Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysia Ponders How to Handle its Bloggers

Malaysia Ponders How to Handle its Bloggers PDF Print
Monday, 12 May 2008 16:45

A prominent blogger’s arrest underscores confusion as government flirts with both media reform and crackdown 

Jed Yoong, ASIA SENTINEL

Haris Ibrahim walked across Kuala Lumpur’s Merdeka Square on a clear night and stopped at a stage in front of the Moroccan-style Sultan Abdul Samad building. The 49-year-old lawyer, who also runs the blog The People’s Parliament, took out a candle and lit it in solidarity with the first Malaysian blogger to be charged for sedition, Raja Petra Kamarudin of the Web site Malaysia Today.

That was a mistake. The district police chief walked up to him and asked, "What are you doing here?" He replied, "Holding a candle." When the police chief told him to leave, Haris demanded to know why. In the end, Haris was told that he was under arrest and escorted to the police station for questioning, later to be released.

Haris is the latest to face a brush with the law as the Malaysian government, accustomed to a captive mainstream media owned by compliant allies and political parties, grows increasingly irritated with dissent. Earlier this week, R Nadeswaran, deputy editor of the independent newspaper the Sun, and his colleague, Terence Fernandez, were questioned by the police for an article that alleged that RM9.9 million (US$2.9 million) was illegally transferred out of the Selangor state executive councilors' wives association by the wife of the previous chief minister, Mohammad Khir Toyo.

Raja Petra, however, whose blog sometimes gets a million hits a day, is by far the most publicized. He was charged with seeking to overthrow the government on Tuesday after police raided his home and confiscated his laptop and other computer equipment. He was questioned at the Commercial Crimes Investigation headquarters over an inflammatory article carried on Malaysia Today that sought to implicate Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak and his wife in the murder of Mongolian translator Altantuya Shaariibuu in October 2006. Defiant, Raja Petra initially refused to post bail and chose jail till the court hearing set for October. He then refused to see his wife and went on a hunger strike that was later abandoned.

Raja Petra's arrest has sparked a wave of public sympathy and solidarity among bloggers. A large crowd, including prominent opposition politicians like Lim Kit Siang of the Democratic Action Party and Wan Azizah of the People's Justice Party, showed up in court. On Wednesday, supporters gathered outside the jail located on the fringe of Kuala Lumpur. The following day, about 50 bloggers and friends who sought to hold the candlelight vigil were stopped by police who had condoned off the main entrances to Merdeka Square. About 100 policemen guarded the empty square. Haris and two others were detained briefly and subsequently released.

written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 16:47:49
How to handle? easy Leave them alone
written by slash n burn, May 12, 2008 16:58:07
As long as the presenter of TV1,TV2,TV3,RADIO RTM etc. speaks bloggers will give you .
written by aryn, May 12, 2008 16:59:26
Can't beat them, join them lah!
written by SamYap, May 12, 2008 17:06:31
What is there to handle?
What we say here is nothing man! Wait till you hear the tok in the kopitiams and the mamak stalls - worse things have been said.

If you let us tok , you also learn mah!

Some of the tok Kings are actually very clever and very good, but shy to be politicians only. Tell you ah, that day, one makcik said, "dia (pointing at an UMNO man walking away from her stall) sangat kaya, tapi duit nya busuk!"

The people around her sniggered and some laughed.

Tok only mah! Susah lah, becoz if tok cannot, then all also masuk jail.

Lingam should have said he tok. But the silly man did not, otherwise he ok today!
written by my2cents, May 12, 2008 17:07:35
The most effective way to beat bloggers is to use a stick. Now, if some enterprising UMNO/BN person can come up with a CyberStick, this would not only help the goverment but could also make him some money. He could get capital backup under the NEP.

Have an enterprising day won't you!
written by ilovepakatan, May 12, 2008 17:08:59
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Source: http://bolehjokes.********.com/
written by kuccat88, May 12, 2008 17:11:11
The way I see our present situation with our PM and his cabinet now is he in in "panic mode" hence he is not thinking straight and in a rational way hence using the wrong act to charge bloggers. Bloggers are NOT monkeys as stated by BN leaders - Bloggers are Homo Sapian of the Highest level
written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 17:12:05
Like George Bush say, Either you are with us or you are with the terrorist.So the choice is yours, dogs.Make your choice.All bloggers are friendly,peaceful,educated people. It's only that they they are haress by the dogs then they have to defend.
written by Milo, May 12, 2008 17:20:04
Bloggers can only give opinions, which may or may not be true. However, they gain credibility when the actions of the government keeps proving their opinion So, these bloggers' opinions become truths. To deal with the opinions of the bloggers is easy as ABC.

Stay coruption-free and care more for the people, and these opinions will swing
written by disgruntled, May 12, 2008 17:27:47
Lets be realistic, It is the idiots from the BN that stir up the rakyat to despise them. They are fools clamouring on to the last lifeline . Let the people decide how much longer they want to stay in power.
written by chanatak, May 12, 2008 17:29:37
How to handle? Siiimmmmple.

1) Free the mainstream media from all political controls.
2) Bar political parties and their proxies from controlling any news media organization
3) Allow free flow of truthful information and commentaries
4) stop threatening people with the ISA and OSA.

When the news media can be trusted, the blogs will have all the healthy competition it needs. In the meantime, we trust the blogs - not NST, not Star, not Nanyang, not TV3 or any tv station for that matter.

written by HHKim, May 12, 2008 17:39:31
AAB is asking his ministers to show the raayat. Is he still tidur or what? Such a simple task is becoming very complex. I believe we the humble Malaysian need not teach him how to rectify the image, right?

