When banks unload their stinking ‘toxic waste’ better take cover PDF Print
Monday, 12 May 2008 09:34

The Banking Crisis Is Not Over. Why?
Bear Stearns Rescue Has Caused More Problems For Fed and Bernanke

Two public announcements from different ends of the world caught my attention. This is the smoking gun that the banking crisis is far from over. In fact, it may get worse, much worse. Sorry to have to spoilt your weekend.

But truth must be told! It is starting to hurt badly and the symptoms have finally emerged in Malaysia.

First Announcement

On the 6th May 2008, the Sun newspaper reported that a local bank in Malaysia announced that it “plans to dispose RM1.5 billion of its non-performing corporate and business loans that involve 200 accounts … This amount is part of the legally claimable loans of RM12.9 billion”

The Group Chief Executive, Datuk Nazir Razak said, “We will only sell the loans if we can get the right price. Under the present difficult international capital market environment we may or may not get the right price.”

It was also reported that the bank hopes that a sharp improvement in consumer banking would help offset a possible slowdown in investment banking and treasury this year. But credit card debts are mounting and cardholders are taking longer time to pay.

This bank must be daydreaming that international hedge fund investors etc. will buy up these loans, repackage them and sell them off to be traded in the now collapsed “off-balance sheet, and over-the-counter markets.” That market died and was buried in 2007!

Since 2007, I have been warning all of you that this would happen in Malaysia and that the financial authorities are covering up this mess. But their handi-work had no impact. It did not work. The hoped-for-recovery in the USA and Europe from the banking crisis (which may have helped) did not materialize and will not materialize in anytime soon. Ouch!!!!!!!!!!!!

Second Announcement

Bloomberg on the 9th May 2008 reported that the CEO of Citigroup Vikram Pandit “plans to get rid of about US$400 billion of assets”. Please don’t get deluded by the expression “assets”. In banking jargon, “assets” in this context refers to lousy stinking loans with dubious mortgages.

What Citigroup is trying to do is no different from what the local bank is trying but on a much larger scale, as Citigroup is the largest banking group in the world prior to the collapse of the global banking system in 2007. The bank, since the beginning of the credit crisis has officially written off some US$40 billion and has reported a first quarter loss for 2008 amounting to US$5.1 billion, following the 4th quarter loss in 2007 amounting to US$10 billion.

Vikram Pandit has basically told the world that major surgery is needed for Citigroup if the bank is to survive as a smaller entity. If it does survive, it will no longer be the biggest global bank, a position it held for close to a decade.

The Shit Has Hit the Ceiling Fan

Both banks have a common problem. No one is interested in taking up these stinking lousy toxic wastes. But, both of these banks are pre-empting a significant rescue and wants to be the first in the queue for substantial bailouts from their respective central banks.

In so far as the local bank is concerned, this is nothing new. It has almost become a habit i.e. to be rescued time after time by the central bank of Malaysia (Bank Negara) using taxpayers’ monies!

In so far as Citigroup, this will be a whole new ball game. Why?

In my previous articles, I drew your attention that the Fed has allowed commercial banks, investment banks etc. to first use their toxic wastes as security for over-night loans at the discount window to overcome the liquidity problem. When that failed to stimulate inter-bank lending, the Fed then adopted the unprecedented measure of allowing these banks and financial institutions to exchange their worthless toxic wastes (valued at par) for Fed’s treasury bonds so that they can be used in turn as security for inter-bank borrowings.

This has brought some calm to the financial markets. And the Bank of England has recently announced that it will also adopt similar measures (£50 billion will made available to distressed British Banks).

But, it is just not working.

And Citigroup’s announcement is proof of this failure. The shedding of US$400 billion of “assets” is a mind-boggling figure. This is just one global bank.

When Bear Stearns was rescued through the back door via the acquisition by JP Morgan Chase with a US$30 billion hand-out by the Fed, this set a dangerous precedent. Both Bernanke and the Chancellor of the Exchequer (UK) have announced that no banks will be allowed to fail!

The Middle East sovereign funds are not buying these US$400 billion toxic wastes. In fact, after their initial “sucker investments” in 2007, they have since discovered that they were “invited” not to a party for the rich and famous but a sink-hole full of shit. And they are demanding drastic action from Vikram Pandit or else …..!

