Minister with the reformist streak PDF Print
Saturday, 10 May 2008 09:13

De facto Law Minister puts one crisis behind him to tackle less controversial challenges

By Carolyn Hong, THE STRAITS TIMES

MALAYSIA'S de facto Law Minister Zaid Ibrahim was looking slightly worse for wear.

'I have barely slept in the last two days, the expectation is so high that we would do this right,' he told The Straits Times recently.

The Minister in the Prime Minister's Department had reason to be nervous. His proposal for judicial reforms had been strongly opposed by his Umno colleagues and senior Cabinet ministers who felt he was opening a can of worms.

But it had the backing of Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi, who had agreed to make amends for the 1988 judicial crisis.

In that episode, which many see as the start of the free-fall in public confidence in the judiciary, top judge Salleh Abas and two other judges were sacked while three others were suspended for suspected politically motivated reasons.

Twenty years later, the wound is still fresh.

Datuk Zaid had proposed an apology, but the government did not go as far, offering instead an undisclosed sum in monetary compensation. However, more significantly, it announced the setting up of a commission to make the process of judicial appointments more transparent than the current one-man decision.

It was a feather in the cap for Datuk Zaid. 'I hope that trust will be restored. There was never executive interference more clear than in the 1988 crisis.'

He did not hide the fact that he was personally invested in getting this initiative off the ground - after all, his reputation as a reformist was at stake.

Known to speak his mind on human rights issues, Datuk Zaid, 57, comes across as a liberal democrat. Not surprisingly, he did not win many friends in Umno for taking a different stand on issues ranging from preventive detention to race relations.

An MP for Kota Baru in Kelantan in the last Parliament, Datuk Zaid was dropped as a candidate in the recent March 8 general election.

No reason was disclosed, but it would not be far off the mark to say his views had grated on his party. There was also a cloud hanging over him - his 18-month suspension from Umno.

Datuk Zaid was suspended after criticising the party's disciplinary board for investigating him for vote-buying during its 2004 elections. He was later found not guilty of money politics.

The unexpected revival of his public career makes Datuk Zaid an interesting element in Umno although, politically, he does not have the ground support needed to climb the party hierarchy.

Datuk Zaid used to run Malaysia's biggest law firm before giving it up to join the Cabinet.

He has a strong reformist streak that dates back to the time he was active in the fiercely independent civil liberties group Aliran.

But he later moved into mainstream politics, building up his law firm through lucrative work related to Malaysia's privatisation drive in the late 1980s.

Zaid Ibrahim & Co is Malaysia's largest law firm, with about 140 lawyers, and has many regional offices, including in Singapore.

He also led the Malaysian Muslim Lawyers Association, which is often seen as a pro-government rival to the hyper-critical Bar Council, which groups all of the country's lawyers.

It was during that period when he appeared to defend the government's actions in the 1988 judicial crisis - actions that he has now made it his mission to rectify.

But the Minister is quick to defend himself against claims of inconsistency from critics, who have included prominent lawyers as well as former premier Mahathir Mohamad.

Datuk Zaid said that, at the time, he had merely called on the Bar Council to move on after the crisis and to accept the new top judge.

'Maybe I was not correct at that time, but I was never inconsistent,' he insisted.

He said he had always felt that the sacking of top judge Salleh Abas was wrong. 'I went to see Tun Salleh, and told him myself then.'

This episode is now firmly behind him. Today, in most people's eyes, he is a liberal reformist, and he credits Prime Minister Abdullah with supporting him.

The achievement has bolstered his ability to undertake other reforms, albeit less controversial ones.

Among other things, he wants to tackle the judiciary's infamous backlog of cases that number in the thousands.

FACTS on Zaid Ibrahim:

• Born in Kota Baru, Kelantan
  • Earned a law degree from the University of London, and is a Barrister-at-Law, Inner Temple

• Founded Zaid Ibrahim & Co in 1987 - now Malaysia's largest law firm
  • Won the Kota Baru Umno division election in 2001 by four votes on his third attempt

• Suspended in 2005 for attacking Umno's disciplinary board

• Contested and won the parliamentary seat of Kota Baru in the 2004 general election, but was dropped in this year's poll
  • He is viewed by some as the new face of professionals that Umno is recruiting.
  • He is known for his forthright criticism of the government's handling of legal issues, such as the judiciary, human rights and Islamic law.
  • A minister in the Prime Minister's Department, he has now been appointed to oversee legal affairs and judicial reform.
  •  

Comments (32)Add Comment
    written by alarcarte, May 10, 2008 09:34:09
    Enc. Zaid, please quit UMNO and join PKR. You are one of the few remaining white spots in UMNO, you be bleached black by remaining in the ruling party.
    written by Sribayu, May 10, 2008 09:50:50
    You cannot run away from a weakness (Our Judiciary System); you must sometimes fight it out or perish. Well done is better than well said.
    written by atsanee, May 10, 2008 10:08:35
    Whatever you are doing,we,the rakyat,are not privy too.

