To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

• RPK's defamation trial - 2 July, Jln Duta Sessions Court
  • RPK's sedition trial - 17 July, PJ Sessions Court

Inquiry found promotion of judges ‘open to meddling’ PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 11 May 2008 10:28

By SHAILA KOSHY, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: The evidence presented during the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Lingam video clip shows that the promotion and appointment of judges in the upper echelon of the Judiciary was open to interference and manipulation by the Executive and private citizens.

Sources said the commission found that ample evidence had emerged during its inquiry, indicating a cause for concern.

They said the evidence had shown flaws and weaknesses regarding the appointment and promotion of High Court judges as well as the Chief Justice, President of the Court of Appeal and the Chief Judge of Malaya.

As a result, they added, the commission felt that there was an urgent need for judicial reforms.

On Friday, the panel – comprising retired Chief Judge of Malaya Tan Sri Haidar Mohamed Noor as chair, retired Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Steve Shim Lip Kiong, retired Court of Appeal Judge and former Suhakam commissioner Datuk Mahadev Shankar, retired Solicitor-General Puan Sri Zaitun Zawiyah Puteh and Professor Emeritus Datuk Dr Khoo Kay Kim – submitted its report to the King.

As a result of the evidence adduced during the enquiry, sources said the commission had recommended a Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC) be set up.

While the panel did not suggest that the current system of appointments and promotions was totally flawed, sources said the members felt the system should be improved for transparency, accountability and good governance if the Judiciary were to have the faith of the public and foreign investors.

They said the commission was concerned that there was no apparent system or criteria in the selection and promotion process of judges.

The panel felt that with a JAC the Prime Minister would be able to better consider the proposed candidates because the JAC would have carefully deliberated their backgrounds, qualifications and integrity, said sources.

Sources said the commission stated that the JAC would consider a judge’s performance and conduct before recommending him for promotion.

They said the commission, however, did not feel the need for a Judicial Complaints Tribunal because judges were not public officers and there were already adequate provisions to deal with judicial misconduct.

Sources said the commission also looked hard at the impact of the amendment to Article 121(1) of the Federal Constitution – which deals with the judicial power of the Federation.

They said that while the commission felt that status quo should remain, the panel decided to recommend that the Government relook Article 121(1) and revert it to its original wording because judges were divided; while some had accepted their curtailed role as agents of the Parliament, others maintained that their review powers were still intact.

written by freedom lover, May 11, 2008 10:36:22
Very funny indeed!. The commission found that "the Judiciary was open to interference" The people's court found that "the Judiciary was interfered"
written by ttsan, May 11, 2008 10:38:15
Hey guys, this not the only one they meddle.They have being meddling in every dept,anything that they can get their long hands on.Tell me what is untouchable in Malaysia.Even RPK they are after.
written by malaysian2008, May 11, 2008 10:54:16
"The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is setting a bad and dangerous precedent in publicly -> pressurizing the Attorney-General
written by malaysian2008, May 11, 2008 11:02:51
sorry the post seem hang, REPOST here.

"The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is setting a bad and dangerous precedent in publicly -> [/pressurizing the Attorney-General
written by malsia1206, May 11, 2008 11:05:13
And we can expect these Judges to be impartial until they serve out to be 65 years? TDM started it all. And that old goat still croak every now and then to try and make his voice heard. Believe me, he did tremendous harm to this country at the exlense of his so-called development. We are all still labouring under his shackles. The current PM is carrying on with his legacy and making it worst. So much for Malaysia. The GE result is only a small step from the rakyat to steer to the correct path. A lot else remains to be done.
written by malaysian2008, May 11, 2008 11:05:27
the post can't send all my comment. don't know why ? last try ..... sorry lah.

"The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is setting a bad and dangerous precedent in publicly [/pressurizing the Attorney-General , Tan Sri Gani Patail to charge DAP National Chairman and MP for Bukit Gelugor, Karpal Singh for sedition and turn a legal issue into a political and racial one."

Think hard on the above statement. what you think? AG is under PM.

we need to have judical reform not only at the level of judge only, but also the PDRM and AG dept. they are the entry level to the court; they can play "god" with their power to charge or to drop cases.
written by ez24get, May 11, 2008 11:10:19
See this very elaborate web of deceit made people of high places from Prime Minister, Ministers, Chief Justices, Judges, Attorney General, ACA, PDRM, Lawyers to Prominent businessmen scratching each other backs!

And you may be excused for thinking that this belongs only to the cinema or a spy thriller movies…

But this happened in the backyard of BolehLand – the land of cover-ups and everything boleh!

Does RPK, Karpal Singh or Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents or anybody not politically connected ever have a chance in court? The Prime Minister has given an order for the police and the AG to expedite the case.

May god protect over the common, non-politically connected citizens of Malaysia!

These are the comments picked up in the MSM at the Lingamgate royal commission:-

Last Chief Justice - Fairuz
I have written to the Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Deputy Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak and Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Mohd Nazri Aziz…. I’m innocent, the video was a fabrication and a slander !

Lingam was bragging…

Prominent Lawyer - Lingam
It looks like me and it sounds like me… but it wasn’t Fairuz on the other side of the line.

My brother is of unsound mind…

AG – Abdul Gani Patail
There were no criminal elements in the video clip and that Lingam’s conversation was a ‘monologue’ in nature.

ACA
Lingam forgot his phone numbers and therefore I couldn’t obtain his mobile phone number….

