HEROES IN BLUE: Going undercover to beat the communist insurgents PDF Print
Saturday, 10 May 2008 09:59

V. SHUMAN, MEW STRAITS TIMES

By his own admission, Sia Boon Chee, became a policeman by chance, not because he was patriotic or wanted to serve his country. But, serve his country he did, which earned him the nation's highest award for valour. V. SHUMAN speaks to the unassuming man who retired as a deputy superintendent in 1994

Six months prior to the operation, I slowly penetrated their group, disguised as a supporter. Although  initially they had their doubts, they eventually trusted me and gave me the responsibility of being their food supplier. They would place orders for food rations, which would last them several months, says Sia Boon Chye.
Six months prior to the operation, I slowly penetrated their group, disguised as a supporter. Although initially they had their doubts, they eventually trusted me and gave me the responsibility of being their food supplier. They would place orders for food rations, which would last them several months, says Sia Boon Chye.

THERE is no such thing as a second chance when you are a policeman.

This was especially so during the days when communist guerillas were active in the jungles of Malaysia.

Retired deputy superintendent Sia Boon Chee is one of those who know this fact only too well. After all, he had battled the communists in the jungles of Perak in the early 1980s as an inspector in the Special Branch.

"No one can pat you on the back and say it's okay, you can try again, because having failed means you will be returning in a box."

Sia clearly remembers his role in the months of intelligence-gathering that led to one of the biggest arrests of insurgents -- 13 of them at the "Stone Coffin" camp in Tanah Itam, Perak, on April 14, 1981.

(Stone Coffin was the name given to the communist camp because there was a rock in the area that resembled a coffin.)

He went undercover as a communist supporter to gather intelligence.

"Six months prior to the operation, I slowly penetrated their group, disguised as a supporter.

"Although initially they had their doubts, they eventually trusted me and gave me the responsibility to be their food supplier.

"They would place orders for food rations, which would last several months."

Sia would then liaise with his team, which would only provide half of the food ration needed by the communists.

"Maintaining constant contact with the insurgents was crucial in planning our next move. I would drive up with a car full of supplies from Ipoh to Cameron Highlands, every two to three weeks, to pass the supplies to them."

To make his cover even more believable to the communists, Sia carried only one firearm -- a Llama .38 semi-automatic pistol -- with the serial number scratched off. At the time, many communist guerillas carried the same type of pistol.

"That way, I was safe when I was searched," said Sia, adding that he gained the confidence of the insurgents in that way.

Recalling how the force stayed one step ahead of the communists brought a wry smile to Sia's face.

He said the various communist groups usually relayed information on the time and place of their next meeting by leaving written messages at "Dead Letter Boxes" (DLBs).

A DLB could be anything, from a spot under a tree to a milestone at a certain location.

Unfortunately for the communists, policemen often got hold of the messages they had left at the DLBs without their knowledge.

"It was a cat-and-mouse game, where we always had to be one step ahead of the insurgents. We had to beat them at their own game."

Fighting the communists, however, was a physically and mentally taxing effort.

"It was depressing at times. We could not discuss it with our families or friends, and thinking about the worst case scenario was physically and mentally taxing."

Having to spend large amounts of time in the jungle waiting in ambush for the communists was also extremely frustrating.

Of course, these ambush attempts did not always end in success, but one such operation in April 1983 did.

For three weeks, Sia and his colleagues waited at the fringes of the jungle near Slim River, keeping watch from 7am to 7pm daily.

On April 30, they caught sight of their prey, a notorious communist leader known as Choong Peng.

Choong Peng, one of the most wanted criminals at the time, had boasted that he was invincible. He was notorious for extorting money from timber barons in Pahang.

On that day, Sia recalled, it was nearing 7pm and the police team was just about to end their watch when they saw the silhouette of a man walking towards them.

"At the time, we did not know who he was as it was dark.

"Just as he was about 6m away, in what we call the killing zone, he stopped.

"It was if he sensed we were there. He pulled out a pistol from his waist band, forcing us to open fire."

Born on Dec 11, 1953, in Hulu Langat, Selangor, Sia said he joined the police force because he did not get a credit for Bahasa Malaysia in his Malaysian Certificate of Education examination (now Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia).

"Because of that I could not continue my studies. I was unemployed for a year before I came across an advertisement for the position of inspector in the police force. I tried and got the job."

He said being in the force boosted his confidence, and helped him to acquire many skills, including public liaison, crisis management and leadership.

It also helped to improve his command of the English language.

Sia, who now has a law firm in Kajang, opted for early retirement in 1994.

He said policemen those days were more prepared to work hard and had more loyalty to King and country.

"Now, there is more corruption, not only in the force but everywhere.

"At the end of the day, it is up to the individual's discipline and moral values to help contain corruption. I think corruption can only be controlled. It can never eradicated."

For his valiant efforts in fighting the communists, Sia was awarded the Seri Pahlawan Gagah Perkasa (SP) medal, the country's highest medal for valour, on June 1, 1983, by the then Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Ahmad Shah Sultan Abu Bakar.

"There are two types of courage -- hot courage and cold courage.

