Time to close chapter on May 13 PDF Print
Sunday, 11 May 2008 12:41

Close to four decades after the May 13 riots, it’s time to have a proper closure; the lesson learnt must not be used to create fear.

ON THE BEAT WITH WONG CHUN WAI, THE STAR

IT has been 39 years since May 13, 1969, when the country’s darkest history occurred. The racial riots have continued to remain a traumatic experience and a scar that won’t go away after almost four decades.

More than 60% of the country’s 26 million population, if not a little more, did not experience that shameful part of the nation’s journey, and yet it is still taboo to talk about it.

More than 54% of Malaysians are below 24 years old. Add another 10% who are probably between 30 and 40 years old, or slightly older, and we will find that for all these people, the incident is a distant memory.

The more elderly Malaysians prefer not to talk about it and even if they do, it is done in a guarded manner. As for the history textbooks in schools, it is an episode to be remembered through a few paragraphs but best not to be discussed openly.

For some opportunistic politicians, the May 13 tragedy is used to invoke fear among the people and to protect the politics of communalism.

Unfortunately, in our reluctance to talk about May 13 openly, the best of Malaysian stories, even in the worst of Malaysia, have not been narrated.

There have been many fantastic uplifting stories, where Malaysians of different races protected each other and these stories should be told.

I am 47 years old and was only in Standard Two when May 13 took place. My home then was at Kampung Melayu in Air Itam, where my parents still live. As the name suggests, it is a predominantly Malay area and while many flats have since been built, it was essentially a semi-urban village then.

The rows of terrace houses were the only ones occupied by Chinese and when the fights broke out, we were caught in a frightening situation. Although I was only eight years old then, I remember my father taking me to the fiery Gerakan rallies, where the eloquence of the speakers, especially the Gerakan founder the late Datuk Lim Ee Heong, mesmerised me.

On the eve of the 1969 election, my father carried me on his shoulders at the mammoth Gerakan rally in Esplanade so that I could get a good view of the stage, where the speakers stood. He would explain to me what the loud clapping was about whenever I seemed lost as to what the speakers were saying, which was often.

The crowd cheered when the opposition called on the voters to “sink the Alliance boat” at the Esplanade sea the next day.

I recalled Lim telling the voters in Hokkien that if the federal government refused to build the Penang bridge, “we will ask China” to build the bridge, as he built up the communal rhetoric.

Ironically, the Penang bridge was built by the South Koreans and the new one would be built by the Chinese.

History was created as the Gerakan was voted into power the next day.

In Kuala Lumpur and Selangor, which saw the opposition making sweeping gains, the same euphoria erupted and a victory procession soon took place, which sparked the start of the racial riots.

When news of these disturbances broke out, my family had to make a choice – move to my grandmother’s house in Chulia Street, a Chinese majority area, where we would be safe, or stay behind in Kampung Melayu.

I was too young to ask my father why he decided we should stay back but we all did – my parents and three brothers. We stored plenty of food but no weapons even though my father sold hardware, believing that nothing would happen to us.

After all, the many Malay friends who stayed in the village knew us; even those who did not know us personally would greet us as they passed by our home daily. They were friendly, if not helpful, Malay neighbours.

We were right. Nothing happened during the riots. Kampung Melayu was one of the safest places in Penang for the Chinese.

Like all curious children, I would peer through the window to see if any fights had taken place during curfew but all I saw were some Federal Reserve Unit officers on patrol. No action at all.

The police had sent Chinese FRU officers to our village, knowing their presence would make the minority population feel safe. When the curfew hours were lifted, we mingled with these policemen who were friendly. I was fascinated with the weapons, especially the gas canisters they carried.

But the Malay and Chinese neighbours also came out, assuring each other that all was well and that there was no reason to fear any racial clashes. At the nearby field, where I played football with the Malay boys, we talked about when we would start our games again, and when we should catch dragonflies and little fishes at the stream that passed through our village.

For many of us, May 13 was also a phase that interrupted the interaction of Malaysians. For the Malay, Chinese and Indian boys in Kampung Melayu, we just wanted to carry on with our games. We heard about the clashes from my parents and in our innocence, many of us wondered why.

