Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow What can Malaysian's effectively do now after the elections

What can Malaysian's effectively do now after the elections PDF Print
Sunday, 11 May 2008 02:56

Dear Fellow Malaysians and RPK, 

I have been following the recent trends in Malaysia from abroad with great interest. With so much dissatisfaction with our elected leaders and government officials as well as with the Police force, what can we ordinary folks do after the election?

Malaysians has voiced their displeasure by denying BN a 2/3 majority, and this alone has probably raised the awareness amongst even more Malaysians that there are so many others like them, hardworking people, leading an honest life to ensure the wellbeing of their family and loved ones. I would not be surprised that given the overwhelming positive vibes from the Pakatan Rakyat, that if we were to hold a snap election right now, we will definitely have a change of government. But well, we will probably have to wait another 5 years or so to know if that happens.

Meanwhile, while the opposition parties get about executing their promises after their election, Malaysians in general cannot afford to sit back and let the Pakatan Rakyat do the job for them on their own. It is commendable to see that there is so much spirited effort in exposing the corruption and what is seriously wrong with the country by the army of bloggers. But seriously, let’s face it, the more the information reaches out to the people, the more dissatisfied people become. But it probably just ends there! We must continue to effect change for the betterment of the country in every little way that is possible.

So what more can be done. As a Malaysian I want to do my part to continue to ensure the process to improve the country does not stop. I have got a wish list and would like very much to know if there is anyway we as ordinary citizens can effect the following;

1) Crime continues to be a widespread problem, yet the police seem more engaged in pacifying peaceful protests and receiving superficial police reports from people who are simply trying to score brownie points for their own political ambitions. I want to know if we can hold those in the police force accountable for their inactions. I want those who abuse their responsibilities with no impunity to know without a doubt that someday, they will be hauled up to court and be faced with a prison sentence. I want them to realise that they have been entrusted to do a job, and they have to do it well. Maybe they lack the passion for it, maybe they are paid too little for it, but a job is a job. Be professional about it. If we the people think that the IGP is not doing his job, we want him to resign and be replaced by someone more capable. What can we as normal folks do to effect this?

2) Corruption in the government continues to undermine the ability of the country to compete with other developing countries. Do those in office holding key positions realise that if they are corrupted, it means that every level of the government will have the same problem. It is no surprise that you might hear one quoting "if the boss does it, why can't I". I want our leaders from PM to MP to realise that if they had done wrong, the arm of the law will eventually catch up with them, be it many years after they have left the office or even fled the country. Religious faith and one's morality alone cannot guarantee one will not succumb to the dark side. The fear of being caught and severely punished must exist as a deterrent. The ACA is less than effective to do this for obvious reasons. What can we as normal folks do to effect this?

3) Lastly, I want the key personnel of the government to be people with impeccable background and qualifications. If they are appointed to any posts from Ministers to local councilman, I want to know everything about them- education history, career history, family members, personal wealth, all their assets declared upfront before taking office. I rather not hear about it only when a scandal breaks out. I want them to be paid a salary on par with highest paid personnel in their respective profession/industry. In return, I want to have the comfort of knowing that they will not be tempted. They must be held to a higher standard of excellence than any other ordinary person. I want to have the comfort of knowing that the people running the country, is not the type who is doing it for the monthly salary and for the kickbacks but for the greater good of the country.

As a democratic country with an election held every 5 years, we cannot vote to change the government for the next 5 years. Unlike a listed corporation, we cannot sack the CEO or Chairman (PM) by calling an EGM. We do not get quarterly reports on the country's performance. Our only measure of how well the government is doing is by looking at the anecdotal evidence of the people's happiness. We cannot look at the economic GDP reports or the KLCI alone to know how well they are doing their jobs as these are affected by external variables not just domestic. So, please tell me what I can do as an ordinary citizen.

