Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal lacked political wisdom, says DAP’s Teng

Karpal lacked political wisdom, says DAP’s Teng PDF Print
Monday, 12 May 2008 23:23

By LOONG MENG YEE, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: DAP chairman Karpal Singh has acted with a lack of political wisdom when he chose to publicly question the Perak Sultan over the royal jurisdiction of Islamic matters in the state.

“Karpal Singh may be right in law, but this is not merely a legal question, it involves politics. Therefore, I disagree with the approach taken to openly challenge the royal intervention,” said DAP central executive committee member and Selangor Speaker Teng Chang Khim.

Teng said he agreed, in terms of administration, that the Perak Mentri Besar had the authority over the transfer of state civil servants.

“But, the state Constitution provides that the Sultan is the head of the religion of Islam. This involves the question of Constitution and politics, it is not wise to raise issues like these, especially knowing Umno will pick on it and turn it into a racial issue,” said Teng.

It would have been more correct, said Teng, for Karpal Singh to have raised his opinion behind closed doors with the palace.

“The Sultan of Perak is a legal expert, to discuss the matter within four walls would have been fine,” said Teng.

DAP veteran Lim Kit Siang, when approached in Parliament for comment about Teng’s statement, declined to be interviewed.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by turun padang, May 12, 2008 23:32:44
They (the MSM) just never learn!!!

NO Where in the quote from Teng Chang Khim said Karpal lack of POlitical wisdom!!

Damn spin DOCTOR!!! May all of you feel proud when you tell your grand children what you did to help the country!!!
written by wongnoball, May 12, 2008 23:37:05
You can have all the knowledges ..... but at the end of the day, your success is determined by your intelligence and wisdom.
May be he needs to call it a day before the next election.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Wisdom above, May 12, 2008 23:38:04
No 'Protocol ' and absent of 'diplomacy '.

Law & precedent is only a guide , not necessary the correct way.

Remain silent about issue can be a wise move.

A merry heart is still the best medicine.

Syabas.
written by HamChak, May 12, 2008 23:39:37
What la,
DYMM Sultan did not even say anything ma
Why these BN goons got some much time to
twist and turn.

Maybe they learned all these from their
Master MamakThir the SNAKE.
Did you ask DYMM permission to investigate
Karpal or not?
written by POPEYE, May 12, 2008 23:40:06
Spin or no spin, Teng is correct. For Karpal to show he is indeed a mature politician with the immense "political wisdom" that is confirmed on him by the rakyat in the last election he should not lose his cool Teng and should seek an audience with the sultan....after an apology OF COURSE.
written by BennyG, May 12, 2008 23:40:41
True, Mr. Teng, that does not mean that you did right especially you're from DAP. Let me use the same words that you had used, "it is not wise (FOR YOU) to raise issues like these, especially knowing Umno will pick on it and turn it into a racial (OR EVEN WORSE, DISRESPECT/DISUNITY WITHIN THE PARTY) issue".

It would had been WISER if DAP could "discuss the matter within four walls (& that) would have been fine (better)"

How does that sounds to you, Mr. Teng???

It seemed that you are also taking opportunity to strike back at Karpal and make people think that you're self righteous. But the same words could be used against you.

Please do reply in your blog (or write to MT) what you think of your words now.
written by manora, May 12, 2008 23:43:40
I always think that Dap on the whole sometimes do need more wisdom.It will be politically wise if DAP refrains from jumping whenever the mainstream media report something purpotedly said by Pas leaders about Islam.The msm know how to distort things and when Karpal Singh or any other Dap leaders jump.they rejoice.Its the same when the royalties are involved.It is OK for UMNO supporters to insult the Royals like what happened in Trengganu but don't ever anybody else especially non Malay think that they can do the same.You do that and UMNO will be raising hell just to gain political mileage.Sometimes the way DAP leaders behave make me wonder if they really want to see UMNO buried or they may worry that they will fade together with UMNO.
written by Gargamel, May 13, 2008 00:14:31
It is ok to disagree on how the matter was handled, but Mr. Teng, for you to attack your party leader's decision in public is very disloyal. Why didn't YOU discuss this with Karpal behind closed doors?
written by turun padang, May 13, 2008 00:15:49
Well the way i look at it...

