Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal stands by his statement on Jamry's transfer

Karpal stands by his statement on Jamry's transfer PDF Print
Saturday, 10 May 2008 01:10

Maria J.Dass, The Sun

PETALING JAYA (May 9, 2008): DAP chairman Karpal Singh today said he stands by his earlier statement on the transfer of Peral Religious Department director Datuk Jamry Sury despite police reports lodged against him to cite him for sedition.

Instead, he accused Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who had instructed Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Mansor to lodge a report against him, of "turning what is purely a legal issue, into a political one with racial undertones".

He also said Abdullah was trying to "divert attention from his own shaky position as Prime Minister after calls from numerous Umno divisions that he should step down and take the challenge by Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah to take him on as Umno president in the coming Umno general assembly".

He said Abdullah should have sought the Attorney-General Tan Sri Ghani Patail’s legal advice before publicly attacking him for questioning the prerogative of Perak Sultan Raja Azlan Shah as head of the state, "when I did not do so".

He warned Abdullah and Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak that he would take legal action against them if they continue making defamatory remarks against him.

Karpal stressed that he had committed no offence and those those who had lodged reports against him should be prepared to face the consequences of lodging false reports.

"Clearly what I have raised is a purely legal issue and I have in no way questioned the prerogative of the Perak Sultan as head of the religion of Islam in the state as guranteed in the Federal Constitution," said Karpal.

"It has been, and it is my view that the Perak Sultan had no jurisdiction or power to direct the state government to reinstate Jamry who was a state government servant," he said, adding that he failed to see why there has been such an uproar over what is purely a legal issue that was backed by a Federal Court judgement and upheld by the Privy Council in London, until 1985 the highest court in Malaysia.

On another matter, Karpal said his queries in Parliament about who prepared the King’s speech was in no way an intention to insult the King.

"I raised the matter because if Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting, who was moving the motion, had said it was the government, I wanted to raise a question on why Barisan Nasional fared badly in the polls, losing its two thirds majority, and absence of calls to repeal repressive laws in the speech," he said.

Meanwhile, Bernama reported that nine police reports have been lodged against Karpal so far in connection with this matter.

Sentul OCPD ACP Ahmad Sofian Md Yasin said two reports were lodged each in Sentul and Brickfields and one each in Dang Wangi, Tapah, Port Dickson, Muar and Penang.

He said the reports were channelled to the Sentul police headquarters because the place where Karpal made the statement was within the Sentul police jurisdiction.

The two reports in Sentul were from Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor and Malaysia Youth Council secretary-general Tajudin Ahmad.

In Penang, state Umno youth secretary Ramlan Ishak, who lodged the report at the Jelutong police station, said Karpal's statement had created anxiety among the people.

Last week, Sultan Azlan Shah ordered Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin to retract the 24-hour transfer order issued to Jamry as the transfer was done without the consent of the Sultan as the head of Islamic religion.

written by temanmu, May 10, 2008 01:31:41
UMNO is trying to stir Malay sentiments but this time the rakyat are now prepared to deal with such deception!

We voted across racial & religious lines... We are ALL teman anti-UNMO!
written by hiro, May 10, 2008 01:36:39
UMNO learns zero from their electoral debacle.

The worse that this should go, is to the Federal Court, over interpretation of powers of the Sultan and State Government. It's a Constitutional Law issue. For someone to be charged for sedition over an fair comment, not made out of malice, but out of concern, is abuse of power.

"Abuse of power" may not sound like a sour tune in the hearts and minds of UMNO politicians, but it sounds like piercing screech to the rakyat. If there is anger, it is against UMNO. There will be repercussions.
written by VLeong, May 10, 2008 01:38:17
What happened to the guy who called the Sultan 'Natang' sometime ago? Kita mudah luper, tak ya?
written by howiseveryone, May 10, 2008 02:20:28
"KUALA TERENGGANU, March 22 (Bernama) -- Kijal assemblyman Datuk Ahmad Said is the new menteri besar of Terengganu, the office of the Sultan of Terengganu announced Saturday, ending 14 days of uncertainty as to who would be appointed to the post." .....http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news.php?id=322065

"SEPANG, March 23 (Bernama) -- The appointment of Kijal assemblyman Datuk Ahmad Said as the new Menteri Besar of Terengganu is unconstitutional, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi." ......http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=322201

why was karpal's statement seditious and AAB saying the action of sultan of terengganu is unconstitutional was not seditious??? why didn't anyone lodge police report against him on this? can someone, please, lodge reports on this and see how the police will treat this case.
written by EvilWolf, May 10, 2008 02:45:48
Karpal - It looks like Battle Royale is looming, although I don't doubt for a minute that you can more than adequately defend yourself.
written by miwaki, May 10, 2008 02:56:34
Pandai si mengantuk ni,bila dia bangun dari tidur macam macam dia boleh buat.Kalau-lah dia awal awal buat kerja,takkan UMNO boleh jadi begini ?
written by MasterYoda, May 10, 2008 03:01:50
People,

when ever you read Headlines like : Rakyat Melayu Marah etc...

