Najib under attack after being named as next PM PDF Print
Saturday, 10 May 2008 09:00

Wave of criticism could be a bid to undermine the DPM's standing

Among those who have stepped up their attacks on Datuk Seri Najib are bloggers, the most prominent being Raja Petra Kamarudin. In an April 25 article, he implicated the Deputy Premier and his wife in a high-profile murder.

By Chow Kum Hor, THE STRAITS TIMES

BAD PUBLICITY: The mounting criticism against DPM Najib spells trouble for Umno, says an analyst. -- PHOTO: REUTERS

DEPUTY Prime Minister Najib Razak is coming under increasing attack, fuelling speculation that certain quarters are gunning for him.

He was largely spared the full force of anger among Umno members after the massive electoral losses suffered by the Malay-based party and the ruling coalition, the Barisan Nasional, in the March polls.

But his continued insistence on playing the role of loyal deputy to Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi has over the past two months attracted mounting criticism. And when, around the middle of last month, the Prime Minister named him as his successor, the criticism gained momentum.

Among those who have stepped up their attacks on Datuk Seri Najib are bloggers, the most prominent being Raja Petra Kamarudin. In an April 25 article, he implicated the Deputy Premier and his wife in a high-profile murder.

This created a buzz in cyberspace, forcing Datuk Seri Najib's office to write to Raja Petra to set the record straight - an unusual move for a government often suspicious of bloggers.

Then, earlier this week, opposition leader Wan Azizah Wan Ismail called for an investigation into the Defence Ministry's multi-million-ringgit purchase of military helicopters and submarines, alleging that the government had paid exorbitant commissions to politically linked companies in those deals. Datuk Seri Najib is also the Defence Minister.

Political analyst Ibrahim Suffian finds the timing of the attacks on the Deputy Prime Minister perplexing.

'I am not sure whether there is a concerted effort by some to undermine him,' Mr Ibrahim, who heads opinion poll research company Merdeka Centre, told The Straits Times.

The criticism, he said, may have something to do with Datuk Seri Najib's decision to continue backing the Prime Minister.

As the No. 2 man in the country and also in the dominant party Umno, Datuk Seri Najib is seen by many as the most viable candidate to replace Datuk Seri Abdullah when the party holds its internal polls in December.

Many have blamed Datuk Seri Abdullah for Barisan Nasional's dismal performance in the March 8 general election and want him out. But Datuk Seri Najib has chosen to stick by his boss.

Others who have attacked him for his stand include former premier Mahathir Mohamad, who called him a coward. Tun Dr Mahathir had until late last month backed Datuk Seri Najib to take on the country's No. 1 leader.

'All this negative publicity is not healthy for Najib,' Kedah Umno leader Ramli Yunus told The Straits Times.

'People will have a bad perception of somebody who may become the country's next prime minister.'

So far, Datuk Seri Najib has brushed off the allegations in Raja Petra's blog that he and his wife were involved in the murder of Mongolian interpreter Altantuya Shaariibuu. The blogger published the letter in full on his hugely popular website, Malaysia Today.

Datuk Seri Najib's wife Rosmah Mansor has also said that allegations about her involvement in the murder, circulated on the Internet, were not true.

Raja Petra, who has been charged with sedition over the article, was jailed after refusing to post bail. But he changed his mind yesterday and posted bail, citing safety fears.

The Deputy Prime Minister has also denied any impropriety in the purchase of military helicopters and submarines, saying that the deals had followed government procedures. His denial was carried on Page One of the Malay daily Utusan Malaysia.

Mr Ibrahim said Datuk Seri Najib had no choice but to set the record straight about the swirling allegations.

'He has to salvage his own reputation. If he doesn't do anything, it is as if he is acknowledging that the allegations are true,' he said.

A political watcher said: 'These attacks against the DPM just mean more trouble for Umno.'

