No hard and fast rule on supremacy PDF Print
Sunday, 11 May 2008 12:38

In battling for Malay supremacy, are its champions defending a concept whose origins are blurred in the annals of history? As for those pushing for a Malaysian identity, did the country only begin post-Merdeka?

By SUHAINI AZNAM, THE STAR

KETUANAN Melayu (Malay supremacy) is a delicate subject, bringing with it connotations of supremacy of one race over another.

Historically, the more confident the Malays are, the more generous they will be. But after the March 8 election they feel threatened, and so are not in a giving mood to their Chinese and Indian fellow countrymen.

»We cannot build this nation overnight. What we are asking for is a willingness to contribute, a willingness to sacrifice.... RAZALI IBRAHIM

Thus talk of Malay unity and nationalism has cropped up with increasing frequency over the past two months, the latest being the three-day Congress on Malay Solidarity in Johor Baru last weekend.

There, 2,000 representatives from 180 Malay non-governmental organisations got together to discuss the need to form a lobby group to protect Malay interests, due to the failure of Malay political parties to champion the Malay agenda.

Congress co-organiser Federation of Malaysian Writers Associations (Gapena) president Tan Sri Ismail Hussein noted the increasing prominence of such ideologies as a Malaysian Malaysia, multi-lingualism, multiculturism and religious pluralism.

“We are against these as our stand is that Malaysia’s existence is founded on the principle of Kedaulatan Melayu (Malay sovereignty),” he said.

At the same time, he noted that the Congress and its resolutions were not meant to be against non-Malays.

For non-Malays, as well as some Malays who espouse a Malaysian Malaysia, this line of argument goes against the grain. Their argument is: how can you advocate supremacy, which by definition places one above another entity, and then claim that you are not against non-Malays?

There seems to be no conciliatory ground of understanding between the two. Each group wants concessions that the other is not ready, or willing, to give.

Nationalist Malays want Malaysian Chinese and Indians to absorb and demonstrate more Malay traits. The latter do not want to be Malays; they want to be Malaysians.

Bukit Bintang MP Fong Kui Lun criticised the Congress “50 years after Merdeka” as a regressive step. “Today we are living in a globalised world, with an open policy.

“If you want to hold a convention for uniting Malaysians, then that would be suitable. But if you go for racialism, it’s a step back.”

The debate shifted up a gear on May 8 when MCA vice-president Datuk Ong Tee Keat objected to the term ketuanan Melayu as it implied the relationship between tuan, or master, and slave.

Inter-linked: The debate over Malay supremacy is ironic in that as a people, the Malays are very much linked to the Chinese and Indian civilisations of old.

Without missing a beat, Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek responded that the ketuanan referred to the raja raja Melayu of whom all races were subjects.

When Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) spilt into the streets last Nov 25, many indignant Malays threatened only half in jest that they should be sent back to India. Ethnic relations had receded to its lowest ebb. Two or three generations along, there were still Malays who thought that they had more rights to this country than anyone else. It is a question that harkens back to 1957 and that non-negotiable trade-off of Malay special privileges for citizenship rights for non-Malays.

The die-hard Malay nationalists insist that the non-Malays must first understand the country’s history.

“The younger generation Chinese and Indians have to stand tall and appreciate that the country called Malaysia was founded on the Malacca sultanate,” said Muar MP Razali Ibrahim.

“All who are Malaysians must accept this as the country that we have built together.

“Is it enough to sing the Negara Ku and be able to recite the Rukun Negara by heart to call yourself a citizen?”

“We cannot build this nation overnight. What we are asking for (from the non-Malays) is a willingness to contribute, a willingness to sacrifice.”

This includes a willingness to wear the songkok, not fighting for mother-tongue classes, and thinking of oneself as Malaysian (first and only) without any reference to China or India, explained the Johor Umno Youth chief.

“Without this, it’s too much for the Malays to sacrifice that (element of) language,” he said, adding that he was not trying to promote racial tension but nation building.

