Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Show your humanity, Mr PM

Show your humanity, Mr PM PDF Print
Monday, 12 May 2008 09:50

It has been brought to Aliran’s attention that ISA detainee and Hindraf adviser P Uthayakumar has suffered a mild heart attack while under detention in Kamunting.

We are further informed that Uthayakumar underwent an ECG test last Monday at the Taiping Hospital and was told that it was necessary for him to be referred to the National Heart Institute (IJN) for further tests.

We understand that there was no follow-up to this recommendation and that Uthayakumar had been sent back to Kamunting without any indication whether he would be allowed further treatment at IJN.

What is disturbing is the fact that the anxious family's appeals to the Prime Minister’s office and to the Home Minister that he be sent to IJN for treatment have been totally ignored. There was not even the courtesy of  a reply.

In matters concerning heart disease, things can easily go wrong and can take a turn for the worse suddenly and unexpectedly. As a human being, Uthayakumar should not be put to this unnecessary risk especially when IJN is so far away from Taiping if something were to happen to his heart in the middle of the night.  

Aliran, on behalf of civil society, would like to appeal to the Prime Minister to show that there is compassion and humanity in his administration and act in a humane manner by instructing that Uthayakumar be referred to IJN.

P Ramakrishnan
President

Comments (45)Add Comment
written by batsman, May 12, 2008 09:55:49
If Uthayakumar dies, AAB will be guilty of murder. This judgement will be sealed in stone throughout Malaysia's history.
agree 174
written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 09:56:29
Please release them, for Godsake.Do you hear me clear.
written by batsman, May 12, 2008 09:58:17
Why are you appealing to the man who put Uthayakumar in danger in the first place? If he had any humanity he would not have acted as he did. You are wasting your time and putting your trust in the wrong man.
written by grant, May 12, 2008 09:58:31
AAB will be accessory to murder...

Anyways, AAB, u are 1 cold hearted mutha farker.. If that was ur father or son and today the ruling party was pakatan rakyat, u will go on ur knees and beg like a dog in front of Anwar..

The Indians and everyone in Msia will never forget u.. As Bapa Kemerosotan Malaysia.
written by Ken Liew, May 12, 2008 10:00:51
He may not show humanity... but he can surely show you DEVILity......

sleeping in daylight, active at night...... yup, as devil as he is.
written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 10:02:07
Careful, indian tsunami is on the way.The black wave will engulf the entire penisula
written by cillipepper, May 12, 2008 10:08:10
Dear Habib,

Please accord proper medical treatment to the sick ISA detainee
to redeem yourself.
written by smeagrooo, May 12, 2008 10:12:50
has aab been kept in the dark as to the condition of P.Uthaya? Even Saddam Hussein was given proper medical care.

TNS!
written by apasalahku, May 12, 2008 10:18:02
Prolongation of poorly controlled diabetes with a worrisome ECG...i think Mr Uthaya and family better prepare for his martyrdom.
written by sydput, May 12, 2008 10:21:26
those detained will eventually get treatment for their sickness, paid for by the people through the govenrment. That benefit is not given to the millions of so called free citizens of this nation who are enslaved in debt or is unlucky to have had sick children.
written by maniwannan_subramaniam, May 12, 2008 10:24:12
This is what UMNO's ketuanan melayu is all about.......discrminate other races n passing hurting comments about other races are a normal thing but when other races talk out it...sedition.....i hateu AAB....if there is a truth that there is GOD, you will answer for all you are doing on earth itself and not later in akhirat....u r really a disgrace to the country and malaysians pak lah....never seen a prime minister like u who is so racist just like ur other UMNOPUTRAS
written by ralverd, May 12, 2008 10:24:12
Detaining people who protested against the ISA was a wrong move, my beloved PM. Letting someone die during the ISA detention is worse. Please, use your brain. Remember, you have one too.

Read more at my site : http://www.ralverd.com
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 12, 2008 10:26:59
If Uthay dies we'll go for his throat.
written by Counterpointer, May 12, 2008 10:42:42
BADawi, if anything bad happens to P Uthayakumar, these stains on your hands aren't ever gonna wash off.

written by Concerned_Citizen, May 12, 2008 10:48:43
What kind of species is our PM? That's life, a precious entitiy of the earth. Pls think if you are placed in the place of this rakyat's hero!

Think more than twice! Don't just enjoy your life all the time as you have to paid more than twice when time comes!
written by justice4all, May 12, 2008 10:51:44
What humanity are we talking about?? This is the same man who did not even have the decency to say a single word of condolence to Altantuya's father other than a curt "Hello, how are you?." This is also the same man who did not have a shred of decency to even reply to letters from the Mongolian Government. This is the man who has the arrogance to say "Saya pantang di cabar". This is the same man who refused to accept a gift of flowers from a child. This man does not even know the meaning of humanity. He will not show any humanity because his arrogance, ego and pride are too big for him to be humble. I feel ashamed that this man is the Prime Minister of my country.
written by Saint, May 12, 2008 11:13:33
With a dead Uthayakumar, UMNO can never swing back the Indian votes for BN and the incident will haunt the nation for many years. UMNO is loosing all political strategy.
written by Don Corleone, May 12, 2008 11:29:31
Islam Hadhari - one of my friends here say it means "Ada Had, Ada Hari" and I can't agree with him more. It means that a small group of UMNOputras can justify their right to steal public money, while the vast majority can do nothing but whinge about the injustices.