DAP will be DAP....
They have to speak thier MIND as an individual..
IF not, they will be brand like MCA or GERAKAN.

written by joeawk, May 13, 2008 00:16:38
Please forgive Karpal, this old dog cannot learn new tricks la. Like a bulldozer, he does not steer, just go in one direction only.
written by rakyat101, May 13, 2008 00:19:01
he has the right to ask any questions, if u don't ask how would u know, not many dare to ask question for the past 50 years and at the same time, they are lying to the public for the past 50 years, wake up & where is common sense, if u can't ask question, why don't start from school..... "u can't ask this question"
written by Gargamel, May 13, 2008 00:20:21
It is CORRECT to question when there is situation to question. Otherwise then we are all just blind followers only.
written by rakyat101, May 13, 2008 00:22:32
not sure teng said that, if he did, he his the problem kid, perhaps that is the reason why he was left out in first place.
written by Proarte, May 13, 2008 01:12:09
The Sultan of Perak had openly undermined the MB of Perak by reinstating Jumry. Jumry is a civil servant and his salary is paid for by the taxpayer. The administration of the state should be left to the State government. He is not a palace offical and his salary is not paid from the Sultan's pocket.

One would have thought the Sultan of Perak should be aware of the basic principle of Separation of Powers and his role as a Constitutional Monarch. The Sultan was abusing his powers and acted illegally. Unfortunately the Pakatan's pusillanimous response to the Sultan's intervention betrays the shaky hold Pakatan has on Perak.

Karpal was acting on principle. We are not living in feudal times when the King cannot do any wrong or cannot be questioned. The workings of our democracy can only function if there is respect for jurisdictional boundaries. Once the Royalty abuse their position, it undermines democracy. Here the Rakyat must come down like a ton of bricks and reign in the offending royal. We cannot allow the protocol of deference to in any way inhibit us from voicing and upholding our rights. Karpal as the people's representative was doing exactly that, in no uncertain terms.

Remember the People are the Boss.
written by fireduck, May 13, 2008 01:46:53
Perhaps, and this is only my perhaps, the Sultan of Perak acted that way is to 'help' the PR state govt from further or future problems when that Jumry guy counter-sue or what not. Nizar should have 'advised' the Sultan on the matter before going public with it. So, in order to make sure that protocol was followed, Sultan Azlan may have done so to save the PR state govt from getting into a bigger mess. Maybe the Sultan, in his wisdom, would have issue a 'walking certificate' to Jumry, and then Nizar can appont whoever he wants as replacement. There will be no problems then. But before that can happen, Karpal spoke out.

That is where this old dog must learn to read the situation better, and perhaps wait for Nizar to mengadab the Sultan first, to find out more. Even then, qualify the statement if he wants to announce it to the press. Say something like 'From a legal standpoint ...... blah, blah, blah ..... BUT, the sultan may have his reason for ordering that action, so we will have to wait for more facts'. Something like that mah! Haiya, what Karpal needs is not the Sedition Act, but lessons in diplomacy.
written by Richy, May 13, 2008 01:58:10
Teng may be right on Karpal. But Karpal is entitled to his opinion and he has clarified his remarks. Even Anwar is satisfied with Karpal's explanation, though he stressed Monarchies and their rights will be protected at all time.
So let us move on.
written by PASOK, May 13, 2008 03:24:46

Teng is obviously one of the weaker links in the PR and DAP struggle.
Beware of a man who openly criticises his leader and sides with the BN.
He can make his excuses like "political wisdonm" as if he is anything like as experienced, wise and brave as the DAP Chairman Karpal Singh.

"Discuss behind closed doors" Teng says. Where have we heard that one before??
The only way we are going to solve the problems confronting the new Malaysia is to say them out loud and clear as what a leader should do.
Especially when the issue is as important as the abuse of power by the sultans and the Malay elites.
Bravo Karpal - stick to your position. Say it again until the sultans understand that the constitution rules this country and not their royal high nesses.

Bugger off Teng - whiley, slippery politician with no courage and no discipline.
written by mei yen, May 13, 2008 05:56:59

Teng,

I see it clearly now. The songkok fits you perfectly!

written by DJH, May 13, 2008 07:42:14
Teng should keep his mouth shut. He's double standard. Why? First no songkok and swear will never wear one in his life. Look what happen now? Power can corrupt ones mind. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Skyjuice, May 13, 2008 08:39:33
I think Teng is great in saying Karpal. At least we know that DAP is a party that will not blindly support their member, unlike our BN. They will always said,"Pak lah never sleep, zakaria never accept corruption".
written by JJFoo, May 13, 2008 09:15:41
Hopefully Teng wasn’t misquoted by the press, otherwise this would be a black spot for Teng.

Karpal just called “a spade a spade”, what wrong with that? Teng even quoted “Karpal may be right in law”.

Public affair should stay public and not to be discussed behind closed door. Haven’t we endured enough of such nonsense with BN components such as MCA, Gerakan or MIC. Why is Teng leading us back to this old nonsensical path again? If there is any lacking in wisdom, it is Teng.

