Dr M: Anwar out to discredit Lingam PDF Print
Monday, 12 May 2008 08:43

(New Straits Times) - Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has alleged that the Lingam video recording was exposed in order to undermine the lawyer who is representing the former prime minister in a defamation suit.

He said his former deputy Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim "purposely got this tape and exposed it because he wanted to undermine Lingam's credibility, and he happens to be my lawyer".

Datuk V.K. Lingam is defending Dr Mahathir in a RM100 million defamation suit brought by Anwar.

Dr Mahathir said the royal commission of inquiry into the video clip failed to bring up what he claimed was Anwar's "tampering with evidence".

"He did not give the full tape at one go. He released the tape in two parts. We don't know what he kept behind and how many other small tapes he has." 

Admitting that he had read an extract of the royal commission's report, Dr Mahathir said there seemed to be every attempt to implicate him.

"Although there is no direct connection with me, in between the lines, it is suggested that the prime minister is biased and things like that.

"This kind of thing will keep going on. This is done by Anwar," he said.

The former prime minister was called as a witness during the commission's hearings.

He was asked to comment on the submission of the commission's report to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Friday after participating in a forum organised by the Alumni Look East Society here yesterday.

Dr Mahathir said his latest remarks could bring on another defamation suit by Anwar.

"If I'm found guilty, I'll go to jail if I have to. If I go bankrupt, then I'll go bankrupt. It's all right," he said.
Comments (59)Add Comment
written by technoboy, May 12, 2008 08:45:02
Dr M: Anwar out to discredit Lingam
======================================
TDM, what's wrong since you have gone all out to destroy DSAI to the extent of almost killing him thru the "black eye". You are more evil than any other PM we have in our history.
agree 117
written by Awaken64, May 12, 2008 08:51:06
MAMAK TDM - Anwar out to discredit Lingam = korek korek korek!!!

You hardly could remember any of the events at the royal commission now KEEP YOUR GAP SHUT.... it is concluded that the events are true and the shoddy characters are identified if you have any dignity u ought to KEEP YOUR GAP SHUT and prepare to face your creator and ANSWER YOUR MISDEEDS!!! korek!!!!
written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 08:51:36
Yes,now the ghost of the yesteryears is coming back to haunt TDM. Sure an eye for an eye , a tooth for a tooth.Anwar, don't let the trial get cold.
written by Countach, May 12, 2008 08:52:46
Mahathir, the worst Pm Malaysia ever had.

Mahathir , tha Father of corruption.
Mahathir, The Father of all things wrong in Malaysia.
written by grant, May 12, 2008 08:57:53
ai yah dr m... lu balik tidur selama lamanya la.... anwar this anwar that... lingam is guilty as he is before the royal commission... now with the report out, he is definitely guilty... and yet u wanna say that anwar is discrediting him... lu ada gila kah?
written by Cikgu Bedah, May 12, 2008 08:58:51
What goes around comes around, Dr M. You should have thought abt this before attacking DSAI in 1998. Doesnt matter if DSAI is the one trying to implicate you or not. It all boils down to retribution.
written by Shane, May 12, 2008 09:00:11
It is time to either abolish the death penalty or it is time to hang Ahmad Fairuz , Mahathir and the rest of the goons who have been implicated. How many people were sent to the gallows while Ahmad Fairuz was CJ ? The evidence has surfaced proving what we have all known for so long , the Malaysian judiciary is not independant and is totally corrupt and this is the same body that decides whether or not someone is going to have their life taken away ????????? Hang them or abolish the death penalty . There is no escape from truth and justice .
written by krising1, May 12, 2008 09:02:48
Tun MM, you have used your powers to send some innocent people, Lim Eng Guan is one, to jail. You also used your powers to protect a lot of guilty ones from jail. It will not hurt if you go to jail as you have plenty to answer for in this world and the next.
written by gctham, May 12, 2008 09:03:26
Dr. M was in his usual self, his argument and logic can be very confusing and at the same time look convincing to the ordinary people. As a world leader, he speak with authoritative in many fields, but when come to certain issues that involve him and which bring corrupt practices and abuses of power, his comment will sound very sentimental and seem to seek sympathy from the people, and at the some time his comments also carried with the tones of denial and of a matter of facts thing.