Come out with a stand on the Altantuya case,on the illegal detention of RPK and review the cases and investigations on Lingam,Norietta,M2M and Rahim Tamby Chik.

To most of us ignoramus rakyat,these are the things that will forever stick in our minds and our confidence in the police force and the judiciary will never be restored until these issues are sorted out.

And btw,surprised by his seeming naivety for crediting AAB with supporting him in his (political comeback).

AAB is only interested in his own and KJ's comeback.
    Why else bring in someone who has gone on record as stating AAB has got a F in his report card?
    Why else bring back the money launderer who no speaki Inglis?

Marriage of convenience lah.....
    written by hiro, May 10, 2008 10:20:13
    What's Zaid saying about sedition charges against Karpal and RPK? Don't think the reform agenda will go through now that the knives are all out for Badawi. Does Najib have the same commitment to push through this reform? The journalists should hound him and splash his commitment on the FRONT PAGES.
    written by avaaz, May 10, 2008 10:48:56
    I had sent a letter on the Ordeal Faced by Foreign Spouses in Malaysia to almost 20 MPs and the honourable Minister.
    He was the only one considerate enough to acknowlege the letter.
    That being said Sir, the Immigration Law needs to be reviewed and thats precisely the very reason we appealed to you.
    We are sending a further appeal to you and are confident that the matter will be looked into by your department.
    With Thanks
    A Foreign Spouse Seeking PR for 16 Years
    written by mijoan, May 10, 2008 11:03:14
    It is my opinion that he won't last long in UMNO.
    written by middlepath, May 10, 2008 11:05:27
    this man got balls, he should be the good candidate to be PM, he should be in Pakatan Rakyat, he is in the wrong party, shit , hidup Raja Petra K, hidup Zaid,
    down Umno
    written by Whichdoktor, May 10, 2008 11:40:14
    Go for UMNO leadership Zaid and create a new future for Malaysia. With Zaid on one side and Anwar on the other there will be better checks and balances in this country.
    written by aozora, May 10, 2008 11:43:54
    Datuk Zaid, you are obviously in the wrong camp. You are the only one in UMNO that I still respect because you have integrity and resolve to change the system for the better.

But UMNO is like a virus, it infects everything it touches. Please switch camp before you become like one of THEM, corrupted and evil!
    written by IbnAbdHalim, May 10, 2008 11:55:52
    At the rate things are going on in the country and the events striking the opposers to the ruling elites, the reforms promised by PM is a mere window dressing ploy.
    written by bexe, May 10, 2008 12:04:37
    so far so good. keep it up
    written by miwaki, May 10, 2008 12:23:10
    Don't stay too long in this cabinet or else you will become one of them.Why not crossover to PR and serve the people instead of serving your master and his cohorts.
    written by Rainbowseahorse, May 10, 2008 13:30:44
    Law Minister Zaid Ibrahim , you are human and noboby can expect you to make the right decision all the time.
    You stay put where you are now and fight the battle from within until they kick you out. Then, and only then do you join the PKR and fight from the outside. In the meanwhile, find out all the inside story and gather what evidence you can for the forth coming battle as an outsider.
    My best wishes and prayers be with you.
    written by Dominic, May 10, 2008 13:54:25
    See, product from UK university sure ada substance and creditbility . If Zaid dont cross over to PR camp now,am sure those moyets in UMNOPUTRAS would find excuse to outst him sooner or later ! The latter cannot afford a thorn among the roses . If he has to stay on,please continue with the good work. Rakyat wouldnt forget that !
    written by KKchan, May 10, 2008 14:41:18
    We should not be too quick to sing our praises of the man. Sure, he got the dinner set up for Tun Abbas and the promise of compensation. But it about a month now and have we heard anything of the payment? Give him a report card by the end of the year.
    written by Eskay Lim, May 10, 2008 14:54:06
    Owang macam Datuk Zaid Ibrahim bila-bila pun dikehendaki oleh Pakatan Rakyat.
    You know where to go to when Umno goons kick you out.
    So don't worry.
    Just continue to do your good thing.
    Until then..... Good luck.
    written by coolandy, May 10, 2008 15:39:37
    It doesn't matter where Zaid belongs to. As long as his conscience is clear and knows that it is time to pay back some to society what he has reaped throughtout the years with BN, he will be respected.
    written by shamadz72, May 10, 2008 16:15:29
    Suspended in 2005 for attacking Umno's disciplinary board

-----

Ya right! He was caught for "money politic" (in other country this kind of act is also known as CORRUPTION & BRIBERY). Need I say more?
    written by MalaysiaBaru, May 10, 2008 16:47:04
    THE REFORMIST WITH NO BALLS

With regards to the sacking of Tun Salleh Abbas in 1988:
    "Datuk Zaid said that, at the time, he had merely called on the Bar Council to move on after the crisis and to accept the new top judge."

