A Troublesome Law For Troublemakers PDF Print
Sunday, 11 May 2008 16:45

“I am happy. I want to challenge the government. We bloggers have declared war on the government. We are not scared of the government. The government should be scared of us.”

By BOB TEOH/ MySinchew

The problem of slapping sedition charges on troublemakers like Raja Petra Kamarudin, the owner-editor of the country’s top political portal, is that it has an equally troublesome habit of boomeranging.

The joke making the round in town is that you can’t charge RPK, as he is popularly known in blogsphere, with sedition. This is because everything he writes looks like and sounds like sedition. He may just end up spending the rest of his natural life as a guest of His Majesty’s Prison, should sedition charges be preferred against him every time he posts on his www.malaysia-today.net.

Well, the government has done just that on Tuesday 6 May.

The Charge: Publishing a seditious article,” Let’s send the Altantuya murderers to hell“, on 25 April, which allegedly implicated Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak and his wife Rosmah Mansor in the October murder of Mongolian beauty Altantuya Shaariibuu.

"I would rather it was me as it wouldn't be so painful if it was me.” "

The Penalty: If convicted, he faces up to RM5,000 fine of three years in the slammer or both.

The Trouble: “I am happy. I want to challenge the government. We bloggers have declared war on the government. We are not scared of the government. The government should be scared of us.”

The last time the court convicted someone for sedition, he ended up becoming Chief Minister. That’s Lim Guan Eng, the new CM of Penang.

Lim was then an opposition MP who spoke out in 1995 against what he considered as statutory rape of a 15-year-old Malay schoolgirl by a government minister. He was sentenced to three years imprisonment, the schoolgirl to three years “protective custody”, and the minister got away scot free.

On 28 February 1995, Lim Guan Eng was charged under the Sedition Act for prompting “disaffection with the administration of justice in Malaysia”. On 17 March 1995, an additional charge was brought under the Printing Presses and Publications Act for “maliciously printing” a pamphlet containing “false information.”

At his first trial in 1997, Lim Guan Eng was convicted on both counts and fined RM 15,000. The government appealed against the 'leniency' of the sentence. At a subsequent hearing before the Court of Appeal, the sentence was increased to three years imprisonment. A consequence of the sentence is that Lim Guan Eng was automatically barred as a member of parliament and cannot stand for elections until 8 March this year when he stood and won and was duly sworn in as the new Chief Minister.

“If I fail and have to go to jail, I have no regrets. I have no regrets of going down fighting for the principles of truth and justice. And pursuit of human rights, especially women's rights. There can be no women's rights if women rape victims are considered equally responsible, and even detained, whilst the accused remain free,” Lim Guan Eng said at when charged with sedition

“There are injustices in the law which are mind-boggling ... The lesson is clear - choose your rapist carefully ... As a woman, especially a Muslim woman, I am angry, disgusted and ashamed ... As a mother, I now have real fears for my daughter. What protection can we hope for our daughters if, in the interests of politics, a minor can so easily be sacrificed?” said Marina Mahathir, of the sedition charge.

Speaking of his son’s incarceration a decade later, Lim Kit Siang, the strongman of the Democratic Action Party, in the wake of the party’s recent phenomenal electoral victory said: “This is the greatest pain in my life. I would rather it was me as it wouldn't be so painful if it was me.”

When being asked by Sin Chew Daily whether he regretted bringing Guan Eng into politics, Kit Siang said: “It is not the question of regret, it was really painful.” That was the closest the veteran politician came to baring his soul in public.

The most celebrated sedition case is known as The Great Ahmedabad Trial of Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi in 1922.

This is how a newspaper reported the trial. “When Mahatma Gandhi entered the Central Hall of the Government Circuit House at Ahmedabad on the 18 March, 1922 to face a trial on a charge of sedition about two hundred spectators inside the improvised courtroom stood up as a mark of respect to the frail figure in loincloth.”