So the US$400 billion question in the case of Citigroup and the RM12.9 billion question in the case of the Malaysian bank is – WHO HAS THAT KIND OF MONEY AND IS WILLING TO DOLE IT OUT?

You can bet your bottom dollar, it would not be private money from Wall Street or any other street.

As I have said in my previous articles, when it comes to profits, capitalistic principles apply to ensure that Wall Street and global bankers will reap the rewards. But when it comes to dealing with massive losses, socialism applies and public monies will be used for bail-outs!

It is obvious that only Central Banks (and their printing machines) have the means and willingness (after due threats from the financial mafias) to come out with the paper money!

Bernanke’s Dilemma

As stated in the foregoing paragraphs, the Fed had exchanged toxic wastes from banks for its triple A rated treasury assets to provide liquidity to the financial markets. It was estimated that the value of the exchange was about US$400 billion representing 50% of the total value of Fed’s treasury assets.

So, is the Fed going to do a similar swap for Citigroup’s US$400 billion toxic wastes with the balance of its treasury assets? Not likely! Can you imagine the Fed having as its assets, toxic waste - US$800 billion worth of it?   

Is the Fed going to start the printing press to buy up these toxic wastes?

Most probably, as it has no other choice but, this will start an avalanche of similar demands from other banks as what is good for Citigroup should also be applicable to them. The amount demanded will be in the US$ Trillions!

If Fed has only a balance of US$400 billion of triple A assets, it will be obvious to all and sundry that any such rescue must of necessity be conducted via the printing press – toilet papers issued to purchase stinking lousy shit – CDOs, CLOs, MBAs etc..

The emperor is naked. He has no clothes!

The dollar will collapse. When this happens, what do you think the Japanese and the Chinese will do when they have in their hands US$ trillions worth of toilet papers?

What will Malaysia do in the circumstances?

Why The Oil Trade Will No Longer Be Denominated in US$ In The Near Future

Goldman Sachs has recently announced that oil will hit US$200 a barrel. This is a self-serving forecast. Goldman Sachs knows that the only way, and a slim chance at that, for the US$ to survive as a “trading currency” (not even a reserve currency) is for an artificial demand for the US$.

And so long AS THE OIL IS TRADED IN US$, there will be a demand for dollars and the dollar will appreciate in tandem with the increase in price for crude oil.

Oil importing countries will cry murder! They will have to exchange their hard earned national currencies for toilet papers to buy a product whose price has been artificially jacked up by international traders (not OPEC, and nothing to do with shortages) working in conjunction with the big global oil companies.

Sooner or later, these oil importing countries will refuse to trade oil in dollars!

They have no choice, purely from a domestic economic point of view.

The Double Whammy

Managing a country’s finances is not unlike that of balancing a family’s budget, save this difference. When a family runs out of money, it has either to work harder to get additional revenue or borrow. In the case of a country, it can also borrow, get additional revenue from more exports (work harder) or print money.

The export market is a very competitive market. Price differential is a critical factor. Therefore, a country that depends on exports would want a cheaper currency so that its exports are “cheaper” to that of its competitors.

To do that, when its currency is peg to the US$, it invariably prints more local currency to buy dollars to maintain the exchange peg. For if the dollar depreciates then the local currency must appreciate in tandem unless the central bank intervenes as stated above. The net result is “imported inflation” because imports will cost more, because of the “forced devaluation of the local currency”. In layman’s terms, we need more ringgit to buy the same amount of imported cars, shoes, clothes, petrol, food etc..

And when the crude price shoots to US$200 as forecasted by Goldman Sachs, when previously it was only US$80 or less, where are we going to get the additional dollars to import the crude, if exports revenue remains the same or even worse, declined?

Malaysia has just announced that our first quarter exports for 2008 have dropped because of the weakness of the US market, our main export market. Our currency has appreciated somewhat vis-a-vis the dollar. Hence, our exports will cost more to our buyers.

The only solution is to print more money to depreciate our currency, thereby making our exports cheaper. This will cause further inflation and a drastic increase in the cost of living for our local folks. Hedge fund vultures will be waiting to attack our currency as in 1997 when we become weak and vulnerable.

This is the scenario that is staring at all countries which are trading oil in US$ and are export dependent.

As stated in my last article, we are heading towards stormy seas and uncharted waters.

Matthias Chang
Comments (30)Add Comment
written by krising1, May 12, 2008 09:36:52
Mathias, good morning.