You call this a reformist? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

Being the Defacto Law Minister, what is his stand on the sedition charge being used against RPK? If questioning the irregularities in the court proceedings can rendered one to be charged for sedition, then isn't it a million times more seditiuos for a top leader to hold up a Kris and threathening to bathe it in another race's blood? Can our Defacto Law Minister please answer this. Or perhaps he should change his title to Defective Law Minister smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
    written by YSL, May 10, 2008 17:18:29
    Brother Zaid,
    join Pakatan Rakyat ansd your ability, talent, commitment, dedication and brain power will be more useful and recognized.

Please make it happen and make it fast before 16.09.2008.

Ok brother zAID..........
    written by Trueandfair, May 10, 2008 19:34:06
    SEMUANYA WAYANG KULIT DAN SANDIWARA !! (Puppet show and act)

Why? Because whatever he says or comments, it CARRIES NO WEIGHT, ONCE IT GOES TO THE CABINET ..... yeeehhhh ... then he will come out from the regular Cabinet meeting and then tells everyone, "SORRY, THEY SAY "NO" but I try .... " JUST LIKE ONG KAH TING (MCA) AND SAMY VELLU (MIC) SAYING THEY FIGHT FOR CHINESE/INDIANS IN CABINET BUT ..... we try ......

SO STOP WASTING THE COLUMN INCHES IN THE NEWSPAPERS, WASTING PRECIOUS AIRTIME, GARNERING SYMPATHETIC "VOTES" FOR BN BY "trying"

JUST DO IT ... IF CANNOT THEN MOVE OUT AND LET OTHERS WHO CAN DO IT ....
    written by campuras, May 10, 2008 19:59:13

Is he the new clean skin with no old political hand bags, skeleton in the closet,

A person acceptable to the rakyat, to UMNO, BN members to counter PR. A new badge, a claaing card for UMNO and BN

written by Angela Ooi, May 10, 2008 22:25:23
    Will someone WITH brains from the Bn govt please stand up and be counted WITH the people, FOR the people? Why are WE, the people Still being treated as brainless non-thinking morons who are blind and deaf to the blatant excesses and abusesconstantly inflicted on the rakyat??
    written by Sabahfan, May 10, 2008 22:49:05
    ding ding aling..

dong odong odnng

sandiwara sidiwiri sunduwuru...

love it love it..

I will believe it when i see it done, namely judicial reform.... he he he
    written by DontPlayGod, May 10, 2008 23:39:57
    Zaid, don't kid yourself that you can do anything to reform the judiciary. The powerbrokers are too many and too strong for you to make any dent. Even AAB will get nowhere with his plans. Notice how AAB has been using the Tun's setup in UMNO to maintain his power and grip, e.g. the 30% nomination to stand for the top post, "negotiated tenders" implemented by the Tun and still being used to rape the rakyat(AAB is having the last laugh on TDM), and all the racist and discriminatory policies are still in place and adhered to, plus of course putting himself in charge of the Finance Ministry. Everybody knows why it is important to be in charge of the finance Ministry.

Zaid, if you stick to your prinples, forget the post of Minister. Of course, you may enjoy the power and prestige that comes with it. But the worst part of it all is that power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. UMNO is not for you. Join PKR.
    written by panca, May 10, 2008 23:56:06
    We certainly wish you could change from the inside and this take the might of giant and will of steel, however be reminded that you are also swimming in the pool(can) of worms. In no time if without success of making inroads, you will be caught and drown in this slimy stenchy toxic wastelands. Find best option as bloggers have strongly suggested!

With the GOONS, the easiest by way is with paying compensation than sincere apology with admittance of wrong-doings. We take that as burying that wrong-doings by way of paying money(bribing)to silence the victims.
    written by atsanee, May 11, 2008 11:57:53
    In spite of his reformist stand,people will see Zaid for what he is.
    Got filthy rich and turned his company into the biggest in the land under the patronage of UMNO and now came running the moment AAB called just to help extend his stay in the top job.

UMNO and BN are pressuring their representatives not to serve in any role in the PR ruled states.

We the bloggers,are calling on Zaid to do the same in reverse.

If this, De Facto Minister/Senator in the BN government chooses to remain,so be it,we will remember.
    written by atsanee, May 11, 2008 11:59:19
    Cant have the cake and eat it too.
    We can see through your two headed game.
    written by campuras, May 11, 2008 15:54:10

same shit....different pile
    written by DontPlayGod, May 12, 2008 16:34:21
    This post of Law Minister will bring you down, politically. UMNO will not allow you one bit of freedom to reform anything, as regards the judiciary. This position will spell the death of, if not your reputation, at least where your political career is concerned.

UMNO insists on having under the judiciary their control and at their whims and fancies. Haven't you noticed that an UMNO lawyer will be the next Chief Justice? So in one fell swoop, I am sorry for you for thinking you can do somthing to bring back some credibility in our judiciary. Leave while the leaving is still good.
    written by DontPlayGod, May 12, 2008 16:36:21
    Sorry, should read, "UMNO insists on having the judiciary under their control.....