Umno has to reform to be relevant PDF Print
Sunday, 11 May 2008 11:28

Firstly, the president has to listen to the grassroots. The branches. The divisions. Without filtering and sanitisation by the state liaison chiefs. The liaison chiefs are just that. Liaison chiefs with no power to decide and to censor the voice and aspirations of the rank and file.

By Mohamed Rahmat, THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

Tan Sri Mohamed Rahmat, better known as Tok Mat, is Umno (Baru) Member NO: 00000003. He joined Umno in 1963 and was first elected to Parliament in 1969 in the Johor Baru Barat constituency and contested in a further six general elections, winning every time in the same constituency which was renamed Pulai in 1974. He first served in the Cabinet as Information Minister in 1978 before being appointed ambassador with ministerial status to Indonesia in 1982 when Dr Mahathir became Prime Minster . He rejoined the Cabinet as Information Minister in 1987 and retired from politics in 1999. He has also served as both Umno and Barisan Nasional secretary-general.

The Umno anniversary today will not be a happy occasion.Behind the flag-raising, the honour guard, the prayers and the speeches at the party headquarters, Umno members are either dispirited, disconsolate, demoralised or in denial after the shocking results of Election 2008.

While the leaders delay the inevitable, the grassroots want answers. They want heads to roll. They want change. They want reform. In order to be relevant, to be in power.

Twenty years ago, Umno did that. It reformed in the image of the president when we were made illegal, forming Umno Baru to succeed the old Umno which I became a member in 1963 and later elected to Parliament in 1969.

The dates hold special significance.

In 1969, in the aftermath of May 13, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad wrote a letter criticising then UMNO president Tunku Abdul Rahman.

In 1988, a challenge against Dr Mahathir made Umno illegal.

In 2008, Dr Mahathir's criticisms helped unseat Barisan Nasional and by extension Umno, from four states.

So Umno crises happen every 20 years or so. And ironically thus far, all have involved Dr Mahathir.

But Dr Mahathir has been a great leader. I know as I have worked with him despite being fired by him twice. I accept that. We have to work with the leadership to achieve the aims of developing Malaysia. There can be no other aim.

Today, we do not see this happening. The current leadership is working at cross-purposes and are not united behind the party president. In fact, some leaders have become too powerful, assuming powers that they don't even have under the party constitution and running roughshod over the grassroots.

Umno's power is from the grassroots and we have to reform to be relevant for them and the people. The party president can do a few things to achieve relevance with the grassroots and the people.

Firstly, the president has to listen to the grassroots. The branches. The divisions. Without filtering and sanitisation by the state liaison chiefs. The liaison chiefs are just that. Liaison chiefs with no power to decide and to censor the voice and aspirations of the rank and file.

For too long they have been a power unto themselves and it is time Umno streamlines its organisational chart to prevent a top-down leadership.

Secondly, the president has to do away with the 30 percent quota for nominations. That quota was put there to ensure no challenges for Dr Mahathir. It is not democratic. It is time it is eliminated from Umno's election rules.

Thirdly, Umno should have term limits for office bearers. The party needs a system that allows potential leaders to move up the rank and file instead of creating congestion at the top and keeping demoralising potential leaders who will have nowhere to go. Perhaps two terms for the presidency and other key office bearers.

The old ways won't work anymore. We have been independent for 50 years with one ruling coalition that has Umno as its backbone. That is a long time and we have been working the same way since then.

But if Umno does not reform, it will go the way of the Liberal Democrat Party in Japan, the Congress Party in India, the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) in Mexico and other grand old parties that overstayed their welcome because of inflexibility.

Umno has to reform to be relevant.

written by seek justice, May 11, 2008 11:40:06
I am happy to hear from Tok Mat especially because I feel that he voicing out the same message most of us are advocating about UMNO. UMNO is indeed not relevant anymore and I said this to TDM in his blog.

I hope everyone in Malaysia takes heed of this sound advice from a wise veteran that is Tok Mat, because he makes sense.
written by shamadz72, May 11, 2008 11:40:15
I believe it is too late for revamp lah. People already make up their mind and willing to venture into the unknown
written by MrHot, May 11, 2008 11:40:29
The biggest mistake for UMNO losing 2/3 majority is their arrogant attitude to the RAKYAT...be it to the Chinese, Indian or their own race, the Malay that they have rhetorically champion for the past 50 years or so.

