Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Segambut MP in hospital

Segambut MP in hospital PDF Print
Saturday, 10 May 2008 01:17

(The Sun) PETALING JAYA (May 9, 2008): DAP Selangor legal bureau chief and Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng, who was allegedly assaulted by policemen during a melee last night at Bandar Mahkota Cheras, was warded at the Selayang Hospital this afternoon, says Kampung Tunku State Assemblyman Lau Weng San.

When contacted by theSun, Lau said he was told by Lim's wife that he complained of giddiness, fatique and could not concentrate on his work and she sent him to hospital where he was warded.

Lau said Bandar Mahkota Cheras (BMC) "Buka Jalan" Committee, DAP Selangor's state assemblymen and MPs will visit him tomorrow (Saturday) morning.

News portal Malaysiakini.com had reported that Lim and BMC Open Road Committee chairperson Tan Boon Hwa were allegedly assaulted by plainclothes police officers.

The incident occurred shortly after Lim arrived at the scene at about 10pm to lend support to the residents who had gathered at the Bandar Tun Hussien Onn intersection of the Kajang-Cheras Highway.

The highway concessionaire Grand Saga Sdn Bhd was then erecting a concrete barrier - for the third time - to thwart the BMC residents from entering the intersection and thus bypassing a toll booth on the highway.

After Lim intervened in the work, police moved in and he tried to stop a water cannon truck by standing in front of it.

Lim had told reporters that several plainclothes officers forcibly removed him. "They dragged me aside and sprayed mace on my face. I couldn't see. Then they punched me and kicked me," he told reporters about two hours after the incident. His shirt was torn during the scuffle.

The Selangor government, which has been criticised for not doing enough to resolve the issue, will call for a special meeting with the federal government and Grand Saga Sdn Bhd, the concessionaire for the Cheras-Kajang Expressway, next week.

Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim yesterday advised residents to be patient, saying that the state government would find a solution to the problem. He earlier received a memorandum from the BMC residents in front of Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah.

The memorandum, handed over by BMC Open Road Committee, Tan Boon Wah, demanded that Khalid study and resolve the issue  immediately.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by PasarRoad, May 10, 2008 01:32:34
If an MP can be beaten up by the PDRM goons for doing his duty as an MP and adviser to the BMC folks, what chance do we ordinary Rakyat have?

It is even more urgent now that PR should make their move and take over the government. Damn the people who say that party hopping is unethical, and just move it, pronto!

There will all sorts of arguments for and against, but look at it this way, would you rather continue to live in this kind of atmosphere?

All of us...whether Malay, Cina, India, Pri-Bumi etc pay our dues by way of taxes, and we have to live in fear? In fear because of the rising crime rate and in fear of the PDRM who is supposed to reduce the crime rate?

What the heck?
written by turun padang, May 10, 2008 01:44:31
This will be the 1st real test for Kerajaan PR in Selangor.

How good it's to be alive in Malaysia today
written by k loon, May 10, 2008 01:52:18
as much as i support the rakyat.

I'm wondering why the menteri besar of selangor didn't take any action on the Grand Saga. Isn't it confirmed that the land is belong to the state?

What next!!?? Can the government barricade the Penang bridge and force the penang's folk to take the ferry instead to safe ferry business?
written by malaysian, May 10, 2008 01:55:43
Pete, I can't help feelin that the revered CM is doing the 'BN thing' by playing 'bureaucrat' when the people need their MP.

I humbly suggest that you kick his ass, as promised!
written by VLeong, May 10, 2008 01:58:40
The MB hands are tied...
written by sttb08, May 10, 2008 02:08:12
It is probably the MB's hands are tied. Decision made by previous govt - how much does the present govt need to pay in compensation to the operators? not fair to expect the new PR Govt to wave magic wands and make right all the wrongs of the (**&^*&%* past govt.
written by Paikiah, May 10, 2008 02:41:44
WTF~~!
PDRM = Hooligans
How can they treat a People's representative this way ?
I demand an immediate answer from the thug's chief Musa ~!
I want the Abdullah Badawi to give us (Rakyat) an answer instantly~!
F*ck Y**, We pay for you PDRM 's wages and this how you b*stards treat us ~!??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Paikiah, May 10, 2008 02:43:56
If Abdullah Badawi you cannot or impotent to control these F*cking AssH*l* DOGs Of yours STEP DOWN immediately.
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by AsamLaksa, May 10, 2008 02:46:48
Does Grand Saga have the right to close a public road? Need to check the contract. Can the Selangor government go to court to fight it out and seek an injunction on Grand Saga in the meantime?
written by Paikiah, May 10, 2008 02:48:01
You PDRM thinks that You Idiots are good in Martial Arts?
Put down all your weapons, let's have one on one sparring~!
I 'll shit you not, your ass face will be on below my foot down on earth.
written by miwaki, May 10, 2008 02:51:36
Animals are not supposed to be left on the road,they should be kept in the zoo.
written by vineeth menon, May 10, 2008 03:11:17
written by madtrix, May 10, 2008 04:08:37
I agree with PasarRoad. Most of the problems are caused by the Fed gov't. If we don't take Fed, Pakatan will rule the states in name only - no power, no money, no change! Worse, the more time you give UMNO, the more trouble they can and will create ... like charging more Pakatan MPs for sedition for instance. We don't want the MPs to be missing from parliment, when that day comes !!
written by kenny, May 10, 2008 04:31:13
written by Paikiah, May 10, 2008 | 02:48:01
You PDRM thinks that You Idiots are good in Martial Arts?
Put down all your weapons, let's have one on one sparring~!
I 'll shit you not, your ass face will be on below my foot down on earth.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Yes Paikiah, if it's man to man, you'd have company. Wonder if those bullies have experienced getting a good pummelling themselves. Idiots!