By Ian Phung

Comments (56)Add Comment
written by shissun, May 11, 2008 03:05:55
What we can do as ordinary citizen? Simple : Kita LAWAN!
written by apasalahku, May 11, 2008 03:09:10
how about coming back home to begin with?
written by RitchieLow, May 11, 2008 03:22:31
Think the only thing we can do now is pressure, pressure, pressure while keeping score on all injustice committed, to be used in GE13. You are a good writer, write more, start a blog, keep score, pressure the powers that be.
written by nocrid, May 11, 2008 03:26:50
Erm...Shissun, that's exactly what Ian Phung is asking. How we lawan? After reading the post, me too is curious about what we (ikan-ikan bilis with salivas enough to drown those dimwits)can do? Be specific, don't riddlings with metaphores pls...
written by jj_chin2001, May 11, 2008 03:44:38
Personally,this is what i'm going to do when i go home for my summer break..i'm going to print out a t-shirt with all the problems with this country written on the back of the shirt.This is a way of protesting and in the same time reminding or telling people about what is wrong with the country.Mind you,not everyone in Malaysia logs into the net,let alone read a blog.Their main source of news is from government controlled media.It is our duty i believe to open up their "eyes" and "ears".But do ready to get kicked or punched in the face as there are morons out there who are hardcore government supporters.And like the government,are a bunch of uneducated parasites.But never stop fighting for what you believe in,even if it means going down to the gates of hell and coming back a true champion like our beloved YB RPK.
written by Sribayu, May 11, 2008 03:46:57
We need a new reform for the dignity of Malaysians and the future of our country. We are all victims of their shameless racism & prejudice. Many believe that the government is too powerful and appropriates to itself in too many resources such as ISA, OSA, Sedition Acts and Printing & Publication Act. Get rid of these Crazy Acts now….

MERDEKAAAA….3X
written by Sribayu, May 11, 2008 03:50:02
Oppss lupa....

Hantar Altantuya's murderer to hell..
written by Sribayu, May 11, 2008 03:54:48
Reopen back Pudu Jail for BN leaders

MERDEKAAA...3X
written by ralverd, May 11, 2008 04:00:33
Malaysians can start by actually using their votes. Millions of unregistered voters is plain stupid because every single vote counts. Use it to punish the bastards that deserve it.

Read my blog : http://ralverd.********.com
written by macakmy, May 11, 2008 04:15:01
ralverd, you are spot on. If we all do our duties, they won't be able to cheat as there won't be enough postal votes to counter ours. Don't just whine and whinge... act!! Those of you who didn't vote are just as guilty for the predicament that we're in today.
written by br_teacher, May 11, 2008 04:18:11
as long as the bn government is there, no hope for us to see these dead woods sacked!!!
their tenure are even prolonged by extending the pension age...just announced yesterday...damn u smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by MalaysianIAm, May 11, 2008 04:20:54
I would like to ask a question to apasalahku (respectfully, just for debate's sake)

how does Ian's coming back help?

Imagine. Ian drops out of school/resigns from his job (whichever is applicable) and buys a one way ticket from 'abroad' to KLIA. He steps foot on Malaysian soil once again. Looks for a job, works every day, raises a family. 10 years later he finds the questions that he raised today unanswered.

I think we need more answers than 'just come back first' to address Ian's concerns.
written by teohpg, May 11, 2008 04:28:17
My advise? first thing on list...

Hantar Altantuya's murderer to hell smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Solitaire, May 11, 2008 05:08:31
EvilWolf- you know why some of us opted to go abroad to earn our living? Because 1- we earn bloody more than what we can earn in Malaysia
2- we live in a more civilised surrounding
3- we don't have rude people that much
4- we don't have to pay bloody freakin toll everywhere and ****ing high oil prices
5- we do our bit by flowing in RM to the country
6- and we won't be bullied by the goverment into buying a low class PROTON with high class prices.