But the current debate does have race as its political genesis. Umno, by its failure to protect Malay supremacy in politics, has disappointed, even frightened, the Malays.

Malay polity is now trying hard to separate religion from culture from their envisioned ideals of “bangsa Melayu” and, of course, from politics.

Umno is caught in the middle. It has to placate the intellectuals and cultural activists who still form the opinion leaders among its grassroots. At the same time, it has to evolve into a Malaysian party because that is its only option in the face of Pakatan Rakyat’s multi-racial appeal.

Meanwhile, MCA has won admiration even among a segment of Malays, for having been pragmatic enough to evolve into a party that looked beyond the narrow confines of Chinese interests. Its president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting said: “We are still a Chinese-based political party but our ways, direction and approach are for all races.”

Conversely, the MIC is still looking inward, to protecting Indian interests, especially after makkal sakti (people’s power) swept the nation, leaving its president and a few leaders without a seat.

On May 7, Razali took on DAP chairman Karpal Singh for asking who had prepared the text of the King’s speech to Parliament. In the near free-for-all that ensued, Razali challenged Karpal Singh, saying that he was on the verge of being derhaka (an act of treason against a sultan or King). It was telling that all those who later congratulated Razali on a well-delivered speech were Malays from Umno.

Malays would probably feel more comfortable if Malaysia comprised ethnic Chinese of say 12% of the population, and Indians another 6%. So far, their brethren from Sabah and Sarawak are no threat to peninsula Malays because of their small numbers.

At a relatively youthful 38, Razali would like to inherit a united country. To him, integration was a misnomer for this country’s socio-political evolution.

“We have adaptation, accommodation. We respect your culture and needs.”

A language belongs to the race as denoted by the people, not the country as defined by a land mass, reasoned Razali.

“It does not have to be so taboo to say it belongs to the Melayu because the language belongs to the bangsa of the country – in this case, the Malays.

He pointed to Indonesians and Thais as examples, whose Chinese were not ethnically identifiable by their names and who spoke Bahasa Indonesia or Thai as their language of first choice.

But before we can reach that point, the Chinese and Indians already fear they have to compromise their roots, he said. “There is no sense of pride in being Malaysian.”

“Nation building will not work if only the Malays work towards it. Our future is intertwined.”

Razali’s views were typical of a Johorean Malay “cocooned in his Malay milieu,” said the former Speaker of the Kelantan Legislative Assembly Datuk Wan Rahim Wan Abdullah, now the PAS MP for Kota Baru.

“The first 50 years are over. Umno must have the courage to admit that the playing field has changed,” he said.

“People are educated. In another 10 years, the pre-Merdeka generation will all be over 60 years old.”

They will not be showing respect to Umno en masse, he pointed out.

It was in that light that at the Congress, Prof Datuk Dr Zainal Kling of the Sultan Idris Teachers’ Training University warned Malays not to be complacent about ketuanan Melayu just because the Prime Minister and most mentris besar were Malay.

“Our culture is to surrender leadership to one person, and if he turns out to be weak, all would fall with him.”

What in fact constitutes a Melayu?

Genetically, it would be almost impossible to define one as the Malays are such a mixed lot.

The late National Laureate Datuk Usman Awang described the origins of Malays as covering the swathe of Indonesian islands from Sulawesi to Aceh, on the peninsula from Jakun to Sakai, and eastwards to Pakistan and Arab.

The Constitution distils the definition to one who is born to a Malaysian citizen who professes to be a Muslim, habitually speaks the Malay language, adheres to Malay customs and is domiciled in Malaysia or Singapore.

All of Malaysia’s first four prime ministers were not of 100% Malay stock: Tunku Abdul Rahman’s mother was a Thai princess; Tun Abdul Razak traced his lineage to Bugis seafarers of Sulawesi; Tun Hussein Onn was of Turkish descent; and Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad admitted to “having Indian blood flowing through my veins”.

Yet they were all Malay and as leaders of the country’s largest Malay political party, Umno, also represented the Malay polity. As Mahathir added: “No Malay is pure.”

