Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Mukhriz: Make Commission report public

Mukhriz: Make Commission report public PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Monday, 12 May 2008 01:08

(The Star) KUALA LUMPUR: The Royal Commission report on the Lingam videoclip should be made public as the people deserved to know the findings, said Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir.

The Jerlun MP and Umno Youth exco member said it was necessary to be open because that what was people expected from the Government.

"I think it's the right of the people to understand what actually was in the report and I don't see any problem in making it public.

"The most important thing is transparency ... we should be open with the rakyat, particularly at this point in time," he told reporters on Sunday after attending the Umno 62nd anniversary celebrations at the Putra World Trade centre here.

To a question whether he had any reservations about the Lingam videoclip report being made public because the alleged wrong-doings occurred during his father's tenure as Prime Minister, Mukhriz said: "He (Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad) has got nothing to hide."

Mukhriz said Dr Mahathir had spoken about the matter many times and had testified as a witness during the Royal Commission of Inquiry.

He said the former Prime Minister had said that no matter who was lobbying for posts, that he was ultimately responsible for the decisions he made.

"So he is not going to run away from that. For 22 years he has been running the country. He's not going to deny anything," he added.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, when approached by reporters at the same Umno function, said he had not seen the Royal Commission's report yet.

He said that it was up to the Prime Minister if it should be made public.

"I do not know as I've not seen the report yet. The Prime Minister also wants to study the report first," he said.

written by RitchieLow, May 12, 2008 01:32:51
Macam ini la betul! else why waste tax payers money on the report
Votes: +16
written by Motherchell, May 12, 2008 01:43:31
Najib ! to become a PM of Malaysia , one needs to be an adult . With your age , i have doubts .... The question to you was ------------

DO YOU AGREE IT SHOULD BE MADE PUBLIC ?, no one ASKED YOU WHETHER your Siesta King was going to make it public...
I wonder Najib , if you realize, to be a leader you've got to also be a responsible person !!!!!!!!!If Mukriz can express it , what are you afraid of to comment???????
Votes: +24
written by bitterzone, May 12, 2008 01:52:59
Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, when approached by reporters at the same Umno function, said he had not seen the Royal Commission's report yet.

Can someone tell me why the politicians in Malaysia always answer the press with "I don't know" "I have not read the report" "I'll have to seek advice from WXYZ" Come on. Politicians work for the people, they are paid with the rakyat's tax, the least they could do is to do their job and read/study reports that are relevant to their respective departments.
Votes: +15
written by hakuna, May 12, 2008 02:03:11
Mukhzir - you said your father testified - I thought he had amnesia with his selected memory.
Stop looking for cheap publicity.
Votes: +20
written by miwaki, May 12, 2008 02:24:24
These people take a long time to read report because they have problem understand it.Incompetence is not curable,we have to put up with it.May be Khairy can read faster !
Votes: +13
written by rajaphillips, May 12, 2008 04:07:29
Wah Mukhriz, want to give the impression that your father is an angel on this issue? We are no fools, not anymore
Votes: +5
written by Negarakuku, May 12, 2008 05:19:27

MALAYSIA IS NOT A TRANSPARENT COUNTRY!!!!!!

WHY SHOULD IT NOT MADE PUBLIC AND THE PM HAS TO DECIDE ????????

IN A DEMOCRACY COUNTRY, REPORT LIKE THIS MUST BE BE MADE PUBLIC !!!!!!!

WHY WE PAY YOU SALARY FOR ????????????????????????

MALAYSIA IS NOT DEMOCRACY. MALAYSIA IS POLICE STATE AND A DICTATOR GOVT !!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif
Votes: +7
written by FFT, May 12, 2008 07:07:35
Dear Motherchell,

What Najib was really trying to say is that he hasn't checked with Rosmah yet what his opinion on the matter should be.
Votes: +10
written by Malaysiaku, May 12, 2008 08:29:35
There is absolutely no reason why the PM should not make the Royal Commission Report public. I would also say that it should not be the PM to decide whether it should go public or not since it is the Royal Commission Report. If the PM and the Govt have nothing to hide, why not make it public? No body is above the law and by not disclosing the Report or editing it would mean the Govt is trying to do a cover up which then defeats the purpose of a Royal Commission.

The Public has to know the un-edited report.
Votes: +3
written by Countach, May 12, 2008 08:56:47
Mukhriz, talking, about what the people wanted and about transparancy.

Look Mukhriz Botak, what the people wanted is for your Father, the Father of corruption is to resign many years ago. But your Father cheated in all the elections.

As for transparency, Mukhriz go look at your own Fathers's record before you open your stupid mouth, which again shows how arrogant you are.
Votes: +8
written by jchew, May 12, 2008 09:52:08
correct, correct, correct Mukhriz! exposed bapa kau dan gang-gang bapa kau! siapa-kah yang corrupt di Malaysia yang boleh 'registered' di buku rekod "Malaysia Boleh"!
Votes: +6
written by CitizenBodohland, May 12, 2008 11:08:24
NajiS,

Have you seen the commission report? No see.
Have you seen how FAT RosMaHai has become? No see (actually got see, only cannot tell her).
Have you seen Altantuya ghost? No see (except only in nightmares).
Have you seen yourself as the next PM? Wah See oooo... (Hokkien: I die oooo..)
Votes: +4
written by ttsan, May 12, 2008 13:15:19
See! when you ask Najis, he bark he haven't seen the report,ask Bodohwi.When you ask PM, he said i haven't had it yet.Football here and there.That is their style.Buying tine.
Votes: +4
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 12, 2008 14:03:42
Hey Botak - you DARE to talk of transparency ? Especially after 22 years of autocratic reign by the ***** Kutty ? Go **** yourself.
Votes: +6
written by Sabahfan, May 12, 2008 21:19:20
BLOODY GOOD IDEA MUKRIZ

So that we will all know the role your father the MAHAFIRAUN has played in the corruption of the JUdiciary.....

do it now..... show us the full report
Votes: +1
written by teohpg, May 12, 2008 22:03:09
He is going after his father fortune... smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +1
written by Experienced, May 14, 2008 00:04:08
smilies/smiley.gifReverse psychology, eh? Hoping they won't make the report public. Father says it is blackmailing. Selective memory. He listens to everybody and then makes his'own' decision, what a wonder. Why waste govt. money to listen? Why not make the decision and then listen to everybody? Let the decision be official. Then we will see the truth. Like the Tun Salleh case. Changes can be made after, then we know the decision is 'own'. But listening before is then that decision stays. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Votes: +0

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.