"Hot courage is reacting in the spur of the moment when under attack. Cold courage is what we had, going in knowing full well the risks involved. Knowing that if we made one wrong move, it could be the end of us."
written by DezMalaysia, May 10, 2008 10:12:53
F*ucK lar... BN Malaysia always painted the Communist as terrorists. If Malaysia think Communist are so bad, why not sever ties with Communist China the Biggest Commy Organization in the world ? Why take loans from & supply tonnes of palm oils to Communist China ?

Talam dua muka punya BN, depan Presiden Communist China ampu buah pelir, di rumah buli orang Cina...
written by cubi76, May 10, 2008 10:15:04
... gone the communists... came the regime worse than communist...
written by malaysia4malaysian, May 10, 2008 10:31:59
BN is worse than communist!!!!!!

BN consist of robbers, rapists, murderers, molesters, corrupts, seditious, cronies, money plunderers.

BN is worse than communists.

Free Malaysia from BN !!!!!!

written by oknyua, May 10, 2008 10:52:37
DezMalaysia, you never lived under insurgency, do you? May I ask, what is your age? If they suspected anything, they never ask question - off with your stomach!! (not head). It was bad, sir, very bad.
written by mijoan, May 10, 2008 11:01:08
The Communists are far better beyond words, when compared to TDM, NTR, Krismuddin, Hustam, Nazri, AAB, MMT, an all the UMNO Putras supported by the beggers such as MIC, MCA, PPP & Gerakan and other BN components from Sarawak & Sabah.
written by simply_say, May 10, 2008 11:45:10
"Resistance to tyrants is obedience to God." - Thomas Jefferson 1743-1826, Third President of the USA

Communist and BN are tyrant. Resist them.

Easily insert quotes and jokes into your writing at http://www.xlpert.com/quotes.htm
written by FFT, May 10, 2008 11:55:37
No point harking back to the past glory of the Malaysian police force.

Truth is, presently the Malaysian police force consist of many criminals, who are being led by criminals, and whose main function seems to be protecting criminals.

written by cheekhiaw, May 10, 2008 13:17:25
WHERE ARE THE HEROES WHERE IT COUNTS

The communists did not steal billions from the people, the communists did not blow up innocent people, the communists did not start racial riots as excuse to take thousands of lives, and the communists did not fix the judiciary in the name of saving the country.

Where are the heroes in blue where it really counts?

Malaysia today has no place for blue people that does not make themselves count in today's real Malaysia...

written by Uncorruptible, May 10, 2008 14:20:35
Sia Boon Chee is a running dog with Chinese blood in his hands.
written by temenggong, May 10, 2008 14:41:31
Once the communists were down and out, ketuanan melayu came alive.

Have we made a mistake?
written by citizenken, May 10, 2008 14:48:29
Today's new world , police are either running dogs for political masters or cari makan along the job. kudos only to the 10% of the police doing a good work. rest are corrupted, lazy,power abuse and most of them not bright enough to catch criminal.
written by pkler, May 10, 2008 15:44:32
There were brave people on both sides who believed they were doing what they were doing for the greater good. The communists played a leading role in opposing Japanese occupational, perhaps as an extension of the Chinese Communist Party, but that role has since been downplayed (deleted?) in all our high school sejarah books. The British then double crossed them when they returned to re-colonise Malaya.

What we need is the truth. Reconciliation, and a recognition that past wrongs be corrected. We do not need to dmeonise either the communists or Sia to make our points-fighters on both sides were pawns of a much larger game.
written by batsman, May 10, 2008 16:52:42
It is the same with religion. Internally UMNO treats Shia Islam as a cult, but internationally they hobnob with, embrace and kiss Iranians. These are all man-made hypocrisy! UMNO is only interested in power and will abuse anyone who challenges them.
written by bn haramjadah, May 10, 2008 16:58:50
dez malaysia grow up lah you never underwent the insurgancy, stfu, nowadays doing business with china is a must to survive or be left behind. thats the reality, so get out of under the tempurung, those days china supported the communists of malaysia, that finished a long time ago, jangan lah cakap bodoh sangat.
ABOUT THE POLICE FORCE yes I agree the preveous force which was multi racial was very much better, until the bumiputra ppolicies came into affect circa 1078/79 onwards, after that you join the police, you can only climb to a certain limit if you are non bumi and no more, than you have brown nosers and innept taking over not based on merit but political connections, thats when the rot started. the Malaysian police force has always been corrupt, as long as can be remembered, but those days it was petty, they were in the kindergarden stage as per compared to today, where they have PHD.
BUT HOW DID THIS BECOME LIKE THIS, like the saying goes, MONKEY SEES MONKEY DOES, OR MORE APPROTRIATE is you scratch my back ,I scratch yours, Most probably by mahathir reign, when the cops were asked to cover up the wrong doing of UMNO, stalwarts, especially after the arrest of HARUN IDRIS THE INSTIGATOR OF MAY 13, Umno realised that if this untouchable orang kebal, kuat, could go to jail than they were not safe, and than there was the arrest and charging of a sitting minister for murder, IF i recall from negeri, mokhtar something, who did he murder, another umno guy, thats umno for you. after that started the coverups and of course when you cover up for the powerfull, than the policeman has a godfather to help him in his career, promotions, cushy & profitable jobs, also becoming go between the crooks and the politicians.
When you have this its the end, how do you expect the people who are assigned to help you are also corrupt, as in broad daylight, whatever you say and do. like a preveous boss once told me, YOU ARE ONLY AS GOOD, AS WHAT YOU HAVE DONE TODAY, DON'T TALK ABOUT WHAT YOU DID IN THE PAST, WHAT CAN YOU ACCOMPLISH TOMORROW? SO PDRM HERE IS A CHALLANGE, CHANGE AND BUCK UP, WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE, WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO ACCOMPLISH TOMORROW, ARE YOU WILLING TO CAKAP SERUPA BIKIN OR BE THE DOGS OF THOSE ALCOHOLICS AND KAKI RABA PEREMPUAN FROM A CERTAIN POLITICAL PARTY, ARE YOU GOING TO SOLVE THE MISSING CHILDREN CASES TOMORROW, WHICH IS YOUR MAIN JOB...FIGHTING CRIME or are you going to arrest me or others like RPK,FOR POLITICIANS, FOR SPEAKING AND QUESTIONING THE TRUTH. DO YOUR BLOODY JOBS. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif if you are not capable of doing your jobs please resign and become security guards somewhere. because thats what your quality is to jaga pintu, buka pintu, kiss the hands of dogs and their biatches
written by cubi76, May 10, 2008 17:14:43
Dear Uncorruptible and DezMalaysia