Fighting for the country doesn't mean we've got to be present and become 'normal folk'. It can be done by some other intelligent ways.
written by mystique, May 11, 2008 05:44:04
Hmm guys, why are your suggestions so shallow sounding. no offence but emo taglines like 'send altantuya's murderers to hell' or 'reopen pudu jail for BN leaders' are really not helpful and relevant to Ian's question. He is asking what 'normal' Malaysians can do day by day. Don't lah talk bigger than you are willing or capable to do.

hey ian, I'm a Malaysian living abroad too. I am stumped as well, but I can share 2 things I have tried to do and what I plan to do:

1) I've switched on to be politically aware, as my commitment to care from now on. I read Malaysia-today and subscribed to Malaysiakini after GE 2008 and I've been following them closely day by day

2) I've made efforts to spread this new-found passion purpose and fight to all my friends. To my Malaysian friends everywhere I've sent out a mass email to encourage everyone to stop being selfish and care about the country. To my non-malaysian friends I've made sure to tell them the truth about the situation in our country so that, bit by bit, the world will be better-informed on Malaysia

3) I have begun to include political articles and opinions on my private blog. To again help keep my friends informed on what's happening

What I plan to do is:

1) to volunteer remotely to help out any cause that's fighting for the same. i have no idea what, but i can imagine that a website like Malaysia-Today takes alot of energy to maintain and it would be great if we could lend a hand. Alternatively, I'm sure the PR govt could use free hands to do some volunteer research work, or writing, editing, public relations work, or anything at all. With internet, the world is pretty small and I'm sure we can help loads from afar.

Plus because of the time zone gap between Malaysia and wherever we are, websites and all can be easily maintained 24/7 now because whilst our comrades in Malaysia sleeps at night, we have just come home from work and are ready to kick butt! Imagine a global army supporting a cause. Will be powerful!

2) I intend to donate a small amount of my monthly salary to the men and women fighting on the field itself.

Thanks for bringing this up! I think you have echoed the sentiments of many. It would be great if we could set up a overseas Malaysian committee of some sort where we can try compile avenues for volunteer & giving opportunities and bring this to the attention of able and willing Malaysians abroad!

I am sure there are many who are willing to step up onto the plate now!

Please guys we must start doing something more constructive than just spewing venomous comments which no gumption, no action, no depth and no sincerity.

Don't la, people say later, all these supporters of Malaysia-Today, NATO only

NO ACTION TALK ONLY
written by Negarakuku, May 11, 2008 06:06:55
TO ANSWER THIS QUESTION,
NORMALLY IN ADVANCE COUNTRIES, CITIZENS MAKES REPORTS AND COMPLAINTS OVER EVERYTHING THAT THEY ARE NOT SATISFIED. IN THIS MANNER, THIS WILL SHOW HOW LAME AND CORRUPT THE GOVT IS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif

SO FOLKS! GO OUT AND MAKE POLICE REPORTS OVER ANYTHING AT ALL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by citizenken, May 11, 2008 06:18:43
Our Minds are consistently spun by MSM spinning BN's propaganda.We hope that with alternative media like MT , we are able to voice our sentiments .
UMNO will charge any dissent voice with the rakyat with their weapons such as sedition act,ISA and they will abuse their power by instructing POLICE and the AG to do their political bidding.Judiciary reform and Structuring of ISA are only proxies cover for UMNO
ONLY with the HELP of East Malaysia MPs, DSAI will unite and ignite pakatan rakyat MPs to flush UMNO led BN into Oblivion.
We shall invite and enlist these east malaysian MPs by having a petition drive to invite them to our small humble terrace homes instead of BIG BUNGALOW with leaking problem.
The Rakyat hopes now lies with DSAI and our EAST MALAYSIAN MPs.
We pray for a strong numbers of MPs to join Pakatan Rakyat 's competent,accountability and transparent way of governance and we hope that our yang dipertua agung accept our no- confidence vote against the UMNO led goverment.We have to act upon UMNO led BN now or they plunder away our coffer till the next election.
THERE IS A SAYING "READER ARE LEADERS" so its up to us to lead
written by mei yen, May 11, 2008 07:09:06

Your DSAI is missing in action!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by cubi76, May 11, 2008 07:24:46
Dear Ian,

To begin with, if you're living in so-called industrialised countries, I suggest you to find out if there's any Human Rights group in your city, especially the university. Get in touch in them, and alert them on the human rights violation issues in Malaysia. Maybe the MP in your area can be helpful as well.