Of course, there were also unluckier ones, who had to live through a more traumatic experience, where they saw fighting taking place and lives snatched away. It will not be easy for them to forget.

But for many Malaysians, now in their late 40s and mid-50s, May 13 is just a flicker in their memory. It’s time to have a proper closure, a lesson learnt and not to be used to create fear.

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, May 11, 2008 12:47:27
I never know this canary can sing a new tune now. Very peculiar canary trying to seek warmer weather away from winter. Crap. This article comes 40 years late.
written by freedom lover, May 11, 2008 12:49:58
"Close to four decades after the May 13 riots, it’s time to have a proper closure; the lesson learnt must not be used to create fear."

I fully agree with the writer. What is really standing in the way of this proper closure are as follows:

1) Freedom of press (MSM and cyber)
2) Freedom of Expression
3) Repealing of all jungle laws like sedition laws, etc
4) Eradication of poverty ( not by words but true action-oriented policies)

written by uncleleow, May 11, 2008 12:51:14
Not until the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth of 5-13 is out. who instigate it and how it happen. Now still there are asome who enjoy it till calling to soak ot with c*** blood.
written by othman hitam, May 11, 2008 12:51:51
Yeah, this guy is really singing a new tune now. Just 2 months ago his write-ups in the Star were really insulting a thinking mind. Chun Wai, mahu menyeberang sebelum BN MPs ke?
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 11, 2008 12:55:21
The only way we can have closure, is by the truth about this evil episode in the history of our country being made known to all. And I mean the truth, no matter how unpalatable it may be to some. Do you Dato Wong dare ask your political masters to tell the truth ?
written by sarawakian, May 11, 2008 12:58:29
to err is human, to forgive is divine.
written by cheekhiaw, May 11, 2008 13:00:07
There is no reason to fear the Malays in kampungs but there is every reason to be wary of the crooked knife wielding devils in UMNO.

written by James Loh, May 11, 2008 13:12:15
I remembered my history teacher told me a heart warming story that's similar to the Petronas May 13 advertisement. He told us that his Malay neighbours asked them to stay at their place. They protected them throughout this dark time. It's this heart warming story we must remembered.

Without politics, we don't see us versus them. Without politics, a cina apek wears sarung. Without politics, we enjoy watching favorite bujang lapok movie. Without politics, Malay learn how to make roti canai.

This is a great country. We as fellow Malaysians must learn to appreciate this beautiful place. In order for us to have a peace, we must listen to each other and care for each other. We need to go beyond race and religion.

We're living in this globalization era and if we're not united together as Malaysian we'll be left behind. We must not allow anybody to manipulate our relationship among the races.
written by mendela, May 11, 2008 13:12:54
What right the killers have to start the killing of the Chinese people?
Why our school textbooks and history are telling nothing but shits about May 13?

May 13 is simple to understand, it was the ultra Malays killing the innocent and defenceless Malaysian Chinese!

The real truth must be told!
The killings were cruel!

40 years is too long to hide such massacre of innocents !!

written by Jack Teh, May 11, 2008 13:15:05
How did this fellow manage to be the editor of Star newspaper ? He writing is on par with a form 5 student.
written by Victory or Death, May 11, 2008 13:18:12
As the song goes;

When will they ever learn?
When will he ever learn ?
When will Wong Chun Wai ever learn?

As the saying goes:

Your reputation precedes you.

After having been so unshamelessly biased in his reporting for so many years,can one gain credibility again by singing a different tune?

Politicians need principles,so do journalist and bloggers!!
written by glock17, May 11, 2008 13:27:07
Dear Datuk Wong....

Now do you understand why racist-corruptive political party which strives on ultra ethno narrow-minded blind nationalism is very dangerous to any country internal peace and security???

Once this fearful political culture creeps deeply into any governance system , it will create loopsided goverment decision and power abused base on creed, religion and race which spells total disaster in the long run for any multicultural country.

I'm sure you know this already, but for the sake of your economical survival, your body, soul and mind had close this chapter and pretend everything is fine. Sadly, it is not in the long run, ask any poor honest disadvantage hard working citizens whom are discriminated by this systematical racist system.

Glock17
written by cubi76, May 11, 2008 13:39:29
This is truly truly a sad episode in the history of our nation.