I asked Fairuz whether Lingam had telephoned him and Fairuz replied he had not. Therefore I did not check further…. (by Chuah Lay Choo)

Instead of checking on Lingam and Fairuz, ACA harassed and threatened Anwar “name source or face jail” and whistleblower Loh Mui Fah.

The ACA gave me $3,000…(Lingam Ex-secretary, Jeyanthi)

Previous Chief Justice - Eusoff
I accidentally bumped into Lingam in New Zealand and coincidentally on the same flight, van and visit itinerary with Lingam… (on the infamous NewZealand holiday)

Ex-Prime Minister - Dr M
I couldn’t remember…. I don’t have to explain why…

Ex-Tourism Minister - adnan
Lingam is either mad or drunk…

Ex-Law Minister - Nazri
My press officer gave me the wrong information on Witness Protection Bill … (on his ignorance that the bill had not been passed in Parliament)

They are all crazy lawyers….(on the Bar Council 2,000 lawyers march)

What crises? I don’t see any.…

Because I’m his minister …. (on why he replied on behalf of Fairuz and his ignorance of the separation of the legislative and judiciary)…
written by FFT, May 11, 2008 11:12:30
Good. I hope one of the recommendations is to throw Mahathir into jail.
written by indianputra, May 11, 2008 11:13:17
NOTHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN!!!
written by gctham, May 11, 2008 11:13:18
RC comment leave some room for them to escape lah. it was the the matter OPEN to meddling, it has been clear cut interferences. wee shoo keong case ? what you think? vincent tan case? what you think? they are many an idiot like me also do believe it? you believe it?

what you think of a judge who rely on the lawyer to write his judgment? can an idiot like me also be a judge? may be they should use my childhood game to pick the CJ ie "ting no ting no kiang", the last person have the last ting being the CJ, it could be better.
written by tayjenny, May 11, 2008 11:15:35
Taking into consideration that our constitution has given independence to judges, to freely make their own inference and interpretation of law so as to give an impartial, fair judgment. Our constitutional frame workers thought that our judges would be wise enough to perform within the realm of established jurisprudence and logical reasoning. The law dictates that the public does not have a right to question the actions of a judge with respect to any judgments. The public can only appeal on the judgment. It is because judges are given a free reign in delivering judgments that some judges have chosen to abuse their powers because they do not think they will be held accountable for them, seeing as they have immunity. These judges give out dubious and clearly biased decisions without proper basis, the backing of any logical reasoning or established jurisprudence. If a common man questions these judges about their actions, it is regarded as a contempt of court. With this weapon against a civilian, the common man is punished for speaking up for the truth and his voice is silenced forever. For those that do not know how the Malaysia Judiciary work, this is it.
written by loosecannon, May 11, 2008 11:32:11
So now what? Assuming that the perpetrators are brought to justice which many of us doubt will happen, how about those who were promoted under false pretences? Are they going to be stripped of their positions and get demoted? For those who were unfairly dismissed, are they going to get their back pay and pension? So much damages have been done. This is Mahathir's legacy to the country.
written by Spear Bing, May 11, 2008 11:35:24
"AG – Abdul Gani Patail
There were no criminal elements in the video clip and that Lingam’s conversation was a ‘monologue’ in nature."

AG..... with all his flip-flop actions and decision-makings does not augur well as far as integrity and credibility in the AG's Chambers are concerned.

How pathetic can he be, posting such ill-reputed character. He has certainly lost his moral grounds befitting of such an accountable senior government position in the judiciary department.

He should call it a day..... but wait..... let's hear what will be his decision on Karpal Singh's alleged sedition charges.

written by miwaki, May 11, 2008 12:18:03
Even with the findings of the Royal Commission Of Inquiry,there is nothing the government can reform because there are not enough caliber people around to get it done.If we are waiting for Pak Lah to start the ball rolling then we are actually kidding ourselves.

We need Pakatan Rakyat government to clean the rubbish created by Barisan Nasional !
written by teohpg, May 11, 2008 13:22:13
Let's send all of them to hell...ooops
Lets send Attlantuya murderer to Hell
written by krising1, May 11, 2008 14:16:58
Looks like the Star and NST have been given access to the report - even before Pak Lah can read it. No OSA here?
written by Commonsenses, May 11, 2008 19:59:57
Guys, I pose a question to all of you. Had BN won with a 2/3 majority, would you expect the royal commission to be that vocal? I bet you the Report would be placed in cold storage. By the grace of god, the people has denied them this. AAB is still in a state of further denial read his speech today in the net. Well this is good for malaysia, come the next election the people should bury UMNO.
written by islandjoe, May 11, 2008 20:25:22
Thank you, O'Wise Ones. No sh*t Sherlock! We couldn't work this one out for ourselves. So what about WAS it manipulated or not? Do we bring anyone forward who tampered with the appointments? Are you going to investigate? Don't make me laugh....

So would it be better and more transparent to have a Bi-partisan JAC to appoint judges? Of course it bloody would, so why don't they recommend this? The cicak on the wall in my room right now could come to that conclusion. Also, why does the PM have to be involved at all???? Bodowi can't even do his own job!!

Royal Commission my assss..........
written by Sabahfan, May 11, 2008 23:37:56
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

EVERY ALLEGATIONS HAVE BEEN PROVEN....

what remains to be done is SEND THEM ALLLLLLL TO HELL, TOGETHER withe the murderer of altantuya
written by bunian, May 12, 2008 06:48:24
It takes a Royal Inquiry to see what even the Blind in this country can see? Wow. No shit!