We will not forget easily - in another 3 years, all the UMNOputras will be kicked out and will have to seek refuge in Perth or London.
written by Fernz, May 12, 2008 11:37:41
I predict that the only way this man will leave the ISA detention centre is in a coffin. He will not last the detention. He can probably die anytime now, having suffered a "mild" heart attack (no heart attack is ever mild since every attack damages the heart). Besides, he's being denied the right medication and hospital care, according to reports.

They probably think that he's bluffing.

They will only believe him when he's dead.
written by kuccat88, May 12, 2008 12:01:00
Mr Prime Minister Please take note if anything happens to our Brothers of Justice in ISA
written by goldmine, May 12, 2008 12:06:12
What kind of Islamic country are we? There is no islamic in ISA, it's worst than hell. Even God will do judgement on us in afterlife. Allah will condemn those who created this Act, they are not human but demons with such dark black filthy hearts.
written by HeeHaw, May 12, 2008 12:08:17
I suppose I'm not the only one realizing that Badawi is not only not "Mr Clean", he's also not the stupid fellow he seems to be. From the way he's launched a twisted and vicious attack on Karpal using "facts" an idiot would find pathetic, to the way he uses the Police to do his political thuggery...these are acts of an Evil man, willing to go to any lengths to further his own interests. Do you really expect him to care for an ISA detainee?

Malaysia must truly be a cursed country. After 22 years of Mahatir The Dictator, we now have Badawi The Evil, and then it'll be The C4 Shit's turn to hit the fan smilies/sad.gif
written by asianguy, May 12, 2008 12:11:26
Doesn't Islam teach Muslims about the value of life? Is an Indian's life any less than a Malay's life?

Where is justice? In fact, where is God? smilies/cry.gif

Anwar, please take over soon - one unnecessary death is one death too many.
written by beijing, May 12, 2008 12:22:32
No matter who we call, no matter how we demonstrate, no matter how many live have been treated in ISA detention but until today what we see is …hopeless of release.
For those who organize the rally or demonstrations please put up the date and location. I will joint you all to wipe off the BN government policy and system.
written by miwaki, May 12, 2008 12:30:57
Will the people of Kepala Batas stand up and tell your MP to release Mr Uthayakumar now or you prefer Anwar Ibrahim,the PM-in-waiting to do it for us.
written by murthy3372, May 12, 2008 12:43:49
abdullah ahmad
If anything happens to P.Uthayakumar,then you will have to face the full scale wrath of MAKKAL SAKTHI !!! You hear !!!
written by cheekhiaw, May 12, 2008 12:44:06
The UMNO people may put Uthayakumar in jail for no reason.

But that is no reason for the jailors in Kamunting to put Uthayakumar's life at risk by denying him his right to medical care.

That is more inhumane than ISA!

As such the names, faces and other personal details of the chief wardens of Kamunting should be posted somewhere for all Malaysians to know, and to hold accountable in whatever way people deem appropriate.
written by Florance, May 12, 2008 12:57:08
Don't wait for a disaster to happen before making a decision.What is wrong in letting him get a medical treatment? He is not asking for your help or free treatment from you and your team members. Be merciful and fear God for heaven sake. smilies/angry.gif
written by tee, May 12, 2008 13:25:44
what humanity you guys want from him, he is greater than God. Most impotant is he gets to keep his PM post, power crazy and don't know anything in meeting and how to run the country. anyway i really don't see there's UMNO or BN on the next election, finally singke handedly bodowi will make history that under UMNO don't exist anymore.
written by zul4kulim, May 12, 2008 13:45:25
Even halal food forum is insensitive to bosnians!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...in-kl.html
written by islandjoe, May 12, 2008 14:16:21
Allow me to indulge in what could be FICTION:

Could it be that they are hoping to put so much stress on him and hope that he dies? BN needs a drastic event to change the political landscape and bring it back under their control. If you have been watching the press since the GE, the government has been probing along a long frontline trying to press for a reaction across a variety of issues looking for a weaks spot - examples being: UMNO protest in Penang, Comments by MCA questioning NEP and islamic state, sedition charges, comments by UMNO MPs that minorities should not question the NEP, trying to shut down the Indian newspaper, and so forth. This is all designed to flame public anger slowly while looking for a big bang.

What they need now is something to escalate public anger in a grand scale. Knowing that Hindraf is already a bold movement unafraid to protest, they will target this movement. What better than to detain Mr. Uthayakumar knowing of his health problems. This would be perfect:

- be negligent in caring for him and he dies of natural causes. The public will blame the government but they can hide behind natural causes knowing full well they have not helped him.

