."

Sirul and Azilah are charged with murdering Mongolian Altantuya in a jungle clearing in Mukim Bukit Raja between 10pm on Oct 19 and 1am on Oct 20, 2006. Political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda is charged with abetting them.

Hearing continued with investigating officer ASP Tonny Lunggan giving a detailed run down of his investigations into the phones, laptops and SIM cards seized from the accused and handed to CyberSecurity Malaysia to be processed for evidence.

He also told the court of the persons he met at telecommunications companies Maxis and Celcom to obtain information and data on the calls and movements of the accused based on their phone records.

Hearing continues tomorrow with cross examination of Tonny’s testimony, while a witness from CyberSecurity will be recalled to testify and furnish some additional documents to the court before he goes to Korea.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by freedom lover, May 13, 2008 00:02:48
THE LIMIT HAS BEEN BREACHED! EVEN CRIMINALS WHO ARE ON TRIALS ARE MADE TO FILE CHARGES AGAINST RPK! THE HONOUR AND REPUTATION OF THIS COUNTRY IS BEING RAPED RIGHT IN FRONT OF OUR EYES!
agree 108
written by malsia1206, May 13, 2008 00:06:58
When you start to face hell in your face, you tend to get names mixed up irrationally. The name complained of should be a certain person or more than a person in Putrajaya. Excuse them for the error.
written by joeawk, May 13, 2008 00:09:38
They purposely send RPK to the 2 jerks to frighten RPK. RPK is a dead man a long time ago and it does not seem like he is going to pee in his pant over the matter, that I believe so.

He is our hero, no.1.
written by karyeowl, May 13, 2008 00:10:40

Joke of the year.

So many unsolved murders and kidnapping cases, and yet the law has time for these 2 murderers (scum). Please remember Nurin and others!

written by Spear Bing, May 13, 2008 00:11:12
"Judge Datuk Mohd Zaki Md Yasin then asked where the allegations had been published.

"On internet news sites, blogs and news reports," Hazman responded.

Mohd Zaki then said: "Rest assured to you and the prosecution that I will not be influenced by these reports."

So consider the police report by the two accused as frivolous.
written by turun padang, May 13, 2008 00:11:55
How come no one ever think of BEATING the POLIS RAJA DiMALAYSIA and BN in thier own game?

All we have to do is to :-

Go to the nearest POLIS station to make a polis report on EVERY SINGLE THING that we can think of which is wrong in this country & BN (1 report per wrong)
Let make this our new NATIONAL pass time!!

AND ask for the 'permit to hold gathering' even for our family dinner & office weekly meeting, sunday church, 5 times a day surau prayer, 2 times a day temple prayer, your gathering with your old football team, your evening mamak teh tarik or any thing at all..
For we all know that, any gathering which is more than 5 persons, we are suppose to get police clearance...

SO LET PLAY BY THE BOOK!!!

LETS BEAT THEM IN THIER OWN GAME
written by ralverd, May 13, 2008 00:12:45
Yes, more denial. Najib denies murder. PM denies resignation. Ministers deny corruption. So we deny you 2/3rd majority in parliament. Deny any further and we deny you federal government.

Read more at my site : http://www.ralverd.com
written by karyeowl, May 13, 2008 00:13:05

Wow... not bad eh! Malaysian prison also got internet, as the 2 murderers Azilah and Sirul also got log in to Malaysia-today.net

Wonder if it is broadband or dial-up?? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by malsia1206, May 13, 2008 00:18:41
karyeowl, they got wi-fi in Sungai Buloh since those 2 accused were remanded. Facilities had since been upgraded. That's why RPK chose 3 nights there.
written by fireduck, May 13, 2008 00:44:26
"To suggest or imply that the two accused are fearful of publicity on the case which has been there since day one is highly prejudicial and attempts to paint a bad picture of our clients' character and conduct,"

A joke or what? Ever since Day One, no one has given us mugshots of these two. Always covered up, so yes, I would also conclude that they are 'fearful of pubilicity'. No need for RPK to imply. And if they are going to file a police report, can you be fair to the rakyat, and let us see who you are?
written by whoisthis, May 13, 2008 00:47:33
Now The IGP will say "No resources will be spared by the men in blue to investigate these unfounded allegations against these upstanding, righteous colleagues of his, who have never been proven to have done anything wrong against anyone."