Correct me if I am wrong, the riot started from the gathering in the house of the then Malay leader Tok Harun?

It's been 50 years ago. I believe it's time to heal the wound.

And to the Malay friends, make no mistake, the Chinese are you friend, NOT enemy. Both chinese and indians contributed greatly to the nation building of this country.

In every level, from the labour job, plantation, road building, railway building, hawker, factory workers, retail, up to banking and finance, you can see the sweat and blood contribution from the chinese and indians, and other races alike.

NEP was agreed by all races and created to upbring the income of the Malays, to help Malays! Chinese and Indians, as Malaysians, do not wish to see the inequality in this nation.

But, please remember. The future is in your own hand. The NEP will not be there forever. The NEP is too costly a policy for our nation to bear. The racial factor must be eliminated one day, to become need-based rather than race-based.

It really makes me feel sad reading the story.

It's time to move on my friend. And learn from the mistake, plea do not play into the hand of the politicians again.

It's time to re-shape the direction of the nation building.

written by turun padang, May 11, 2008 13:50:46
Kah kah kah....

WONG CHUN WAI... wong chun wai...

you just talk kok only la...

If you were in kampung baru or in chow kit or tiong nam, than may be just may be i might buy your story.. but too bad, you were not in the heart of the events..
And one more thing.. how to close a chapter of the story when the truth is not even being told?
written by alarcarte, May 11, 2008 14:15:28
Wong C.W is right, most of the Malaysians today have not experienced May 69 incident, using May69 incident to threatened the Non Bumis during election campaign is the most stupid thing ever done by our P.M.

Some of us ridicule Mr Wong Chun Wai, I think we need to understand his predicament, his bread and butter come from his employer which is affiliated to MCA. Its only now that he is slightly freer to voice his opinion and that not of his master.
written by oknyua, May 11, 2008 14:22:34
The fact is they will NOT only remind us of May 13. They also remind us of Hang Tuah, Keris and Hang Jebat, Parameswara, British, Communist.

written by Sagaladoola, May 11, 2008 14:22:53
Well, that is Penang and not Kuala Lumpur. I believe the central point of the problem was in Kuala Lumpur.

Anyway, it is true that May 13 is only 2 days away. Let's hope no one use this issue as a basis of political propaganda.
written by malsia1206, May 11, 2008 14:28:28
alarcarte, if you are so forgiving, you can have Barisan back with their 2/3rd majority in Parliament. If this biased writer has to rely on his bread and butter on the hands that feed him, where does his sense of professionalism stand in his reports? Remember the media carries a stong influence on shaping public opinion and the rakyat has awaken to realise the Star and NST are the tools of the Barisan for all the years since TDM. If he wants to sing a different tune now, as he is doing at this convenient time, is he not the guy that sails with the wind without a conviction to fair reporting? You ban bet if Barisan had a landslide victory in the last GE, this report would never appear at all. That's why I said it's 40 years late in the 1st thread. Are you just trying to be gullible?
written by The Voter, May 11, 2008 14:30:08
I have read a book long long time ago thhat showed the pictures of Tan Chee Koon of Pekemas and Lee Lam Thye in the victory parade of the opposition. Botha have been confered Tan Sri. If theye are bad they would not get the title, wouldn't thee? Lee Lam Thye is now the head of PLKN. Might be he call tell us the truth what was really starting the event. Anyway the leagcy of 13th May should be closed. The win of Pakatan Rakyat in Penang and Perak aspecially with DAP as an anchor party did not trasnpired anything as 13th May 1969. The only fear is UMNO/BN.
written by Uncorruptible, May 11, 2008 14:32:02
May 13 will NOT be closed until Pakatan Rakyat takes power.
Only when umno and mahatail is buried will the victims of May 13 be appeased.
written by malsia1206, May 11, 2008 14:39:31
The bold print on the heading of this article emphasize on 2 things -
1. "the lesson learnt". Have we learnt anything yet? Ask UMNO and all the Barisan component parties.
2. "must not be used to create fear". Ask Hishamuddin on the keris debacle.
This writer assumes the facts are in place. The simple open truth is the supposed facts are never in existence.
written by lynn, May 11, 2008 14:40:37
Wong Chun Wai, how do you propose we all close this chapter in history?
Just from reading the above, "tah-pau" the issue & forget it?
Why don't you come right out & say who were the perpetrators/instigators behind 513?
Can you confirm who were the ultra malays from umno who were the real culprits?
Will they be charge in court for causing so many deaths, injuries, and chopped heads? (mad to suggest this)
Most of us were so young, we didn't even know what the hell was going on!
Suddenly curfew, wtf, what did we do wrong? Suddenly we hear stories, malay kids bosom friends with chinese & indian, suddenly not on speaking terms, suddenly eyed the chinese with suspicion! WTF?