Teng’s party colleague (Karpal) is being sued with unjust, draconian law “Sedition Act” for speaking out his opinion and done within the law. Instead of showing comradeship in time of need, Teng is back-stabbing Karpal.

written by The Voter, May 13, 2008 09:22:43
“Karpal Singh may be right in law, but this is not merely a legal question, it involves politics. Therefore, I disagree with the approach taken to openly challenge the royal intervention,” said DAP central executive committee member and Selangor Speaker Teng Chang Khim.

Yes absolutely, I agreed with YB Teng.
I'm also not agreed with HRH, but politically we have to do another way. Knowing UMNO/BN is hungry like a wolf and they have MSM with them, they will bark even though they had done the same thing in Terengganu.
I'm also did not understand his antics questioning the seating of Ibrahim Ali in parliment.This is small thing & waste of time.
Hope, the old guard like him in DAP will be the last term as MP.
written by renoir, May 13, 2008 09:40:57
Generally, monarchies have done more harm than good, which is why the idea of the constitutional monarch came into being. Nevertheless, in situations where absolute power has corrupted a government absolutely, the monarchy could usefully serve as check and balance. This pivotal role should be understood by the modern constitutional monarch, for in the eyes of many people, it's the only reason for its existence. That's why the Indonesians decided to pension off their sultans, when they see no benefits in having them.

written by michaelT, May 13, 2008 10:22:00
YB CChang khim has a good point well said. I too believe that wisdom is much needed from leaders much more from BN leaders. In KS case he should choose not to mention at all. After all the Pas MB is capable to sought this out. let the MB be responsible for the position he is in. Only he can have direct encounter with HH Sultan Azlan Shah. For the DAP I suggest they should focus their attention to their dutuies to the rakyat. The more they talk the wider they open the doors to attack. I hope the PR component parties talk less. If issue involves Islam just let DSAI handle. There are already so many administration problem to solve and please put all the time on that.
written by hiro, May 13, 2008 11:45:26
I just want to say this:

Teng is lacking political wisdom to criticise Karpal in the open. Is he not adding ammunition to BN lackeys to keep harping on the issue instead of debating on other greater matters of public interest? Karpal's position is a correct one - so he should be seen as receiving support from his colleagues - at the same time, DAP should work at seeking audience with the Sultan.

There's something fishy going on if the Sultan refuses to give Karpal audience.
written by Good News, May 13, 2008 15:03:57
Teng, at least you should also do what you preach, i.e telling Karpal the lion that he lacks political wisdom behind closed door! We know that in your mind, you share the same feeling on the matter as Karpal. The difference is that he is brave to openly state his mind, whereas you are NOT!!!
written by ultraman, May 13, 2008 16:35:49
Mr TIANG aa,
Would you please shut your dirty mouth.
Why didn't you mention the same words to Pak Lah when he did not agree with the sultans' choices of MBs?
You and Koh have left a big fat shit for LGE to clean up and you shamelessly want to comment on others. Hey, Ah Tiang aa, are you one of the excos who ran helter skelter like rats bringing along all the states propertiesin the form of files and computers? If you are one of them, the more you are not qulified to talk!!! Like Ah Khoon and wife Ah Chui, NOT QUALIFIED. I HAVE LOST ALL MY RESPECTS FOR ALL OF YOU UPON READING HOW NALURI COULD GET A FEE WAIVER OF MILLIONS!!!
written by tanwi, May 13, 2008 17:45:26
this is sooo stupid... as i sad before... which educated or level headed person would translate what Karpal said to be seditious??? It will be a win for the opposition if the charge falls through (although would be sorry for Karpal welfare) as this seriously infringes on human rights and free speech.

I am really wondering what the dudes at BBC or CNN must be thinking... a lawyer who questioned whether a Sultan has the authority to initiate certain administrative State actions had been jailed because the act of questioning was deemed seditious... WTF?! This is Malaysia... not some uncivilized nation!

MALU-LAH
written by Old Man Jasin, May 13, 2008 20:03:17
KP, in this country , history had taught us that many a time , even though an issue is dark black , we must say it is snow white . Knowing your character , you will never admit so..

You fully know many are after your head . Let this issue rest in peace or let the court decides .

Perhaps the proposal by Teng is valid .Afterall he had learnt his lesson .In the animal kingdom , even when a lion encounters a pack of wolves , he knows what to do. So that he can face them another day
written by Milo, May 13, 2008 20:55:39
Teng is right. Karpal is courageous and a legal genius, but did not act with wisdom in respect of the timing and appropriateness of his recent actions and statements on the royalty.
written by wood, May 13, 2008 23:38:13
Perhaps it is more effective to talk at the right place and at the right time!