“The frail, serene, indomitable figure joked in a characteristic manner looking at them saying: ‘This is like family gathering and not a law court.’”

Gandhi’s trial came in the wake of the mounting political agitation against British oppression in the country following his famous call for non co-operation and civil disobedience which began on 1 August 1920 . The immediate cause, however, was his publication of three articles criticising severely the repressive measures adopted by the government to put down the struggle . The articles in question were branded as seditious and calculated to cause disaffection against the existing government.

To the Mahatma, the issue was simply law versus conscience. He did the unthinkable in any defence against sedition. He pleaded guilty as charged.

He termed sedition laws as the “Prince among the political sections of the Indian Penal Code designed to suppress the liberty of the citizen.”

“I hold it to be a virtue to be disaffected towards a government which in its totality has done more harm to India than any previous system.”

He explained to the court: “Non violence is the first article of my faith; it is also the last article of my faith; but I had to make my choice. I had either to submit to a system which I consider has done an irreparable harm to my country or incur the risk of the mad fury of my people bursting forth when they understood the truth from my lips.”

Then came his most extraordinary plea : “The only course open to you, the Judge, is either to resign your post which I know is impossible for you to do and dissociate yourself from evil if you feel that the law you are called upon to administer is an evil thing and that in reality I am innocent: or to inflict on me the severest penalty if you believe that the system and the law you are assisting to administer are good for the people of this country, and that my activity us, therefore, injurious to the public weal.”

The trying Judge, R.S. Broomfield, in passing the sentence conceded that “It would be impossible to ignore the fact that in the eyes of millions of your countrymen you are a great patriot and a great leader.”

Then he sentenced the “Great Soul” to six years imprisonment. Due to illness, he did not serve the full term. A commentator pointed out: “Every word uttered by Gandhi in the course of this trial and the articles he wrote to defend his countrymen’s right of non violent non co-operation with an unjust imperialist system is aflame with patriotic passion and will ever remain a testament of freedom against tyranny.”

The British won its Sedition case but lost an empire.

The Sedition Act is indeed a troublesome law to use against troublemakers.
Comments (46)Add Comment
written by freedom lover, May 11, 2008 17:02:42
"The British won its Sedition case but lost an empire"

The authorities will win the case against RPK in October this year
agree 143
written by malsia1206, May 11, 2008 17:05:51
This Government never learn. Or even start to make some effort to learn. Go ahead, use your Sedition Act. Silence one critic and you get the whole nation to rise and topple this Government. For if this Government really play fair by the rules book, it shall be receiving praises instead of so many critics around. When the cancerous cells are multiiplying rapidly, removing just one cell alone would not give you a clean bill of health.
written by taxi90, May 11, 2008 17:14:32
I just can't wait for the day when UMNOputeras get this law, plus ISA shoved up their ass.
written by doggone, May 11, 2008 17:16:31
The Sedition Act is invoked by pondans to save their faggoty asses.

We are not the Troublemakers.

They who invoke the Act, are !!!
written by JustAMalaysian, May 11, 2008 17:18:05
The British used the Sedition Act against Gandhi and lost an empire.

BN used it against LGE and lost Penang.

Now they are using it against RPK.
Will they lose Malaysia?

www.b.log.my
agree 132
written by ttsan, May 11, 2008 17:18:11
A eye for a eye, a tooth for a tooth.
written by bodohland_citizen, May 11, 2008 17:23:21
Dear government people, do lah, do whatever you want, pls oppress & suppress us. Pls do it more often. Pls apply your law of jungle whenever something done against your draconian laws. Pls punish the learned citizens for uncovering your nonsenses. What different you are from the Myanmar juntas ?
written by indianputra, May 11, 2008 17:29:38
Will appreciate very much, if MT can initiate a POLL in MT site.The names could be, Pak Lah, Najib, Khairy, Samy, Ong, Nazri, Syed Hamid, Gani Patel, Rafidah, Anwar etc. etc. etc.