Why can't the losers be graceful & accept defeat as part of life?
What is so wrong for the winners to celebrate?
The losers must win at all costs, or else..... or else we will give you another May 13, which chewmeifun the spin-ster told us chinese, either you voted me in or else......... Wah, I almost believe in god almighty but no, I believe the truth is more powerful, that's why Selangor fell to the Opposition in GE12!!!

I just want to say, people shld learn not to be so emotional - win or lose,

written by Lim Lim, May 11, 2008 15:14:48
it was a political coup n they hav screwed up the rakyat since then!!don't believe??lets crash the racial divides n u would see what happen to umno/BN in no time!!jus look at their latest rhetorics n nonsensical out cries..it clearly shows that umno basically survives on racist contents,nothing more; n it is detrimental as far as nation building is concerned...make racial divides disappear n we would see umno sinking into the abyss,it won't be a loss to malaysian n malaysia anyway except those who hav been hiding behind that racial curtain to rob the rakyat big time!
written by slash n burn, May 11, 2008 15:17:32
Wong Cunt Wai, you got your cheap 'Datuk' by kissing Badawi's ass. You crap..
written by ttsan, May 11, 2008 15:26:17
May 13 is equal to the Holocast.The gov't must set up a royal commission to seek the truth and make public so the new generation knows what this may 13 is. otherwise they think like CHAP GOH MAY. also declare may 13 a public holiday.
written by tikuih, May 11, 2008 15:28:54
whoa! for once he didn't bodek any bn big shots in his article. no mention of aab, okt or any tuan. a play-safe article. let's see if his famous bodeking and kow towing will resurface again in his next article... we'll see.
written by hiro, May 11, 2008 15:28:59
I'm not sure what closure WCW has in mind. For me, the best closure can only happen when Barisan Nasional is out of power, and then we have a national reconciliation commission to look into the May 13 issue and blame it not on racial sensitivity but political greed as the cause of May 13.
written by harryo, May 11, 2008 15:34:53
It is funny, Wong. If it is time to put May 13 behind, I am reminded again and again by the statement BN political leaders on the issue of keris and Chinese blood only recently. Can people really forget!! Wong, you are a BN writer and not a fair minded journalist. You are also MCA mouthpiece.
written by rockli, May 11, 2008 16:17:51
May 13 is archaic. Racial violence is irrelevant, maybe in Africa, it still is.
If anyone wants to cause trouble or problems for the country, better to do it the Pakistan way - plant bombs.
The terror spread will be more effective.
Marshal law or Emergency rule will be instituted.
written by Bradcrz, May 11, 2008 16:39:49
DEAR DATUK WONG,
DO U DARE TO TELL THIS CRAP STRAIGHT IN D FACE OF UMNO YOUTH! WILL UMNO YOUTH REPEAT THEIR RHETORIC OF THREATENING NON MALAYS IN THEIR FUTURE ASSEMBLIES AGN! U HV NOT MENTIOND ANYTHING WTH REFERENCE TO D BOOK BY DR KUA KIA SOONG,WHO ANALYSED "MASTERMINDS" OF MAY 13 BLOODSHED! I BELIVD U WROTE THIS ARTICLE ON BEHALF OF YR MASTERS,MCA,WHO R LAME DUCKS NOW,TO GIVE THEM A NEW LEASE OF LIFE !BN NOW IS DELAYING D 2ND PENANG BRIDGE, WHAT HV U GOT TO SAY TO THEM !!!
written by humanist, May 11, 2008 17:02:54
This Wong Chun Wai guy is writing to "Jom-Shiok-Sendiri" .When someone wants to bath in Chinese blood using Malay Kris , did he write that piece in Star ?
Kids and normal people are NOT racist, only politicians are. Only those bigots want to bring it up again and again.