Another issue is, as the Malaysian government often uses the police force to silence any voice, we must think of another way to get world's attention to put pressure on the government. If we can possibly organise any activity outside Malaysia, and get international media eg BBC or CNN attention, eventually the Malaysian governmnt will feel the pressure.

So, I would suggest Malaysia-today to build a section, for all Malaysians living overseas to know each other and discuss amongst themselves if they would organise any activity at all. I have tried to do this in my own blog, but of course the response is not good at all. If only a website like MT can perhaps do this and act as a coordinating platform, it's going to be helpful.
To begin with, I stay in Melbourne, Australia and I'd be more than willing to attend any activity at all concerning Malaysia.

Frankly, judging from the development after the election, I truly doubt the government will listen to the rakyat. The problem is, Malaysia doesnt have the luxury of time to remain like this, as the world is changing so so fast and other countries are competing fiercely. Malaysia can't afford to fall behind this time, because if it does, Malaysia will be left behind forever. See what once the most affluent country in the region Phillipine and Indonesia had become.

Let's fight for a better Malaysia.

smilies/wink.gif
written by Negarakuku, May 11, 2008 07:32:39

BECAUSE THE STUPID AND THE GOVT IS CORRUPT!!!!!!!!!

TO START WITH, I PROPOSED ALL RAKYAT OF ALL RACES AND RELIGIONS, MALE AND FEMALE, MAKE POLICE AND AG REPORT ON NAJIB RAZAK FOR SEDITION ACT3(1)(e) - to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different races or classes of the population of Malaysia.

NAJIB RAZAK MADE A SPEECH AT KG BARU WHERE HE VOWED TO BATHE HIS KERIS WITH CHINESE MALAYSIA CITIZEN BLOOD. (china chinese where he dare?)
BANNERS WERE PUT ON READING "soak it (keris) with chinese blood" !!!!

IF THIS IS NOT SEDITION, THEN WHAT IS THIS?????????????

Send the murderers of Altantuya to hell is sedition YOUR HEAD!!!!

LET US SEE WHAT THE AG AND PDRM WILL DO ABOUT THIS??????????????

smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Negarakuku, May 11, 2008 07:34:14

*Typo BECAUSE THE STUPID PRIME MINISTER OF MALAYSIA AND THE GOVT IS CORRUPT !!!!!!!!!
written by mystique, May 11, 2008 07:48:06
Cubi 76, my sentiments exactly. We really need to get going though.

Let's keep in touch and not lose sight of this. I think it is a great idea. Will drop an email to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it to see if can be done on MT, otherwise we might have to host it somewhere else but probably advertise it on MT?

by the way i'm living in London, heading off to sleep now. catch you guys in 7hrs. cheers!
written by ibabonma, May 11, 2008 07:52:04
Just say it out everyday, every morning this 'mantra': CHILAKAK PUNYA UMNO X 3 and UMNO will be erased from our political landscape forever.
written by parksung, May 11, 2008 08:13:41
I'm damn GUILTY! Because I didn't vote, ever. Not making excuses, but personally i thinked majority of politicians are crap.

But after finding out about MT after the recent election, I realised that the current BANGSAT NEGARA really need to be toppled come next election.

So, we ordinary m'sian must start campaigning now, tell your families, friends, collegues, etc to vote BN in the next election, don't care even if the PR candidate is a orang utan.

