Printing Presses And Publications Act Should Be Repealed, Says Khairy PDF Print
Sunday, 11 May 2008 10:19

(Bernama) -- KUALA LUMPUR, May 10 The Printing Presses and Publications Act should be repealed, said Rembau Member of Parliament and Umno Youth deputy chief Khairy Jamaluddin.

He said in the last four years, there had been a certain degree of openness in publishing news but it had not been followed up by institutional reforms or in bureaucratic and legislation matters.

"I think if the government is ready to give that space, then we might as well cement it in an independent regulation, give better training to journalists and do away with bureaucratic restrictions," he said when speaking at the National Union of Journalists (NUJ) Freedom Forum entitled "General Election 2008: Press Freedom" held in conjunction with the World Press Freedom Day, here, Saturday. Khairy said an independent regulatory body such as a press council could be set up instead to self-regulate the industry.

"I hope that the media can take the lead in setting up some form of independent regulatory body, perhaps in the form of a Press Complaints Commission.

"At a time when reform is the buzzword, what I really wish to suggest today is for the media to move towards being independently regulated," Khairy said, admitting that this was his personal opinion and not that of his party or the ruling government.

He said the mainstream media must also take the path of reform to remain credible but need to watch out for racial and religious sensitivities.

The forum was organised by NUJ while University of Malaya Media Studies Head of Department Prof Dr Azizah Hamzah moderated. The panelists were Batu Member of Parliament and Parti Keadilan Rakyat Information chief, Tian Chua, The Sun newspaper's Special Reporting and Investigative Reports deputy editor R. Nadeswaran, Agenda Daily editor Hanafiah Man and National Press Club adviser and prominent blogger Ahiruddin Attan.

On political matters, Khairy pooh-poohed suggestions that he was in cahoots with PKR advisor Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and would lead Barisan Nasional MPs in crossing over to the Pakatan Rakyat.

"This belongs to the realm of fantasy," he said.

Asked about Pahang Umno Youth telling him not to go for the Umno Youth chief's post in the party's elections in December but instead defend his present post, he said : "We will discuss the matter later."
written by Raja Chulan, May 11, 2008 10:22:34
Khairy

Walk the talk.
written by binarytan, May 11, 2008 10:23:16
Typical shameful oxford graduate!!!

The richest unemployed guy in the world, may be you are thinking to run NST, Star, SinChew, Nanyang, Malay Mail etc under your pocket?

Your comment is not welcome as we do not need your service.

May be you are thinking to join PR as no more money left in UMNO for you to korek?

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by freedom lover, May 11, 2008 10:25:26
Mr. Khairy, Your sedition laws must be repealed first before even we talk about repealing minor acts,which do not exist in many countries, but only in your father-in-law's Malaysia!
written by ttsan, May 11, 2008 10:28:11
Quote"At a time when reform is the buzzword......." Come on this should have happen long time ago.If that reform was done long before, then we won't have anyone like RPK today.May be a blessing in disguise.
written by Khan, May 11, 2008 10:34:13
Khairy

It is hard to believe you. Why not you start first by severing your ties with Kali, the mullah...

Don't be like your father-in-law who talks about the past misdemeanors in judicial appointments and dismissals but continue to promote or place judges who are of suspect nature into higher positions. The high caliber judges like Hishamuddin are still static in lower courts for almost a decade.

Tell your father-in-law, while past is important and need to be addressed, ask him to pay more attention to the present.
written by ilovepakatan, May 11, 2008 10:34:59
Khairy,
Political interest comes later, country interest comes FIRST. If you can walk the talk and push for it, then it is a good start for the country.
written by seek justice, May 11, 2008 10:49:17
"At a time when reform is the buzzword, what I really wish to suggest today is for the media to move towards being independently regulated," Khairy said, admitting that this was his personal opinion and not that of his party or the ruling government.

THIS PERSON KHAIRY REALLY THINKS HE'S SMART, maybe he is. I hope we realise how dangerously conniving this fellow is.

What does he mean by `independently regulated'?

Well, for one, he is openly admitting that the MSM are regulated by his government. With the resources that he has, I bet you that he will `control' the editors or independent regulator of news media.

Khairy, try harder at your red-herring tactics.
written by Oldmantalks, May 11, 2008 11:01:57
I totally disagree with what Khairy said that "reform is the buzzword". To-date I have yet to see any reform being performed, eg the Law Minister wanted to apologise to the abused judges, but this proposal was shot down instantly. "Talk of reform" is the buzzword. This is indeed more correct as all I hear are just talk and talk only, like what you were doing right now, just talk.
written by uncleleow, May 11, 2008 11:13:19
KJ, that one is a cheap shot. YOu are not going to abolish The Printing Presses and Publications Act, but you are going to implement the sahre market to control it, right! copycat Singapore style. End of day you will be controling all the msm. dream on man.
written by apasalahku, May 11, 2008 11:32:29
excuse me MT, but why do we give a fark what this sonofabitch says? The whole page was khairy this khairy that..he's just a self-glorified racisthillibilly from rembau...please...here we are concerned about the affairs of the nation.

The next time i read about KJ, i would want it to be his trial for sedition.
written by sonofman0, May 11, 2008 12:02:28
No harm in listening.

Believing ..... that's another matter!

Sincerity has to be earned to be believed.

Only time will tell.
written by teohpg, May 11, 2008 13:02:43
looking for cheap publicity only la...wat else. The time will tell
written by teo siew chin, May 11, 2008 13:04:23
Listen to the man lah.
Compute it, store.
Who knows?
One day, he may have the opportunity to say to the bloggers' faces -
EAT THAT !
written by AJM, May 11, 2008 15:16:25
KJ is our God anointed saviour, ready to save Malaysia, the young heroic strapless handsome young man that will cure our beloved country from all disasters and maladies, oh God give him strength and fortitude to face the prejudice, backstabing and backbiting for he is a holy man, Amen.

(ahhhahahahahahahhahahahahah, when kerbau fly)
written by kennyeu, May 11, 2008 17:16:56
... what I really wish to suggest today is for the media to move towards being independently regulated," Khairy said, admitting that this was his personal opinion and not that of his party or the ruling government.

In other words, he's just telling you what he thinks you would like to hear but there's no commitment or truth in his intentions. Nice try.
written by Sabahfan, May 11, 2008 23:26:24
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
HP6 from Oxford??? harrrrr harrrr harrrr harrrr

Oxford university should DISOWNED him as having grad from the prestigeous uni..

HE IS SURE GIVING OXFORD A VERY BAD NAME.... KEK KEK KE

Khairy, may you go to hell with altantuya murderer toooo

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by zhugeliang, May 12, 2008 00:55:58
Khairy is a snaky fellow to me. Talk like an angel and behave like a devil behind doors. So, whatever shits Khairy mouthed out, I don't believe a single word of it. I don't trust him and any UMNO devils also the entire BN. BN should be abolished. MCA,MIC and Gerakan should show some balls by leaving them UMNO alone. 50 years of plundering the nation's and citizens' wealth, we still want to listen to another back-door, under-table UMNO-Oxford graduate talking craps?
written by bunian, May 12, 2008 06:01:28
K-Hairy, what have you recently acquired that's being disadvantaged by The Printing Presses and Publications Act? Can't you just tug on your papa-in-law's shirtsleeve or has he outlived his usefulness?