Al
written by Chaptokam, May 11, 2008 18:05:33
Wong Chun Wai ,

You write the subject as if you were in the mist of it !
My question to you is very simple :
Were you born then ? or you were still sucking your mother's tits ??
If it is so , don't comment !!
Please continue to lick Ong Ka Ting's Ass ,
Maybe Ong Ka Chuan's Ass is bigger ans easier to lick .
written by Dogboy, May 11, 2008 18:06:27
Seek closure just because of your article?

Closure can only be had if the truth is told. Has the Star been part of any attempt to tell the truth.

Closure can only be had if the perpertrators are brought to justice.

Closure can only be had if the instigators (UMNO) are brought to justice.

Closure can only be had if the victims families are apologised to and compensation given.

These are conditions which closure can be achieved and not because you think so. Once again a crap article from a fake trying to change his spots.
written by temenggong, May 11, 2008 18:08:22
Rest assured that the incoming PR federal govt will appoint a royal commission on May 13 and the Kg. Medan clashes.

After that, the ghosts would be exorcised and the chapter can be closed.
written by Toyolbuster, May 11, 2008 18:13:00
Few of those responsible for the May13 incident are still alive and well. They are still talking loudly. Shouldn't they be made responsible and to pay for what happened. Many innocent lives were unnecessarily lost due to their selfish gains and greed. How can we allow them to get away scot free. Is Wong Chun Wai attempting to set them free by persuading for closure. Yes we must not allow this to happen again, and yes, we must not keep harping on it anymore, BUT, shouldn't those responsible be punished in the name of Law and Order. What about my loved ones who perished in the incident while minding their own business. Pray tell Wong.
written by FuLinYu, May 11, 2008 18:35:25
...and a victory procession soon took place, which sparked the start of the racial riots.

Eh! Apa-lah? Pointing fingers at the silent & undefended. The "self-perceived losers" are already volatile and are carrying "fire". Don't blame the spark to justify them. Let the truth prevail.

James Loh:
Without politics, we don't see us versus them. Without politics, a cina apek wears sarung. Without politics, we enjoy watching favorite bujang lapok movie. Without politics, Malay learn how to make roti canai.

Well spoken! Politics made-dirty.
written by mgeo, May 11, 2008 19:39:03
written by James Loh, May 11, 2008 | 13:12:15
...Without politics, we don't see us versus them...
I agree fully that culture would not have been an issue at all. Due to racist politics, we lost everything we gained under Tunku and others.

cubi76, without blaming UMNO alone, here is an extract from today's Star by Ahmad Mustapha Hassan, former Press Secretary to Tun Abdul Razak and Tun Mahathir, author of The Unmaking of Malaysia, who still claims he does not know who planned the violence: "I was part of the UMNO Youth committee ... our plan was ... We would hold a counter victory celebration ... when we assembled at the Selangor Mentri Besar's house ... we were handed head-bands and weapons ... there were some element's in UMNO who ... planned something more sinister."
written by SamYap, May 11, 2008 20:08:47
Hi All,

Not too long ago, I think this Wong Chun Wai fella was the same one who warned the STAR readers abut dire consequences in terms of racial harmony if BN loses the election. Now he says something else.

This type of person is no different from the ones who would sell their mothers for a few coins.

Ptuiiii!
written by DontPlayGod, May 11, 2008 22:21:00
Hey, you know who talks about May 13 the most(and loudest)? You've guessed it. It is UMNO. UMNO uses the May 13 to scare the Chinese into not voting for the opposition. They have succeeded for the last few decades. But not anymore. People have seen through the corruptness of UMNO and have finally come out of the fear instlled into us by UMNO all these decades.
written by shan, May 11, 2008 22:31:40
This stupid canary is crowing like a cock.,.,
know your facts first before chirping or you might end up in the "musang's belly"

It's a well known fact the major problem was around the vicinity of KL and kampung baru.,.,This was created by the the failing alliance party envious of the victors DAP..,.,.,Penang no Sing Song

I was 13 at them time and have seen the carnage of busses burnt and people slashed. and dead bodies in the klang river.