GOD DESPISED THE PROUD IN HEART !!!!

REPENT UMNO OR BE IRRELEVANT !!!

HIDUP "KETUANAN RAKYAT"
HIDUP PR !!!!
HIDUP RPK !!!
written by freedom lover, May 11, 2008 11:50:18
To proclaim that Dr. Mahathir is a better leader than the current ones is a mere fallacy! The current inefficiency is a brought down affair from the previous inefficiency! Lets face it Mr.Mohamed, the problems in the Malaysian politics today, whether you like it or not, originated from the sacking of Mr. Anwar Ibrahim. The debacle of the election result is the under estimation of Mr. Anwar Ibrahim.
written by sampalee, May 11, 2008 11:52:49
Umno make the mistake of putting Islam to redicule with the had-hari concept.It is this single mistakes that provoke Tuhan,the rest being the many ways God make its manifestations in response.Inshaallah.
Learn from RPK,what it takes to be a good muslim and there will be peace[even within umno]
written by ttsan, May 11, 2008 11:54:34
Melayu lama are bar from commenting co's their thoughts are out of date and not relevant .only melayu baru can but I think it's a little too late to save umno co's it's in SELF-DESTRUCTIVE mode.Also the last bus have left. Is time to pack up. IDIOS UMNO
written by apasalahku, May 11, 2008 11:56:00
this old fart finally learns to use the computer? kakaka
written by foresight, May 11, 2008 11:56:43
Before you reform, do the basics first:-

1) get rid of all leaders who are dishonest and only care to enrich themselves
(2) prosecute and get rid of corrupt leaders
(3) enforce meritocracy even in the party and engage people who are professionals and well educated to lead the party
(4) get rid of people who use racial and religious hatred to advance their political careers
(5) get rid of your arrogance
(6) get rid of the mindset that the country only belongs to UMNO
(7) get rid of the mindset that only UMNO is capable of ruling the country
(smilies/cool.gif educate your members that the half of the population belong to other races
written by dperantauan, May 11, 2008 12:05:39
UMNO makin tak releven! Mansuhkan UMNO,Hapuskan ISA!
http://dperantauan.typepad.com...lain.html
written by Thesinner, May 11, 2008 12:25:25
Jangan merepek lah Mat Recond..the real fact is that UMNO (United Mamak & Nanak Organization) is irrelevant oredi. It's time we move forward with PKR smilies/grin.gif
written by smpadayachi, May 11, 2008 12:26:11
Only one word and nothing more..United Malay National Organisation is no longer needed or relevant to the Malay ethnicity for all I know. The reason behind this forward thinking is the to say the Malays I've become very close friends with who have the highest caliber to be prudent and wise in the global economy, and also to have a very pragmatic approach in life towards others regardless of racial origin, religion or ethnicity. Ethnic Malays who are still grappled or binded with United Malay National Organisation is like someone who wants the easy way out for not achieving excellence or self pride in doing things for themselves. Another thing that comes to my mind is if you happen to see an ethnic Malay that has gone to school where Chinese was the medium of instruction, take a good look at this bunch of Malays where they're today? They've made up their minds to succeed. What is the correlation between the Malay who was educated and been around our Chinese brotherhood versus a Malay that was brought up among his own clannish behaviour to look at an Indian or Chinese as an infidel or an apostate. United Malay National Organisation is a clever plot to control the mind of the feeble Malays and allow them to think in a ramification that is so conclusive for their very own purpose. They use fear, paranoid feelings to infuse their very own insecurities to others and to control them. It's really a very backward thinking, and if the ethnic Malay wants to follow this trend, they've no want to blame except themselves which also shows a clear indication for their very own demise if they don't keep up with the fierce global competition.
written by toolan, May 11, 2008 12:33:30
Instead of reforming to be relevant, UMNO leaders are deforming the country into a monstrosity with a crippled judiciary that is put on leash by the warped eunuch of an AG, the police force that acted outrageously against helpless citizens and the list goes on. With the current tainted leaders at the helm, UMNO is no longer capable of the least reform. It is firstly CHANGE that UMNO needs now to save itself.
written by othman hitam, May 11, 2008 12:44:31
To me, UMNO has passed its shelf life...Quoting Saudara Roslan Kasim in one of his ceramahs that was flashed on UMNO tv, "the boat is sinking", he said. I would add "Yes, and sinking fast too". Why? Because many of your leaders especially the Ministers have still not learnt a lesson. Still arrogant!!
written by Nigel Mohamed, May 11, 2008 13:09:03
Typical of an irresponsible UMNO ex-"leader". They only see things in the right perspective when they are no longer in power. All it takes is for Badawi to offer him to a position. He will be Badawi's staunchest supporter then.
Mat Beduk (as he was once called) has zero credibility to comment on bringing change to UMNO. He is like a robber who reccommends you lock your house after removing everything from it. He is as guilty as DrM and Badawi for the current state of affairs in UMNO. Shame on you Mat Rahmat.
written by omarkhayyam, May 11, 2008 14:20:47
UMNO will be buried by their own act ..... you dun nid anyone else ....watch and observe