In fact, in social studies classes, children are taught that the Malays who settled in the coastal areas, pushing the orang asli inland and uphill, descended from Yunnan, in south China.

The values Malays hold most dear are, in no particular order: Islam, sultans, land, customs and language.

But it is a language that has borrowed heavily from Sanskrit and Arabic, with a smattering of everyday words from the rest of the South-East Asian archipelago.

This debate over Malay supremacy is then ironic in that as a people, the Malays are very much linked to the Chinese and Indian civilisations of old, as former deputy prime minister Tun Musa Hitam himself once observed.

So in battling for Malay supremacy, are its champions defending a concept whose origins are blurred in the annals of history? And are those pushing for a Malaysian identity also mired in the same misconception that the country only began post-Merdeka? Perhaps there is no big deal to the debate after all – as long as one is comfortable in one’s own skin.

written by freedom lover, May 11, 2008 12:45:56
A well-balanced article! In fact Iskandardzulkarnain should read this article and try to emulate such writings in the future.
written by uncleleow, May 11, 2008 12:48:47
Ai yo!!! 50 years still not enough? How many years you need? When you want us to fly the flag u call us Malaysian, when you ask to to contribute u call us malaysian. Other days you call us chinses, indian, kadazan and etc. It is right?
written by densemy, May 11, 2008 13:15:45
Nationalist Malays want Malaysian Chinese and Indians to absorb and demonstrate more Malay traits. The latter do not want to be Malays; they want to be Malaysians.

You have got to be joking. It hasnt happened in 4 hundred years and it will never happen simply because there is NOTHING about "Malay traits" that anyone would find desirable and want to adopt

Unlike in other countries where the first generation of immigrants are Chinese living in Australia or West Indians living in Britain or Malaysians living in the United States. The second generation becomes Australians, Britons and Americans
written by temenggong, May 11, 2008 13:22:38
The choices for malay(sians) are simple really; either be subject to ketuanan China and India in asia, and then in the world, or, be a part of that ketuanan!

Umno is fighting a losing battle. It will be fun to watch and see how long these kataks will take to make a choice.
written by smpadayachi, May 11, 2008 13:59:50
Although I agreed upon to some merit qualities to the article, when it comes to the songkok, it clearly draws the line to assimilate to pretend or become one of the ethnic Malay. If it's strictly adheres to protocol in government relations, I tend to see that as part of the proclamation, but later on to use the same technique to identify us with a songkok is like giving up our dhoti and talapah/pagdhi/turban and our women not wearing saris except to baju kurung with tudung. This is what we Indians identify ourself in public places and religious and marriage ceremonies and it would be wiser this can be also given as a choice when we're taking up our oath or solemnization in governmental agency as suppose to wearing the songkok or tudung with baju Melayu or baju kurung. We're not born as an ethnic Malay, and we don't want to be mistaken as though we are Indians who in fear or in subjection to a Malay supremacy that dictates how we adorn ourself in public ceremonies. This writer somehow stipulates like as though to be part of Malaysia we've to embrace some of Malayness to identify us as been true Malaysian. I don't see in any developed nations where these sort of requirements are requested or needed, as people from various different racial background tend to weave in whateverr best describes of themselves. Only in Malaysia an Indian or Chinese is forced upon wearing a songkok or if I'm not mistaken in marching parade from the police academy an Indian or Chinese women must wear a tudung. I don't think this is good idea for the future Malaysians regardless of Malay, Chinese, Indian or any other races from East Malaysia are subjected to such scrutiny.
written by turun padang, May 11, 2008 14:01:55
apa la temenggong..
kamu ingat UMNO paham ke paham kebangkitan INDIA & CHINA sebagai kuasa baru dunia?
they don't give a damn la...
All they (UMNO & BN) joker care about is thier own power & pocket la.

And in order for them to do that.. what else can they talk about? except ketuanan melayu & isu perkauman la... and nowaday issue agama pulak la..
written by Arubin, May 11, 2008 14:26:45
“We cannot build this nation overnight. What we are asking for (from the non-Malays) is a willingness to contribute, a willingness to sacrifice.”