that's history and people those days very naive and were misconstrued into believing that they had supernatural power by the leaders and they went about slashing and destroying properties.,.My grandfather told me so.,.,/

I don't read the STAR bcos they are a bunch of phonies,easily coruptable like their piers the BN .,.,

We cannot forget the carnage and will always do whatsoever to prevent it from ever happening again,so Why do we need to talk about the ugly episode in the country in the first place,.,We have alot of work to do now primaryly seeking the release of the isa DETAINEE AND THE STUPID BIRD wants to talk about may 13.,.,Carefull you stupid bird,I heard my friend the sinseh in the chinese medical hall said that canary brains are good for curing piles. smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by mei yen, May 11, 2008 22:47:15

Wong Chun Wai, touching story from the heart. I wish more people who have experienced May 13 would write and talk about their experiences for the young folks who do not have a clue as to what happened. Not an incident to laugh and snicker about except for the simple minded.

It's not an incident that should be swept under the rug. It has been ignored for 50 years, like it never happened. Lives were lost and their loved ones do not even know where their bodies are buried. Think about this before anyone of you start snickering again.

written by Catharsis, May 11, 2008 23:08:43
I HAD MALAY NEIGHBOURS DURING MAY 13, WE WERE SAFE- THE PROBLEM WAS NOT WITH OUR MALAY NEIGHBOURS..........BUT THE MALAY POLITICIANS
written by FuLinYu, May 12, 2008 00:02:30
Catharsis wrote: I HAD MALAY NEIGHBOURS DURING MAY 13, WE WERE SAFE- THE PROBLEM WAS NOT WITH OUR MALAY NEIGHBOURS..........BUT THE MALAY POLITICIANS

I say: UMNO politicians - the unscrupulous ones!
written by SammyC, May 12, 2008 00:10:20
WCW,
why remind us of may13 38 yrs ago? it is history, buried forever. if we revive it again, the bogeyman will come again tomorrow (May 13) and start the slaughter all over again. have u a solution to this problem, and how do we rebury history?
written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 00:19:40
How to close chapter?

Whe syaitans like Najis want to open a second chapter!

" I will spill the blood of Malaysian Chinese with this keris!"
written by stormdnation, May 12, 2008 02:03:42
May 13 should be put to rest forever! All of us have different color for our SKIN, but we have the same blood color. SO, all of us are equal and let us not focus on what races we are, but getting to know one person by heart.

I remember there was this story about a person who is in need of an organ. The other races fella know about it, and his organ is match to the blood type desire by the patient. So, what must he do? Ignore the person and let him die? If he let him die,isn't his action has made him a killer? Can he just donate since he have the same blood type?

We as human are just the same inside of us. Don't let minor differences separate us! we are one! make equality our life motto!
written by mei yen, May 12, 2008 05:52:14

May 13 1969

People died, not one but many, nobody knows how many.

People took matters into their own hands, they killed, and nobody took responsibly, no one was charged.

Nobody said sorry, there was no apology, just silence!

How can the dead rest peacefully, without a name, without a tomb to call their own, without their families knowing where they are. How can they ever forget when they are still living with the pain?

written by Bluechip, May 12, 2008 09:59:24
13th May, the chapter, can be close after all Malaysians convert into "Malaysia Nation". Today still exist of racial sentiment among Malaysians particularly in political manner. If Malaysians regards of their thought of belief, races, skin colour, political doctrine, and etc, in order to stand unity, 13th May just laid in rest.

But seemingly some people like Nazri Aziz, Karpal Singh, Bung Mokhtar Radin, and others company still concealed sentiment which they themselve did'nt realise. That is sentiment of racist, and etc. Can 13th May become "the end" ?
written by mountainking, May 12, 2008 11:04:21
let's re-build "Malaysia" and bring all malaysians together. we will nail the BN down as they were the one who created fear and communal politics.

and they were the one who also engineered it. let's build bigger prison for all these corrupted BN leaders, policemen and civil servants.
written by nanyangren, May 12, 2008 11:05:21
Seemed so many years have gone by and so many tears have flowed. Tomorrow I mark the day again in sorrow....

The pain and anger have long been gone, it is just an emptiness that needs to be filled, needs closure. I was only in std three then, barely none years old.