written by turun padang, May 11, 2008 14:23:22
Firstly, the president has to listen to the grassroots.
How to listen la when his can barely keep himself from falling asleep?

Secondly, the president has to do away with the 30 percent quota for nominations.
How to do away with quota system, when he himself might not even get 30% nominations?

Thirdly, Umno should have term limits for office bearers.
How to have a limited term when thier pocket /bank account is not full?
written by benjamin, May 11, 2008 14:52:04
Agreed with foresight, to add in one more, ACA MUST BE FAIR AND INDEPENDANT.no influence by AG,PM department, MINISTER or the polis.
God Save Malaysia, Daulat Tuanku!
written by mypanida, May 11, 2008 15:25:57
MATI UMNO, HIDUP MELAYU.
written by doggone, May 11, 2008 15:58:03
Same dish cooked differently by the many 'c(r)ooks in the UMNO kitchen listed in the ala carte menu as 'reform' 'reinvent' 'change' and whatnot. However, none of them could prepare this delicacy to the satisfaction of their diners.

Ladies and gentlemen. Our house specialty.

Stuffed Umnotokkok tenderloin with sour Ka'ting goat cheese topped with Caramelized Semivalue Vidalia Onion and Roasted Gerakan Garlic Clove.

written by macaufan, May 11, 2008 22:50:55
For d past 50years regime umno has been robbing d nation 'legally' under d law of NEP & supported by OSA, PPPA, SA & ISA !
beside regime has succeeded planted their seeds into Polis, AG, ACA & Judiaciary to become their lap-dog ! they'll help & provide PROTECTION rejim umno to rob d nation 'legally' & it's happening right here right now ie... BMC Vs Grand Saga Hiway !
Umno has become United Money National Organisation ! without money, UMNO will fail instantly ! smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 00:43:20
Don't waste time trying to fix a condemned ship.

Build a new one! One with a good Captain and capable crew.

Hidup Anwar!

Hidup Pakatan Rakyat!
written by Rainbowseahorse, May 12, 2008 13:56:57
foresight is one hundred percent correct about UMNO, except the last part “educate your members that the half of the population belong to other races” which should be “educate your members that more than half of the population belong to other races”. If you dissimilate the ethnic races (Kadazan-Dusun, Muruts, Bajau, Iban, Kadayan, etc2, plus sino-this & that), the Malay race would be significantly less.
I would further add that UMNO, especially…what’s his name that PM???...should first and foremost fulfill his pledge to the rakyat to clear out, or at the very least reduce CORRUPTION in Malaysia. That alone would make the rakyat believe in him somewhat like back in 2004.
As for UMNO relevancy to the Malay race? How do you go about pleasing the ‘real’ Malay race and to make them loyal to UMNO???...Simple really! Tell them how much the other races, especially the Chinese & Indians, have become rich at the expense of the Malay race…Tell them how UMNO is fighting very2 hard, day & night, for the Malay race..Tell them how UMNO is fighting tooth & nails to maintain the 9MP for the Malay…WE ALL know that’s a bunch of baloney, but most Malays in UMNO seem to lap that up quite easily and readily…but which is quite understandable if you put yourself in their shoes..i.e. back in the kampong leading the live that they have always lead without any idea what the 9MP is all about and not benefitting much from that.
So, is UMNO still relevant to the Malays?? A BIG FAT YES if you are the elite Malay or an “imported Bumiputra” under the guise of a Malay skin.
written by sonofman0, May 25, 2008 11:37:46
If only they had listened to the far sighted, broad minded and honourable Dato'Onn Jaafar.