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by gctham, May 10, 2008 09:09:25
ABB will bring down BN, but this guy will bring down whole Malaysia.
agree 261
written by macaufan, May 10, 2008 09:16:34
Najis,
pls plan ur exit plan now or never ! PM & SIL will finish u off with RPK, Altantuya & ur Shukoi/sub-marine commission scandals ! prepare to live in exile ! rakyat don need u ! pooooraaaah........ smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/tongue.gif
agree 135
written by FFT, May 10, 2008 09:17:42
He was largely spared the full force of anger among Umno members after the massive electoral losses suffered by the Malay-based party and the ruling coalition, the Barisan Nasional, in the March polls.

Which is certainly puzzling, since he was the head of the BN election machinery.

If anyone deserves to be put on the chopping block for the dismal election results for BN, it is Najib.
written by FFT, May 10, 2008 09:20:21
Even if there were no Altantuya case, Scorpene commission allegations, and dismal performance as the head of BN election machinery...

Najib is still unfit to be PM.

agree 290
written by Ken Liew, May 10, 2008 09:24:12
WEll... here goes..... we the chinese of Malaysia, required to donate blood to bath his dagger.

BTW, why I say dagger?? cos i respect the Keris, Malaysia's history are written by good Warrior who uses keris, to defend the Nation. But this guy use the dagger to kill the nation.

I believe that this guy here is insulting the KERIS
written by FFT, May 10, 2008 09:27:33
There is no conspiracy to harm his image. He does a great job of that himself due to his gross incompetence.

For exmaple, just yesterday, a report of another National Service camp trainee has prematurely died!

Under Najib's inept management of this program, which has been riddled with corruption from food catering to camp maintenance, promising young Malaysians are dropping like flies at a rate of more than 4 deaths on average per year.

And why no moves to beef up the camp? One word: $$$Kontrak$$$.

agree 211
written by Sribayu, May 10, 2008 09:30:42
ISA, OSA & Sedition Acts - The more Crazy Laws and Orders are made prominent, the more mad thieves there will be.

It is dangerous to be right when the leader is wrong

MERDEKAAA...3x
written by Pangkis Pangazou, May 10, 2008 09:38:19
NAJIB??? PM??

SORRY LAH! GO FLY A KITE!
written by HHKim, May 10, 2008 09:38:46
I don't this guy in the picture by the looks of his eyes. He smacks of deception and hyprocrisy. Who is he by the way?

Good luck Malaysia if he takes over No.1 job!!! But I tend to think he won't. God will forbids.

I was laughing when Dr. M was proposing this guy as No. 1.

HK

HK
written by HHKim, May 10, 2008 09:41:58
Malaysian are all blind if this chap takes over the No.1 job!!!

It is such a big joke-man! I would prefer to denounce my citizenship-lah.

HK
written by krising1, May 10, 2008 09:47:31
Tun MM wants to see Najib. Najib says he will ask Pak Lah permission. So far Najib has not seen Tun MM. Tun MM says that it because Pak Lah did not give permission.

Najib says there was no such request from TUN MM.

ONe of thse two great men is lying. Both are UMNOputras. Who is lying.
written by DezMalaysia, May 10, 2008 10:03:43
If this NAJIB can become PM of Malaysia, anjing jalanan pun boleh jadi Presiden Amerika Syarikat ! Tahi (Najis) pun boleh jadi wangi !

written by Mark C, May 10, 2008 10:07:16
the only thing that caught my eye in his picture is the watch. If i am not mistaken it's a A. lange eh Sohne, flyback datagraph. List Price 500,000 rm in Sincere. Makes you wonder?
written by hiro, May 10, 2008 10:22:50
Sure there is a concerted effort to bring him down. He's bad news from Malaysia. People don't have to conspire to think the same way and express their disenchantment in the same way.
written by dokmat, May 10, 2008 10:23:18
NAJIB PRIME MINISTER? (NO! x 1,000,000,000) smilies/angry.gif
written by scottthong, May 10, 2008 10:26:03

Poster #23 from http://scottthong.*********.co...l-posters/

Under attack you say?
written by RFernandez, May 10, 2008 10:35:14
Mark C - You are right that certainly is an expensive wrist watch he is wearing. Wonder who paid for that and does he earn that much to own such a wrist watch? Oh wait, it may be a Petaling Street knock off or maybe Sincere watch company is owned by him? Anyway, it's pretty shameful for a public figure to flaunt such wealth in public.