Btw, i'm from Sabah and some PR candidates here are really from the jungle. Lots of frogs too. But next election, u animals will have my vote. smilies/grin.gif
written by parksung, May 11, 2008 08:14:28
sorry vote OUT BN
written by johanssm, May 11, 2008 08:21:50

After malaysian gave 82 seats to PR , PR have a heavy burden now .
Or rather a very heavy responsibility .
From now , its no longer "play-play" time.
Now , we as the people who supports and voted them in cannot just leave such important task to PR totally. We cannot just wash our hands and starts demanding PR to fulfill our dreams.
People must gives them feedbacks .Even if youre not a member of PR , please let PR knows what you think, whats in your mind .
How many of you here know that PR have a website and you can gives them feedbacks?
YES , PR have a centralised site linking to all the 5 1 states.
Take a look here >>> http://pakatanrakyat-wp.********.com/

Help PR in order to help Malaysia.
If we dont do that , our dreams , your dreams wont come true.
This goes for all supporters of bn as well.
Supporters of bn are Malaysian too , therefore you are welcome to help PR to improves Malaysia.
As you all know , PR "inherited" empty state office.
Void of any datas , files , pc , laptop etc. The previous government namely bn 'sapu " everything clean but left a lot of dust for PR.
But we PR did not complained much , and most of PR guys/gals went straight to work with nothing .
We voted the PR in , its OUR responsibility to keeps them IN ,its OUR responsibility that they perform. Its OUR responsibility to create a better Malaysia for your child , my child and future generations.
Hereby on behalf of my neighbours and friends make an appeal to PR not to clash with bn ( unless they asked for it ), avoid wasting time and goes in to the point.
Since i am already here typing this , another appeal to all polis people.
STOP harassing the innocent people . You the polis people are now a global embarrassment . It seems that our Polis appears on CNN & BBC nearly every week without fail. This is also a chance for polis to improves your team , before Malaysia welcomes a new government on CheckMate day.

Thank you
Yang Adil
written by indianputra, May 11, 2008 08:39:31
DURING THE LAST GENERAL ELECTIONS, WE THE RAKYAT HAS GIVEN PAKATAN RAKYAT A MANDATE TO RESOLVE MALAYSIAN POOR GOVERNANCE. ALTHOUGH THE PR DID NOT FORM THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT, WE THE RAKYAT DID OUR DUTY TO THE BEST WE COULD AT THAT TIME.

NOW IT IS THE DUTY OF PR TO FIGHT FOR THE RAKYAT. WHAT MORE DO THEY WANT FROM THE RAKYAT ANYMORE. STREET GATHERINGS? ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

WHY IS ANWAR SO QUIET? HE PROMISED THE RAKYAT A LOT OF THINGS BEFORE THE GE. WHERE IS HE? WHY IS HE NOT DOING ANYTHING? HAS HE CHICKENED OUT OR IN THE PAYROLL OF BN? WE WANT HIM TO COME OUT, GET THE 30 BN TO CROSS OVER AND GET RID OF BN ONCE AND FOR ALL.

WE THE RAKYAT HAS DONE OUR DUTY.. NOW IT IS FOR PR TO PAY BACK!!!
written by Adrian, May 11, 2008 08:44:06
Set up PR supporters Club - have regular dialogue sessions with the leaders of PR, tell them what we want see changed. HAve a milestone for such changes - as some issues have been deeply ingrained in the Malaysian (or X-gov?)culture. Some sticky issues may need PR several years to overcome - it could be more than 5 years - a term. HEnce we can not remove PR if on some issues, you do not see results in 5 years. We need to be realistic - as long as it goes on the right track we consider it acceptable.

some of us may not be able to join the club physically, but we can be the affiliate by being a cyber member. For consideration and hope to get better ideas from all. Let the ball rolling..........

cheers.
written by Oyster, May 11, 2008 08:58:31
Raising political awareness is the first step toward change.
Change doesn't happen overnight , but we are now begining to see unprecedented political participation from the rakyat. It may seem slow but we're getting there.
written by gctham, May 11, 2008 09:08:33
First register yourself as voter, if you have not.
Second, ensure you come back to vote, if you have not.
Third, register all your family members as voters when they are eligible,
Fourth, ensure all members who are voters come beramai-ramai untuk berundi.
written by Singapolean, May 11, 2008 09:11:59
Well just cause some of us are not in Malaysia. don't mean we have washed our hands and returning back to Malaysia does not help too unless you are already politically or financially strong - that's what I think.

