Lingam Tape Report must be made public PDF Print
Sunday, 11 May 2008 13:01

Aliran is happy to note that the Lingam Tape Report has been finally concluded and the Report submitted to His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

But Aliran is perturbed that there is no indication that the Report will be made public. It is our considered view that the public is entitled to have access to the Lingam Tape Report. We demand that this Report be made public.

It must be remembered that the Royal Commission was set up to investigate the scandalous goings-on in the judiciary because an outraged public demanded that such a Commission was necessary to get to the bottom of the judicial crisis and to expose the rot in the judiciary. There was a long tussle between the public and the Barisan Nasional government in this matter and finally it was the public will that prevailed.

It is in the public interest that the government is obliged to be transparent and accountable to the nation. It cannot and should not ignore this responsibility to make the findings public. It must respond to this demand to show that there is a genuine attempt to clean up the rot in the judiciary.

Let’s not forget that tax-payers money was involved in setting up this Commission and the work it entailed. Thus, the public has a right of access to this Report.

We have every right to know the findings of this Commission, its recommendations and whether there is any justification for its conclusions. This right cannot be denied under whatever circumstances and for whatever reasons.

We call upon the Prime Minister to respond positively to this demand and to make the Lingam Tape Report public.

P Ramakrishnan

President

written by freedom lover, May 11, 2008 13:05:56
It must be made public in its entirety! No facts should be hidden and tampered with! Let the people decide whether the findings and conclusions are justified!
written by indianputra, May 11, 2008 13:07:17
I have my doubts that the report will be made public totally. Only a few unimportant details will be made public. Let us wait and see.
written by malsia1206, May 11, 2008 13:08:01
The PM would only instruct portions of the findings in the report to be released for the public. Certain senisitve portions are deemed under OSA and Sedition Act and would not be disclosed and made available. That's his discretion. My take is he would exercise this right. Or the whole Judiciary would come tumbling down like a pack of cards. What more do you expect from the Barisan? There's no rakyat's money to suck from this report anyway.
written by Thesinner, May 11, 2008 13:08:13
Correct, correct, correct, it should be made public!! smilies/grin.gif
written by dperantauan, May 11, 2008 13:08:21
Too many actors wannabe in Malaysia? Perception test, vote for the best actor
www.dperantauan.com
written by Spear Bing, May 11, 2008 13:09:55
Yes we as tax-payers have the right to have access to such report. It is our human right and along with this right, we have done our duty to pay our income taxes.

Yes individual right comes along with individual duty as a tax-payer.

No DUTY, no RIGHT.
written by Jack Hui, May 11, 2008 13:11:12
Let nation judge....simple as that....nothing to hide !!!
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 11, 2008 13:14:16
This report will never be made public. Why ? Because by the time it is released, the original report would have been sanitised.
written by gctham, May 11, 2008 13:14:54
what is the purpose of appointing RC anyway if the report is only confine to a fews? people have the right to know and clear their perception.

any way to people on the street it is not that important any way. to most of them bread and butter in their daily life is more important than RC's report. But it is important to be made public as a principle of fact. it is morally wrong if it is NOT. IT IS also political foolish not to do so.
written by cble, May 11, 2008 13:36:10
Pada kebiasaanya semua Laporan yang dibuat oleh apajua Suruhanjaya yang diwujudkan oleh pemerintah mestilah didedahkan kepada umum. Jika tidak apa perlunya penubuhan RC. Jika boleh Laporang ini jika dijual kepada umum dengan harga RM50 senaskah akan laris penjualanya seperti goreng pisang
written by uncleleow, May 11, 2008 13:36:41
We alredy know much of it. But waht can we do after that. Or how the gomen going to change, that is more important.
written by future, May 11, 2008 14:17:21
To made it public in its entirety will be to damaging
to the BN govt.After all transparency its only lips service
for the PM.
written by ttsan, May 11, 2008 15:04:44
another crisis.it's a never ending shame! come let see them wash the dirty linen on the street.
written by hiro, May 11, 2008 15:27:12
The PM should be well aware of the sentiment on the ground and make his decision even before the report is out.

He knew that the report would be out. Why does he need to read it? It is not his prerogative to determine who has breached what criminal/civil laws in this country - it's the attorney general and the judiciary.

He would have scored brownie points with the public if he had made a commitment earlier to release the report. Now, even if he releases it, it would be taken with a pinch of salt by all.
written by Lim Lim, May 11, 2008 15:29:49
jus a simple question,why was the comission being set up?? n expenditure was by the rakyat's money!then ,is it meant for the public interest n good or was it meant jus for the ruling front to use it as a political sledge hammer??so why is it so hard to decide??
written by cheemengwong, May 11, 2008 16:25:52
The Boss demands that he be given the report

My wife demands that I go and buy some sausage from the supermarket.

My employee request that I approve his annual leave.

Can Aliran Demand for the RC report to be make public?

Come on Lah.
written by mgeo, May 11, 2008 19:16:52
cheemengwong,
Don't let your political and civil servants tell you they are your masters.
written by Debbie, May 11, 2008 19:23:18
Aiyah this man AAB is still sleeping ..he doesnt even know that he has a trump card up his sleeve.. to continue being the pm again for the next term.
Or maybe this is his coniving political move?!?!?
somebody ..enlighten me pls
shalom
written by LACOBRA, May 11, 2008 19:25:39
Very fishy! False sense of justice is served.
written by miwaki, May 11, 2008 20:53:26
If Malaysians really want to have the report in total,we must ensure Pakatan Rakyat forms the new government.BN cannot be trusted anymore.
written by smalluncle, May 11, 2008 22:37:12
I trust our Agong will be a rakyat loving ruler and he will make the report public for the Commission is under the Agong and I believe Agong should have full authority on how the finding will be handle.

If our DYMM Agong do make public the report, lets see the UMNO chaps dare says something that challange Tuanku's decision? Remember all the acts and their support for ruler after RPK and Karpal case?
written by jchew, May 11, 2008 22:56:36
I read today's news paper and Mahathir was commenting on Lingam tape claiming that Anwar tempered with the tape and tried to blackmail goverment and discredit Lingam. Lots of bull and lies! Mahathir = Bapa rasuah
written by Countach, May 11, 2008 23:02:50
jchew, Mahathir is the man behind the judiciary fixing.

He must be put on trial.
written by omarkhayyam, May 11, 2008 23:55:18
the public is already aware .....with or without the tape BN is going to "close shop"

written by shissun, May 12, 2008 00:24:34
Ala, that Abdullah doesn't have ball to make it public lah, I bet! Since when BN practice open book policy for the shit they created? It did not happen last time, it won't happen this time, and it won't happen in future. Want every single report to be announced public? Then we have to change the government! Change to PR. Then every shit will be "korek-korek" out for us to judge. Abdullah, you no need to play with your so-called commission here and there. I already feel nausea to hear any commission from you include your $ commission.
written by scottthong, May 12, 2008 09:01:20

Poster #1 from http://scottthong.*********.co...l-posters/
written by Sean E, May 12, 2008 10:41:40
What is the point of having a Royal Commission but the report is not made public?

Well, it will be the beginning of the end for BN government if this report is not made public.

Poeple will think the government has something to hide.

Even fence sitters will vote for the opposition in the next GE.
written by almier, May 12, 2008 14:43:04
correct, correct, correct...there is nothing wrong in the Report, even if there is there is no need for the public to know, we the senile at the age of 50 can correct, correct, corrct it... why make it public?
written by schizonoid, May 14, 2008 03:08:50
Judiciary Reform Dinner : Waste time and rakyat money.
Korek korek korek lubang besar n dump all of them inside.