Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow RPK released, tells why he came out

RPK released, tells why he came out PDF Print
Saturday, 10 May 2008 02:02

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

PETALING JAYA,Controversial blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin of the news portal Malaysia Today is finally out of jail on bail.

Raja Petra is hugged by his wife Marina Lee Abdullah soon after his release this morning    Raja Petra is all smiles on his release 

Raja Petra, who was remanded at the Sungai Buloh Prison after being charged with publishing an allegedly seditious article, “Let's send the Altantuya murderers to hell”, was released at the Petaling Jaya Sessions Court at 9.35am today.

Like the day he was charged, the courthouse compound was crowded with dozens of his supporters, which included fellow blogger Tony Pua, who is also PJ Utara MP. They had gathered there as early as 8.30am. Many wore bright yellow T-shirts bearing Raja Petra's face and the words, “Justice for All...tantuya”.

Unlike Tuesday, the day he was charged, however, which saw a long-drawn out process of finding-the-courthouse that lasted 3 hours, Raja Petra's release today was quick. It was over in 10 minutes.

He arrived at the courthouse in a Black Maria at 9.25am. By 9.35am, he was released from remand after signing some papers at the bail counter. And by 9.45am, the 58-year-old did a Road Runner out of the court compound on the trail for food. He had not eaten anything since dinner at La Bodega in Bangsar on Monday, the night before he was remanded.

Raja Petra with his supporters all in yellow T-shirts.

He had changed out of the pale yellow shirt he'd worn since being charged and into a black tee and over it donned a bright yellow “Justice” T-shirt given by a supporter. Looking visibly weakened, Raja Petra denied he had gone on a hunger strike as reported.

“I was not on a hunger strike but I refused to eat the prison food. Why should I eat? The prison food is paid for by the rakyat's money. I'm not going to eat the rakyat's money,” he reasoned.

Despite entreaties from his wife and supporters who had run a “Walk With RPK” campaign to collect funds to post his RM5,000 bail, Raja Petra had resolved to remain under custody until his trial in October.

His resolve included an adamant refusal to drink even a sip of water, to meet with anyone until his trial and to post the RM5,000 bail, which is the maximum that can be imposed for a crime punishable with a fine of RM5,000 or 3 years’ imprisonment or both.

Contacted over the phone later, Raja Petra, who had just breakfasted with his wife at the PJ Hilton, explained his about-turn over refusing bail.

He had refused to post bail because he believed he had done nothing wrong and therefore did not deserve to be detained.

“If you read my article and understand English, you will see that I asked questions, not made allegations.”

Selangor Exco member Ronnie Liu puts a yellow T-shirt on Raja Petra.

Recounting the events from last Friday (May 2), he said he had not been issued a warrant of arrest or a summons before being charged with an offence he steadily denies committing.

He was therefore willing to go the distance to prove his innocence according to the process of the law and wait it out inside prison. However, prison officials were worried for his safety while in their custody.

“The prison (warden) said I'm a security risk if I remain inside. They had received some reports about attempts on my life. So they assigned 2 special forces officers — sort of like the SWAT team — to guard me.

“But they said, 'Because of you, the prison is on high security alert'. They said they've 5,000-over prisoners to take care of inside and 600-over personnel but anyone could be bought over. A small packet of tobacco could buy my life with some prisoners. They said they didn't know who this Azilah and Sirul may have bought off,” he added.

When he was taken into Sungai Buloh, he had landed in the same prison block as Azilah Hadri and Sirul Azhar Umar, the 2 policemen who have been charged with Abdul Razak Baginda for the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu. He heard some people shouting “Watch your back” but did not recognise them.

The prison guard who accompanied him informed him that they were Azilah and Sirul and had apparently reported the incident to his supervisors.

“The prison officers were very nice. (They performed) above and beyond their scope of work like calling my wife and speaking to her to convince me to go out. I could see they were genuinely worried for me. I could see they had a job to do. I could see the prison officials were not the enemy.

"I was not worried inside. But the prison guys pleaded with me, 'Please go',” said Raja Petra, adding that one of the senior prison officers, whom he did not want to name, had also told him that he (the officer) had read his articles and sympathised.

Bloggers and supporters of Raja Petra milling outside the courthouse this morning.

“He told me, 'Please go home and write. I would like to read more',” recounted Raja Petra. He claimed that some of his fellow prisoners had also approached him to ask for his autograph. He was pleased that what he wrote had reached deep inside such places and is one of the many factors that motivate him to do what he does.