May be that will send a message to BN who is still stating that BN is still relevant.
written by oknyua, May 11, 2008 17:32:16
BobTeo, SinChew. I never know Shin Chew has such good article.

Never has a Malaysian Administration been so much hated by the people. The UMNO hated it leaders. The MCA has lost its role. MIC has gone without leadership. Gerakan, who are they?

Yet the leaders cling on......under ISA, Sedition Act, OSA, Police brutality, Lies and Denial. If another general election is held today, the simple majority it has now is definitely gone...gone...gone. Just think about it.
written by Kathy, May 11, 2008 17:34:30
Maybe history will repeat itself and there will be a change of government at which time the charge against RPK will be quashed and he will walk free!
written by Chaptokam, May 11, 2008 17:39:54
Dear ALL Malaysians ,

When Pakatan Rakyat , becomes the Federal Government of Malaysia ,
I propose that the following be investigated under the Sedition Act .
a) Sleepy Head
b) Najis
c) Kitchen Maid
d) Gunny Petai
e) Hannurabi
To be ivestigated under ISA
a) Mamak Tir
b) Mamak Zam
c) Fairuz
Please add in the list but don't use the actual names .
written by noyawns, May 11, 2008 17:57:19
Bob/Sin Chew - great article!
Yup - BN hasn't learnt a thing - they're losing more and more people with their arrogance, injustice, tyranny and corruption (stupidity is in their genes so can't blame them! hehehe!)
written by Ben, May 11, 2008 17:57:34
They have already lost. PR is biding its time to takeover, this game is over. Che Det had switched from "no way" to "possible" to "it is real". Yes, it is real. Before the end of the year we shall herald a new government.

So going after RPK is not doing themselves any favours and "Elvis has left the building". What is really in doubt is whether the Rakyat will be complacent and allow history to repeat itself. If not, then let's keep working toward a new Malaysia as Bangsa Malaysia. Let's make every Malaysian a stakeholder and accountable for the future of our beloved nation.
written by Eskay Lim, May 11, 2008 18:16:41
It's those unscrupulous people who invoke these laws to charge their political opponents, that are the real culprits.
written by LKO, May 11, 2008 18:19:08
Ahh, I wish all the MSM papers are more like SinChew. So inspiring.
written by greenarrow, May 11, 2008 18:21:15
ZHANG PING, a Chinese (CHINA) writer famous for his series of novel figures, was elected as the Vice-Governor of North China's Shanxi Province at the first session of the 11th Provincial People's Congress.

"I am a nobody from the bottom of Chinese society", said the 54-year old Zhang, who once taught in a village primary school and worked in a county-level magazine, and then took the post as vice-chairman of China's writers association

In his novels, Zhang depicted lots of nobodies living in China's countryside struggling for better lives

Zhang pictured the image of a good cadre in his novel "The State Cadre", whom he believes represents the majority of Chinese cadres

Many of his novels are novels, including "The Choice" and "The Culprit" from the 1990s

"I tried hard to be a good writer for the people, and I will strive to become a Good Governor for them," said Zhang, on hearing the news he was elected as the vice-governor of this coal-rich province

-GreenArrow recommends Zhang Ping s Books
written by mgeo, May 11, 2008 18:21:48
RPK often writes as if he is "staggering" - a lot of fury and a sprinkling of points. However, anyone who then challenges him finds himself facing one or two more inconvenient pieces of info.
They did not learn from the Press Secretary episode. I almost feel sorry for them. They can't back out now, and neither can they C4 him.
written by greenarrow, May 11, 2008 18:25:30
PEMBOHONG PakLah shouted 'I will hear the Rakyat s Voice'

