Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Judicial Commission Details In Three Weeks

Judicial Commission Details In Three Weeks PDF Print
Saturday, 10 May 2008 11:15

PETALING JAYA: De facto law minister Zaid Ibrahim said today (8 May) the composition and structure of the Judicial Appointment Commission will be finalised in three weeks.

The Minister in the Prime Minister's Department said his office was in the process of obtaining feedbacks from various quarters including the Bar Council, the judiciary, political parties and other relevant bodies on the matter.

"We will know the exact composition then. We expect to see between 12 and 14 members but it has yet to be decided. We do not want too many members," he told reporters at the Parliament lobby according to Bernama.

The commission's proposed set up is identify and recommend names for judicial appointment.

Zaid said the commission would be formed based on the British model but not all aspects of it would be adopted. (MySinchew)

written by freedom lover, May 10, 2008 11:21:44
Please reveal completely the names of individuals and organizations from whom you are going to obtain your feedbacks, before releasing the appointments.
written by middlepath, May 10, 2008 11:22:20
This Zaid Ibrhim got balls, he speak without fear or favor, more important, seem to have integrity, so, he should be the PM. better if he join the PR.
the Umno BN gov only interested in money, look at how they treat the Bandar Mahkota Cheras issue, they are only police to help the highway authority to barricade and make the rakyat suffer, shit, what kind of gov? instead of help the rakyat, they make rakyat suffer in hell...
what kind of gov? still vote for Umno, BN ?
they send the voters and rakyat to hell, they care ? my foot !
they Umno are the greed, corrupt, arrogant type, so obvious now.
PK is the only way, we need to ask enough MPs to cross over to PR, so we have new Makkal sakthi gov,
please pray, pray for change,
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 10, 2008 11:28:21
Mr. Zaid, can you find 12 to 14 honest-to-goodness upright denizens of our country amongst those who have been tainted with the BN brush ? I doubt it very much. Why not have a panel consistingt entirely of eminent, upright foreigners. After all, since RM500 M commission was paid for the subs, surely a few dollars paid to this Eminent Persons Group wouldn't cause a dent in our steadily depleting treasury ?
written by simply_say, May 10, 2008 11:32:49
"A jury is composed of twelve men of average ignorance. " - Herbert Spencer 1820-1903, British Philosopher

Very difficult job...

Easily insert quotes and jokes into your writing at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by hibiscus22, May 10, 2008 11:44:42
Mr Zaid, you kinda looks different from your pacts. Anyway, we will believe only when the results are positive. Don't betray us orang kecil.
written by bexe, May 10, 2008 12:09:35
Zaid
Did you advise AAB on his quest to attack Kapal? I think that was pretty poor advise.
written by gctham, May 10, 2008 12:31:32
The darkest day of the Malaysia Judiciary has been confirm by the Royal Commission report on the Lingam Tape scandal. The perception of the corrupt practices in our judiciary system has been there for long but has been all the while being denial by the authority. During the high of the Lingam Tape controversy, the authority remain reluctant to admit and go forward to renew the appointment of CJ who has been strongly implicated in the Lingam Tape. This was very sad in need. Perception was just perception, but if this perception of the public is not rebutted it will become reality as far as the people is concern. The saddest thing was the authority, the BN government just switch on their denial mode and try to cover up all with simply denial them.

The CJ who ahs been implicated and found being breach of conduct as found in the RC’s report should be properly dealt with and punish with what ever law existed.

The most sickening was the fact that, the person who has is in the highest position to discharged its duties and responsibility in the Judiciary has been found to of lowest moral and higher corrupted. He being and willingly being subject to abuse and abuse himself using the authority being conferred to him as CJ. Regardless he will be punish during his life time as human being in this life on Earth, he will definitely have to answer to the GOD, as from God we come and from God we shall return.

He has brought shame to all his ancestors. He has brought shame to his family. He has brought shame to Malaysia judiciary. He has brought shame to the whole human world. He will be spit where he go. He will be spit even after laying under his grave.

The wrong that he has done is worst than a murderer as a murderer was between the score of the murderer and the person being murdered, but the wrong that he has brought has brought injustice to whole Malaysia population, and some may not known who this guy was but will be suffered due to his wrong doing, will suffer injustice due to his wrong doing.

What ever faith that he may profess, there is always the law of universal justice and he will be judged by these universal law of justice. He will condemn after this Earthly life, he has to be answerable to God. He will go down to history as the sin of Malaysia justice.

No one can bring along the TAN SRI title , no one can bring along his wealth when he leave this Earthly world, only the Sins and Merits that have been made and committed by one will go along with you. Well this sound simple but how many do believe in it?
written by ez24get, May 10, 2008 12:48:40
YB Zaid,

I have 3 questions for you:

1. why you, as a law minister has no say, in making public of the Lingam's Royal Commission Report?

2. what is the point of reforming the judicial commission when the source of all the corruption and injustices in Malaysia arose from the Attorney General who is selective and has a different set of criteria, one for the ruling power and another for the rest of the citizens of Malaysia, in dispensing justice?

3. shouldn't the first priority is to reform the legislations like Freedom of Information Act, Whiselblowers Protection Act, Sedition Act, etc before reforming the judicial commission? Isn't this like putting the cart before the horse?
written by ttsan, May 10, 2008 14:55:31
Kindly be inform that this Judicial reform will be only window dressing. Don't listen to the boy who cry wolf.
written by Mana2boleh, May 10, 2008 15:32:22
A living man leaves behind his works and a dead man leaves behind his deeds. Those corrupted low things will be remembered by history and their bad deeds will be remembered forever. Their next generations will not be ashamed by their bad deeds.
written by Mana2boleh, May 10, 2008 15:36:23
Amended :Their next generations will be ashamed by their bad deeds.
written by mamanur, May 10, 2008 17:24:50
i wonder whether this 12-14 members will consist of BN's henchmen....
written by ChanRaj, May 11, 2008 01:24:17
I have no faith in this and am not about to hold my breath. Just kick the BN government out. It must be done.
written by teohpg, May 11, 2008 03:58:15
What badawi answer?? "need to study first and see whether to release to public?"

I think he meant , let me delete some names first before release.... smilies/wink.gif