Sacrifice? You want to talk to us about sacrifice?

We work hard. We contribute to the economy. We pay our taxes.

Taxes which are used to build mosques while our own communities have to chip in to build our own temples.

Taxes which are used to fund your children's education while we have to scrimp and save for the education of our own.

You tell us that this is the price that we have to pay for coming to live in a land that rightfully belongs to you because your ancestors got here first.

Why do you think many of us are not really that patriotic at all? Our families have been here for generations, yet you still make us feel like foreigners.

We're not citizens of this country. We're merely tenants paying rent.
written by rakyat101, May 11, 2008 14:38:57
is about the landlord lost revenue, inability to works on its own land and unwilling to share the peace of land.
written by PASOK, May 11, 2008 14:51:39

Getting a bit tired of reminding Malay writers that Malaysia is not a Malay nation. Maybe Malaya was a Malay nation but Malaysia is not.
Non-Malays dont just include Chinese and Indians. They also include Borneo Natives who are bumiputra even though they are not Malays.
The first thing Malay writers need to appreciate is that the Borneo States are integral parts of Malaysia - it is our resource wealth that built this nation as much as anything else - and the special place of the Natives is also there in the constitution if they would care to read it.
Maybe the Malays can frighten or trick the Chinese and Indians into believing that there is some merit to the concept of ketuanan melayu but you will NEVER succeed in getting the Borneo Natives to accept this broken promise and racist drivel.
written by 98PercentPrimate, May 11, 2008 15:11:05
Race - The Power of an Illusion

The division of the world's peoples into distinct groups - "red," "black," "white" or "yellow" peoples - has became so deeply imbedded in our psyches, so widely accepted, many would promptly dismiss as crazy any suggestion of its falsity. Yet, that's exactly what this provocative, new three-hour series by California Newsreel claims.
Race - The Power of an Illusion questions the very idea of race as biology, suggesting that a belief in race is no more sound than believing that the sun revolves around the earth.

Yet race still matters. Just because race doesn't exist in biology doesn't mean it isn't very real, helping shape life chances and opportunities.

Episode 1- The Difference Between Us examines the contemporary science - including genetics - that challenges our common sense assumptions that human beings can be bundled into three or four fundamentally different groups according to their physical traits.

Episode 2- The Story We Tell uncovers the roots of the race concept in North America, the 19th century science that legitimated it, and how it came to be held so fiercely in the western imagination. The episode is an eye-opening tale of how race served to rationalize, even justify, American social inequalities as "natural."

Episode 3- The House We Live In asks, If race is not biology, what is it? This episode uncovers how race resides not in nature but in politics, economics and culture. It reveals how our social institutions "make" race by disproportionately channeling resources, power, status and wealth to white people.

By asking, What is this thing called 'race'?, a question so basic it is rarely asked, Race - The Power of an Illusion helps set the terms that any further discussion of race must first take into account. Ideal for human biology, anthropology, sociology, [] history, [] studies, and cultural studies.

http://www.newsreel.org/nav/title.asp?tc=cn0149
written by hiro, May 11, 2008 15:40:30
The very idea of "supremacy" is contradictory to multi-racial/religious unity, ruler or no ruler. Just because the rulers have been Malay Muslims since the 14th century, and rules over mostly Malays, does not make the institution Malay or Muslim per se.

The rulers have a constitutional role to play today - but that is it. It is an institution - not a race. The ruler acts for the best interest of all the subjects whether they are Malay, Chinese, Indians, Ibans or Kadazans.

There is only one supremacy that is recognised under the constitution agreed by our forefathers, that is - we have three organs of the government - Parliament, Executive and Judiciary - and they all serve His Majesty the YDA. But this is merely and largely symbolic, powers to be stretched only in case of emergency and the three organs cannot correct themselves. Otherwise, the real political supremacy comes from Parliament i.e. Parliamentary supremacy. This is a settled constitutional principle for all Commonwealth countries agreed by our forefathers and should never ever change.
written by murthy3372, May 11, 2008 16:37:22
This is dedicated to all the umno ultras harping on ketuanan / hak istimewa issues...and being seditious but no ISA action.