Are you ready to give up your US dollars for toilet paper?
written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 09:47:27
don't pay attention to them.
written by Chaptokam, May 12, 2008 09:49:13
Mathias, good morning.

You again , Aiyooooh , pls lah don't keep on painting a bleak picture for us , it does not brighten up our day , Matthias it won't come so soon lah , but I will give you my prediction year 2012 , interested ?? so today no Matthias bashing I am a practising Buddhist so early , early morning no condemation of people but I wonder how many people believe in what you say ....
written by FFT, May 12, 2008 09:57:51
written by Ben, May 12, 2008 09:59:20
You again?

Digress a bit, just came from previous article ppl telling Che Det to shut up. At first, I thought they disrespect him but later realised that the underlying frustration is that Che Det had been their hero for the longest time. Now to see him fumbling, selective memory loss and fishing for sympathy, they just wish he just keep quiet and retire gracefully. Afterall, there isn't much for him to do now. The rot will soon be amputated. With that part properly cleaned up, hopefully our grandchildren will read of him as the man who implemented mega projects and launched Malaysia into international recognition. May God's peace be with you.
written by cble, May 12, 2008 10:08:39
Apa yang hendak diberitakan oleh Mathias ialah hanya TDM atau NAJIB yang dapat menagani permasalahan ini. Bukan begitu Mathias?
written by ghondoruwo, May 12, 2008 10:23:36
Kung Kang!!! Kung Kang!!! That how you sounded in my ears. From day one you keep warning us about his financial crisis things (although you just picked and reproduced them). Like you, we also can read and we have access to the internet. We do not want a news rerun.
written by Hope4all, May 12, 2008 11:30:19
The coming economic crisis is real. It's just a question of how we are able to ride this wave.

Do we want a govt who continues to be corrupt while bailing out their cronies in hard times, leaving the rakyat suffer? Do we want a govt where most jabatan kerajaan will get a bigger share of these subsidies without flowing to the ultimate needs of the rakyat?

Do we want a govt who continues to champion racial divisiveness instead of progressing the country as a nation to weather such economic storms so that we come out at the better end once the storm is over?

Do we want our current corrupt BN govt to continue to strangle to true potential growth of its citizens?
written by Saint, May 12, 2008 11:34:17
Anyone, which is the most stable bank in this country?
If Maybank collapses, Malaysia will go down with it.
Not a good picture painted by Matthias Chang.
written by cheekhiaw, May 12, 2008 11:50:09
CHE DETS AT WORK

Only fools would ignore or think the article is entirely hogwash simply because the writer was formerly associated with Mahathir.

Of course, the writer did not say is that the practice of over printing cheap money is nothing new and had been around since the start of the use of paper money hundreds of years ago. Their 'Islamic' brethrens in Persia 700 years ago did the same (after copying it from the Chinese)

In the case of Malaysia, one can see the start of this 'print your way to riches' formula in the early 80's during the reign of his former master.

The US started theirs in the early 70s when they abrogated their commitment to the gold standard (Bretton Woods agreement).

When that happened, the more responsible leaders of Malaysia then did not 'print along' and the Ringgit actually appreciated against the USD.

That was until a child racist by the name of Che Det came to power. From the early 80s onward, the Ringgit progressively went down in value even against the USD which was itself going down steadily in value.

That is also why the Ringgit went from par to the Sing Dollar to 2.3 today.

Only that today, the advisor of that half-child half-devil PM may be trying to pretend that this whole 'screw your people and print your way to riches' scheme is something new.

Today, we are merely entering the worst of the period of consequences of that Che Det's legacy...

written by chin, May 12, 2008 11:59:56
Dear Matthias,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I have the same feeling about the subject.

Malaysia is depreciating its currency to boost export, and the common folks will suffer while the these export based industries benefit. Our government is still encouraging export based industries that depend heavily on foreign labor while doing little to develop local technology.

As a result, the government refuses a minimum wage policy and artificially impoverish the lower income group and lower the living standard of Malaysian in general as the price of everything increases.