Dei Najib next time wear a Casio Baby G lah for hells' sake :-)
written by neptune, May 10, 2008 10:50:41
He think he is GOD but in fact its the other way round....DOG smilies/cheesy.gif
Dun even think he deserve to be a DOG smilies/wink.gif
written by seek justice, May 10, 2008 10:59:29
It is believed that the many events that has taken place since Najib was named the future PM were orchestrated. True, they were all `orchestrated' by The Almighty and delivered in `human forms' by RPK, Kak Wan Azizah, etc.

But, the death of the NS Trainee is definitely the ultimate SIGN of things to come for Najib and Rosmah.

I DO NOT WANT ROSMAH AS OUR FIRST LADY. SHE DOES NOT COME CLOSE TO THE LIKES OF TUN HASMAH, TOH PUAN SUHAILA, TOH PUAN RAHAH, YM SHARIFAH RODIAH...who all stood by their man for the right reasons and not to steal the limelight.

Gosh, I do not even like the way she looks, sorry, if she's Anita Sarawak with some talents tak pe lah nak glamour! I seek your forgiveness God for this but I am saying what my heart feels about this particular servant of yours.
written by Bigjoe99, May 10, 2008 11:03:17
For the last 50 years, UMNO have pretty much decided who is going to be the Chief Executive of this country. Each time their choice has been less and less of a choice by Malaysian and more and more by hard core UMNOist. We came to the conclusion that the last choice has been a disaster for Malaysian and voiced it on Mac 8. Now we see that the next choice is even worst than the last.

UMNO does not represent Malaysian and they don't even represents really the full and free choice of Malays and much less bumiputras because its selected by a couple of thousand UMNO feudal lords.

Najib would NOT be elected if there is a direct election even by BN members even possibly not even UMNO members themselves.

What we do know is there are better out there and Malaysian no longer accept second class quality especially in their leaders. We tried to say it with a Tsunami election but it seems only a Typhoon would wipe them away...

Why is there attack on Najib? Because he is just not good enough...
written by rockli, May 10, 2008 11:18:37
Well for someone tainted with C4 on his hands, he sure is so confident of himself, of becoming the next PM.
Now why does TDM want such a character to be the next PM. Is it that he sees in Najib his own personality?
We are better with Ku Li to be the next PM or for PR to form the next Federal govt than for Najib to be PM.
WHO will save us from him, a person who will bathe his keris with Chinese BLOOD, and with the case involving his bodyguards using high grade C4 explosive to blow up people???
He may just finish what TDM was doing - bring this nation into ruins!
written by Mustapha Kamal, May 10, 2008 11:24:27
AS long he let RPK be, he was safely going to be the next PM. Because he felt that his underwear had caught fire, and therefore responded to horrendously bad advice from you-know-who, to RPK's article, now, his whole career is going up in flames ! Can't our leaders be MEN ? Why do they have to listen to beruks and film-star wannabes ?
written by Shyetan, May 10, 2008 11:27:19
Friends, Do you keep tainted stuff in your house? Of course not we throw them away don't we?
And yet we have tainted material in our House of Parliament
How disgusting
Time to chuck out the tainted stuff
written by IbnAbdHalim, May 10, 2008 11:49:43
Najib as PM is a bad omen for Malaysians. If Altantuya can vapourize in thin air what would be our fate?
written by eeyaw, May 10, 2008 11:54:42
Guys, Gals, Bloggers, Malaysians.......