What a load of bullshit.
Nevertheless what can we expect..it coming from umno ultras shit smelling mouth.
The question is not that others are refusing to intergrate into the society by wearing songkoks etc.Why should there be such a requirement at all.we are a diverse nation.With multi ethnic composition.Why shouldn't this diversity be allowed to co-exist in harmony without the need to subject to someones demand to follow thier ways of life.Why ?.I am a Indian Hindu.I wear songkok for ceremonial parades...with extreme pride.
Since you guys are advocating that we should be adapting to your dresscodes.
Isn't is just fair if we also aspire that you do the same.We are talking about bangsa MALAYSIA here.
I agree my forefathers are immigrants.Granted citizenship on a 'quid pro quo' basis for giving up thier GOD given rights that all human are equal.So what about us who are born in this soil ?.Aren't we not the sons of the soil as well.
Yet you treat us like shit...
We went on with our life for 50 ****ing years without any complains...
Ever heard any Indian or Chinese making police reports on the following :
1. Discounts on house purchases
2. MARA loan for only a certain group in the society.
3. Places of worship being built for only a group in the society while the rest are neglected.
4. The ****ing list goes on and on......
All in the name of ketuanan / hak istimewa.
The question is DID ANY ONE OF US QUESTIONED THIS FOR THE PAST 50 YEARS ?.
A big fat NO will be the answer.
Ok...About your ketuanan issue...My question is AM I AND MY GENERATIONS YOUR SLAVE ?.
Are you even fit to talk about ketuanan melayu.You all are BETUL-BETUL MELAYU TULEN kah ?.
You are no less / no more than us...Jawa,Bugis,Sunda,Madura,Cina,India etc.
We are all equal.Our forefathers are all immigrants to this beautiful land.
So you yourself are not pure melayu but you always champion melayu causes by being seditious...It is you bastards who the govt should charge with sedition and not people like YM RPK.
Champions of malay cause konon.Siapa ini malay champions ?.Find out thier roots.Are they really melayu tulen.
Semua bukan melayu tulen pun tapi lagak nak mampus.
My message to you is we have/are/will always willing to intergrate as bangsa MALAYSIA.Not bangsa melayu.
The hindrance to this is you umno ultras.
But considering 50 years that we have gone by,we have DONE good.Despite all your oppression and marginalisation.
The good thing is that curtain is being slowly drawn on your 50 years of SANDIWARA.umno...RUMAH KATA PERGI,KUBUR KATA MARI...Pergilah MAMPUS !!!
LET US LIVE IN PEACE WITH OUR BROTHERS AND SISTERS OF BANGSA MALAYSIA.

MAKKAL SAKTI !!!

To my MALAY friends,please don't be upset by this comment.It was never intended to you.ONLY to the ultras.
written by taxi90, May 11, 2008 16:55:11
Non Malays need to demonstrate more Malay characteristics?

Most nons can read/write/Speak Malay. Most nons can eat everything a Malay eats and more besides. All agree to the Rukunnegara. But it seems that is not enough. How to make it enough? The problem arises because the Malays think of themselves as Muslims first and foremost. Islam seems to be 99.99% of what being Malay is all about. So the only way to become more "Malay' would be to become Muslim. Right? So, it comes to this: the refusal to convert is tantamount to refusing "Malayness" Naturally the line "There is no compulsion" will be quickly appended there but it means less than nothing.
Why even the mamaks (remember KIMMA?)who abandoned all their Indian cultures are not recongnised as Malays either, so there is no way to win this. Not that I support KIMMA (which seem no better than greedy whores and UMNO ass lickers which will stoop to any level to gain bumiputera $tatu$).
written by temenggong, May 11, 2008 18:21:19
turun padang,

I'm not sure if umno is just plain ignorant or just pretending not to know.