Our country needs to encourage industries that meet internal consumption. Develop local talent and local technology. Modernize our agricultural industries, control imports (and I don't mean feeding more APs to cronies)

We are a wealthy nation, lets make proper use of our resources and kick this incompetent and corrupt government out.
written by CitizenBodohland, May 12, 2008 12:23:29
Orang yang kaya daripada NPL adalah orang yang buat loan, iaitu kroni-kroni yang telah mentransaksikan wang pinjaman tersebut atas dasar pembayaran kepada syarikat-syarikat lain (syarikat adik, kakak, kawan) bagi sesuatu kerja yang entah wujud ke tidak. Kemudian buat deklarasi syarikat bankrap.

Now... Everyone can fly (on his kawan punya (own) personal jet).
written by goman2k3, May 12, 2008 14:19:38
Nazir Razak might have a 1.5 billion problem and yes, Citi is trying to reduce it bad assets of 400 B. The US GDP is 13 trillion.!! The financial world is having a big problem but the worst is over. It might take another couple of years before things can get better.
For Malaysia it is not the 1.5 billion but how do we compete with the rest of the world and neighbouring countries. We are behind Singapore and Thailand now. Soon Indonesia may be ahead of us.
written by cheekhiaw, May 12, 2008 15:17:30
Hah, those other countries may yet find that they have some social contracts with Malaysia that they don't know of!

written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 15:22:23
One thing is clear - Big time currency speculators and international traders are benefitting from this turmoil while our incompetent BN government are at loss at how to salvage the economy.

Malaysians contunue to work harder and for longer hours than any other workforce in the world but their salaries just never go up in spite of rising inflation. This is because the only lesson our economic advisors learnt at Oxford between naps is that if the poor workforce gets a 10 percent increase in salaries, inflation will soar, foreign investors will flee and the economy will take a nose dive.

Meanwhile, the tiny little discarded island state of Singapore somehow manages to raise salaries every year, grow the GDP attract more FDI, create new jobs, build efficient and cost effective Mass Rail Systems throughout the island and lower the crime rate.

Singapore's continued success and achievements are a constant reminder of the sheer incompetence and ineptitude of the ruling UMNO-led Barisan Nasional government!
written by budakindia, May 12, 2008 18:41:22
this guy blood pressure must be above the critical level when he wrote this. smilies/grin.gif Matthias, don't get too upset and jump from a building. We wouldn't want to read that and spoil our breakfast. smilies/grin.gif
written by residentsniper, May 12, 2008 19:57:06
My Dearest Matthias,

Since you try so hard to put yourself as one of the leading monetary visionaries of the world, why don't you run for the President of the World Bank or the IMF?

Oh I'm sure the world would gladly vote out the old slimeballs and appoint another similar lowdown slimeball like you in.

For Pete's sake (no pun intended here), please just shut that trap of yours for good.

written by cruzeiro, May 12, 2008 20:04:39
Mathias,
You still alive?
Hell man, I've been waiting for you to reply to a letter that an Aussie Malaysian had written about our legal system.
And you're supposed to be a lawyer goddamit!
You go around making dares, but cannot reply letters on these matters!

Now you start talking about economy again.
Enough of your talk about this crap .... we have enough written by real economic analysts, instead of reading slop like this from an economist wannabe!

Piss off, Mathias!
written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2008 20:06:00
Why so many condemning his Matthias? Even if he's a TDM crony, so what? A warning is a warning. You may not believe it but you must not discredit the basis of such a warning. Just like as the cold war was cooling off the CIA recognised that the new security threat would come from the middle east but no one took them seriously, even the US governemnt largely ignored it. Now, what happened? They had warning as the CIA had been monitoring Al-Qaeda for years. Another closer to home warning was the monetary crisis. There was warning but it was ignored because the economy was doing so well then but it all came crashing down so fast.

On the face of it, there are serious bank write offs on an unprecedented scale and also heavy liquidity injection into the global market by the US government and EU. They are buying you time but that does not mean that the crash will never happen. You live in an unsustainable economic system of growing debts. The largest part of the US economy is debt. No debt = no economy.

That's why in USA, when there is a slowdown what they ask their citizens to do is to spend more. How to spend more when you don't have the cash? Get into debts. Ever wondered why there were such things are the super high risk loans which are biting the banks in their butts now? Because they need to create more debts to get the economy growing. Who in their right mind would allow subprime loans? Not me. Nevertheless, the subprime loans were fuelling the recent global economic growth, if not why do it? Shocking isn't it to learn that the economic growth is fuelled by vulnerable loans and little to do with actual increase in goods or productivity as the exponential growth do not match the lower annual increases in actual goods and productivity.