Tell me, can we have a Prime Minister who is a Murderer and a Racists and a Corrupted scumbag?????

I rest my case!!!!
written by Dogboy, May 10, 2008 13:59:22
Najib and his wife are murderers. All facts are pointing to this and by denying it publicly means squat. The bodyguards are his personal bodyguards, so why would they take orders from the other joker? Surely they have taken orders from Najib and that bitch.
written by Dogboy, May 10, 2008 14:01:16
eeyaw, i can answer that:
Mugabe, Hitler, Mussolini, Mahathir, Suharto, Marcos etc etc.....
written by Dogboy, May 10, 2008 14:02:19
Happens all the time and they will eventually rot in hell
written by mgeo, May 10, 2008 15:14:24
Remember the divisive clamour in the Oppositio states to be Deputy MB/CM? Like DMB, DPM is an unnecessary post. Someone here noted that is is not provided for in the constituition and laws. So we have to pay for a mere concession to the internal UMNO pecking order.
written by ttsan, May 10, 2008 16:48:54
He has too much blood on his hands.The public knows who the guilty person is and they are Najis, Roastmah,2 bloodyguard,IGPig,the court.Finally the mongolian beauty finish the malaysian gang.
written by Samurai, May 10, 2008 16:53:24
BN will not survive with the current top 1 and 2 leaders. Both of them will bring down the coalition if they are still at helm. Hell to those corrupted leaders and may PR will take over soon.
written by tikuih, May 10, 2008 16:55:54
Political analyst Ibrahim Suffian finds the timing of the attacks on the Deputy Prime Minister perplexing.

'I am not sure whether there is a concerted effort by some to undermine him,' Mr Ibrahim, who heads opinion poll research company Merdeka Centre, told The Straits Times

this idiot ibrahim chap is so naive. what is so 'perplexing' about najis being 'attacked' as if the people are cooking up accusations against najis. hello ibrahim, by now don't you know that it is so obvious from the altantuya case that najis' involvement cannot be denied anymore? you seem to portray najis as some kind of victim of people's deliberate effort to undermine him. you are so wrong. naiis brought it all upon himself and he is facing the ghost of his past misdeeds - the subs, helis, altantuya, the keris in chinese blood. are you blind to all these?
written by YSL, May 10, 2008 17:26:16
MALAYSIANS SHOULD BE IN ONE VOICEC "SEND THE ALTANTHUYA MURDERERS TO HELL"

Najis as next Prime Minister! What a ****ing joke!! Not today, not tomorrow, not next week, not next month, not next year not not not not not not not not not not forever!!!!

Got it najis smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by arifabdull, May 10, 2008 20:02:48

See for him?
C4 HIM!!!
written by arifabdull, May 10, 2008 20:04:26
The original C4 pic >> http://www.ribbands.co.uk/prdpages/C4.htm
written by sarawakian, May 10, 2008 20:13:56
Malaysian are all blind if this chap takes over the No.1 job!!!

malaysians have no say who gets to be Prime Minister. it is decided by internal party politics. malaysians gave Barisan Nasional the vote to rule the nation and UMNO votes who becomes PM. where's the logic?