This will fuel the fires of Hindraf to protest at further injustice. Then at the protest, the FRU will be the aggressor and blame any unrest on Hindraf.

From then onwards, we are back under MORE draconian laws; and they are back in control. This is how they will try and win back any moderates (does this ring a bell? ).
.....fear is their greatest weapon.

BN: You want to create fear? Why don't you fly a plane into the twin towers and blame Hindraf? Oh..I forgot...it's been done before. Oh well, I'm sure you have other ideas!
written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 14:51:08
"I have killed 6 people before!" - Najib's bodyguard in the Altantuya murder.

Who knows how many Badawi had erased during his rise in UMNO?

What is another 3rd class Malaysian, a low caste with dark skin?
written by matt3238, May 12, 2008 15:29:46
We don't want a COLD BLOODED Government. Time to change now.... Pakatan Rakyat, please act fast to save many life under our present COLD BLOODED Government.
written by Kathy, May 12, 2008 16:13:09
This makes our govt. no better than the administration that keeps Guantanamo open!
written by Milo, May 12, 2008 16:32:48
If you persist in inhuman deeds, you soon cease to be a human being.
written by farah, May 12, 2008 16:49:51
FOR UMNO BN RULLINGS ETHNICS INDIANS 'D'T EXIST' IN THEIR THEORY.

WHY? THIRD CLASS CITIZENS ISN'T IT?

UMNO BN YOU MAY 'MARGINALIZED' THE WHOLE MALAYSIAN INDIANS IN EVERY ESPECT OF WEALTH, FINANCIAL, EDUCATION AND WELFARE. BUT YOU C'T GO AFTER THE REST OF THE INDIAN WORLDWIDE AND THEIR 'POPULARITY'.

INDIAN ARE ALREADY ROBBED OFF 'THEIR EDUCATION'THE FIRST BASIC STEP. ISA THE EDUCATED WOULD BE BIG LOSS TO THE INDIANS.

MORON WITH BIG DEAF EARS! DO YOU HEAR?
written by macaufan, May 12, 2008 19:04:41
Yesterday Bodohwi said "Show to d rakyat that Umno leader is not arrogant & corrupt"
PM really practise Islam Hadhari "cakap tak serupa bikin"
look at:
- BMC Vs Grand Saga Hiway, anjing2 garang polis 'berpesta' dgn MP & rakyat menggunakan tear gas BOM, chemical water canon, tangkap, lokap, tendang & pukul !
- ISA detainees HINDRAF hero-5 !
- Karpal Singh dicharge, wat abt umno derhaka sultan/raja isu MB Trenganu & Perlis? MSM, AG & polis diam aje.
- RPK dicharge, wat abt Kerismudin & Najis said "wash d keris with cina blood?" MSM, polis & AG diam aje !
- x-CM melaka rogol gadis melayu bawah umur? LGE dipenjara & d girl masuk rehab ctr ! Tambi Cik still keeping his Tan Sri ship & is GABEM president !
- MM money laundering multi million in Australia, he still keeping his Tan Sri ship & is a minister now !

PM pls explain to d nation, is this not consider Arrogant & corrupt? wat should we call it? smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by bexe, May 12, 2008 19:08:58
Where is DSAI or PR in all this? Why the silence?
Why the silence on all the accusations of sedition?

We need your leadership to stop these abuses.
written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2008 19:12:16
Uthayakumar is diabetic with a higher risk of heart attack. You have to take it seriously as they have a significantly reduced natural lifespan if the diabetes is not monitored well. If the prison authorities fail to act on medical advice and balance it against risk of escape, then they are acting negligently. If Uthayakumar dies as a result, then the prison authority and the state should be sued. A commission should also be established to impose recommendations to prevent similar episodes. Heads may need to roll for the debacle to regain public confidence as this is the sort of act which you know about and choose to ignore.
written by omarkhayyam, May 12, 2008 19:59:31
Uthayakumar and the rest of the ISA detainess are languishing in prison and this ******* is talking about "showing humanity"

this country is getting raped from all corners and he has time to cut ribbons and put on a stupid smile for newspaper coverage

PR .... time to strike

written by educationist, May 12, 2008 21:15:26
He partied in Australia while the rakyat in Johore 'menderita kerana banjir'
So, to appeal to his humanity is a far shot.
If he has any semblance of it, Uthayakumar will have been released earlier.
But such is the ISA, the tyrant has to be appeased.
written by binarytan, May 12, 2008 22:52:34
AAB is not much different from his successor, the suspect for C4.

Release him or your sin will not be forgotten, may be will haunt you for your entire life. Is that Sedition to you? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by sarawakian, May 13, 2008 00:50:30
Badawi cannot let the ISA detainees out. he hates being called Flip-Flop PM. by letting them out, he would put himself into a bad position. you're talking to a dead-end with Badawi.
written by goldmine, May 13, 2008 15:15:11
I hope PKR can form a new government sooner, so they will abolish this stupid ISA.

Visit http://pro-adsense.********.com for non-political news.
written by Bluechip, May 16, 2008 11:33:47
Show humanity when general election just around the corner .