Sigh...don't know what else to say.

"Cowards are cruel, but the brave love mercy and delight to save." (John Gray)
written by bn haramjadah, May 10, 2008 06:13:07
QUESTION. EXCLUDING DSAI FOR VALID REASONS. HOW MANY UMNO POLITICIANS OR MEMBERS OF PARLIMENT HAVE BEEN BEATEN UP BY THE POLICE.... answer none, so next election just take umnos' money and vote opposition.
written by krepot, May 10, 2008 07:13:13
The Road To Hell Is Paved With Good Intentions

Watching PDRM on tv/Malaysiakini makes you want to puke.

One of these days, the people's patience will boil over and there will be total anarchy and only then, will our idiotic leaders wake up from their sleep!

It is a ticking time bomb. PDRM is filled with idiots who can't even think rationally. Just listen to them make statements.
written by krepot, May 10, 2008 07:17:04
Maybe, its time for the residents of BMC to take a class action suite against PDRM, IGP and the OCPD of Kajang for the high-handedness in handling the Grand Saga issue.

After all, if the police can't act impartially, then who are the people to go to? The way the member of the parliament was whacked in public, it looks like a footage from one of them war torn South African countries. IS THIS REALLY MALAYSIA?
written by LALILOo, May 10, 2008 08:02:35
Watch the beatings, standoffs and police in action.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtSRluxGBIk
written by binarytan, May 10, 2008 08:26:59
PR has to take the federal government and wipe all bustxxx out of politics.

It is very sad to hear this news especially you are just normal citizens and have to face the government with full arm.

If PR MB is not able to handle this case, then they will have to change the strategy. I think there is someone able to help or to blow the issue up. Keep digging the actual content in the contract till the whole world is made known.

PR must take federal and return all the national properties to rakyat and Malaysia.

written by BennyG, May 10, 2008 08:56:25
It's heartening to watch BMC unite against a common cause. Again BN prove to be the stumbling block by delaying the confirmation that the barriers are on state land.

It's even more appalling that the police tackled PR MPs by violence. PR MPs must sue the police for brutality and excessive use of force. If the assailant could not be identified, then the top police office there must take responsibility for the actions of his men.

There must be a legal way to prevent such actions by police. I bet some of the police is talking down the PR MPs in their stations.
written by orangmsia, May 10, 2008 08:59:47
It's sad indeed when there is only DAP come out and help BMC residents

Where is PKR/PAS?

UMNO/MCA/MIC/Gerakan - can't hope
written by Mark C, May 10, 2008 10:10:42
sad day. even MPs also kena assaulted. The force has no respect for elected representatives of the people. goes to say a lot about the government of the day, doesn't it?
written by rockli, May 10, 2008 10:19:02
Yes, WHERE the MB of Selangor when ALL this was happening?
You are elected to do his JOB, not just DAP MPs, so where is U???
Still dallying with your ex Umno pals?
GO and STOP this SHIT and not sit at your desk and wish fOR the BEST.
Only you have the real authority to STOP all this stupid nonsense.
HOW can a common company take the LAW into their own hands and also have the support of the POLICE, when the jurisdiction of the roads/land is under the Selangor govt.
The Umno/BN people are getting out of Hand, Time to KICK them out of the Federal Govt.
written by mykantree, May 10, 2008 11:18:33
Can Mr.Lim Lip Eng make a police report about the assault?. I believe the police personnel has exceeded their authorities by assaulting Lim.
written by orangmsia, May 10, 2008 11:26:29
Ask Mr. Lim Lip Eng to make police report? The case will be either put under carpet or have another round of assault by police in police station smilies/cry.gif
written by capcomangel, May 10, 2008 11:27:45
thanks for Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng taking action to help the citizen Bandar Mahkota Cheras.ur help have touch the heart of people in Bandar Mahkota Cheras,ur vote will be safe in BMC citizen hand.

Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng please take legal action against police..thats is how they play the issue treatening people in Hindraf and Mr'Karpal case.now u have chance to do so,just do it.no need give them a warm heart.

MB'Khalid..please take action against that tol company.if not.everyone will lost feeling against u if u have failed to protect the voter..u have not cutting cukai pintu.thays ok.but please use ur energy to do ur work and keep citizen in selangor in safe..dont forget.rumah setinggan issue.u have make them feel fishy to vote u.
written by hibiscus22, May 10, 2008 12:11:21
Polis pukul MP!!! Here it goes again why PDRM need to be revamp.
written by Toyolbuster, May 10, 2008 12:36:44
The bastard IGP, when are you going to stop this ****ing criminal attack on the rakyat and especially to their wakil. You bastard animal. May you rot in hell.
written by Ben, May 10, 2008 12:55:55
You are giddy because you have not made the police report yet. Quickly do it now and get back to work. The Rakyat who was supporting you also got bashed up and still went to work but did not make police report. And you want justice without action? I cannot understand the fear.
written by macakmy, May 10, 2008 14:04:25
The Selangor state gov must take Grand Saga to court for destroying public property. Shut these bastards down. Sue the bloody IGP and the responsible IPK/IPD. Don't forget the Fed govt. Sue the whole stinking lot!!!! They forgot that the rakyat owns this country!!!
written by mmrokay, May 10, 2008 17:52:29
I wonder why it takes Segambut MP to front line and not the Cheras MP ...embarassing!
written by Dathab, May 10, 2008 18:40:37
Alamak before becoming a government kena buli selepas pun kena pukul. Biar betul. YB kita ni terjatuh kut atau dengar kata ada orang mintak hutang kot. Tak tau dan malas nak cakaplah, kalau dah jadi pemerintah pun bersikap macam pembangkang.
Hairan juga saya bila YB Ronnie Liu suruh rakyat buat injunction semalam sedangkan kerajaan Negeri Selangor kata Grand Saga Sdn Bhd silap dan bersalah. Hah takkanlah syarikat tu berani sampai kerajaan negeri pun pakai langgar je. Apa punya EXCO ni bila Grand Saga berkeras terus suruh rakyat ambil tindakan mahkamah. Tulah selidik betul-betul barulah bertindak. Ni tak nak tunjuk handal konon podah.
Kalau kerajaan Selangor pun orang tak peduli apa boleh rakyat buat YB. Suruh LA Selangor jelah yang ambil injunction tu.
written by power2u, May 10, 2008 22:41:08
Why must Segambut MP Lim LIp Eng be alone in this BMC case?Where is the Selangor MB and the Selangor Exco???How come you all didn't lodge polis report n take Grand Saga to court?
And about Karpal being harassed with prosecution ,where is Pakatan support for him????Why PAS,PKR n suprisingly DAP leaders so silent???This is a shame.When Karpal has put his neck out for you guys n you don't even hav decency to support him at this time....
written by binarytan, May 10, 2008 23:39:55
When PAS took over Trengganu, immediately they managed to put a stop for the only toll collection in KT.

How come PR in Selangor not able to do it? MB Khalid owes us an answer.

We should have the right to charge the Grand Saga being collecting the toll many years back, illegal action, police saga etc.

If there is unforeseen contract issue, blow it up. We for life never know what the hell is inside the contract.

Do it right now or we will lose come respect on you. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by stormdnation, May 11, 2008 00:01:56
Mr.Lim, you earned my HIGHEST respect when you do it all for the sake of the residents. I really admire the way you handle it. As much as i hate to see it, the FRU still using force to handle normal citizen that are unarmed. Darn them! May the person who do this to YOU be prepare to face the music when you SUE them BACK! Muahahah! smilies/grin.gif
written by fireduck, May 11, 2008 00:36:08
Ever wonder who Grand Saga is? Can anyone check on this? May be interesting to know who is behind Grand Saga. How come they have so much clout that they can unilaterally get the full force of the police on their side of the issue? We are even not talking about some contentious legal issues yet, but the police and the Federal Govt seems to be fully behind Grand Saga. WHO IS GRAND SAGA?
written by k4kenny, May 11, 2008 00:39:56
People, don't worry. GOD is watching over us. GOD has blessed us in Mac 8 and will do so soon in September sooner, or in GE13 latest. WE WILL CHANGE THEM ONCE AND FOR ALL. http://kennykhor.********.com smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Mark C, May 11, 2008 19:08:01
looks more like gangsters and hooligans to me rather than PDRM. smilies/grin.gif