written by emg385, May 10, 2008 21:00:36
Attorney General(AG) sememangnya bertindak sebagai "Anjing Gila UMNO/BN" dan hanya pandai menyalak serta Tunjuk Taringnya setelah mendapat arahan Tuannya. Bila pemimpin-pemimpin UMNO menderhaka kepada Sultan Terengganu termasuk PM dan berani memanggil Baginda "Natang", masa itu ANJING GILA(AG) sedang tidur nyenyak atau bersembunyi di rumah Tuannnya.Bila pemimpin bernama Najis menghunus Keris dan meminta pertumpahan darah orang Cina pada tahun 1987,masa itu bekas pegawai Anjing Gila tidak menyalakpun.Pada tahun 80-an, masa skandal DP Vijendran,bekas pegawai Anjing Gila hanya pandai menghapuskan segala bukti supaya tindakan mahkamah tidak diambil.Pegawai Anjing Gila seperti ini adalah penderhaka besar kepada Rakyat dan negara dan mesti menerima balasan yang setimpal !!
Isu-isu yang dikatakan Hasutan oleh Raja Petra & Karpal Singh sebenarnya adalah agenda UMNO untuk mengalihkan perhatian Rakyat daripada masalah dalaman UMNO dan kelemahan pimpinan Bodohwi macam filem "Wag the Dog"!!Rakyat Malaysia dan pemimpin PR harap jangan diperbodohkan oleh UMNO!!
written by emg385, May 10, 2008 21:05:29
Bekas PM Tun Abdul Razak meninggal dunia masa penggal pertama mungkin setelah mendapat sumpahan daripada mangsa-mangsa pembunuhan peristiwa Mei 13, 1969.Jika pemimpin bernama Najis ingin menjadi PM, beliau sentiasa akan diiringi oleh sumpahan Altantuya dan sumpahan Rakyat Malaysia, dan tidak mustahil juga beliau menerima nasib yang sama seperti ayahnya.
written by Sabahfan, May 10, 2008 22:45:40
when he become PM, every candidate who stands agains him will be given a C4 for a present.. he he he
written by Ninja, May 11, 2008 00:47:34
Sabahan and Sarawakian, you are the instrumental to what the country is heading towards to. Had you all chosen wisely, these UMNOputras would have been kept in the slaughter house waiting to be slaughtered.

If you all are awake, it may not be too late to still make a change. Get your erected representatives to resign from BN and join PR.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, May 11, 2008 01:14:28
Ros-shit = bad luck, second-hand car, and will cause the downfall of Na-shit.
written by tryme, May 11, 2008 02:26:36
Can someone check against Najis "Harta", we are so curious to know that. same to PM and Khairy
written by Sutha, May 11, 2008 02:33:59
Rosie handles the itchy Najis pondan with a wireless remote controller.

Anyway, in the late 190s, the pondan boy was caught in Port Dickson for khalwat with ZZ but escaped court proceedings due to interference of his godfather TD Mahatyrant.
written by SiHangChai, May 11, 2008 03:47:08
Najib & Rosmah? He may has won GE but the true is, his own Pekan town folks don't like them at all. Same -same lah Rosmah.. another person with big ego & ??? on actually whether she is the DPM or Najib? Say NO to Najib-Rosmah to lead the nation. It will be a disaster with so much questions on their personalities.
written by Malaysiaku, May 11, 2008 09:27:06
Ever wonder why in a country where everyone knows a person is totally corrupted and yet they supported him to be the no. 1 in the country? The reason is simple: they are equally corrupted and these cronies are hoping for 'pay back time' to get projects and other favours for supporting their corrupted choice to power.

It is time to see who such supporters are. These are the bad apples with their worms crawling out now. Good time to identify them lest they hide under sheep skin and pretend to be holy and seek Rakyat's support later.
written by Concerncitizen, May 12, 2008 01:09:20
Note the words of King Solomon, one of the wisest, if not the wisest man in history of mankind,...." A false witness will not go unpunished, And he who speaks lies will NOT escape."
written by safeerzone, May 12, 2008 13:48:18
in RPK's prison break story..."faces of people who doesnt had many options in life" damn, those words are touching, i could feel the emotions running in those "happened to be criminals" for some of us life really doesnt offer much things. and for so called next PM...life offered everything yet he misused everything to get something or anything. so if he becomes PM...then..."GOD BLESS MALAYSIA and our CHILDREN" i mean it....
written by sukinong, May 12, 2008 16:27:26
No la! He cannot be my PM. Not for my kids'future. At least, not before I die.