Just living and working across the causeway, I did come back to vote in the last PRU12 (Selangor)which I am still surprised that BN was actually kicked out of the state. Its too awesome.

Well the least you could if you are staying overseas is vote - which I did mentioned just across the causeway made it easier. But still there are lots of people/friends that I know - all they did was complain.. Complain about BN and when I ask.."are you going back to vote?" the answer was a simple "NO".

I'm glad I did register as a voter and WAS part of the political tsunami.

Small steps to change is to change ourselves, how hard can it be to get register as a voter. How many of my friends back home did not vote because they did not register - being Indians, all supported the Hindraf cause, but I say if you don't feel like bringing it to the streets - register yourself as a voter and show it during the polls. I believe 1/4 or even half of Hindraf supporters are still NOT registered as voters, if I'm wrong - thats great.

Lets all be Malaysians rather than Malay, Indian, Chinese, Iban, Kadazan, Murut and what not other races in Malaysia.

Simple and small steps. Just been 2 months and Pakatan MP's are doing a great job so far - we should be helping/changing ourselves too if we are to achieve what we dream of a perfect Malaysia.

If you are not a voter - help by registering yourself first, that will be the first step and its your right too as a Malaysia.

Cheers
written by kent chong, May 11, 2008 09:14:02
PDRM vs Poor resident!

Cheras residents in stand-off to protect toll-free road
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEUrb-Q3aoc

See for yourself how ordinary poor residents are bullied by the corrupted BN government and the police!!!!!

written by kent chong, May 11, 2008 09:16:46
Join Pakatan Rakyat club and support RPK club :-
(I and my family member will register to become DAP member)

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=11627548644
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=18169906223
written by power2u, May 11, 2008 09:28:22
Well,we Sarawakians already know how rotten gomen is b4 election BUT now after election ,we can see how UTTERLY ROTTEN ,TERRIBLE,REPRESSIVE.MAFIA they are.Everyday,instead of lessening burden of rakyat, their top priority is to sue
n to throw all Pakatan MPs in jail to shut them up so that they can't expose their 50 years of evil.
What can we do???We should sue them back,alll the crooks beginning from Mahazalimto Bodowi,Mr C4,Kerismuddin ,Toyo,Semi value,....
Do not let them get away,,
written by jj_chin2001, May 11, 2008 10:15:58
Well futureman...there you go..you're message is not being censored..answered your question?If the police can be trusted my friend,the sun will rise from the west in Malaysia.They use cops to blown up human beings my friend.I have met people from Amsterdam saying that cops in Malaysia are so corrupted that they can be bought for 30 euros.Evidence you say,everyone has to play their cards right.Won't want to be blown up in pieces would u? smilies/wink.gif
written by minimoe, May 11, 2008 11:02:28
Futureman, Doesn't the fact that your entire post (criticising MT & RPK) is posted here in its ENTIRETY prove that it's NOT being censored?
Food for thought you may want to ponder on (in silence) preferably.

written by shamadz72, May 11, 2008 11:08:05
"Malaysians has voiced their displeasure by denying BN a 2/3 majority"