"If these allegations are found to be without basis, RPK will be charged to the fullest extend of the law, for smearing these 2 COPS."

Power to the People!!!
written by Daryl, May 13, 2008 00:57:10
STUPID.... STUPID.... PDRM all you higher up that let this happen need to burn in hell.. Also, BN leaders your days are numbered grab all the money you can and leave now.
written by teohpg, May 13, 2008 00:58:50
What if this 2 murderer are sentenced to hang, and their police report has yet to be trial in court? Will they be spared the life for waiting...hahaha...we shall see.
written by Arubin, May 13, 2008 01:02:27
I wonder if we can lodge a police report against those 2 for sullying the image of Malaysians and making us look bad in front of the Mongolians... smilies/angry.gif
written by Motherchell, May 13, 2008 01:02:40
Absolutely incredible!!! the way our Judiciary functions . Its time for Malaysia to declare itself a COMMUNIST STATE then sit on the fence.I cannot believe my eyes what i read .

What the UMNOites should do is from on -- instead of proving that MSM is right ------ they should prove to us point for point , of the alternative media reports, as wrong . I want to see how the policy writers with Oxford and Stanford stencils stand on the weight of public opinion. This is what was taught in Oxford as healthy debate! Even a donkey will be able to decipher what has been reported so far about the whole affair. We here debate only what is seen and heard .

The Country is already on the way down the black hole to destruction when it comes to the Laws of the Land , for sure i know the milking cows are being herded and fenced by the PR's governance and these imbeciles are finding ways to salvage the route for salvation which they thought was forever. They are in a state of Panic now !!!!

Paklah should come out of his sleep and declare Malaysia as a Communist state , and a police state fast !!!!!!!!! They are all politically bankrupt !!!!!!and to the great attorney fighting for justice for the accused --- my 2 sen ; attend to many too who are killed and stabbed when on their way to work , and to take up the rape issues of our fellow sisters in Malaysia .

Pl wake up -- you legal so called fraternity !!!!!!!!!!!Time will tell when you'll be assigned to hell too by the tryst of God's simple strokes .

God doesn't take appointments !!!!!!!
written by fairnessforall, May 13, 2008 01:05:29
"To suggest or imply that the two accused are fearful of publicity on the case which has been there since day one is highly prejudicial and attempts to paint a bad picture of our clients' character and conduct," he said.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I dont think you need anyone to paint a bad picture about those 2 losers. What character and conduct are u talking about. Those bastards mecilessly blew up a pregnant woman and you are talking about their character and conduct. The only character they have is bad, so dont blame RPK as they have destroyed their character and conduct themself
written by Milo, May 13, 2008 01:09:07
Ai ya, now even potential criminals have more rights than YB RPK! Soon the millions of citizens will be making polis report of all kinds. What else can the BN think of and make use of people next? Looks like the only cure for the country left is change the government!
written by Daryl, May 13, 2008 01:29:46
I believe I can get my dog or pet monkey to file a sedition police report if I tell them they were truly trouble by RPK, Karpal and Syed (?) actions. My pets have trouble sleeping and keeping making noise since they found out what the three of them did. They will probably file the report in the court and the judge/AG will approve the case for persecution.
written by mgeo, May 13, 2008 01:37:36
The reason their lawyer got them to lodge this report is to further help in getting their case declared a mis-trial.
written by Richy, May 13, 2008 01:37:51
Looks like RPK is going be called and will be given another tough time to prove his accusation. Will those who fed him this information come forward in favor of RPK?
RPK please be alert of the danger. You are needed for many more tasks here and the 5 PR states need you too.
written by wannabepatriotic, May 13, 2008 02:25:30
First of all, the warden should have isolated the 2 from RPK la - do your fukin job lar... putting them 2 together is gila la. Confirm looking for trouble or taunting intimidation. Scare tactics only... Now RPK is outside, and they are still inside, and inside, and inside.