Let look at this : "If I'm found guilty, I'll go to jail if I have to. If I go bankrupt, then I'll go bankrupt. It's all right," It this type of comments sound like from a leader like Mahathir, should this type of comment come from a world leader that all perceived to be. This type of comments also sound from a hooligans, a drunk person, a person who care nothing and shame nothing, so to say.

If a hooligan, if a drunk person, of a person who has been driven to top most desperations and has not other out way, this will most like come from them.

Is this comments worthy to be come from a leader who has been leading Malaysia for the past decades. We are in fact very unfortunate, he will most likely sink into Malaysia history as great leader but nevertheless should but in the opposite side of the history.

Dr. M should be more responsible and he should have the courage to admit all his wrongs doing if he wish people remember what was his contribution to Malaysia building. Otherwise, he will be sink into Malaysia history as the most unwelcome leader.

written by Mayor of Bangsar, May 12, 2008 09:08:36
Even the Royal Commission of Inquiry did not believe TDM.
written by jchew, May 12, 2008 09:10:42
DM is not clean himself, correct? correct, correct, correct! Put him on trial and all will be exposed!
written by eeyaw, May 12, 2008 09:21:10
What he's saying is that Lingam is his buddy and trusted lawyer who helps him to scheme to rob Malaysians blind of its wealth & justice.

The ISA is only fit for such a colourful character.
written by FFT, May 12, 2008 09:26:57
"Although there is no direct connection with me, in between the lines, it is suggested that the prime minister is biased and things like that."

I think there is a Malays saying along the lines of "He who eats chilli peppers feels the heat".

written by cancan, May 12, 2008 09:27:31
Is Abdullah Badawi playing a political mind-game?

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/
written by FFT, May 12, 2008 09:38:51
Dear class,

Today is a lesson in Mahathir Logic 101.

Lesson 1:

Act of judge fixing is OK.
Act of making a video of someone doing the judge fixing is very bad.

Lesson 2:

Act of raping underaged girl is OK.
Act of trying to get justice for raped underaged girl is an offense under Sedition and Publications Act.

Here ends today's lessons on Mahathir Logic.

Please prepare for a pop quiz tomorrow. In line with the Mahathir education system, the question is given to you before hand:

1. Criminal old dictators should be (please choose ONE answer only):

a. Hung at the gallows
b. Imprisoned under the ISA
c. Placed in a museum
d. Frozen in carbonite
e. Locked in a 5' x 5' enclosed room with Lim Keng Yaik giving a speech that doesn't end.

2. UMNO today is only 20 years old.

a. True
b. False
c. Apanama?
written by ultraman, May 12, 2008 09:44:49
TDM,
If you want to be a respected old man, please SHUT UP!!!
Now that your name was implicated in the tape, you claimed it was blackmasil.
Honestly you were the main suspect in the case. Only that the gomen dared not touch you that you are still so free to make stupid comments.
Kindly retire gracefully as an old man. A man of your age should be preparing for the hereafter!!! Don't mean to be rude but it is the truth!!!
written by Bigdawg, May 12, 2008 09:46:14
His equally evil sidekicks gave DSAI a black eye, fractured bones and arsenic poisoning.

If it were DSAI behind all these, then well and good, so DSAI wll have his personal moments of glory while TDM rots away.

And we'll help DSAI celebrate his moments of glory!
written by Counterpointer, May 12, 2008 09:52:34
"If I'm found guilty, I'll go to jail if I have to. If I go bankrupt, then I'll go bankrupt. It's all right,"

JUST A TOON DOG WITH ITS TAIL BETWEEN ITS LEGS DESTINED FOR THE DOG POUND TRYING TO MAKE A LAST STAND

written by Bigjoe99, May 12, 2008 10:16:27
Dear Dr. M,

Even if its true, I DON’T CARE!!!!

And you want to know why? Because you destroyed a lot of institutions like our judicial system, our schools, etc that we now have a hard time fixing. You also lied about so many things that now selfish people are using them as excuses Not to change, to steal, to deprive others AND in the end hold all of us back.