Surely no one would wilfully lead their own race down into the abyss into isolation to suffer the same fate as tribal natives all over the world? Because that is the end result.
written by kooiseng, May 11, 2008 18:33:10
Ketuanan Melayu/Islam is a recent invention to bolster the NEP, which was noticed to lack emotional drive. Ketuanan means superiority. If anybody wants to remove any misconception about what ketuanan means, the best thing to do is to drop the use of the term completely. Keeping the Malays super confident to prevent them from using "ketuanan" is rubbish. Why should I give the Malays everything and suffer adversities just to make the Malays confident. The best way for Malays to develop confidence is not to depend on "Ketuanan" policies but to develop their self reliance. The Malay core psyche has been severely damaged by the NEP. The Malays now must undergo cold turkey to experience what the non Malays undergo. This will make them realise what it takes to develop self reliance. ADVERSITY is what makes the non Malays self reliant. If the Malays had any experience of adversity it will also make them self reliant and stop being addicted to any KETUANAN policies. For a start, start walking the talking. Stop giving scholarships only to Malays; stop giving promotion only to Malays;stop giving discount on expensive houses to Malays(insulting to Malays);stop giving only Malay doctors the opportunity to acquire specialist qualifications; stop giving APs to Malays; etc,etc. See how much "ketuanan" the Malays are getting and you still say the Malays are not confident. By the time the Malays ADMIT they are confident they will have 100% of everything. They are confident already. This lack of confidence is just an excuse to MARGINALISE the nonMalays. Non Malays remember the story of the ARAB and the CAMEL. Slowly,slowly the camel will kick out the ARAB. This is what the Malays are doing. Slowly,slowly kick out the nonMalays.
written by noblepath, May 11, 2008 19:38:51
The Malay leftists in the mid-40s wanted everyone (regardless of race/ethnic) to be called 'Melayu' and be treated equally. UMNO was against that!

Check the video of Malay leftist movement: http://10tahun.********.com/
written by bexe, May 11, 2008 23:46:43
EVERYTHING IS NEGOTIABLE except the fact that you claim that you are a superior being to me just by your birth right? Being A SUPREMIST is totally abhorrent.
This is no different from Nazism! No no no that can never be acceptable, nor negotiable.
Giving a leg-up; cooperating, respect, etc- all that can be considered.
written by little dragon, May 12, 2008 00:05:34
d federation of malaya was born midnight 31 august 1957. a mutually agreed constitution became d new supreme rule book for d nation. its writing took into account all factors including it's past n spelled out in no uncertain terms EQUAL RIGHTS for ALL citizens.

after dat date, it was a whole NEW ball game for d country. so, wat fooking "ketuanan melayu" r u talking about.
written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 00:28:29
Sigmund Freud explains UMNO's need for Supremacy very clearly:

Simply put, it says,

'Men with small dicks tend to get preoccupied with size and grandeur!'
written by payabunga, May 12, 2008 00:40:30

Celebrate cultural diversity is the trend of the modern society, not hindrance and forceful assimilation. Each ethnic group should be proud of their own cultural heritage. Assimilation has a will of its own without outside interference, e.g. Malaysian Chinese and Malaysian Indian will find themselves vastly different from their counterparts from China or Indian, we speak with Malay words inserted in our languages and we like nasi lemak, Hainan Chicken rice, roti canai and Teh tarik (Indian from India don't know what they are!), anything with belancan and chili. All of us , including Malay, Chinese and Indian speak English with a distinct Malaysian accent, distinguishable easily by any foreigner in any foreign land, at that instant, is there any difference among us all except our look?