Kalau macam ini, it spells the doom of the nation if he continues to lead the country with this type of mentality.
written by simply_say, May 12, 2008 17:44:25
"You can't separate peace from freedom because no one can be at peace unless he has his freedom." - Malcolm X 1925-1965, American Black Leader, Activist

Give bloggers the freedom then our country will be peaceful

Easily insert quotes into your writings at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by micon02, May 12, 2008 17:56:13
PDRM
http://img174.imageshack.us/im...474d0.jpg
written by densemy, May 12, 2008 17:59:04
Seems the Malaysian Police are very good at asking questions but not so hot on answering the simplest of questions

But then Malaysians love to tell each other what to do and not so hot when the boot is on the other foot
written by SocratesI, May 12, 2008 18:12:49
While we are talking about blogging, the police in Malaysia seems to be a pretty versatile lot, and inventive, too, arresting a single person for no reason besides lighting a candle alone ?? Since when is that a crime ?? And when were police involved in construction ?? Why were police helping Grand Saga build ? The Federal Govt. have no jurisidction here, and yet the ever-ready-to-lick-my-political-master's-boots police lapdogs were there firing water cannons and tear gas into the crowd who are seeking to enforce State Law by demolishing the barricade !

These police are nothing more than thugs in uniform who only bray to the tune of the Barisan Najis !! Shameful bunch of clowns .. I guess going after bloggers is much safer than going after criminals, the cowards these police are !!

written by macaufan, May 12, 2008 18:41:00
i've boikot MSM loooooooong time olidi ! but just case i was bump on to TV/paper accidentally... i'l watch/read d TV/paper but with a very different mind of wat i watched/read ! d news was reported ready make laugh & chinese word said 'make me vomit blood'. MSM only report lies ! nothing else but only lies ! don u guys working in MSM feel ashame of urself?
written by Thesinner, May 12, 2008 18:46:09
If only the taxi drivers know how to do Blogging here..the regular bloggers are nowhere to come near them!! You don't beleive me take a cab and ask the driver "What do you think of our PM or DPM?" If you're lucky you might not even pay the fare! To me in a way they are the bloggers too. It's so hard for them to get the taxi permits while the ones who do not drive taxi could easily get, not one or two or three..so you really want to handle bloggers? please learn how to handle the taxi drivers first before you take a step further.
written by Dominic, May 12, 2008 19:41:19
Of late, nothing seems to be right ! Looks like Malaysia is suffering from `mid-life` crisis after more than 50 years under UMNO goons . The nation is under sieged by its very own gov`t . I hope the 30 Barisan MPs from Sabah can quicken their pace and does everybody a big favour. Otherwise we wouldnt know what they would do next ?
written by johanssm, May 12, 2008 21:08:57
Most of what was presented by the bloggers were correct.
As a matter of fact bloggers gave numerous ideas , feedback , criticism and of course exposing the government weaknesses and corrupted practices that was well shielded and hidden from the public and press.
Multiple attempts by government were made to shield those involves in corruptions and abuse of power , as well as hiding loop sided governmental contracts and the way it was awarded.
A responsible government is to manage the country for the peope, not a government which every week without fail advocates bumi this and bumi that .Only a weak minded government will rules with racist minded policies and hides the racist agenda as "social contract".

Bloggers , who are they and why are they the bloggers doing just that?
Who are they is not important .They can be anyone and anywhere.
Why are they doing this is important , and we all know people wont be wasting time writing nonsense . Just like people commenting in here , if we feels its not important , we wont bothers to comment or logs in.
Government should welcome bloggers.
As no matter how , bloggers are here to stay .
Each of us have a role to play . Our role is not to bring down good government or people.
The government really need helps and we the bloggers community is /are helping the government.
But they wont listen and they dont care.Government sees bloggers as communist and cyber terrorist. After 50th "merdeka" anniversary , Malaysia is still in a state of emergency.
Bloggers did no wrong , how can we be wrong if theres nothing wrong to starts with .
umno and bn are now pointing fingers looking for scapegoats , giving excuses and restless if as theres red ants in their pants.
Those are clear signs of a corrupted and empty air headed government.

But then , RPK already said it out loud.
That this time is war.
Lets give them war .
written by greenarrow, May 12, 2008 21:13:13
The Regime Authority threw a few Bloggers into dungeon..tomorrow another few hundred more Bloggers will be born

Bloggers are ' Diligent Breed '...will work & sweat under the scourging sun...under the skin shivering Rainstorm..to prepare a Huge Grave for BarisaN NASIONAL

Their Selfless effort & Big Sacrifices shall go into the History of MALAYSIA Politics

Bloggers are an ' ARMY of UNDERTAKERS '...they shall never perished !!!

-GreenArrow writes ( PANAH HIJAU )
written by omarkhayyam, May 12, 2008 21:20:56
light candle also get questioned smilies/smiley.gif

mayb shud jus shaft candle in ass n walk around quitely ...

written by Toyolbuster, May 12, 2008 23:22:05
"He then refused to see his wife and went on a hunger strike that was later abandoned."
Err excuse me Jed, trying to avoid getting poisoned and going on a hunger strike are 2 different things and far from being the same. Try to be more accurate when reporting cos it is an offense to go on a hunger strike. Or are you trying to stir up something here.
written by teohpg, May 13, 2008 00:06:27
BULETIN UTAMA - TV3.

1.Pembaca berita muka masam
2.Masa Berita panjang, tapi tak berisi langsung
3.Kalau ada isi, pun isi UMNO
4.Kalau nasib baik ada berita pembangkang, jangan lah harap berita baik
5.MAS, PETRONAS penaja utama berita ini, taktik "Cronies spending money on Cronies"
6...kalau nak saya teruskan...3 hari 600ratus muka surat tak habis saya nak kutuk! biarlah saya rehat...