He elaborated that he had put himself on the line not for any politically-driven agenda but because he had had personally met Altantuya's father, Shaaribuu Setev, and empathised with man's anguish.

“I looked at his face, I looked into his eyes. He has been very patient. I have 2 lovely daughters myself. If someone had shot them and blown them up, I don't think I could have been as patient. I'd probably have done something suicidal,” he remarked.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by EvilWolf, May 10, 2008 02:12:50
RPK - Good to have you outside again.
written by ralverd, May 10, 2008 02:26:14
Nice to see you up and running again RPK. Those are some trendy glasses btw. Get a good rest, don't let the back ache again. The rakyat is with you, always.

Read my blog : http://ralverd.********.com
written by Paikiah, May 10, 2008 02:36:26
Dearest RPK,
Thank God for keeping you good in 1 piece.
Me and my wife were praying daily for your safe return.
My wife has never been blogging but now she is so frequently surfing eager to know more about you. We are relief at the moment but still worries for others like MP Karpal Singh, Bandar Mahkota Cheras residents and many more.....
May All Good beings be blessed.
May All Evil Najis be Flushed.

From,

Paikiah And PaiCharBor.....Not to forget too My Son Herald
written by watchdogg, May 10, 2008 02:47:31
Long Live The Raja Petra,
Long Live The Raja Petra.

May god see justice from this!
written by turubasa, May 10, 2008 03:21:14
YM RPK,
Nice to heard that you are outside no. Yahuuuu... smilies/grin.gif
written by TheArtiste, May 10, 2008 03:22:01
I felt helpless because i was too late to do my part as a human being to contribute my "RM1" for the purpose of the bail money. I do not know if i should apologise or feel sorry for myself...but either way i feel extremely guilty. Is there anyway that i could still contribute to this fund for the rest of the bloggers or anything that i could do?
written by turubasa, May 10, 2008 03:22:32
(pembetulan)
YM RPK,
Nice to heard that you are outside now. Yahuuuu... smilies/grin.gif
written by Kritz, May 10, 2008 03:51:56
written by droyanperak, May 10, 2008 03:53:37
Yang Mulia RPK,
Alhamdullillah ! God Bless you, and may He always protect you. Please don't worry about the "other" rakyat. We from the alternatif "rakyat" are always ready and willing to contribute. If you want 2 new computers pun bukan jadi masalah. Kalau PRDM tak pulangkan your komputer, let them keep them. We get you new ones that can write with invisible bytes and bits!
written by Kritz, May 10, 2008 03:55:19
written by mrgoh, May 10, 2008 05:14:52

You look tooo handsome for 58 year old fart.

Wonder how you look like at 20 year old. Have a picture?

PS: I am not gay.
written by Daryl, May 10, 2008 05:50:52
RPK
Thank you for your dedication in advocating freedom of speech and also against injustice done by our current people in power. God Bless you and your family. Hopefully, out of this Malaysia will generate leaders that will know what not to do when they come to power.

As usual I don't trust politicians but just got to pick a good leader and open minded politicians.
written by mei yen, May 10, 2008 06:57:36
I was watching the late news last night and there was a clip of RPK being led from the truck to the courthouse in handcuffs. Bail had officially be posted the night before and legally he was a free man, so why was still handcuffed. Wasn't that an unnecessary us of force?

Malaysia! What a county! Apa pun boleh!

written by exzxr, May 10, 2008 07:20:07
God bless you RPK,Its good to know you are fine & well.A big thank you to the Sungai Buloh's guards that has done a fine job of taking care of RPK.
written by Kritz, May 10, 2008 07:28:12
written by Jengking, May 10, 2008 08:55:46
RPK,your detention was not proper and it is good that you have decided to post bail. Your command of English is also superb and there is no reason for people not to understand your arguments and reasonings. However, you and Labisman should exercise more control over comments posted by your readers.A lot of them lack manners, with name callings and wild accusations, very unbecoming of them as good citizens of the country.You could win more support and sympathies if you could also educate your supporters to use good English, just like you do!
written by Ken Liew, May 10, 2008 09:04:56
Not all malays are bad...... and not all hindu or chinese are good.

As you can see, some officers are GOOD, the only Bad guyz are ketuanan minded. Where they taken high ranked and greedy for power and money.

Please note that, serve the people, and serve the boss is two different thing.
I know there are some good Police where they are unable to be promoted. But too few to make the difference.

written by Cikgu Bedah, May 10, 2008 09:24:05
Alhamdulillah! Pak Engku, you look so cheerful despite being hungry and thirsty. If it was me i would have probably fainted.
Rest well and be safe.
written by wewant2change, May 10, 2008 09:53:42
Where can we purchase the black T-Shirt that you are wearing and also the yellow one? Can we purchase online?
written by atsanee, May 10, 2008 10:42:25
If you need to diet,diet lah.
Better still,we the supporters will buy you a treadmill.
At your age, 30 minutes a day of brisk walking is more than enough.