SYABAS RPK! YOU DID IT AGAIN!
written by miwaki, May 13, 2008 02:50:26
This a joke we seldom come across and it can only happen in Boleh Land under BN government.Murderers log on to Malaysia Today,did both of them also accidentally log on to Malaysiakini,Rocky bru and other interesting websites ?Did both of them know that Selangor has been fallen to Pakatan Rakyat and Anwar Ibrahim will be the next PM very soon ?
written by disgruntled, May 13, 2008 05:42:53
Why the two suspected scoundrels r put together? Isnt it on purpose so that they can have all the time in prison to discuss their tactics to attack the judge in their trial? Coincidence , they will tell you.! Everything they do will end up with them having the upperhand, even though u may say send them to hell.
written by campuras, May 13, 2008 08:17:02

Everybody seems to be lodging police report over anything. The cops must be very busy recording statement from the many aggrieved person of interest. I doubt they will do anything other that letting these unpolitically connected statement lying somewhere gathering dust and a resting place for flies and mosquitoes. Even if they do something about it they will be so busy running around making coffee and polishing the shoes for their political emperor and emperess, i doubt anything good of judicial value will come out ot it or it will give us any troubleless sleep at night.

All these reports only give the coppers an excuse of not doing what they are hired to go, go after the crims and the corrupt.

Instead of lodging plice report, they should do what Lee Kuan Yew does best, sue...sue....sue.... At least this will create some economics activities, more media attention, more public interest, more talk in the coffee shop, maybe a TV series too. Just maybe this will give our local universities a good reason to pump out more law graduates instead of pumping out graduates in wizardary and witch craft.

Now I am off to the police station to lodge my police report against the police for not doing their job and giving me sleepless night.
written by anak penang, May 13, 2008 08:52:56
the country has gone to the dogs
DSAI, i beg u to take over as soon as possible
written by gundohing, May 13, 2008 09:44:24
Don't you find it odd that a Sungai Buloh inmate who is accused of murder being allowed to lodge police report for defamation? This can't be happening unless someone high up allows it to happen.
written by technoboy, May 13, 2008 10:07:34
Is there any credibility in reports made by murderers in the first place?

Notwithstanding, RPK should start listing down police reports made by opposition against BN/UMNO guys for various offences including sedition and keep publishing it to show how our morons in PDRM work, let the whole world know what is the state of police force like in Malaysia, NOT so much to shame Malaysia, BUT to shame those morons in charge of PDRM.
written by DezMalaysia, May 13, 2008 10:12:01
Actually YM RPK should have report police regarding the threats by Sirul & Azilah.

F*uck that 2 scums, hell is the place for them.
written by watchdogg, May 13, 2008 10:30:52
Those people are a real JUARA KAMPUNG, BODOH SOMBONG, GILA KUASA, and etc...
Don't care what they do lar..
By the way, they are the peoples that waiting for thier dooms day!!! hahahahah....

Woi Azilah&Sirul,
Satan is waiting for you in hell......
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by cheekhiaw, May 13, 2008 10:40:05
"We have taken down statements from both the accused saying that the incident never happened," said Hazman.

---

Their statements also said they never blew others up before either...

Just like those that said they have never met others before they were blown up...

written by ttsan, May 13, 2008 11:07:34
Also lodge a police report against PM for falling asleep next to the Sultan of Johor during ceremony.It's a insult to the King isn't it.Ref.to photo.
written by mumonthecase, May 13, 2008 17:09:10
Why are these two criminals allowed to make police reports from prison? RP didn't. And why are they still carrying their titles? They should be stripped of their titles and just be plain old criminals titles such as >>>prisoner number....Azila Hadri
written by panca, May 13, 2008 20:10:59
Why are these two criminals allowed to make police reports from prison? RP didn't. And why are they still carrying their titles? They should be stripped of their titles and just be plain old criminals titles such as >>>prisoner number....Azila Hadri

They are protected, they are fully covered to attend all court proceedings!
Dubbed the "THE HOLLOW MEN"

Any idea who might they be in that all wrapped-up faces! What are their names again this time?