So..when you speak up the TRUTH....the POLIS will come after you

His 'Nickname - PEMBOHONG ' suits him well

-Greenarrow writes
written by rockli, May 11, 2008 18:33:29
Sedition Act, ISA, OSA all promoted by Mahathir, the old sicko.
Now he is harassing his successor, when he himself had built and homed all these laws to perfection.
We want him on the dock for his crimes or misdeeds against humanity. Yet he is clamouring for judgment for Western leaders for crimes against humanity.
ISAing a person is a crime against humanity as the person cannot defend himself.
TDM - we await the day went you end up in court like your ex contemporary Suharto.
The present administration will not do so as putting you away will end up putting a good portion of them too as they themselves were involved with you in the past 22 years of your gross misconduct and corrupted rule.
written by rockli, May 11, 2008 18:34:10
typo honed not homed
written by zul4kulim, May 11, 2008 19:13:52
Today Mahathir vs ungku aziz on social contracts
http://1426.********.com/2008/...ng-as.html
written by msiaman, May 11, 2008 19:30:38
When their career is hanging by the thread, they will use anything they can conveniently lay their hands on. To some, the ideals of human rights were never in their minds. They just want to use all there is to inflict as much damage on their enemies and buy as much time they could to hold on to power. Anyway, the enforcement agencies and the whole Law and Order system in the country is flawed, what more could you ask for. Comes October, you could be declared not-guilty but the guy up there would have gotten what he wanted which is sufficient time to do what he wanted to do behind the public.

Actually, not all is as it seems in politics.
written by temanmu, May 11, 2008 19:32:51
LGE case should be reviewed!

Sedition Act is a dinosaur Act used by dinosaur govt hanging on after its expiry date!
written by ibabonma, May 11, 2008 19:37:42
The BARISAN won its Sedition case but lost PENANG to GUAN ENG.

written by temanmu, May 11, 2008 19:41:10
Good one ... short & sweet!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rahim_Thamby_Chik
written by apasalahku, May 11, 2008 19:53:30
herein lies the root of the impression that the Chinese in Malaysia are intellectually superior- a relatively unimpeded press. Compare the above article with the swill from Berita Harian, Utusan, etc
written by Thesinner, May 11, 2008 20:14:40
Well done Sin Chew. By the way to all mothers out there I wish you all a "Happy Mothers' Day!!" smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by hiro, May 11, 2008 20:28:43
I congratulate Bob Teoh for a well researched article.
written by InEffective, May 11, 2008 20:35:33
i guess we are getting our "UNITY AND HARMONY" but "NO RIGHTS"
written by sambal muncha, May 11, 2008 20:47:06
Loved reading the article, thanks for your passion, Bob.

I can't wait for tsunami part 2! I'm inspired to register and vote for the first time in my life.

written by kent chong, May 11, 2008 20:49:07
Ada berita besar Rabu ini
Oleh Agendadaily
Ahad, 11 Mei 2008
GEMPAR: Seramai 17 Ahli parlimen Barisan Nasional (BN) dikatakan hampir pasti akan menyertai pakatan pembangkang, Rabu ini.

Menurut sumber yang rapat dengan Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim yang layak dipercayai, perkara itu bukan lagi perang saraf Penasihat Parti Keadilan Rakyat itu sebaliknya satu perkara akan menjadi kenyataan.

Malah menurut sumber itu, seorang ahli perniagaan dari Kuala Lumpur yang bergelar Tan Sri dikatakan terlibat di dalam urusan antara Anwar dan para Ahli Parlimen yang berkenaan.

written by Motherchell, May 11, 2008 20:52:38
A great article BOB Teow,
The point is ,a man like Paklah -- with a Religious Studies Degree, FORGOT what he studied when he saw the gold bars in the country's coffers when appointed as PM!!!
written by macaufan, May 11, 2008 21:13:08
M'sia is ruled by 'LAW' but it's Regime Umno's law ! it was used by regime to silent off it's rakyat who dare to criticise regime corrupt practice.
Regime will use PPPA, OSA, Sedition Act & ISA to tangkap, lokap, pukul & charge Rakyat yang bencikan amalan rasuah regime ! Rejim mesti ditumbangkan by DSAI/PR by this Sept once & forever ! smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by miwaki, May 11, 2008 21:13:16
Never mind about the stupid sedition charge,let's ensure Pakatan Rakyat forms new government this Sept 2008.
written by joeawk, May 11, 2008 21:30:06
All the ills points in the direction of the old demon fart.