Remember its really not Melayu but UMNO bums.....

If you see NGO's protesting against PR initaitives, remember...
that these are not real NGOs. the are just created for the moment or are aligned to UMNO/BN.

These are standard dirty tactis used by BN.

People, they have been using it for many years...

Now the twisted New paper is UTUSAN.... because they intend to poison the mind of the good Malay folks into thinking that the oppostion is a THREAT to KETUANAN MELAYU.

People,
We must deal gently with our fellow Malay folks many of who rely only on the UTUSAN. Take the pains to show them the other side of the stories...
If we do this, we will over heart through UNDERSTANDING & LOVE not FEAR like UMNO...
written by micon02, May 10, 2008 07:14:00
Why there was no police report against AG when he made a statement that Sultan Terengganu, the Agong has no right to appoint Terengganu MB?
Karpal, PR & RAKYAT can also make police report against AG

Typical Double Standard by Evil Amenos
written by micon02, May 10, 2008 07:25:47
Being a Muslim, I could not accept & tolerate of such behavior exhibited by born Muslim Amenos
Do they know what Islam is?
Do they understand Social Responsibilities in Islam?
written by temenggong, May 10, 2008 07:58:19
Royal activism is indeed welcome, like in the Trengganu and Perlis CM matter, but not the kind of activism recently displayed in Perak.

The rulers have discretionary and non discretionary powers. But they have never exercised their discretionary powers, which is the kind of royal activism the rakyat hopes for. And not activism in non discretionary powers which is the case with the appointment and removal of administrative personnel like Jamry! More so since the Perak sultan should have been aware of the case precedent.

We are thankful that Karpal fearlessly pointed it out. We have to put our foot down with indiscrete royal activism as that is even worse than having Badawi as PM.
written by OrdinaryMan, May 10, 2008 08:22:28
Very soon anything uttered against UMNO will be considered seditious.
written by jchew, May 10, 2008 08:30:36
BN = C4,$,rasuah,cronyism,correct,correct,correct,pengatin....

PR - BN = new hopes of all good rakyat of Malaysia.
written by micon02, May 10, 2008 09:54:34
Temenggong,

I have different views

Current Sultans are definitely better of than AAB & the followers in term of educational back ground & Islamic knowledge. We observed that AAB & the followers are ignorance of Islam as they followed the rules of no one except themselves, and preserved their personal honor above all else.

They do not have Islamic scientific knowledge, the scientific knowledge is called “Wisdom”.
A Muslim who has good morals and is advanced in the scientific knowledge of his time is called a civil or a progressive Muslim.

A Muslim, Law Makers for this case, who has poor morals is called a tyrant, a regressive person, a bandit, or a dictator. Those who are lagging behind in the scientific knowledge and arts and have poor morals are called savages or vulgar people.
written by wag the dog, May 10, 2008 13:52:35
Please correct me if I am wrong. In 1996 the Terengganu state government changed the state constitution where the state Islamic religious issued be under the Menteri Besar. Is this not sedition and treason towards the Raja-raja Melayu? Two days ago the state government restored the powers of the Sultan of Terengganu and this was done by the new Menteri Besar after 12 years
written by ibabonma, May 10, 2008 16:08:37
Lain kali bila kita hendak menamatkan perkhidmatan Pemandu Kereta Jenazah, Jabatan Agama kita mesti mendapat 'watikah' dahulu!
written by Avanza1, May 10, 2008 18:31:48
Why must Islam hide behind authorities of the land. Why it need western laws to protect itself from any intellectual challenges? Can Islam stand by it's own 2... feet? Does Islam need so much of our beloved country's resources/tax payers' monies to survive?
written by yongt, May 10, 2008 19:32:34
Dear mmrokay, it would seem that by your "standards" that it's best PR keeps quiet on certain issues regardless of the legality of the issue. Then I wonder why we vote PR for, for good "publicity" perhaps judging from your comment? I'd have thought then BN would be the more suitable choice for you if that's the case. Karpal may be headstrong and a little petty at times, but I'd rather take 1 Karpal Singh over 1000 BN MPs anytime.
written by Kathy, May 10, 2008 19:45:52
This transfer issue looks to me like a technicality. If the MB had made the transfer proposal to the Sultan he would probably have been granted permission to do it. Let's confine this to a technicality issue please.