Dont get mistaken. The world 'Communist' does not equate to 'Chinese'. Communist does NOT represent Chinese.

Communism is an idealogy and societal concept. Supposedly leading to equality, BUT it's proven it is FLAWED and it could lead to cronyism and corruption.

Communism is NOT suitable for us.
written by SBennit, May 10, 2008 19:13:48
Absolute crap. The communist mujaheedeens were a spent force by the mid 60's. There were only about 130 of them by then, half starved and weapon short. And they were still taking on a fully equiped armed forces, about 250,000 of them in all (police, army, navy, air force, RELA and what not)....Still, it took another 25 years for the Malaysian forces to sort of bring them to their knees, and another 5 years to trick them into giving up arms!

When a 200 pounder with mixed martial arts skills beats up a criple. Do you call him a hero?? Excuse me Mr Sia. Is this hot or cold courage??

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by SBennit, May 10, 2008 19:16:31
Long Live Chin Peng!

By the way, Chin Peng is really sick. He needs care. If anyone wants to donate for his care, please contact me.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by lawa88, May 10, 2008 19:16:54
I almost joined the Police too. But then I joined the Army. You slogged your hearts out and when your children finish school with flying colours you apply for JPA scholarship and you are told by some F&^%king nincompop in JPA "tidak berjaya" You want to know why? Because the scholarships are all reserved for some dimwit BN crony children. Sia received SP medal? Try hanging it round your neck and sit beside some corrupt BN/UMNO crony. They would not even acknowledge you! Possibly they might even say "sial orang tua ni menyemak aja" I faced that too. SP so what? I wasted my time, so did you Sia.
written by lawa88, May 10, 2008 19:18:10
Ganyang BN!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by smeagrooo, May 10, 2008 21:52:37
Well DOne Sia

If now u could only teach someone to penetrate UMNO and the police force to weed out all the corrupted figures.

Otherwise to us it is like out from the shit hole and dropped into an abyss of dung!
written by legallybotak, May 10, 2008 22:18:51
My dad worked for Special Branch for 30 odd years, under cover and all. A few years after his retirement, his pension stopped bcos 'they' claimed that he was dead!!! Had to engage a lawyer to handle the back & forth with the British Pension Fund Administrator. After two years, they reinstated his pension and welcomed him back to the living. Ironically, a month later, he passed away!!!
Since then, my mother has not receive a sen of pension!!

Serve your country so that your pension can serve others.
written by bunian, May 10, 2008 22:25:27
You cannot say that BN are worse than communists. They are, instead, the ultimate(!) communists: what is theirs is theirs and what is ours is theirs. We pay our taxes for the rakyat; as far as BN is concerned, taxes are nothing other than the means of enriching themselves.
written by bikerzon, May 10, 2008 22:45:59
Talking about communist country.

Last night after dinner I was having dessert at a Malaysian bar here in Beijing, I met 2 Canadian. Interestingly, on the first mention that I'm from Malaysia, one of the Canadian told me that "Malaysia its the second communist country after China, although Malaysia gov try to pose it as a democratic capitalism country.". I smiled, thinking... "oh yes, how true"

Putting opposition leaders in jail and using ISA/Sedition Act furiously. How true.

Salam sejahtera from Beijing.
written by malaysian, May 12, 2008 01:01:16
Ever since the British left and UMNO came to power, the Malaysian Police Force has gradually lost all honour, values and professionalism. Malaysia was more peaceful under the British than today, as the crime rate makes new records each passing year.

UMNO is run by criminals - thieves, rapists, liars and murderers! The police are now just another branch of UMNO, criminals in uniforms.