No, even if its true, I don't care.
written by rockli, May 12, 2008 10:23:00
I think TDM is going senile, we better head for cover.
Talking like an imbecile.
Goodness we had this man running our nation for 22 years!
For Anwar to undermine Lingam's credibility, Anwar have to force Lingam to utter those words to Fairuz.
And Fairuz must be another imbecile to listen for so long to Lingam!
written by HamChak, May 12, 2008 10:35:23
MaMakThir, for once, why don't you admit YOU
are the BIGGEST EVIL of BolehLand. Your name
STINK to high HEAVEN.

Your Botak Son is as BAD as you lorr. You
are a DISGRACE to the other MAMAK peolpe la.

How can you face Allah when your time comes?
All your twisting and turning like SNAKE la.

I hope more MaMakSHIT comes out in the OPEN.
written by HamChak, May 12, 2008 10:39:18
I recommend to Gomen to CUT/STOP MaMakThir's Pension
until His DIRTY name is clear.
written by Malaysiaku, May 12, 2008 10:42:58
The law should not protect anyone even if he is the PM or ex-PM if found guilty. Whack them with the full extend of the law and bring back the dignity to the judiciary and true democracy to Malaysia.
written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 10:59:34
The loop is tightening, MADhathir. Better watch the last moments of Saddam Hussien with the hangman.I assure you all that it will be a copycat.
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 12, 2008 11:13:59
Dei! Madey, the tape was taken when Anwar was still in Sg Buloh. I think you're shitting in your pants right now. You're damn scared that Anwar might rise to power. And I'm convinced that you'll be screwed when that happened. And I'll be very pleased to see that happened to you.
written by anak penang, May 12, 2008 11:20:08
THIS MAHATHIR MOTHA POKER THINKS HE IS STILL THE PM
GOD CAN YOU PUNISH HIM HERE AND NOT IN THE NEXT WORLD

I WOULD LIKE TO SEE HIM GO TO HELL TOO
written by ilovepakatan, May 12, 2008 11:23:55
DSAI already said revenge is not his agenda. He's more interested in getting Pakatan together and work for the country. You see, Chedet, he's more mature than you even though he's younger. Shame. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Oyster, May 12, 2008 11:43:58
Woodwork creaks and out come the freaks.
written by sonofman0, May 12, 2008 11:57:54
Keep talking. Please keep talking.

This is ENTERTAINMENT SUPREME!
written by kc respect, May 12, 2008 12:01:39
MahaTUI still thinks that Lingam has CREDIT to be discredited????
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif Birds of same feather f--ks together....
written by cheekhiaw, May 12, 2008 12:24:52
This half-child half-devil Che Det can lose his memory of all things Lingam but not his ability to fantasise with more cock and bull stories!

Incredible Lingam and Lembu!

written by Richy, May 12, 2008 12:27:16
Dear Dr M,
No one I mean no one can blackmail anybody if that particular person is straightforward and honest. In the case of Lingam he did something wrong, and I don't consider that blackmail. Do you know what is blackmailing means? It is the blackmailer having a secret or wrongdoing of someone and to threaten him to comply the blackmailer's demand.
Nobody demanded anything from Lingam or anyone involved as we can see. In fact there is no blackmailer at all in this case. Those who revealed this wrongdoings must be regarded as national heroes and those who oppose or favour the Lingam tape should be regarded as betrayers of Malaysia. You decide which category you belong to.
written by alienz, May 12, 2008 12:28:55
"If I'm found guilty, I'll go to jail if I have to. If I go bankrupt, then I'll go bankrupt. It's all right," he said.

The ol' goat is now looking for sympathy from Malaysians he once looked down so disgustedly during his reign of corruption, cronyism and what-have-yous. Melayu mudah lupa he said... pada hal during the Lingam inquiry dia sendiri banyak lupa atau buat buat lupa... baru dia sedar dia tu bukan tuhan... now it is pay back time... serve you right... you can shit in your pants ol' goat! Don't worry about snakey Lingam - he knows better how to wiggle his way out of this situation... as for you, you better issue a public apology for all the wrongs - real and imaginary - you done to us poor Malaysians... and make it sound very very sincere... we know you are the greatest Malaysian actor in the past 50 years!
written by YSL, May 12, 2008 12:34:40
Stupid idiot Mahathir,
What is Malaysia today?
Yours!?
You raped and got others gan raped Malaysia for 22 years.
Al you have are firty monies?
I wonder why you stil speak like an idiot?
Shut up will you?????
written by miwaki, May 12, 2008 12:37:18
Mahathir is a desperate old man and that's why he is talking nonsense nowsaday.What is wrong with discredit Lingam the chilly man ? Is he your buddy so he cannot be discredited eventhough he had interfered with the appointment of judges.Anybody should be responsible for their actions and get rewarded or paid for it.

