Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Supporters rally for release of Hindraf leaders

Supporters rally for release of Hindraf leaders PDF Print E-mail
Posted by kasee   
Monday, 12 May 2008 01:04

By NELSON BENJAMIN, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) supporters gathered peacefully in various places on Sunday to seek the release of five of its leaders detained under the Internal Security Act. Hindraf co-ordinator R. Kannan said the gathering at KLCC here was aimed at relaying a message to the Government that detainees had their rights to proper medical treatment.

He said Hindraf leader P. Uthayakumar's health is deteriorating due to diabetes that is affecting his heart condition.

He said Uthayakumar needs medical attention from IJN (National Heart Institute).

Also present was Parti Keadilan Rakyat vice-chairman and Subang MP S. Sivarasa.

Several truck-loads of Federal Reserve Unit personnel and policemen were stationed there and no arrest was made as the Hindraf supporters dispersed peacefully half an hour after being told to do so by the police.

In Johor Baru, Hindraf supporters carried a banner and placards along Jalan Ungku Puan, demanding the abolition of the ISA and also for the five Hindraf leaders detained under the ISA to be released and for Uthayakumar be given proper medical attention.

The 11am gathering caused a massive traffic jam around the city centre but the supporters dispersed within 40 minutes.

In Ipoh, Hindraf supporters gathered at the Courts Mammoth outlet for five minutes to call for the abolition of the ISA, the release of ISA detainees and for proper medical treatment for Uthayakumar. The 11am gathering dispersed peacefully after a warning from the police.

written by picadilly, May 12, 2008 01:23:11
Contrary to Utusan Malaysia - The pengkhianat Negara Hindraf are capable of Peaceful assembly? How suprising!

These penderhaka as claimed by badawi as trouble makers are going to consistently demand for their rights again..

are they the alternative of MIC?

Thank you Pak lah & BN for making them heroes and part of the goverment.
Hindraf is in the selangor state assembly thru Manoharan.
what a Joke.

BN. Kah kah kah.. the whole world is laughing at you!!!!
woi sudah kalah masih tak paham.

Votes: +9
written by Motherchell, May 12, 2008 01:27:43
Nothing ! just nothing seems to reach the ears and brains of Paklah !!!Even the letters from the Mongolian PM didn't ring a bell!!!

So the best choice we have is when the time is ripe, get them down to bite the dust , and get them all lined up to face the Law , for crimes against humanity. This message should be made clear to all future leaders , no matter even if they flee the Country, the law will get them !!
Votes: +5
written by DatoSeri, May 12, 2008 01:32:16
These HIDRAF supporters deserve the respect. Braving the risks they staged the gathering in multi location throughout the peninsula. Great courage!

Any HINDRAF supporters from Sabah and Sarawak? If no, why not?
Votes: +3
written by bill, May 12, 2008 02:19:29
Without Hindraf probably the Indians will still be mislead by the MIC. We must support the call to release the ISA detainees or else charge them in court.
Votes: +3
written by Ibnukhuzaimah, May 12, 2008 02:36:06
Why cal for releae?? Call to repeal the draconian law. Ai yah, we seem to forget the real issue here. Remember, there are more Malaysian inside the camp.

In my place, the Indians didn't havee any rally, they went to kovil to pray fo the release, as told by my frens.
Votes: +0
written by Richy, May 12, 2008 03:55:59
Since the request from all parties going into deaf ears this is the only option Indians going to have, it seems. Neither PM nor the new Home Minister seem to be serious to resolve the plight of the Indians accept torturing them at their pleasure.
No man could have his peace and joy for long when innocents and their mothers continue to shed tears. I bet with you PM and HM, you have to pay for this, and I sincerely hope it's you who pay for the sins and not your descendants . Pray it's not them.
written by campuras, May 12, 2008 09:44:08
The Hindrsf 5 and other "collateral damage" need our support.

Set up a Fundation to accept donation to assist their family financially.

They fight for injustice. Show them we care and we are with them.

Votes: +1
written by campuras, May 12, 2008 09:48:39
Setting up a Foundation and get the financial support to the family sends a stronger message to the Government that there are people out there who support Hindraf. This is better than filling the cyberspace with vile against BN
written by Arubin, May 12, 2008 09:53:36
Any HINDRAF supporters from Sabah and Sarawak? If no, why not?

People there don't even know we exist lar, nevermind Hindraf.

Cannot blame them really. They're too busy trying to earn a living because their average income is lower than us despite their states being rich in natural resources.

Hmm...I wonder whose fault that is...*cough cough*
written by SEADALEGUY, May 12, 2008 10:22:33
Hey SEMI_VALUE,
What happened to your real values. Why, in there no power,out also got no power ah. Aiyaah, talk talk talk so much only no use. Malaysia needs good Ministers not Gangster Ministers. Do something to cover ur ass.
written by cheekhiaw, May 12, 2008 12:20:57
HOLD THE KAMUNTING FELLAS RESPONSIBLE

The UMNO people may put Uthayakumar in jail for no reason.

But that is no reason for the jailers in Kamunting to put Uthayakumar's life at risk by denying him his right to medical care.

That is more inhumane than ISA!

As such the names, faces and other personal details of the chief wardens of Kamunting should be posted somewhere for all Malaysians to know, and to hold accountable in whatever way people deem appropriate.

Votes: +2
written by shan, May 12, 2008 12:50:52
the militia normals starts off where dialogue and protest fails.The gomen has sucessfully help to set up cells of such militia.,,,.The stupid arrogant band of killers ie.Abb,Najis,Musang and samy nomoral value were first chanting LTTE association with HIndraf and this may be a reality as history has proven over and over again .,.Go and read about TERRORISM by some singlese fellow fro Sri Lanka. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
Votes: +2
written by comicality, May 12, 2008 22:17:34
First of all, we have to realise that by having the ISA, there is a iron curtain over certain people. They can't be question, can't be challanged, can't take any constructive critisism. They are no different than any other dictatorship and military ruling where only one voice is heard and must be obeyed or pay the price. It isn't democratic to lock people up without a fair trial, it isn't democratic to hose citizens down with chemical water and gas for taking care of their neighbouhood.
What difference is this than the mafia? oh yea legalised and voted for. Hmm seems that our country is headed for trouble.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.