Plse dont go into detention just to cut down on food.

See,we are selfish buggers and cant cut down on our daily dose of RPK magic and food for our mind.
written by ayfy, May 10, 2008 10:55:43
Tie a yellow ribbon for RPK and Syed Akbar Ali.

You can tie a yellow ribbon on your gate, car door handle, wiper blade, aerial etc. Let’ show support for RPK. Go out and buy a roll of yellow ribbon and cut into shorter strips and pass around to your friends, neighbours and office colleagues to do the same.

Let Saturdays be a yellow T-shirt day. Go shopping in yellow T-shirt. Take a stroll at Dataran Merdeka in the evenings in yellow T-shirt as a sign of peaceful protest.

Let's do this until the October hearing.

Pass the message on to as many as you can.
ayfy
written by turun padang, May 10, 2008 11:06:39
DAMN!!!

I miss the giving out of Free JUSTICE FOR ALL....Tantuya T-shirt

So where and how can i get it now?
written by FutureMalaysia, May 10, 2008 12:23:56
Nothing against RPK. But could this be a calculated move.
Since the murder trial was heading nowhere....and you know how forgetfull we Malaysians are.....remember our healthy health minister......the gang would like to help to restart the stalled engine.....and now this has become two in one case.......

If this is true, then our BN friends still have not learn their lessons after the last election....they walked straight into the trap just like the clothless king who paraded for all smilies/grin.gif
written by johanssm, May 10, 2008 13:16:14
Welcome home RPK , take a rest.
Now , i was wondering as to why the 2 murdered did that (shouting) at you.This means they have access to outside news or somebody fed them with news.This dont make any sense at all.RPK's target is the number 2 .
For all we knew the 2 polis were just pawns .
Or did "somebody" gave them instructions to do so.

Can we ask Najis to visit both of them in jail and sees what the reaction will be? Other readers are curious too.
Najis , your 2 bodyguards are in jail , please visit them.
written by murthy3372, May 10, 2008 13:53:55
YM RPK

WELCOME BACK SIR
MAKKAL SAKTHI IS WITH YOU...
NOW LET'S MOVE ON TO ROUND 2 & KICK SOME ASS,BIG TIME...
written by murthy3372, May 10, 2008 13:55:29
Dear ayfy,

Good idea...Cheers...
written by zul4kulim, May 10, 2008 13:59:28
Syed Hamid tuduh RPK MENIPU!
http://1426.********.com/2008/...lakon.html
written by mgeo, May 10, 2008 15:21:58
If you read my article and understand English, ...
That's rich.
written by YSL, May 10, 2008 17:37:37
Well done all those who turned up and shown support!!!

I was so far from Laysia and i hope that this will be the event taht spring off a silent and Tsunami that wil only drown the corrupted, dirty minded, abusive, and murderers in this country!!!

Oooops, i mean those killled by using CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC4 smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

Have a nice week end fellow bloggers and blogs lovers!!!!!!!!!!!
written by Sabahfan, May 10, 2008 22:11:14
Labisman....

What soo wrong with my comments??

All i said was that I am proud all the supporters who came to greet RPK are multiracial, and the ladies look very cute too..

NOW is this comment so seditious that it has to be censored>

I am so dammmed disappointed.
written by teohpg, May 11, 2008 03:54:08
WHERE CAN I BUY THE YELLOW SHIRT!!!??? please post reply if you know....
written by laksa maner, May 11, 2008 04:40:38
Let's us change Malaysia to a new country for Malaysian with new ethics and paradigm. Otherwise, we still putting ourselves in a third world mentality mode.
written by Wiseone, May 12, 2008 23:36:58
Country needs a lots of people with similar to your thinking. We sure to stand tall again. Keep up your good work ! May god keep you strong and healthy for the sake of the well being of Malaysia ! You are the man !

We all know very well that our country is plagued with too many problems most of it swept under carpet.

A friend of mine caught his wife flirting extensively with a high ranking Naval Warfare Commander(an already married playboy) three years ago. This playboy has since left the Navy and moved with a promotion to look after our Malaysian coastline -Maritime Enforcement Agency. My fren's wife left taking away the children from my fren. I just wonder why a man like him is unashamed of his actions. My fren is very much contemplating lodging a report.. Can he get justice ?