Taking about traditional cloth, I distinctly remember there are not many tudung around then in 1960 or even first half 1970. I lived in North East coast of the Malay Peninsula. Malay women then mostly wear baju kurung with no tudung. Even women who sell food at the pasar wear pretty baju kebaya with sarong , like P Ramli’s wife in old Malay movie. And now, the way the Malay women dressed make them indistinguishable from Arabic women. I have a friend who told me that after 20 years absent from Malaysia, she went back to Malaysia for a visit, she felt like she was touring a different country from the one she grew up in. The most significant change is the way the changes in the way the Malay women dress now. Is Malay women abandoning their own cultural heritage? Is baju kebaya lost forever now in Malay culture in “Tanah Melayu”? If so, I am certainly relieved that it is fortunately being salvaged and showcased all over the world by Singapore Airline stewardess. Even the Malay men change their attire, I remembered there are more Malay men wearing songkok on a daily basis then. Now, we don’t see them as often.

As to the question of who has more claim to the land, the people who come first and stay the longest or the people who come later and develop the economy of the land? The USA, Australia, Chile, Brazil, Argentina think it is the later, however, Malaysia think it is the first. Who is right and who is wrong?

written by wolf, May 12, 2008 02:24:39
Change the word Malay to Chinese/Indians/etc in the article, and vice versa and you probably get arrested for sedition.

Its fine to talk about Ketuanan Melayu but its derhaka/melampau/kurang ajar if we talk about Ketuanan anything else.

**** you UMNOputras.

Replace the word Malay with Israelis and Malaysia with Israel in the article, and see what happens? If Israel were to make such a statement, you'd be frothing your mouth and scream bloody murder.

BUT ITS OKAY IF ITS MALAY AND KETUANAN MELAYU?

I say **** you all UMNOputras.

My great grandfather came to Malaya before the 19th century. He lived and fought the japanese through 2nd world war; my grandfather fought the communists; my father worked to build up the nation called Malaya.

And you dare to call us 'kaum pendatang'?

When the indon fella who was born in indonesia and swim to Malaysia last year and this year he got his Mykad and proudly call himself Malaysian citizen, HE IS A BUMIPUTRA WITH MORE RIGHTS THEN ME???

You UMNOputra *******s managed to ruin the country with your sick cries of racial apartheid and yet you threaten and scream and blame the 'kaum pendatang' for it?

PTHUUIIIII
written by chanatak, May 12, 2008 19:32:05
I am with you, Wolf.

As for absorbing Malay culture by other races, I have this to say .... In this country there are people called Babas. There are also people called Chindians. Babas became Babas, absorbing the Malay culture, language and practices without being forced to. It was a natural thing to them, mainly thru marriage. Yet there was no imposition of religious conversion. Chindians are the fruits of Chinese and Indian marriage. Some take on Chinese culture. Others take on Indian culture. Again, there is no compulsion. So there is no big deal in adopting Malay culture, taking on Malay names provided you just let people be free to do it. Chinese and Indians take on western names. Even Malays take on western sounding "nama glamor". So what's the big deal.

However, the Malay cultural hegemonistic mindset turns people off. The desire to IMPOSE their culture and language by force turns people off. This behavior smells of inferiority complex supported by brute political force. It turns people off. Do these hegemonistic Malays want to know how it feels to have somebody else's culture IMPOSED on them? Just imagine now that every Malay must be registered at birth with a Chinese surname, and an Indian last name. It is not a choice. It is a must. Let's see, Wong Khairuddin Munusamy bin Lee Abdullah Packiam. See?

No. Let go of the desire to impose. A new generation of Baba's will arise for all you know. Truly Malaysian

written by Eskay Lim, May 13, 2008 20:11:38
Ketuanan says,..."We are asking a willingness to contribute...a willingness to sacrifice..."
What the hell the non-Malays had been doing this half-century in Malaysia?
You think we have been living on your charity?.... having free makan?
Come on lah:
We had been working hard like bufaloes to live, to survive to pay taxes to the govt. of this country and country uses this money to build Mara colleges to give education only to the Malays.
The country uses this money to build universities for your children's higher education while our own children had to study in private institutions paid for with our own funds.
The country uses this money to pay the salaries of those high-ranking DGs & their deputies, the professors and all those ambassadors and diplomats who are 98% Malays.
And you are saying we dont contribute & sacrifice?