Nobody is above the law ( whether it is common law or law of jungle ala Malaysia )
written by MNor, May 12, 2008 12:38:12
Agaknya TDM ni dah tua melalut le sikit. Orang macam ni kita dan DSAI tak usah layan le, lebih baik buat kerja lain yang berfaedah.
written by malsia1206, May 12, 2008 12:43:20
TDM, the Malaysian Court of public opinion hereby found you guilty. The legal courts of the Judiciary are unable to deliver its verdict simply because it's integrity is now in shambles. Your sentence would be pronounced in due course after you have your opportunity to plead any mitigating factors. This public court shall reconvene at later date to be fixed.
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 12, 2008 13:45:08
Somebody ought to tell this buffoon to shut his mouth up ! I'm sure Jerlun can't, so maybe I should - hey Mamak ! Shut the **** up and carry on enjoying what little of your life you have left, instead getting yourself all shrivelled up and nasty with your poison dwarfism !
written by mypanida, May 12, 2008 13:46:17
V.K. Lingam discredited himself, right ?

KOREK, KOREK, KOREK.
written by PasarRoad, May 12, 2008 14:14:53
YAB Tun Dr.M, I think you nyanyok already.

Even if Lingam is discredited, which according to the findings, he should be discredited indeed; then just find yourself a new lawyer lah!

Actually, you are lucky that bro. Anwar found out that your Lingam has been doing backdoor deals. At least you know that he is not fit to represent you.

Like that also you cannot figure out ah? What man? smilies/grin.gif

Btw, can you remember what happened to all our (Rakyat)money in Petronas? You said we'd become a net petroleum importer by 2014, thats serious man! So can we invest all those huge profits Petronas made in all those years? At least the investments could help defray future petroleum costs, yah?

You cannot remember what happened to the money? So how ah?
written by Hope4all, May 12, 2008 14:25:32
Lingam discredited himself. While you can continue to use racial topics hoping to reinvigorate your popularity, truthfully, your son will not be able to do the same without accumulating his political liability.

You may still choose Lingam as your lawyer despite him discrediting himself. You may be able to bulldoze your way during the constitutional crisis with the royalties through mainstream media manipulation. You may deny the truth about your wrongdoing in public and get away with it.

But, your son can't.

So, what you're actually saying or doing are not helping your son in his political career. There are just too many alternatives now.
written by sukinong, May 12, 2008 14:59:51

Since you are ready and said that, then shaadup and spend more time with your grand kids.
written by Milo, May 12, 2008 16:04:27
The truth is more important than the intention. If what the tape shown were true, those concern will have to pay the price of their immoral actions.
written by Kathy, May 12, 2008 16:09:02
Why was TDM given access to the report and not the rakyat? This issue involves the judiciary and therefore is of national interest and who makes up the nation? THE PEOPLE!
written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 16:28:59
Yes..so I did a little bit of corruption during my time...I appointed a few judges I favoured..I imprisoned some of my political opponents..gave Anwar a black eye for going against me ..took a little money for myself, for my retirement package -not much, just a fair 10 percent of everthing...