-----

Actually Malaysians have already boot BN out of the power if not for the gerrymandering of election boundary and Undi POS. How come an opposition constituent has around 100k voters in it and those in rural area can have as little as 20-30k of voters?
written by Siti Musliha, May 11, 2008 11:21:48
Hello Ian, if you want to help please come back and stay united. Then find the evidences of corruption and abused of power and thats when we can lawan.
written by Juliejustinng, May 11, 2008 12:00:22
As a Malaysian I would like to say this. The fighting bewteen the political parties will not benefit the people and the country. The arrogant federal govt not co-operating with the PR ruling states will also caused problems in running an effective states and country on the whole and this will drag future votes of BN further. Whay can't BN work hand in hand with PR (no marriage but one country/2 party system e.g HongKong/China). Listen to the needs of MALAYSIAN but not the individuals in the party/parties or govt. PM if you really, really care for your people (all races) work together and you will yet have a future,otherwise kaput !!!!!! (for example study Kelantan... why do Kelatanese retained the govt? And I think this is going to be for a long....long time, unless there are drastic happenings in the present state govt)
written by Saint, May 11, 2008 12:07:27
Dear Ian Pang - "So, please tell me what I can do as an ordinary citizen."
Every action as an opposite reaction - a know factor
But we must do something in which the least number of people will be hurt and we have to do it collectively. If not it will not work. Second someone "respectable" must start the movement. People like Ghandi have already shown us the way.

"Economic boycott" is the most powerful tool. We can email PR to state a boycott movement - a simple one, "like boycotting news papers" can be done first.

The people in the newspaper industry will be hard hit - but as said before every action has a reaction. But this simple action will shake Malaysia to the core.
I stopped buying papers many years ago - but again " one swallow does not make a summer"

Ghandi's movement from home spun cloths, salt mining and civil resting days "strike but sitting at home" were so powerful that the "tyrannical British Empire" was brought down. We all need to make some sacrifice and some will be more hurt then the rest. Without this we cannot change a country.

Simple but very hard to achieve collectively.
written by ipunkedude, May 11, 2008 12:56:26
Here's what I just thought of, our protest must be in a passive form. We shall hit directly where it hurts, their pockets! We all talk about unscrupulous people benefiting from cronyism.

Let PR form a cooperative. This cooperative will be owned by all Malaysians. We all have a stake in it. This cooperative will be managed by professionals with oversight by PR, just like any other corporations. Full transparency and no bullshit. Now, what do we do? This co-op will be ready to participate in any area of the economy. Be it in construction, agriculture,education, finance etc. It will submit tenders for any contracts available. It will provide the COMPETITION needed to drive out the excesses that has been squandered. Possible?

Ian Phung
written by The Iceman, May 11, 2008 13:11:43
First and foremost evry eligible voter must register to voice their feelings. I myself am a 54yr old Malaysian who never bothered to vote before. This time around I was bothered enough to vote. I live in PJ but was registered to vote in Selayang and although I had changed my voting address trust the Elections Commission to live up to their inefficient ways. So I travelled toKg Selayang and found the voting station after much difficulty and voiced my displeasure by voting PKR. We must not wait for the wakil to do our bidding we must also play our part. Speak up against injustice,corruption and abuse of power.
written by turun padang, May 11, 2008 13:54:10
here here..
written by sarawakian, May 11, 2008 13:54:36
i propose bumper stickers/windshield stickers with a list of good websites like this to be distributed to whoever wants one.

written by hiro, May 11, 2008 16:16:30
This guy's asking us to do something but did not offer any solution. My 2 sens worth - start a blog site - only have suggestions - and then voted upon, and then presented to the relevant authorities - how's that?
written by willwin, May 11, 2008 16:27:20
Ian, i shared your helplessness!! i feel the same too, there must be something more we rakyat can do to fight.....

to me, i believe that unless this corrupt BN is out, there won't be any reform for a better Malaysia; be it ACA, PDRM, judicial etc... so, first thing i do, i pray - God have mercy for Malaysia.

then, as some of them suggested, i agreed least we can do is mass e-mail all our friends about some of the information online, so that people can be well-informed.

like recently, i used "RPK charged with sedition act" to introduce MT to my friends as well as to made them aware of the piece - "let's send the Altantuya's murderers to hell", and of course urge them continue to seek justice for this case. i think that's the least i can do, but how do go from here, seriously i don't know. guess we got to wait for RPK to come up with something i.e the t-shirts, where can we buy it etc...