How much do your detractors of this warning know about economics? If you know what it's all about you will be scared shitless of the scam that is the current economic system. Go pick up any book from critics of the world economic system if you don't believe me or think Matthias is nothing more than the boy who cried wolf. The economic model is unsustainable and every effort to control it have failed to stop the problem though they do buy time. Every new effort by the US and EU governments such as changing the interest rates seems to buy less and less time. Just go read up any economic journal from USA and Europe. If you can read Japanese, then read about the doom and gloom from their economists too.

Malaysians are generally ignorant on the economy and only know so far as micro economy where if you have cash then you're ok without knowing about how this cash comes about in the macro economy.

Now, discount the warnings if you want. When shit hits the fan, guess who loses? The man on the streets. When it happens it won't only be Mathhias who leaps from tall buildings but your family members. The corporate bigshots all have exit plans when things go pear shaped but the man on the street have no security as savings in your fixed deposit is no security against inflation and capital in shares means little in a recession.

The worst is not over yet as some trends are only beginning such as fall in property value and an increase in repossession proceedings. Wait till the Olympics are over. China is the new factor and they are spending loads at the moment. If China continue to spend then you have more time (Why you think China giving loans for mega-projects? Think they so kind hearted?). The resources of the USA are at breaking point. The EU is more cautious so far.

I do not agree with all that Matthias says but I would never discount a warning and be prepared for the worst. The current global economic sentiment is not be about if it will happen but when. Stay ignorant all you want if it makes you happier.
written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2008 20:31:57
Mr. Bean, Malaysians wiser in dealing with economy? No evidence of that. If there were, you'd have more people with economic knowledge questioning the government policies and demanding change to the system that's causing your money losing it's value.

It's true there's always NPLs but what you are seeing now is on a scale never seen before. What do you think this shows?

Like Matthias says, loans are assets to banks which can be traded among themselves. Shocking. What are loans and what is it really worth? Loans are promises and from this promise you can create money. What is the real value of any promise? Come on, be as cynical as you can. Not all loans require security and you'd be even more shocked to learn that unsecured loans means money out of nowhere. Imagine banks trading in promises. Wow. No wonder nobody wants to trade them any more in such an economic climate as what is needed now is liquidity, not more promises.

Take a simple question... what do you know about money and how money is created (not just the printing process)? If you understand this then you are on your way to ask more questions which will make you less ignorant and perhaps fulfil your idea that Malaysians are wiser.

Are you prepared for a crash? How are you prepared? The truth is you can't be prepared. Whatever you have of value is mostly not real. What is real? Maybe your physical assets such as car, house, stereo, dvd player if you have paid all your loans for them but other than that, nothing much else have real value. Bank savings? If the banks have cash then you have something. If your money is not devalued than you may have something. In a crash, your money will most likely be devalued badly. Shares fare worst in any recession because it will drop in value and also suffer from the monetary devaluation. Foreign currency? If it's global crash you have nothing really as all money in itself has no real value but rather a promise from the respective national banks to honour the value printed on the money. Again it's national banks so a foreign bank can refuse to accept your money and that makes it even more worthless if many countries do not want to accept your money (rule of supply exceed demand = value drop).

Think about it. Also think about the current global economy, is it a closed system which is more sustainable or an exponential growth which is not sustainable as real assets do not grow in great exponential curve? If it is not sustainable, what do you think the result would be?

Not if, but when.
written by cubi76, May 12, 2008 20:57:06
Dear AsamLaksa

Indeed. The financial world is in deep shit now. Many readers here discounted the warning of Matthias just becase of... 'Matthias'.

The subprime problem had evolved into credit crunch actually. The subprime problem was already over, and all the CFDs are actually worthless. Today it's more about credit crisis.

Malaysian banks might have escaped the subprime crisis, but in terms of credit crisis, Malaysians banks will NOT go through it unscrathed.

Worse, there's high risk of stagflation in world's economy. Malaysia is actually already facing it. Stagnant economy, coupled with high inflation. And the problem with Bank Negara is that, the interest rate in Malaysia is actually relatively low. If it were to increase the interest rate, that would hurt the economy as lending cost becomes higher. But if it were to lower the interest, it might cause higher inflation. Bank Negara should have increased the interest to higher level from last year, by now it would have more bullets to tackle the situation.