To see my school teacher cry when he heard my older brother went missing on May 13 was a shock to me. To see the school HM ( bless him for his long life - for he is still alive) come to my little pondok house to offer condelences to my mum was something that is seared forever in my mind.

So did the cikgu, a portly and genial Malay discipline master. WHY?

I did not know then and it was with a slow and painful revelation of why my brother had to die as I gradually grew up. That was the pain and it intesnsify every May 13. My bright and promising brother had to die so that politicians survive and get to play their dirty business to stay in power. Young man must die when leaders fumbled. They aint much of leaders then......

The pain has long since eased, but it does not hide my disidain when May 13 is raised again as a bogeyman - from Marina Yussoff, to Najib, to Hisamuddin and to all others who continue to threathen Malaysians with blood - I say - "ppoooh-dah.." to you.

I do wish to have closure. What happened, why must it happen and what are we taking to prevent it from happening again. For one, I sure wish that anyone that threathens May 13 should be charged with sedition, treason, incitment and thrown straight into jail.

That would ease the emptiness alot....
written by beijing, May 12, 2008 12:57:12
Wong Chun Wai, what is your purposed to write this article? Enough is enough. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by chin, May 12, 2008 13:27:23
Closure is when the perpetrators are identified and punished.

Closure is when we know none of the perpetrators are part of the present government.

MCA has collaborated with the perpetrators and continue to do so. Closure is when these stupid Chinese stop supporting the very people that murdered their families.
written by HJ Angus, May 12, 2008 14:29:03
Asking for closure just because of the time lapse is wrong in principle.
Getting many of the perpetrators now is difficult and hoping to exact punishment is problematic but a Truth and Reconciliation Tribunal may help to help those who suffered.

For the guilty, confessing and seekng forgiveness is good for the soul. But I don't think the authorities have the guts nor the intention to set up such a tribunal.

Hell, even the Lingam and Police Commissions were hard for them.
written by mgeo, May 12, 2008 15:53:54
nanyangren,
Don't blame Marina Yusof. She exposed an important fact only rumoured earlier, and paid the price for her service to the nation.
written by LPN, May 12, 2008 20:42:41
The whole thing was started by the politicans - first the opposition (those bastards are still around) by allowing their supporters to go wild and ridding thru the town insulting and instigating the malays.

Then some shit-hole MB took the opportunity to further stir up the feelings of the malays which started the riots.

On both sides - the innocents died. Those who were guilty got away scotfree.

FYI, the riots was NOT started abruptly - it took a few days to happen.

I was hanging around KL when it happened and managed to drive home to PJ just before the the Kg. Kerenchi incident started. Some people that I know were not so lucky - and up till now are LISTED AS MISSING!!

Put the blame on the politicians!! The rest are just followers who got caught in the heat of the fury and all hell broke loose on that day.

Time to forget and move on - but keep an eye on the politicians (and those others) who like to stir up this shit every now and then.

written by nanyangren, May 13, 2008 11:46:38
My wishlist:

a. Setup a website for those missing. This will allow people to remember, something like the website of "in memory off.." Only - call this by its name - MAY 13. When yongsters see the details in the web, they will really know the horrors of May 13 and racial politics.

b. Govrnment to open up its archives, so that ordinary folks like me can see where the missing is listed - somehow - very much like the Horishima archives for the atomic bomb explosion.

c. A panel of inquiry - allow people to say their piece in public and for the truth to come out.

Right now the official version only blame the opposition parties ( read -Chinese) and exonerates the then Menteri Besar harun for organising a counter rally and counter procession. For the puny opposition then to celebrate is one thing, for a leader of a state to continue to fan the fires is another.

I guess the truth lies somehwere in between....we want to know.
written by shiokguy, May 13, 2008 14:24:00
I only get to know about May 13 and all it implication while studying in NZ
http://shiokguy.********.com/2...ience.html
written by cruzeiro, May 22, 2008 15:36:09
Dear Chun Wai,
Welcome to the real world of freedom, honesty and integrity.

I can imagine how stifling it (the repression) was and the damage it has caused to your journalistic skills and ideals.

Publicise your blog and write with a freer mind .... hope to hear you sing better in time to come.