But wasn't I the Prime Minister? Isn't there Ketuanan Melayu?! Well, UMNO is the 'Tuan' of all Melayu and in turn, I as PM was 'Tuan' of UMNO. So what's wrong?!
written by mykantree, May 12, 2008 17:09:54
Mahathir's nitpickings of the way the Lingam's tape were released is just another of his attempts to deflect the actual implications of the tapes. So long as the tapes are genuine, as the commission has confirmed; what difference does it make to the truth of it? Unless Mahathir can prove that the tapes were frabricated, his insinuations should be interpreted as an attempt to deflect from the truth.
written by ultraman, May 12, 2008 17:20:55
TDM must be 'nyanyuk'.
Do you think that the rakyat are fools, just like you were thinking during your time.
Come on, it is a recording and for all the world to see and hear. My grandmother who knows only basic English also knew that Lingam was trying to fix judges.
Don't try to bluff people any more TDM. Time for you to repent while you can. Time is running real short for you, sorry to sat that. Go and ask for forgiveness from the likes of Anwar Ibrahim, Wee Choo Keong, MGG Pillai's widow, and lots more. These are the very people who are 'victims' of of that ****er judge and rouge lawyer.
Similarly, those judge and lawyers and that screwed up tycoon should crawl to MGG Pillai's grave to cry their heart out in repentance. Otherwise just like Altatunya's murders, they weill be burnt in HELL
written by kingelvis, May 12, 2008 17:39:14
What to do now but make allegations...cases can't be fixed by him now..lost power to put people under ISA...feeling the noose tightening around his neck..I say HANG HIM NOW!!!
written by cruzeiro, May 12, 2008 19:57:54
Dr M: Anwar out to discredit Lingam
==============

Mahade,
You must be a genius lah to have deduced that ..... how come nobody else figured it out earlier?
written by mikewang, May 12, 2008 20:13:30
If the Lingam tapes were not released publicly by DSAI but were instead reported to the police and handed in by a then Nobody Mr Loh who chose to follow the so called "correct procedure", do you think a RCI would have been held?
The authorities would have hushed up the case and the books thrown at the whistle blower if Mr Loh decided to pursue the case further.

Bapa Rasuah, the rakyat are a lot smarter today. smilies/smiley.gif
written by my2cents, May 12, 2008 21:01:19

Sorry for the above one
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 12, 2008 21:09:51
Mahashit still owes DSAI and his family a million apologies.
written by Sabahfan, May 12, 2008 22:12:19
The opinion and writing of MAHAFIRAUN is not worth a shit...

scumbag

I DONT REMEMBER I DONT REMEMBER..... MAHATAIK MUDAH LUPA
written by apanama, May 12, 2008 22:41:41
POOKIMAMAK LEBIH BAIK DIAM DAN MAMPUS CEPAT2.
written by Experienced, May 12, 2008 22:54:59
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gifThat is not blackmail. If he had used it to fix someone else, then it is. Lingam fixed himself and others, get it. No wonder one TA said he was drunk. Next he does not blackmail like you. You have the files. "Do my bidding or you will be in trouble". That's the original blackmail. smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by teohpg, May 12, 2008 23:25:55
It is interesting to see Mahathir on hand cuffs and black eye.... smilies/cool.gif
written by 1351, May 13, 2008 00:15:19
This Lingam tape and subsequent inquiry has to rank up there - reasons - why the old man has been so adamant for Dollah to step aside.

Dollah Badawi was the only person who could nip Lingamgate in the butt, look the other way and take no action BUT to his credit, Dollah did not waver and let the law takes its course. And with that, fortress Mahathir is still shaking while we all await the verdict from the Royal Inquiry.

Long live the Tun I say and continue to amuse all M'sians in the art double speak, loaded with double entendre, with the aid of a feisty fork tongue(which by the way is mightier than a sword) that puts to shame those who dispose of nemesis with guns and C4.

Instead of coming home to graze, the old man is very much full of fight unlike SEA pals of old, Marcos and Suharto gone bye bye. Wish him well I say and may the stars above grant him uncomprismising health for the old man to witness how wrong he was all those years as PM.

Mampus UMNO, Hidup Che Det - let the old man see for himself the destruction of his evil organisation. And once that is accomplished, there will be many happy days ahead.

written by Msian 2, May 13, 2008 06:03:09
Dr.M --- why are U so negative about PR. You know the obvious answers like we would like to investigate & know some more of your misgivings etc. So, probably you better get in touch with your buddy MUGABE to grant U residence. You could have chosen to be a statesman or whatever good is left in you to fight corruption, unite the various races etc than to ramble & dwell on personal attacks. By the way is Lingam your adopted son?? This Lingam character has done enough damage. Theres no need for U to speak for him, he is already better than you as everyone in the country already knows about looks like me, sounds like me but....