what I am saying is, we rakyat can only do that much, we really need leaders (espc Pakatan MPs) to initiate something, then we can contribute.
written by misschickenkiller, May 11, 2008 16:28:51
Mystique and Cubi76 I salute your comments on this. And the ideas are brilliant! Hope MT would follow-up with these ideas. Bravo!
written by tipletoe, May 11, 2008 19:52:01
Good to know that you are abroad and having a bird's eye view of the changes in Malaysia resulting from the rakyat's awareness of what has to be done. I take your comments in good faith but it would be better if you'll come back and lend a hand. It's no use saying that you are always behind us in our struggle when you are 10,000 miles behind. Every individual has a role to play here to effect changes no matter how small that role is and the individual that counts is the one who is here on the front line. Do come back old chum, we need all the help we can get.
written by ipunkedude, May 11, 2008 23:21:54
Dear all, thanks for the feedback and ideas. Especially from Cubi76, Mystique, Johanssm etc. All quite informative. Never imagined so many fellas have done a lot. Years ago, I was probably like many thousands of other Malaysians who voted with their wallets- repatriate out all their money and left the country for better opportunities. But the recent events offers some hope, and I have been conveying that to every person that has shown an interest in investing in Malaysia- conditional that BN reforms itself but does not look like its happening yet.

I read in another article that the Federal Government is trying to undermine the state governments under PR control, which is scaring off foreign investors. Well I suggest that PR launch an aggressive campaign to promote investment opportunities domestically and overseas under their state government's banner. Send out trade delegations and reach out to overseas Malaysians. There are probably many abroad thinking that there is hope now and would like to invest something for the future.

I would also like to contribute to a educational scholarship fund managed by MT or PR collectively. This fund will be used to help out the children of whistle blowers who bring down the corrupt in the government.

Lastly, I would like to know if there is any facebook grouping with overseas Malaysians.

Ian Phung
written by donquixotemy, May 11, 2008 23:51:13
I am 43. I have never voted in my life. I am abroad making a very comfortable living.

I have recently become actively interested in the political happenings back home.

Yes, Pakatan (as a political organisation) should set up a body to actively and aggressively engage lost "souls" like me and Ian and get us to register and vote in the next round.

Remember the few millions of eligible but unregistered voters...many are people like me and Ian...

...wanna guess who we will vote for? smilies/grin.gif
written by RitchieLow, May 12, 2008 01:01:51
Hi Ian,

RPK facebook group here http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=18169906223
written by junjun40, May 12, 2008 01:27:30
Ian, cubic, mystique and all living overseas...

As a step to help out, blogsphere mass com, those living in US can go to this site www.mybuddies.net ... He is coming home soon for good to lawan or contribute to our Tanah Air to make a better world here.

I personally know the founder. Go on everybody. Pls "Labisman" seriously consider a separate area for overseas contributors and voicing out what can be better or remedy we should take.

Time to save this country is running out soonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.
written by mystique, May 12, 2008 09:44:36
---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: 2008/5/11
Subject: Re: Malaysia Today: Your source of independent news - What can Malaysian's effectively do now after the elections
To:

We will discuss with RPK about it. If its possible, we will do it and make an announcement.
i will get back to you on it in next few days. peggy !!

cheers..
Vineeth on behalf of the MT Admin
- Hide quoted text -

Peggy wrote:
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/7218/84/#jc_writeComment

Hey vineeth,

Check out this thread. I'm mystique.

Any chance we'll be allowed to set a working committee on malaysia today? Just a forum of some sort to brainstorm what to do and actually do it.

If not doable on MT can give me some ideas on how to spark this off?

Cheers
Peggy
Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device
written by southallman, May 13, 2008 01:55:06
Mystique & Cubi76,

I agree with both of you, Mystique, I am in London and don't mind hooking up with you and others in UK for a better Malaysia. I will watch the space and wait to hear from labisman & RPK. Cheers