The youth of the world must come together in cyberspace. The youth of the world must form a world government with states in every country, with a common consitution and some modification to suit individual country.

The youth has to start taking charge of the kind of world that they want to inherit.

The youth of the world cannot allow racist, saddist and sexist to govern the world independently of the vision of the youth of the world.

The youth of the world must start coming together and form a world govt in cyberspace.

Your numbers will bring with it the kind of power that world government of today will fear.

Youth of the world should be able to cripple any govt thru boycot or even non cooperation.

Bush will be nothing. Pak Lah an ant, China president, a mere pig, Putin, a goat.

Come on, youth of the world, you can change the world into a far better place than what we see around us.

Malaysian youth, what about starting with you. RPK, what about you putting on your thinking cap and help the youth get started. Thank you.
written by Msian 2, May 11, 2008 21:35:45
If it is an ordinary Joe-Blo who had performed the statutory rape, he would be in jail. But when the rich well connected does it, its OK. The injustice & corruptness of the system does not protect the rakyat. Instead it is used against the people who seek justice. Mr.PM are U really that BODOWI as wriiten on the walls??
written by humanist, May 11, 2008 22:02:45
Najib vs RPK

Latest result from ******fight.com

http://www.******fight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=rpk&word2=najib razak
written by DontPlayGod, May 11, 2008 22:06:32
I am afraid that the court will win this October. It has already been predestined by UMNO. Remember, UMNO is the judge and jury. Come October, the kangaroo court will again be put into action, as in the case of Anwar, and many others. UMNO is the supreme law and judge in this country.

By the end of this year, UMNO's man and lawyer will be the Chief Justice, a man with no experience as a judge is now the appeal court judge, prior to being groomed to take over as the no. 1 judge of the country. At that time, all troube-makers will be put away, if UMNO says so.

That UMNO can do as they like, is, I am sorry to say this, is that they still have the overwhelming support of the Bumiputras, who have still not woke up. Shall I say that A. Paul may preside over this case.
written by omarkhayyam, May 11, 2008 23:08:35
lets see how many of the rakyat the can shut before we end their rule

written by remielfl, May 11, 2008 23:52:05
I wait with bated breath on the outcome of this Sedition case. Are we to see the opposite result from Ghandi's case? Will the Honourable Judge step down and refuse to try RPK?

This event would be the beginning of Malaysia's Judicial Reform!
written by whoisthis, May 11, 2008 23:54:41
A must see!

http://niamah.********.com/
written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 00:08:06
Clearly, UMNO is a Nazi party and The Polis DiRaja UMNO is their Gestapo!
written by cheekhiaw, May 12, 2008 00:33:45
NO BN JEWEL TO LOSE

The British won its sedition case but lost the jewel of its crown.

The BN is of course different. They have no jewel to start with...

written by Richy, May 12, 2008 03:32:37
Alas, How great it would be if we ever have a presiding judge who could stand up for the discriminated and abused, deliver a judgment that could praise the victim for his principle while condemn the power for its' misuse of power.
written by mamakstail, May 12, 2008 05:59:03
BN is like Saddam Hussien.. facing death sentence soon and still talk and act like this country belong to them and do what they like! What a shame!
written by Eskay Lim, May 12, 2008 21:31:13
WILL HISTORY BE REPEATED IN MALAYSIA?
The British court in India won the case on Sedition against Mahatma Gandhi,
Gandhi went to jail but British lost an empire in India.
WHAT IF?
The Umno/BN. govt. wins the trial, Raja Petra goes to jail,
The Umno/BN. will also lose the govt. to the opposition PR. YES?
Everyone is hoping.
Sorry, Raja Petra, you need to make this honourable sacrifice.