Everyone knew that the US is heading towards recession. The problem now is that, how badly would that affect other economies. No single country can escape the effect, not even China. Not even India. It's only the matter of how bad the effect will be.

Anyway, we cant just sit here and wait for the crisis to hit us. Life still goes on. In order to do that, we must try to increase our competitiveness, be it national, or ourselves.

For I have mentioned before, I believe the key to increase our competitiveness -- EDUCATION and KNOWLEGDE.

Good luck all.

smilies/wink.gif
written by MasterYoda, May 12, 2008 21:17:14
Matthias Chang is right

I am from the banking industry.

don't simply hit out at him, if you don't know the actual undercurrent.

This crisis will spark a world wide economic downturn. it will be similar to the SEA financial crisis... only this time on a world scale.

the idea is to bring in the idea of a single currency.

Mark Matthias words. I advice readers to settle off your loans by 2012 - 2014 most to most. the earlier the better.

People, it okay if you get upset reading this... But its coming.

BE PREPARED!
written by AsamLaksa, May 12, 2008 22:51:23
Cubi, thank you for pointing out that the subprime loans problems have passed and it's now the credit crunch. I'm getting a crash course in economics (I don't major in economics or have anything to do with it but want to know how it would affect me and my family) and it's not easy to understand initially. It's an eye-opener and I hope more people will find out more and don't take this too trivially. I am aware of the credit crunch and have listened to debates about it by financial leaders and politicians. To me, subprime mortgage played a part in leading to it though there are more non-subprime bad loans that's now taking centre stage.

Malaysians, go find out more about economics.
written by ratatosk, May 12, 2008 23:49:07
This financial crisis is indeed real.

The fundamentals of the USD is utterly crap. Trillions of national debt. A nation of people with no savings, but heaps of mortgage & credit card debt, at inflated property prices. A real estate bubble engineered by Greenspan. A bankrupt social security, at a time when the baby boomers are reaching retirement age.

China has so much USD, they can knock the global economy into the stone ages if they just dump them. Why keep it? When China tries to spend the money by acquiring real assets, like Unocal, the Congress blocks the transaction.

If the USD is dumped, everybody dies. But who will get back up again? China spent the last decade seducing all the manufacturing into their shores to catch up technologically with the rest of the world. And the stereotype that Chinese are good at math and physics? Obviously many overseas Chinese were hired by US R&D over the years. Now these intellectual assets are being recruited by their motherland, and suddenly China is building destroyers with the Aegis combat system. Something that only the US has. Even the Russians failed and gave up developing this technology.

This is why China is such a 'sucker' and buying up trillions of USD debt. They're not holding the USD cos it's a good reserve currency. They're using the money to strengthen themselves in less apparent ways.

Oh, and what else is China & Russia buying these days? Gold and precious metals. Chinese banks are encouraging their citizens to purchase gold. Middle Eastern princes are importing tons of the metal to their countries. Warren Buffett bought 4000 tons of silver. Price of silver is now tripled.
written by TWOG, May 13, 2008 00:16:28
Matthias, how many years have you been at this? And how many times have you cried wolf. Aren't you sick and tired of repeating this drivel ad nauseaum? For as long as you repeat your doomsday prophesy, I will repeat what I said about you "Even a broken down clock will tell the correct time twice a day."
written by TWOG, May 13, 2008 10:06:46
written by MasterYoda, May 12, 2008 | 21:17:14
Matthias Chang is right
I am from the banking industry.

Master Yoda, I am also from the banking/stockbroking industry for more than 2 decades.

Matthias Chang maybe right, eventually. Note the key word "eventually" as he has been crying wolf for the past 3 years. But he is dead wrong if he is asking people to take cover when the banks unload their papers.

I am now looking at the secondary purchase of investment grade loans. The all-in-yield is more than LIBOR 100bps. This is the greatest opportunity to purchase high-quality loans with high yields.

Can't wait for the banks to unload their papers as they are trading at very good discounts in the secondary market. Where there is a crisis, there are huge opportunities. Only a headless chicken will go screaming that the sky is falling. Those who are really in the financial industry and track the S&P LCD average bid (not a liar, oops, lawyer) will be gearing up to load up on good papers with high risk-adjusted returns.

BTW, Matthias's rabid rantings are not original - he just cut and paste from doomsayers from the internet.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif